DETAILED ACTION
The following correspondence is a non-final Office Action for application # 18777746, entitled: SURGICAL CANNULA MOUNTS AND RELATED SYSTEMS AND METHODS, filed on 07/19/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson et al. (U.S. 8182469).
Regarding claim 1, Anderson discloses a surgical cannula, comprising: a bowl portion 300 defining a proximal end opening (as seen in Fig. 11B below); a tube (as shown in Fig. 11B below) extending from a distal end of the bowl portion 300; and an attachment portion (as seen in Fig. 11B below) extending from the bowl portion 300, the attachment portion configured to removably mount the cannula to a cannula mount assembly 246 of a surgical system (as seen in Fig. 9C); where a longitudinal axis extends through the bowl portion 300 and the tube (see Fig. 11B below), where the attachment portion extends from the bowl portion 300 along a radial direction with respect to the longitudinal axis, and where the attachment portion tapers in a direction away from the bowl portion 300 and is configured to be received in a complementary shaped recess of the cannula mount assembly 246 (as seen in Figs. 11B and 18A).
Regarding claim 2, Anderson discloses the cannula, where the attachment portion includes two pairs of generally oppositely disposed tapering surfaces (as seen in Fig. 18C), the surfaces of each pair facing away from each other.
Regarding claim 3, Anderson discloses the cannula, where the attachment portion comprises surface features configured to mate with complementary surface features of at least one of the cannula mount assembly 246 (as seen in Fig. 18C).
Regarding claim 4, Anderson discloses the cannula, where the surface features comprise depressions (as seen in Fig. 11B below).
Regarding claim 5, Anderson discloses the cannula, where the depressions are configured to receive clamping arms 404 of the cannula mount assembly 246 (as seen in Figs. 17C-17E).
Regarding claim 6, Anderson discloses the cannula, where the attachment portion is configured to move the clamping arms 404 from a biased position (via spring 416) during mounting of the cannula to the cannula mount assembly 246 (see discussion in col. 13, lines 23-27).
Regarding claim 7, Anderson discloses the cannula, where in a mounted state of the cannula with the cannula mount assembly 246, the attachment portion is received in an aperture of the cannula mount assembly 246 (see opening formed by surfaces 404 in Fig. 17A).
Regarding claim 8, Anderson discloses the cannula, where the attachment portion is configured to move clamping arms 404 of the cannula mount assembly 246 away from each other during insertion of the attachment portion in the aperture of the cannula mount assembly 246 (as implied in col. 13, lines 27-29).
Regarding claim 9, Anderson discloses the cannula, where a mounted state of the cannula with the cannula mount assembly 246, the proximal end opening of the bowl portion 300 is accessible to receive a medical instrument 256 for insertion through the cannula (as seen in Fig. 9C).
Regarding claim 10, Anderson discloses the cannula, where the attachment portion of the cannula comprises a square frustum shape. The Examiner notes that Anderson fails to explicitly disclose a square frustum shape, but he implies that other shapes can be used in col. 16, lines 46-50.
Regarding claim 11, Anderson discloses the cannula, where the attachment portion is configured to removably mount the cannula to a cannula mount assembly 246 at a manipulator arm 242 of the surgical system (as seen in Fig. 9B).
Regarding claim 12, Anderson discloses the cannula, where the attachment portion is shaped to be received in a predefined orientation by the cannula mount assembly 246 (as seen in Figs. 17C-17E).
Regarding claim 13, Anderson discloses the cannula, where the attachment portion is shaped to be received in an aperture of the cannula mount assembly 246 with a sterile adapter 270a of the cannula mount assembly 246 located surrounding the attachment portion.
Regarding claim 14, Anderson discloses an assembly 246 for mounting a cannula to a surgical system (as seen in Fig. 9C), the assembly comprising: a mounting structure at a distal end portion of a manipulator arm 242 of the surgical system (see Fig. 11B); a sterile interface structure 270a configured to matingly engage with the mounting structure (as seen in Figs. 17C-17E), the sterile interface structure 270a defining a recess configured to receive an attachment portion of a cannula in a matingly engaged state of the sterile interface structure 270a with the mounting structure (as seen in Fig. 17B); and a pair of biased clamping arms 404 configured to exert a clamping force on the attachment portion of the cannula in a received state of the attachment portion in the recess (as shown in Fig. 17E).
Regarding claim 15, Anderson discloses the assembly, where the recess is oriented to receive the attachment portion of the cannula along a first insertion direction transverse to a second insertion direction of a medical instrument 256 through the cannula (as seen in Figs. 9C and 17E).
Regarding claim 16, Anderson discloses the assembly, where end portions of the clamping arms 404 are configured to be received in respective depressions (as shown in Fig. 11B below) in the attachment portion in the received state of the attachment portion in the recess.
Regarding claim 17, Anderson discloses the assembly, where the recess is tapered in a direction toward the manipulator arm 242 (as seen in Figs. 17A-17B).
Regarding claim 18, Anderson discloses the assembly, where the clamping arms 404 extend at least partially into the recess (see Fig. 17B).
Regarding claim 19, Anderson discloses the assembly, where the clamping arms 404 comprise clamping surfaces moveable toward each other to a clamping position and away from each other to a release position (see discussion in col. 13, lines 23-27).
Regarding claim 20, Anderson discloses the assembly, where the recess is defined by two pairs of opposing sidewalls (as seen in Fig. 17B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the reference to Anderson et al. above, the Examiner submits the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892). The cited prior art discloses mounting systems for medical devices.
/Michael McDuffie/Examiner, Art Unit 3632 12-Dec-25
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632