DETAILED ACTION
This correspondence is in response to applicant’s reply filed on 03/31/2026. Claims 1-5, 8-17, 19, and 21-26 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-13, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McGrogan et al. (U.S. Pub. 20110277776).
Regarding claim 1, McGrogan discloses a surgical cannula 2470, comprising: a bowl portion (as shown in Fig. 24C below) defining a proximal end opening; a tube 2472 extending from a distal end of the bowl portion; and an attachment portion 2476 configured to removably mount the cannula 2470 to a cannula mount assembly 2450 of a surgical system (as shown in Fig. 2B and Figs. 25A-C); wherein a longitudinal axis extends through the bowl portion and the tube 2472 (as seen in Fig. 24C below), where the attachment portion 2476 projects radially outwardly from one side of and asymmetrically about the bowl portion (as shown in Fig. 24C below), and where the attachment portion 2476 tapers in a direction away from the bowl portion (see taper along surface 2479) and is configured to be received in an aperture 2456 of the cannula mount assembly 2450 in a mounted state of the cannula 2470 to the cannula mount assembly 2450.
Regarding claim 2, McGrogan discloses the cannula 2470, where the attachment portion 2476 comprises two pairs of generally oppositely disposed surfaces 2478,2479, the surfaces 2478,2479 of each pair facing away from each other and projecting radially outwardly from the one side of the bowl portion (as seen in Fig. 24C below).
Regarding claim 3, McGrogan discloses the cannula 2470, where the attachment portion 2476 comprises one or more surface features on one or more of the surfaces 2478,2479 configured to interface with one or more complementary surface features (see 2454 and aperture 2456) of the cannula mount assembly 2450.
Regarding claim 8, McGrogan discloses the cannula 2470, where the attachment portion 2476 is configured to move clamping arms 2454,2480 of the cannula mount assembly 2450 during insertion of the attachment portion 2476 in the aperture 2456 of the cannula mount assembly 2450 (as seen in Fig. 24D).
Regarding claim 9, McGrogan discloses the cannula 2470, where in the mounted state of the cannula 2470 to the cannula mount assembly 2450, the proximal end opening of the bowl portion is accessible to receive a medical instrument for insertion through the cannula 2470 (as discussed in para. [0176], lines 14-15).
Regarding claim 10, McGrogan discloses the cannula 2470, where the attachment portion 2476 of the cannula 2470 has a square frustum shape (as seen in Fig. 24C).
Regarding claim 11, McGrogan discloses the cannula 2470, where the attachment portion 2476 is configured to removably mount the cannula 2470 to a cannula mount assembly 2450 at a manipulator arm 2438 of the surgical system (as seen in Fig. 24A).
Regarding claim 12, McGrogan discloses the cannula 2470, where the attachment portion 2476 is configured to be received in the aperture 2456 of the cannula mount so as to mount the cannula 2470 at the cannula mount assembly 2450 in a predefined rotational orientation of the cannula 2470 about the longitudinal axis by the cannula mount assembly 2450 (as seen in Figs. 24C-D).
Regarding claim 13, McGrogan discloses the cannula 2470, where the attachment portion 2476 is configured to be received in an aperture 2456 of the cannula mount assembly 2450 with a sterile adapter (see 1000) of the cannula mount assembly 2450 located surrounding the attachment portion 2476.
Regarding claim 25, McGrogan discloses the cannula 2470, where the bowl portion is configured to be external to the aperture 2456 of the cannula mount assembly 2450 in the mounted state of the cannula 2470 to the cannula mount assembly 2450 (see mounting arrow shown in Figs. 24C-D).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-17, 19, and 21-24 are allowed.
Claims 4-5 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach or disclose the cannula, having the depressed surfaces as claimed, along with the structural and functional limitations drawn to the insertion portion of claim 14, in combination with the other elements recited, which is not found in the prior art of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael McDuffie/Examiner, Art Unit 3632 19-May-26
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632