DETAILED ACTION
2. The amendment filed 06/08/2026 has been received and considered. Claims 1-5, 8-14, and 17-23 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 1, 10, 17-18, and 22-23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As per Claim 1, 10 and 17, they recite "simulating charging of hydrocarbon fluids into the reservoir" in line 22 (Claim 1), line 25-26 (Claim 10), and line 27-28 (Claim 17) which would be better as “simulating charging of hydrocarbon fluids into a reservoir of the geological stratum” to avoid an antecedent basis issue as without an earlier recitation of a reservoir, the claims recite "a geological stratum", "a wellsite" and "an assumed reservoir architecture".
Ac per Claim 18, it recites "the field-based distributions" in line 1-2 which would be better as “the field-based fluid distributions” as claim 17 recites "field-based fluid distributions for consistency.
As per Claim 22, it recites "the pressure transient test" in line 1 which would be better as "the at least one pressure transient test" as claim 1 recites "at least one pressure transient test" for consistency.
As per Claim 23, it recites "the charging process" in line 3 which would be better as “the charge process” as claim 1 recites "a charge process" for consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per Claim 23, the limitation "wherein, when agreement is not obtained, the revising comprises" is ambiguous because claim 1 conditions "the revising" on the threshold value not being satisfied ("when the threshold value is not satisfied, revising the at least one of"), whereas "agreement" in claim 1 is the condition of the pruning step ("the agreement being obtained when either"), so it is unclear whether the altering and feeding back recited in claim 23 are performed when the threshold value is not satisfied or when a candidate geological model fails the agreement test of the pruning step. To overcome this rejection, Applicant may consider amending claim 23 to recite "wherein, when the threshold value is not satisfied, the revising comprises", MPEP 2173.02 (Festo Corp. v. Shoketsu Kinzoku Kogyo Kabushiki Co., 535 U.S. 722, 122 S.Ct. 1831, 1838, 62 USPQ2d 1705, 1710 (2002)). Examiner Interpretation: the limitation "wherein, when agreement is not obtained, the revising comprises" is interpreted as the revising of claim 1 that is performed when the threshold value is not satisfied, consistent with paragraph [0031] of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-5, 8-14, 17-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kauerauf (US 2019/0293835 A1) in view of Kauerauf '258 (US 10,083,258 B2), further in view of Maucec (US 2016/0047943 A1), further in view of Le Ravalec (US 8,032,345 B2).
As per Claim 1, Kauerauf et al. teaches (Claim 1) a method of evaluation of a geological stratum through simulation of a fluid charge (Abstract, [0072]), the method comprising:
obtaining field-based fluid distributions for a wellsite within the geological stratum, the field-based fluid distributions including measured fluid distributions from downhole fluid analysis and geochemical analysis of fluid samples (Fig. 10, [0067], [0076]-[0079], [0085] "compares simulated fluid distributions with measurement data 424, e.g. fluid samples from downhole fluid analysis (DFA)"; [0055] "Tests for density and viscosity may be performed on the fluids in the core at varying pressures and temperatures"; [0095] "FIG. 10 illustrates a sequence of operations 480 for calibrating an RFG model, and begins in block 482 by measurement data, e.g., DFA data": the measured fluid distributions used for calibration are the fluid samples analyzed downhole (DFA), and the fluids extracted from core are tested in the laboratory for density and viscosity at varying pressures and temperatures, the measured distributions thus coming from downhole fluid analysis and from analysis of fluid samples);
preparing at least one of: an assumed reservoir architecture, a well placement, a well completion technique, a well stimulation strategy, or a well production plan for the wellsite within the geological stratum (Fig. 6 & 8, [0074]-[0079], [0093] "a region of interest is selected and cut out of the integrated subsurface model and the cut out region of interest is refined to the desired scale for the RFG simulation"; [0077] "input data for RFG model 402 may include at least subsurface maps of geological formations, and in some instances, faults describing discontinuities between formations may also be provided as additional input to describe the overall geometry of a subsurface region": the region of interest is cut out of the integrated subsurface model and refined to the simulation scale, with subsurface maps and faults describing the overall geometry, an assumed reservoir architecture prepared for the wellsite region);
…a dynamic simulation of a charge process for the geological stratum for the at least one of: the assumed reservoir architecture, the well placement, the well completion technique, the well stimulation strategy, or the well production plan for the wellsite to produce a respective predicted fluid distribution result for the candidate geological model, the dynamic simulation simulating charging of hydrocarbon fluids into the reservoir over geological time, and, as fluids enter the reservoir, the fluids mixing with previously-charged fluids, inducing both convective and diffusive mixing ([0067] "RFG modeling may be based upon both intermediate timescales (e.g., in terms of thousands of years, such as about 1000 to about 10,000,000 years"; [0072] "RFG timescales may, in some embodiments, incorporate substantially continuous feeding of an RFG model with hydrocarbons from a source rock from below"; [0082] "diffusion of fluid compounds, e.g. compositional grading"; [0082] "ground water flow; convection; CO2 sequestration"; [0085] "Resulting fluid distributions generated by RFG simulator 404 may also be used for calibration purposes": the RFG simulation feeds hydrocarbons into the reservoir model from the source rock over thousands to millions of years and models diffusion of fluid compounds together with convection and ground-water flow, producing the resulting fluid distributions as the predicted distribution of the simulated model);
the respective predicted fluid distribution result to the field-based fluid distributions for the wellsite, the comparing comprising: comparing the respective predicted fluid distribution result to the field-based fluid distributions, including comparing fluid distribution characteristics comprising one or more of: composition, asphaltene content, gas-to-oil ratio, isotope ratios, or other geochemical metrics ([0085] "compares simulated fluid distributions with measurement data 424, e.g. fluid samples from downhole fluid analysis (DFA)"; [0082] "diffusion of fluid compounds, e.g. compositional grading"; [0082] "asphaltene flocculation; tar mat formation"; [0095] "block 486 performs a comparison between this data, e.g., using various model validation techniques": the simulated fluid distributions, carrying compositional grading and asphaltene flocculation, are compared with the DFA measurement data by the calibration module, a comparison of modeled fluid-distribution characteristics against measured ones); and
… when the threshold value is satisfied, using the revised at least one of: the reservoir architecture, the well placement, the well completion technique, the well stimulation strategy, or the well production plan to drill a well, control a production well, or control an injection well at the wellsite ([0096] "the results of the simulation may also be used in the performance of an oilfield operation, e.g., to drill a well, determine a field development plan, to configure a surface network, to control a production and/or injection well, etc.": the simulation results are used to drill a well, to determine a field development plan and to control a production and/or injection well, the recited field use of the revised plan).
In particular, Kauerauf teaches reservoir fluid geodynamics (RFG) modeling: an RFG model of a cut-out reservoir region is fed with hydrocarbons from the source rock over geological time, diffusion and convection of the fluids are simulated, the resulting fluid distributions are compared with downhole-fluid-analysis measurements, the model is tuned and rerun until acceptable, and the results are used to drill and control wells.
However, Kauerauf fails to teach explicitly obtaining input data for the geological stratum, the input data comprising petroleum systems data comprising one or more of: reservoir age, source rock, charge sequence, or charge location;
constructing, from the input data, an ensemble of a plurality of candidate geological models representing subsurface uncertainty, each of the plurality of candidate geological models representing a respective reservoir architecture hypothesis, the constructing comprising developing multi-scenario three-dimensional (3D) depositional facies for the plurality of candidate geological models;
performing, for each of the plurality of candidate geological models…;
obtaining dynamic data from at least one pressure transient test;
comparing, for each of the plurality of candidate geological models …
comparing the respective predicted fluid distribution result to the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test by history-matching the candidate geological model against the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test;
pruning the ensemble by discarding one or more candidate geological models for which agreement is not obtained, the agreement being obtained when either:
the comparing indicates agreement between the respective predicted fluid distribution result and the field-based fluid distributions; or
the candidate geological model is history matched against the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test;
selecting, from the ensemble after pruning, a selected candidate geological model based on the agreement being obtained;
determining whether the comparing of the result for the selected candidate geological model to the field-based fluid distributions for the wellsite indicates that the predicted fluid distribution result is below a user-defined threshold value, the threshold value including model calculation results being within a threshold percentage of a field-measured property value;
when the threshold value is not satisfied, revising the at least one of: the reservoir architecture, the well placement, the well completion technique, the well stimulation strategy, or the well production plan for the wellsite and the dynamic simulation of the charge process and returning to perform another dynamic simulation and then continuing the method, the revising comprising:
updating at least one of the plurality of candidate geological models;
repeating the pruning and the selecting.
Kauerauf '258 teaches obtaining input data for the geological stratum, the input data comprising petroleum systems data comprising one or more of: reservoir age, source rock, charge sequence, or charge location (Col. 9 lines 14-16 "the attribute of the geologic basin includes a geologic basin charging history, which describes the geological time when the fluids enters the rock formations"; Col. 14 lines 34-35 "TOC and HI are input to the initial model as maps of their spatial distribution"; Col. 14 lines 15-16 "The initial model may also include descriptions of hydrocarbon source rock"; Kauerauf: [0078] "in some instances, hydrocarbon inflow, which may come from a source rock from below, may be provided from a basin model or other data source": the model's input carries source-rock descriptions and a charging history giving the geological time at which the fluids entered the rock, the source-rock and charge-sequence prongs of the recited one-or-more-of list);
pruning the ensemble by discarding one or more candidate geological models for which agreement is not obtained, the agreement being obtained when either: the comparing indicates agreement between the respective predicted fluid distribution result and the field-based fluid distributions; or the candidate geological model is history matched against the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test (Col. 14 lines 58-60 "Once a well has been drilled and new fluid composition and geological information become available from such well, the reservoir charge model may be updated"; Col. 14 lines 61-64 "eliminating those models that do not correspond to the newly obtained information and/or new models may be generated that correspond with the newly obtained information": Also Kauerauf teaches [0095] "block 488 determines if the model is acceptable, i.e., is sufficiently accurate given the actual measurement data. If so, the sequence of operations is complete" thus once a new well is drilled and new fluid composition becomes available from it, the reservoir charge model is updated by eliminating the models that do not correspond to that newly obtained information, so the set of candidate models is pruned by discarding those whose predictions do not agree with the measured fluid data);
determining whether the comparing of the result for the selected candidate geological model to the field-based fluid distributions for the wellsite indicates that the predicted fluid distribution result is below a user-defined threshold value, the threshold value including model calculation results being within a threshold percentage of a field-measured property value (Col. 11 lines 51-54 "the pre-determined criterion may include a percentage threshold that represents the maximum allowable difference between the estimated fluid property gradient and the detected fluid property gradient"; Col. 12 lines 43-49 "if the difference between the estimated fluid property gradient and the detected fluid property gradient, across the region where the detected fluid property gradient is found, is less than the percentage threshold, a determination is made that the estimate of the fluid property distribution and the detected fluid property gradient match": Also Kauerauf teaches [0095] "block 488 determines if the model is acceptable, i.e., is sufficiently accurate given the actual measurement data. If so, the sequence of operations is complete" thus the match test is a percentage threshold on the maximum allowable difference between the estimated and the field-detected fluid-property gradient, the model being declared a match when the difference falls below it, a pre-set threshold expressed as model results lying within a percentage of the measured property, applied to the calibrated model's comparison. Examiner's Note - "a user-defined threshold value" corresponds to Kauerauf '258's pre-determined criterion because a percentage criterion fixed by the modeler before the match test is a threshold value the user has defined, MPEP 2111.01; Phillips v. AWH Corp.); and
when the threshold value is not satisfied, revising the at least one of: the reservoir architecture, the well placement, the well completion technique, the well stimulation strategy, or the well production plan for the wellsite and the dynamic simulation of the charge process and returning to perform another dynamic simulation and then continuing the method, the revising comprising: updating at least one of the plurality of candidate geological models (Col. 11 lines 66-67 "the PSM is adjust before returning to Block 202 for the next"; Col. 12 line 1 "iteration to improve the matching in Block 205"; Col. 12 lines 7-11 "the fluid property-defining processes modeled by the PSM, such as the temp history of the SR, geochemical properties of the modeled kerogen, PVT behavior of the fluids, etc., are adjusted based on the measured formation properties"; Col. 14 lines 58-60 "Once a well has been drilled and new fluid composition and geological information become available from such well, the reservoir charge model may be updated"; Col. 14 lines 61-64 "eliminating those models that do not correspond to the newly obtained information and/or new models may be generated that correspond with the newly obtained information": See also Kauerauf: [0085] "In case of not matching measurement data with a sufficient degree of accuracy, uncertain model parameters may be adjusted to achieve a better match after re-running the simulation"; [0095] "If not, control passes to block 490 to tune the RFG model, e.g., using various tuning techniques known to those of ordinary skill in the art such as adjusting uncertain parameters. The simulation is then rerun": when the match fails the model is adjusted, its modeled charge, source-rock thermal history, kerogen properties and PVT behaviour revised, and the forward simulation returns to the next iteration, the candidate set being updated by eliminating non-conforming models and generating new ones; in the primary's loop the uncertain parameters are tuned and the simulation rerun).
In particular, Kauerauf '258 teaches stochastic basin (petroleum-systems) modeling in which a number of plausible initial models carrying source-rock and charging-history data are generated and tested against downhole fluid analysis, a percentage threshold on the model-versus-measured gradient difference decides the match, the model is adjusted and re-run, and models that do not correspond to new information are eliminated.
Kauerauf and Kauerauf '258 are analogous art because they are both from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, simulating and calibrating models of hydrocarbon reservoirs against measurements taken in the wells (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Kauerauf '258 into Kauerauf's invention for the purpose of simulating a reservoir's fluid charge over geological time and calibrating it against downhole fluid measurements to provide calibration of the model and reduced uncertainty in modeling the fluid charging history (Kauerauf '258: Col. 13 lines 19-22). This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
However, Kauerauf as modified by Kauerauf '258 fails to teach explicitly constructing, from the input data, an ensemble of a plurality of candidate geological models representing subsurface uncertainty, each of the plurality of candidate geological models representing a respective reservoir architecture hypothesis, the constructing comprising developing multi-scenario three-dimensional (3D) depositional facies for the plurality of candidate geological models;
performing, for each of the plurality of candidate geological models…;
obtaining dynamic data from at least one pressure transient test;
comparing, for each of the plurality of candidate geological models …
comparing the respective predicted fluid distribution result to the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test by history-matching the candidate geological model against the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test;
selecting, from the ensemble after pruning, a selected candidate geological model based on the agreement being obtained;
repeating the pruning and the selecting.
Maucec teaches constructing, from the input data, an ensemble of a plurality of candidate geological models representing subsurface uncertainty, each of the plurality of candidate geological models representing a respective reservoir architecture hypothesis, the constructing comprising developing multi-scenario three-dimensional (3D) depositional facies for the plurality of candidate geological models ([0048] "a number (N) of new geological realizations for the prior geological model are defined"; [0071] "a random number/seed is defined for the facies and petrophysical computation"; [0072] "a new facies realization is computed using the parameters defined in steps 301-303. The facies realization may be computed, for example, by a Pluri Gaussian"; [0073] "A single new 3D facies realization is therefore, computed in the form of a single column vector"; [0074] "the new facies realization is used to constrain the generation of a petrophysical realization in the form of a 3D array": N stochastic realizations of the prior geological model are generated, each from its own random seed and each built on its own 3D facies realization that constrains the 3D petrophysical array, an ensemble of alternative 3D facies scenarios, each a candidate architecture, whose spread is the subsurface uncertainty the stochastic approach exists to capture);
performing, for each of the plurality of candidate geological models … ([0033] "computes the exact likelihood of an objective function by performing a forward simulation, streamline-tracing and calculation of derivatives, which may be performed using techniques well known in the art and the computed number (N) of new geological realizations for the prior geological model to obtain a model response g(m), a data-misfit (d-g(m))": the forward simulation is run on each of the N geological realizations of the ensemble to obtain that realization's model response);
comparing, for each of the plurality of candidate geological models ([0033] "computes the exact likelihood of an objective function by performing a forward simulation, streamline-tracing and calculation of derivatives, which may be performed using techniques well known in the art and the computed number (N) of new geological realizations for the prior geological model to obtain a model response g(m), a data-misfit (d-g(m))": the model response of each of the N geological realizations is set against the observed data as a data-misfit);
selecting, from the ensemble after pruning, a selected candidate geological model based on the agreement being obtained ([0064] "each sample that meets the acceptance criteria in steps 210, 213 and the convergence criteria in step 215 is stored as an updated posterior geological model and is dynamically ranked"; [0065] "the best ranked posterior geological model is selected using the client interface and/or the video interface described in reference to FIG. 7. Preferably, the highest ranked posterior geological model is the best.": only the samples that met the acceptance criteria are stored and dynamically ranked, and the best-ranked of those retained models is selected, a selection from the post-pruning set made on the basis of the agreement that ranked it); and
repeating the pruning and the selecting ([0066] "the prior geological model is replaced with the best ranked posterior geological model and is renamed the “prior geological model.” The method 200 then returns to step 202 to define another number (N) of new geological realizations for the prior geological model.": after the best-ranked model replaces the prior model the method returns to define and compute a fresh set of realizations, which are again accepted or rejected and ranked, the accept/reject (pruning) and ranked selection are repeated on each pass of the loop).
In particular, Maucec teaches updating posterior geological models by computing N stochastic realizations of the prior model, each on its own 3D facies realization, accepting or rejecting samples by an acceptance criterion, dynamically ranking the accepted ones, selecting the best-ranked model and replacing the prior model with it before repeating.
Kauerauf, Kauerauf '258, and Maucec are analogous art because they are all from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, simulating and calibrating models of hydrocarbon reservoirs against measurements taken in the wells (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Maucec into Kauerauf as modified by Kauerauf '258's invention for the purpose of simulating a reservoir's fluid charge over geological time and calibrating it against downhole fluid measurements to provide calibration of the model and reduced uncertainty in modeling the fluid charging history (Kauerauf '258: Col. 13 lines 19-22) and to provide updated posterior geological models for closed-loop reservoir management and well-placement optimization (Maucec: [0067]). This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
However, Kauerauf as modified by Kauerauf '258 and Maucec fails to teach explicitly
obtaining dynamic data from at least one pressure transient test;
comparing, for each of the plurality of candidate geological models …
comparing the respective predicted fluid distribution result to the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test by history-matching the candidate geological model against the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test.
Le Ravalec teaches obtaining dynamic data from at least one pressure transient test (Col. 4 lines 16-19 "well tests are analyzed in order to identify influence Zones (ZI), i.e. Zones where the well test induces a pressure variation. This stage thus consists in evaluating the radius of investigation for each well subjected to well testing."; Col. 5 lines 18-20 "a term for measuring the difference between the pressure data (p,) recorded during the well tests and the simulated pressures": the well tests are analyzed to find the zone where each test induces a pressure variation, and the pressure data recorded during the well tests, the time-varying pressure response of each tested well, are the dynamic data the method takes in); and
comparing the respective predicted fluid distribution result to the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test by history-matching the candidate geological model against the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test (Col. 4 lines 45-46 "The well tests are simulated for each influence Zone (SIMDEP)."; Col. 4 lines 47-49 "The pressure responses are then obtained, from which the pressure derivatives with respect to time are deduced."; Col. 5 lines 18-20 "a term for measuring the difference between the pressure data (p,) recorded during the well tests and the simulated pressures"; Col. 5 lines 21-24 "a term for measuring the difference between the derivatives deduced from the pressure data (dp,) recorded during the well tests and derivatives (dg(t).) estimated from the simulated pressures on the fine extracted grid patterns."; Col. 6 lines 46-48 "The minimization process stops when the objective function is sufficiently small or, in other words, when data matching is reasonably good.": the well tests are simulated on the geological model, the simulated pressures and pressure derivatives are compared term by term with the pressures and derivatives recorded during the well tests inside an objective function, and the geological model is modified and re-simulated until the match is reasonably good, history-matching the geological model against the well-test (pressure-transient) data).
In particular, Le Ravalec teaches updating a geological model by simulating well tests, comparing simulated pressures and pressure derivatives with those recorded during the well tests in an objective function, and modifying the model until the match is reasonably good.
Kauerauf, Kauerauf '258, Maucec, and Le Ravalec are analogous art because they are all from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, simulating and calibrating models of hydrocarbon reservoirs against measurements taken in the wells (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Le Ravalec into Kauerauf as modified by Kauerauf '258 and Maucec's invention for the purpose of simulating a reservoir's fluid charge over geological time and calibrating it against downhole fluid measurements to provide calibration of the model and reduced uncertainty in modeling the fluid charging history (Kauerauf '258: Col. 13 lines 19-22) and to provide updated posterior geological models for closed-loop reservoir management and well-placement optimization (Maucec: [0067]) and to provide a geological model meeting both dynamic data and well tests, the two data types being matched simultaneously (Le Ravalec: Col. 3 lines 57-59; Col. 3 lines 61-62).
This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
As per Claim 10, Kauerauf teaches an article of manufacture configured to store a set of instructions performed on a computer, the article of manufacture having a non-volatile memory, the set of instructions comprising a method of evaluation of a geological stratum through simulation of a fluid charge ([0072]; [0031]), comprising:
obtaining field-based fluid distributions for a wellsite within the geological stratum, the field-based fluid distributions including measured fluid distributions from downhole fluid analysis and geochemical analysis of fluid samples ([0085] "compares simulated fluid distributions with measurement data 424, e.g. fluid samples from downhole fluid analysis (DFA)"; [0055] "Tests for density and viscosity may be performed on the fluids in the core at varying pressures and temperatures"; [0095] "FIG. 10 illustrates a sequence of operations 480 for calibrating an RFG model, and begins in block 482 by measurement data, e.g., DFA data": the measured fluid distributions used for calibration are the fluid samples analyzed downhole (DFA), and the fluids extracted from core are tested in the laboratory for density and viscosity at varying pressures and temperatures, the measured distributions thus coming from downhole fluid analysis and from analysis of fluid samples);
preparing at least one of: an assumed reservoir architecture, a well placement, a well completion technique, a well stimulation strategy, or a well production plan for the wellsite within the geological stratum ([0093] "a region of interest is selected and cut out of the integrated subsurface model and the cut out region of interest is refined to the desired scale for the RFG simulation"; [0077] "input data for RFG model 402 may include at least subsurface maps of geological formations, and in some instances, faults describing discontinuities between formations may also be provided as additional input to describe the overall geometry of a subsurface region": the region of interest is cut out of the integrated subsurface model and refined to the simulation scale, with subsurface maps and faults describing the overall geometry, an assumed reservoir architecture prepared for the wellsite region);
a dynamic simulation of a charge process for the geological stratum for the at least one of: the assumed reservoir architecture, the well placement, the well completion technique, the well stimulation strategy, or the well production plan for the wellsite to produce a respective predicted fluid distribution result for the candidate geological model, the dynamic simulation simulating charging of hydrocarbon fluids into the reservoir over geological time, and, as fluids enter the reservoir, the fluids mixing with previously-charged fluids, inducing both convective and diffusive mixing ([0067] "RFG modeling may be based upon both intermediate timescales (e.g., in terms of thousands of years, such as about 1000 to about 10,000,000 years"; [0072] "RFG timescales may, in some embodiments, incorporate substantially continuous feeding of an RFG model with hydrocarbons from a source rock from below"; [0082] "diffusion of fluid compounds, e.g. compositional grading"; [0082] "ground water flow; convection; CO2 sequestration"; [0085] "Resulting fluid distributions generated by RFG simulator 404 may also be used for calibration purposes": the RFG simulation feeds hydrocarbons into the reservoir model from the source rock over thousands to millions of years and models diffusion of fluid compounds together with convection and ground-water flow, producing the resulting fluid distributions as the predicted distribution of the simulated model);
the respective predicted fluid distribution result to the field-based fluid distributions for the wellsite, the comparing comprising: comparing the respective predicted fluid distribution result to the field-based fluid distributions, including comparing fluid distribution characteristics comprising one or more of: composition, asphaltene content, gas-to-oil ratio, isotope ratios, or other geochemical metrics ([0085] "compares simulated fluid distributions with measurement data 424, e.g. fluid samples from downhole fluid analysis (DFA)"; [0082] "diffusion of fluid compounds, e.g. compositional grading"; [0082] "asphaltene flocculation; tar mat formation"; [0095] "block 486 performs a comparison between this data, e.g., using various model validation techniques": the simulated fluid distributions, carrying compositional grading and asphaltene flocculation, are compared with the DFA measurement data by the calibration module, a comparison of modeled fluid-distribution characteristics against measured ones); and
when the threshold value is satisfied, using the revised at least one of: the reservoir architecture, the well placement, the well completion technique, the well stimulation strategy, or the well production plan for the wellsite to drill a well, control a production well, or control an injection well at the wellsite ([0096] "the results of the simulation may also be used in the performance of an oilfield operation, e.g., to drill a well, determine a field development plan, to configure a surface network, to control a production and/or injection well, etc.": the simulation results are used to drill a well, to determine a field development plan and to control a production and/or injection well, the recited field use of the revised plan).
In particular, Kauerauf teaches reservoir fluid geodynamics (RFG) modeling: an RFG model of a cut-out reservoir region is fed with hydrocarbons from the source rock over geological time, diffusion and convection of the fluids are simulated, the resulting fluid distributions are compared with downhole-fluid-analysis measurements, the model is tuned and rerun until acceptable, and the results are used to drill and control wells.
However, Kauerauf fails to teach explicitly obtaining input data for the geological stratum, the input data comprising petroleum systems data comprising one or more of: reservoir age, source rock, charge sequence, or charge location; constructing, from the input data, an ensemble of a plurality of candidate geological models representing subsurface uncertainty, each of the plurality of candidate geological models representing a respective reservoir architecture hypothesis, the constructing comprising developing multi-scenario three-dimensional (3D) depositional facies for the plurality of candidate geological models; performing, for each of the plurality of candidate geological models; obtaining dynamic data from at least one pressure transient test; comparing, for each of the plurality of candidate geological models; comparing the respective predicted fluid distribution result to the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test by history-matching the candidate geological model against the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test; pruning the ensemble by discarding one or more candidate geological models for which agreement is not obtained, the agreement being obtained when either: the comparing indicates agreement between the respective predicted fluid distribution result and the field-based fluid distributions; or the candidate geological model is history matched against the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test; selecting, from the ensemble after pruning, a selected candidate geological model based on the agreement being obtained; determining whether the comparing of the result for the selected candidate geological model to the field-based fluid distributions for the wellsite indicates that the predicted fluid distribution result is below a user-defined threshold value; when the threshold value is not satisfied, revising the at least one of: the reservoir architecture, the well placement, the well completion technique, the well stimulation strategy, or the well production plan for the wellsite and the dynamic simulation of the charge process and returning to perform another dynamic simulation and then continuing the method, the revising comprising: updating at least one of the plurality of candidate geological models; repeating the pruning and the selecting.
Kauerauf '258 teaches obtaining input data for the geological stratum, the input data comprising petroleum systems data comprising one or more of: reservoir age, source rock, charge sequence, or charge location (Col. 9 lines 14-16 "the attribute of the geologic basin includes a geologic basin charging history, which describes the geological time when the fluids enters the rock formations"; Col. 14 lines 34-35 "TOC and HI are input to the initial model as maps of their spatial distribution"; Col. 14 lines 15-16 "The initial model may also include descriptions of hydrocarbon source rock"; Kauerauf: [0078] "in some instances, hydrocarbon inflow, which may come from a source rock from below, may be provided from a basin model or other data source": the model's input carries source-rock descriptions and a charging history giving the geological time at which the fluids entered the rock, the source-rock and charge-sequence prongs of the recited one-or-more-of list);
pruning the ensemble by discarding one or more candidate geological models for which agreement is not obtained, the agreement being obtained when either: the comparing indicates agreement between the respective predicted fluid distribution result and the field-based fluid distributions; or the candidate geological model is history matched against the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test (Col. 14 lines 58-60 "Once a well has been drilled and new fluid composition and geological information become available from such well, the reservoir charge model may be updated"; Col. 14 lines 61-64 "eliminating those models that do not correspond to the newly obtained information and/or new models may be generated that correspond with the newly obtained information"; Kauerauf: [0095] "block 488 determines if the model is acceptable, i.e., is sufficiently accurate given the actual measurement data. If so, the sequence of operations is complete": once a new well is drilled and new fluid composition becomes available from it, the reservoir charge model is updated by eliminating the models that do not correspond to that newly obtained information, so the set of candidate models is pruned by discarding those whose predictions do not agree with the measured fluid data);
determining whether the comparing of the result for the selected candidate geological model to the field-based fluid distributions for the wellsite indicates that the predicted fluid distribution result is below a user-defined threshold value (Col. 11 lines 51-54 "the pre-determined criterion may include a percentage threshold that represents the maximum allowable difference between the estimated fluid property gradient and the detected fluid property gradient"; Col. 12 lines 43-49 "if the difference between the estimated fluid property gradient and the detected fluid property gradient, across the region where the detected fluid property gradient is found, is less than the percentage threshold, a determination is made that the estimate of the fluid property distribution and the detected fluid property gradient match"; Kauerauf: [0095] "block 488 determines if the model is acceptable, i.e., is sufficiently accurate given the actual measurement data. If so, the sequence of operations is complete": the match test is a percentage threshold on the maximum allowable difference between the estimated and the field-detected fluid-property gradient, the model being declared a match when the difference falls below it, a pre-set threshold expressed as model results lying within a percentage of the measured property, applied to the calibrated model's comparison; Examiner's Note – "a user-defined threshold value" corresponds to Kauerauf '258's pre-determined criterion because a percentage criterion fixed by the modeler before the match test is a threshold value the user has defined, MPEP 2111.01; Phillips v. AWH Corp.); and
when the threshold value is not satisfied, revising the at least one of: the reservoir architecture, the well placement, the well completion technique, the well stimulation strategy, or the well production plan for the wellsite and the dynamic simulation of the charge process and returning to perform another dynamic simulation and then continuing the method, the revising comprising: updating at least one of the plurality of candidate geological models (Col. 11 lines 66-67 "the PSM is adjust before returning to Block 202 for the next"; Col. 12 line 1 "iteration to improve the matching in Block 205"; Col. 12 lines 7-11 "the fluid property-defining processes modeled by the PSM, such as the temp history of the SR, geochemical properties of the modeled kerogen, PVT behavior of the fluids, etc., are adjusted based on the measured formation properties"; Col. 14 lines 58-60 "Once a well has been drilled and new fluid composition and geological information become available from such well, the reservoir charge model may be updated"; Col. 14 lines 61-64 "eliminating those models that do not correspond to the newly obtained information and/or new models may be generated that correspond with the newly obtained information"; Kauerauf: [0085] "In case of not matching measurement data with a sufficient degree of accuracy, uncertain model parameters may be adjusted to achieve a better match after re-running the simulation"; Kauerauf: [0095] "If not, control passes to block 490 to tune the RFG model, e.g., using various tuning techniques known to those of ordinary skill in the art such as adjusting uncertain parameters. The simulation is then rerun": when the match fails the model is adjusted, its modeled charge, source-rock thermal history, kerogen properties and PVT behaviour revised, and the forward simulation returns to the next iteration, the candidate set being updated by eliminating non-conforming models and generating new ones; in the primary's loop the uncertain parameters are tuned and the simulation rerun).
In particular, Kauerauf '258 teaches stochastic basin (petroleum-systems) modeling in which a number of plausible initial models carrying source-rock and charging-history data are generated and tested against downhole fluid analysis, a percentage threshold on the model-versus-measured gradient difference decides the match, the model is adjusted and re-run, and models that do not correspond to new information are eliminated.
Kauerauf and Kauerauf '258 are analogous art because they are both from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, simulating and calibrating models of hydrocarbon reservoirs against measurements taken in the wells (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Kauerauf '258 into Kauerauf's invention for the purpose of simulating a reservoir's fluid charge over geological time and calibrating it against downhole fluid measurements to provide calibration of the model and reduced uncertainty in modeling the fluid charging history (Kauerauf '258: Col. 13 lines 19-22).
This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
However, Kauerauf as modified by Kauerauf '258 fails to teach explicitly constructing, from the input data, an ensemble of a plurality of candidate geological models representing subsurface uncertainty, each of the plurality of candidate geological models representing a respective reservoir architecture hypothesis, the constructing comprising developing multi-scenario three-dimensional (3D) depositional facies for the plurality of candidate geological models; performing, for each of the plurality of candidate geological models; comparing, for each of the plurality of candidate geological models; selecting, from the ensemble after pruning, a selected candidate geological model based on the agreement being obtained; repeating the pruning and the selecting.
Maucec teaches constructing, from the input data, an ensemble of a plurality of candidate geological models representing subsurface uncertainty, each of the plurality of candidate geological models representing a respective reservoir architecture hypothesis, the constructing comprising developing multi-scenario three-dimensional (3D) depositional facies for the plurality of candidate geological models ([0048] "a number (N) of new geological realizations for the prior geological model are defined"; [0071] "a random number/seed is defined for the facies and petrophysical computation"; [0072] "a new facies realization is computed using the parameters defined in steps 301-303. The facies realization may be computed, for example, by a Pluri Gaussian"; [0073] "A single new 3D facies realization is therefore, computed in the form of a single column vector"; [0074] "the new facies realization is used to constrain the generation of a petrophysical realization in the form of a 3D array": N stochastic realizations of the prior geological model are generated, each from its own random seed and each built on its own 3D facies realization that constrains the 3D petrophysical array, an ensemble of alternative 3D facies scenarios, each a candidate architecture, whose spread is the subsurface uncertainty the stochastic approach exists to capture);
performing, for each of the plurality of candidate geological models ([0033] "computes the exact likelihood of an objective function by performing a forward simulation, streamline-tracing and calculation of derivatives, which may be performed using techniques well known in the art and the computed number (N) of new geological realizations for the prior geological model to obtain a model response g(m), a data-misfit (d-g(m))": the forward simulation is run on each of the N geological realizations of the ensemble to obtain that realization's model response);
comparing, for each of the plurality of candidate geological models ([0033] "computes the exact likelihood of an objective function by performing a forward simulation, streamline-tracing and calculation of derivatives, which may be performed using techniques well known in the art and the computed number (N) of new geological realizations for the prior geological model to obtain a model response g(m), a data-misfit (d-g(m))": the model response of each of the N geological realizations is set against the observed data as a data-misfit);
selecting, from the ensemble after pruning, a selected candidate geological model based on the agreement being obtained ([0064] "each sample that meets the acceptance criteria in steps 210, 213 and the convergence criteria in step 215 is stored as an updated posterior geological model and is dynamically ranked"; [0065] "the best ranked posterior geological model is selected using the client interface and/or the video interface described in reference to FIG. 7. Preferably, the highest ranked posterior geological model is the best.": only the samples that met the acceptance criteria are stored and dynamically ranked, and the best-ranked of those retained models is selected, a selection from the post-pruning set made on the basis of the agreement that ranked it); and
repeating the pruning and the selecting ([0066] "the prior geological model is replaced with the best ranked posterior geological model and is renamed the “prior geological model.” The method 200 then returns to step 202 to define another number (N) of new geological realizations for the prior geological model.": after the best-ranked model replaces the prior model the method returns to define and compute a fresh set of realizations, which are again accepted or rejected and ranked, the accept/reject (pruning) and ranked selection are repeated on each pass of the loop).
In particular, Maucec teaches updating posterior geological models by computing N stochastic realizations of the prior model, each on its own 3D facies realization, accepting or rejecting samples by an acceptance criterion, dynamically ranking the accepted ones, selecting the best-ranked model and replacing the prior model with it before repeating.
Kauerauf, Kauerauf '258, and Maucec are analogous art because they are all from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, simulating and calibrating models of hydrocarbon reservoirs against measurements taken in the wells (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Maucec into Kauerauf as modified by Kauerauf '258's invention for the purpose of simulating a reservoir's fluid charge over geological time and calibrating it against downhole fluid measurements to provide calibration of the model and reduced uncertainty in modeling the fluid charging history (Kauerauf '258: Col. 13 lines 19-22) and to provide updated posterior geological models for closed-loop reservoir management and well-placement optimization (Maucec: [0067]).
This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
However, Kauerauf as modified by Kauerauf '258 and Maucec fails to teach explicitly obtaining dynamic data from at least one pressure transient test; comparing the respective predicted fluid distribution result to the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test by history-matching the candidate geological model against the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test.
Le Ravalec teaches obtaining dynamic data from at least one pressure transient test (Col. 4 lines 16-19 "well tests are analyzed in order to identify influence Zones (ZI), i.e. Zones where the well test induces a pressure variation. This stage thus consists in evaluating the radius of investigation for each well subjected to well testing."; Col. 5 lines 18-20 "a term for measuring the difference between the pressure data (p,) recorded during the well tests and the simulated pressures": the well tests are analyzed to find the zone where each test induces a pressure variation, and the pressure data recorded during the well tests, the time-varying pressure response of each tested well, are the dynamic data the method takes in); and
comparing the respective predicted fluid distribution result to the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test by history-matching the candidate geological model against the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test (Col. 4 lines 45-46 "The well tests are simulated for each influence Zone (SIMDEP)."; Col. 4 lines 47-49 "The pressure responses are then obtained, from which the pressure derivatives with respect to time are deduced."; Col. 5 lines 18-20 "a term for measuring the difference between the pressure data (p,) recorded during the well tests and the simulated pressures"; Col. 5 lines 21-24 "a term for measuring the difference between the derivatives deduced from the pressure data (dp,) recorded during the well tests and derivatives (dg(t).) estimated from the simulated pressures on the fine extracted grid patterns."; Col. 6 lines 46-48 "The minimization process stops when the objective function is sufficiently small or, in other words, when data matching is reasonably good.": the well tests are simulated on the geological model, the simulated pressures and pressure derivatives are compared term by term with the pressures and derivatives recorded during the well tests inside an objective function, and the geological model is modified and re-simulated until the match is reasonably good, history-matching the geological model against the well-test (pressure-transient) data).
In particular, Le Ravalec teaches updating a geological model by simulating well tests, comparing simulated pressures and pressure derivatives with those recorded during the well tests in an objective function, and modifying the model until the match is reasonably good.
Kauerauf, Kauerauf '258, Maucec, and Le Ravalec are analogous art because they are all from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, simulating and calibrating models of hydrocarbon reservoirs against measurements taken in the wells (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Le Ravalec into Kauerauf as modified by Kauerauf '258 and Maucec's invention for the purpose of simulating a reservoir's fluid charge over geological time and calibrating it against downhole fluid measurements to provide calibration of the model and reduced uncertainty in modeling the fluid charging history (Kauerauf '258: Col. 13 lines 19-22) and to provide updated posterior geological models for closed-loop reservoir management and well-placement optimization (Maucec: [0067]) and to provide a geological model meeting both dynamic data and well tests, the two data types being matched simultaneously (Le Ravalec: Col. 3 lines 57-59; Col. 3 lines 61-62).
This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
As per Claim 2 and 11, Kauerauf et al. teaches wherein the input data includes at least one seismic survey ([0075] “seismic surveys with interpretation”: seismic surveys with interpretation are among the data sources used to generate the RFG model).
As per Claim 3 and 12, Kauerauf et al. teaches wherein the input data includes at least one of; geology logs or petrophysical logs ([0075], [0077] “well data (e.g. well logs)”, “subsurface maps of geological formations…faults… rock properties”: well data in the form of well logs, and the rock properties they describe (rock type, porosity, shale content), are inputs to the model, geology or petrophysical logs).
As per Claim 4 and 13, Kauerauf et al. teaches wherein the input data includes core sample data ([0055] "core sample data measured from a core sample of the formation": [0075], [0085], [0095] “fluid samples from downhole fluid analysis (DFA)”: core sample data measured from a core sample of the formation is among the static data collected for the model).
As per Claim 5 and 14, Kauerauf et al. teaches wherein the input data includes fluid sample data ([0055], [0060], [0077], “core sample data measured from a core sample of the formation”, “rock properties… such as rock type (e.g., sandstone, shale, salt, limestone, etc.), porosity, shale content, etc. Fault properties, e.g., shale gouge content, may also be used””; [0075] "various data sources may be used for generating an RFG model 402 in different embodiments, e.g., basin models, seismic surveys with interpretation, well data (e.g. well logs), magnetic data, gravity, measurement data (e.g., from downhole fluid analysis), etc."; [0085] "compares simulated fluid distributions with measurement data 424, e.g. fluid samples from downhole fluid analysis (DFA)": measurement data from downhole fluid analysis, the fluid samples analyzed downhole, are among the input data sources of the model).
As per Claim 8, Kauerauf et al. teaches further comprising saving a final reservoir architecture in a non-volatile memory (Fig. 1, [0009]-[0010], [0094], [0096] “results may then be output to the integrated subsurface model in block 478”, “block 508 the results of the simulation are output, e.g., to the integrated subsurface model, to a separate simulation output, or to a visualization module for display and analysis.” : the completed simulation's results, carrying the calibrated reservoir description, are written back into the integrated subsurface model held in the computer's memory, which includes non-volatile memories).
As per Claim 9, Kauerauf et al. teaches further comprising printing characteristics of a final reservoir architecture ([0096] “the results of the simulation may also be used in the performance of an oilfield operation, e.g., to drill a well, determine a field development plan, to configure a surface network, to control a production and/or injection well, etc.” : the simulation results are output to a visualization module for display and analysis on a system whose output devices include a printer, printing of the final model's characteristics).
As per Claim 17, Kauerauf teaches a system for conducting hydrocarbon recovery operations through simulation of a fluid charge ([0072]; [0026]), comprising:
a computer or computing apparatus ([0026] "System 10 is illustrated as including one or more computers 12, e.g., client computers, each including a central processing unit (CPU) 14 including at least one hardware-based processor or processing core 16": the system runs on one or more computers each with a CPU and processing core, the recited computer or computing apparatus);
at least one memory comprising at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by the computer or computing apparatus, cause the system to perform operations, the operations comprising: ([0031] "Program code generally comprises one or more instructions that are resident at various times in various memory and storage devices in a computer, and that, when read and executed by one or more hardware-based processing units in a computer"; [0032] "Computer readable storage media is non-transitory in nature, and may include volatile and non-volatile, and removable and non-removable media implemented in any method or technology for storage of information, such as computer readable instructions"; [0026] "non-volatile or backup memories (e.g., programmable or flash memories), read only memories": program code resident in memory and storage devices is read and executed by the hardware processing units to perform the described steps, the storage media being non-transitory, a memory holding a non-transitory medium with instructions that cause the system to perform the operations);
obtaining field-based fluid distributions for a wellsite, the field-based fluid distributions including measured fluid distributions from downhole fluid analysis and geochemical analysis of fluid samples ([0085] "compares simulated fluid distributions with measurement data 424, e.g. fluid samples from downhole fluid analysis (DFA)"; [0055] "Tests for density and viscosity may be performed on the fluids in the core at varying pressures and temperatures"; [0095] "FIG. 10 illustrates a sequence of operations 480 for calibrating an RFG model, and begins in block 482 by measurement data, e.g., DFA data": the measured fluid distributions used for calibration are the fluid samples analyzed downhole (DFA), and the fluids extracted from core are tested in the laboratory for density and viscosity at varying pressures and temperatures, the measured distributions thus coming from downhole fluid analysis and from analysis of fluid samples);
preparing a computer model of at least one of: an assumed reservoir architecture, a well placement, a well completion technique, a well stimulation strategy, or a well production plan for the wellsite ([0093] "a region of interest is selected and cut out of the integrated subsurface model and the cut out region of interest is refined to the desired scale for the RFG simulation"; [0077] "input data for RFG model 402 may include at least subsurface maps of geological formations, and in some instances, faults describing discontinuities between formations may also be provided as additional input to describe the overall geometry of a subsurface region"; [0031] "Program code generally comprises one or more instructions that are resident at various times in various memory and storage devices in a computer, and that, when read and executed by one or more hardware-based processing units in a computer": the region of interest is cut out of the integrated subsurface model and refined to the simulation scale, with subsurface maps and faults describing the overall geometry, a computer-held model of the assumed reservoir architecture prepared for the wellsite region);
a computer-based dynamic simulation of a charge process for the at least one of: the assumed reservoir architecture, the well placement, the well completion technique, the well stimulation strategy, or the well production plan for the wellsite to produce a respective predicted fluid distribution result for the candidate geological model, the dynamic simulation simulating charging of hydrocarbon fluids into the reservoir over geological time, and, as fluids enter the reservoir, the fluids mixing with previously-charged fluids, inducing both convective and diffusive mixing, the dynamic simulation of the charge process being used to infer reservoir-scale connectivity ([0067] "RFG modeling may be based upon both intermediate timescales (e.g., in terms of thousands of years, such as about 1000 to about 10,000,000 years"; [0072] "RFG timescales may, in some embodiments, incorporate substantially continuous feeding of an RFG model with hydrocarbons from a source rock from below"; [0082] "diffusion of fluid compounds, e.g. compositional grading"; [0082] "ground water flow; convection; CO2 sequestration"; [0085] "Resulting fluid distributions generated by RFG simulator 404 may also be used for calibration purposes"; [0082] "flow baffling up to compartmentalization"; [0086] "flow baffles may be discovered and production rate predictions from reservoir simulation may resultantly become more accurate": the RFG simulation feeds hydrocarbons into the reservoir model from the source rock over thousands to millions of years and models diffusion of fluid compounds together with convection and ground-water flow, producing the resulting fluid distributions as the predicted distribution of the simulated model; the processes include flow baffling up to compartmentalization, so that flow baffles are discovered from the simulation, the connectivity inference the claim recites);
the respective predicted fluid distribution result to the field-based fluid distributions for the wellsite, the comparing comprising: comparing the respective predicted fluid distribution result to the field-based fluid distributions, including comparing fluid distribution characteristics comprising one or more of: composition, asphaltene content, gas-to-oil ratio, isotope ratios, or other geochemical metrics ([0085] "compares simulated fluid distributions with measurement data 424, e.g. fluid samples from downhole fluid analysis (DFA)"; [0082] "diffusion of fluid compounds, e.g. compositional grading"; [0082] "asphaltene flocculation; tar mat formation"; [0095] "block 486 performs a comparison between this data, e.g., using various model validation techniques": the simulated fluid distributions, carrying compositional grading and asphaltene flocculation, are compared with the DFA measurement data by the calibration module, a comparison of modeled fluid-distribution characteristics against measured ones); and
when the threshold value is satisfied, using the revised at least one of: the reservoir architecture, the well placement, the well completion technique, the well stimulation strategy, or the well production plan for the wellsite to drill a well, control a production well, or control an injection well at the wellsite ([0096] "the results of the simulation may also be used in the performance of an oilfield operation, e.g., to drill a well, determine a field development plan, to configure a surface network, to control a production and/or injection well, etc.": the simulation results are used to drill a well, to determine a field development plan and to control a production and/or injection well, the recited field use of the revised plan).
In particular, Kauerauf teaches reservoir fluid geodynamics (RFG) modeling: an RFG model of a cut-out reservoir region is fed with hydrocarbons from the source rock over geological time, diffusion and convection of the fluids are simulated, the resulting fluid distributions are compared with downhole-fluid-analysis measurements, the model is tuned and rerun until acceptable, and the results are used to drill and control wells.
However, Kauerauf fails to teach explicitly obtaining input data for an initial computer model of a hydrocarbon field, the input data comprising petroleum systems data comprising one or more of: reservoir age, source rock, charge sequence, or charge location; constructing, from the input data, an ensemble of a plurality of candidate geological models representing subsurface uncertainty, each of the plurality of candidate geological models representing a respective reservoir architecture hypothesis, the constructing comprising developing multi-scenario three-dimensional (3D) depositional facies for the plurality of candidate geological models; performing, for each of the plurality of candidate geological models; obtaining dynamic data from at least one pressure transient test; comparing, for each of the plurality of candidate geological models; comparing the respective predicted fluid distribution result to the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test by history-matching the candidate geological model against the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test; pruning the ensemble by discarding one or more candidate geological models for which agreement is not obtained, the agreement being obtained when either: the comparing indicates agreement between the respective predicted fluid distribution result and the field-based fluid distributions; or the candidate geological model is history matched against the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test; selecting, from the ensemble after pruning, a selected candidate geological model based on the agreement being obtained; determining whether the comparing of the result for the selected candidate geological model to the field-based fluid distributions for the wellsite indicates that the predicted fluid distribution result is below a threshold value to produce a final result; when the threshold value is not satisfied, revising the at least one of: the reservoir architecture, the well placement, the well completion technique, the well stimulation strategy, or the well production plan for the wellsite and the dynamic simulation of the charge process and returning to perform another dynamic simulation and then continuing the method, the revising comprising: updating at least one of the plurality of candidate geological models; repeating the pruning and the selecting.
Kauerauf '258 teaches obtaining input data for an initial computer model of a hydrocarbon field, the input data comprising petroleum systems data comprising one or more of: reservoir age, source rock, charge sequence, or charge location (Col. 9 lines 14-16 "the attribute of the geologic basin includes a geologic basin charging history, which describes the geological time when the fluids enters the rock formations"; Col. 14 lines 34-35 "TOC and HI are input to the initial model as maps of their spatial distribution"; Col. 14 lines 15-16 "The initial model may also include descriptions of hydrocarbon source rock"; Kauerauf: [0078] "in some instances, hydrocarbon inflow, which may come from a source rock from below, may be provided from a basin model or other data source": the model's input carries source-rock descriptions and a charging history giving the geological time at which the fluids entered the rock, the source-rock and charge-sequence prongs of the recited one-or-more-of list);
pruning the ensemble by discarding one or more candidate geological models for which agreement is not obtained, the agreement being obtained when either: the comparing indicates agreement between the respective predicted fluid distribution result and the field-based fluid distributions; or the candidate geological model is history matched against the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test (Col. 14 lines 58-60 "Once a well has been drilled and new fluid composition and geological information become available from such well, the reservoir charge model may be updated"; Col. 14 lines 61-64 "eliminating those models that do not correspond to the newly obtained information and/or new models may be generated that correspond with the newly obtained information"; Kauerauf: [0095] "block 488 determines if the model is acceptable, i.e., is sufficiently accurate given the actual measurement data. If so, the sequence of operations is complete": once a new well is drilled and new fluid composition becomes available from it, the reservoir charge model is updated by eliminating the models that do not correspond to that newly obtained information, so the set of candidate models is pruned by discarding those whose predictions do not agree with the measured fluid data);
determining whether the comparing of the result for the selected candidate geological model to the field-based fluid distributions for the wellsite indicates that the predicted fluid distribution result is below a threshold value to produce a final result (Col. 11 lines 51-54 "the pre-determined criterion may include a percentage threshold that represents the maximum allowable difference between the estimated fluid property gradient and the detected fluid property gradient"; Col. 12 lines 43-49 "if the difference between the estimated fluid property gradient and the detected fluid property gradient, across the region where the detected fluid property gradient is found, is less than the percentage threshold, a determination is made that the estimate of the fluid property distribution and the detected fluid property gradient match"; Col. 12 lines 51-52 "In Block 206, based on the adjusted PSM, the field operation is performed within the geologic basin"; Kauerauf: [0095] "block 488 determines if the model is acceptable, i.e., is sufficiently accurate given the actual measurement data. If so, the sequence of operations is complete": when the difference falls below the percentage threshold the model is declared a match and the adjusted model is used for the field operation, the threshold test produces the final, calibrated result); and
when the threshold value is not satisfied, revising the at least one of: the reservoir architecture, the well placement, the well completion technique, the well stimulation strategy, or the well production plan for the wellsite and the dynamic simulation of the charge process and returning to perform another dynamic simulation and then continuing the method, the revising comprising: updating at least one of the plurality of candidate geological models (Col. 11 lines 66-67 "the PSM is adjust before returning to Block 202 for the next"; Col. 12 line 1 "iteration to improve the matching in Block 205"; Col. 12 lines 7-11 "the fluid property-defining processes modeled by the PSM, such as the temp history of the SR, geochemical properties of the modeled kerogen, PVT behavior of the fluids, etc., are adjusted based on the measured formation properties"; Col. 14 lines 58-60 "Once a well has been drilled and new fluid composition and geological information become available from such well, the reservoir charge model may be updated"; Col. 14 lines 61-64 "eliminating those models that do not correspond to the newly obtained information and/or new models may be generated that correspond with the newly obtained information"; Kauerauf: [0085] "In case of not matching measurement data with a sufficient degree of accuracy, uncertain model parameters may be adjusted to achieve a better match after re-running the simulation"; Kauerauf: [0095] "If not, control passes to block 490 to tune the RFG model, e.g., using various tuning techniques known to those of ordinary skill in the art such as adjusting uncertain parameters. The simulation is then rerun": when the match fails the model is adjusted, its modeled charge, source-rock thermal history, kerogen properties and PVT behaviour revised, and the forward simulation returns to the next iteration, the candidate set being updated by eliminating non-conforming models and generating new ones; in the primary's loop the uncertain parameters are tuned and the simulation rerun).
In particular, Kauerauf '258 teaches stochastic basin (petroleum-systems) modeling in which a number of plausible initial models carrying source-rock and charging-history data are generated and tested against downhole fluid analysis, a percentage threshold on the model-versus-measured gradient difference decides the match, the model is adjusted and re-run, and models that do not correspond to new information are eliminated.
Kauerauf and Kauerauf '258 are analogous art because they are both from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, simulating and calibrating models of hydrocarbon reservoirs against measurements taken in the wells (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Kauerauf '258 into Kauerauf's invention for the purpose of simulating a reservoir's fluid charge over geological time and calibrating it against downhole fluid measurements to provide calibration of the model and reduced uncertainty in modeling the fluid charging history (Kauerauf '258: Col. 13 lines 19-22).
This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
However, Kauerauf as modified by Kauerauf '258 fails to teach explicitly constructing, from the input data, an ensemble of a plurality of candidate geological models representing subsurface uncertainty, each of the plurality of candidate geological models representing a respective reservoir architecture hypothesis, the constructing comprising developing multi-scenario three-dimensional (3D) depositional facies for the plurality of candidate geological models; performing, for each of the plurality of candidate geological models; comparing, for each of the plurality of candidate geological models; selecting, from the ensemble after pruning, a selected candidate geological model based on the agreement being obtained; repeating the pruning and the selecting.
Maucec teaches constructing, from the input data, an ensemble of a plurality of candidate geological models representing subsurface uncertainty, each of the plurality of candidate geological models representing a respective reservoir architecture hypothesis, the constructing comprising developing multi-scenario three-dimensional (3D) depositional facies for the plurality of candidate geological models ([0048] "a number (N) of new geological realizations for the prior geological model are defined"; [0071] "a random number/seed is defined for the facies and petrophysical computation"; [0072] "a new facies realization is computed using the parameters defined in steps 301-303. The facies realization may be computed, for example, by a Pluri Gaussian"; [0073] "A single new 3D facies realization is therefore, computed in the form of a single column vector"; [0074] "the new facies realization is used to constrain the generation of a petrophysical realization in the form of a 3D array": N stochastic realizations of the prior geological model are generated, each from its own random seed and each built on its own 3D facies realization that constrains the 3D petrophysical array, an ensemble of alternative 3D facies scenarios, each a candidate architecture, whose spread is the subsurface uncertainty the stochastic approach exists to capture);
performing, for each of the plurality of candidate geological models ([0033] "computes the exact likelihood of an objective function by performing a forward simulation, streamline-tracing and calculation of derivatives, which may be performed using techniques well known in the art and the computed number (N) of new geological realizations for the prior geological model to obtain a model response g(m), a data-misfit (d-g(m))": the forward simulation is run on each of the N geological realizations of the ensemble to obtain that realization's model response);
comparing, for each of the plurality of candidate geological models ([0033] "computes the exact likelihood of an objective function by performing a forward simulation, streamline-tracing and calculation of derivatives, which may be performed using techniques well known in the art and the computed number (N) of new geological realizations for the prior geological model to obtain a model response g(m), a data-misfit (d-g(m))": the model response of each of the N geological realizations is set against the observed data as a data-misfit);
selecting, from the ensemble after pruning, a selected candidate geological model based on the agreement being obtained ([0064] "each sample that meets the acceptance criteria in steps 210, 213 and the convergence criteria in step 215 is stored as an updated posterior geological model and is dynamically ranked"; [0065] "the best ranked posterior geological model is selected using the client interface and/or the video interface described in reference to FIG. 7. Preferably, the highest ranked posterior geological model is the best.": only the samples that met the acceptance criteria are stored and dynamically ranked, and the best-ranked of those retained models is selected, a selection from the post-pruning set made on the basis of the agreement that ranked it); and
repeating the pruning and the selecting ([0066] "the prior geological model is replaced with the best ranked posterior geological model and is renamed the “prior geological model.” The method 200 then returns to step 202 to define another number (N) of new geological realizations for the prior geological model.": after the best-ranked model replaces the prior model the method returns to define and compute a fresh set of realizations, which are again accepted or rejected and ranked, the accept/reject (pruning) and ranked selection are repeated on each pass of the loop).
In particular, Maucec teaches updating posterior geological models by computing N stochastic realizations of the prior model, each on its own 3D facies realization, accepting or rejecting samples by an acceptance criterion, dynamically ranking the accepted ones, selecting the best-ranked model and replacing the prior model with it before repeating.
Kauerauf, Kauerauf '258, and Maucec are analogous art because they are all from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, simulating and calibrating models of hydrocarbon reservoirs against measurements taken in the wells (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Maucec into Kauerauf as modified by Kauerauf '258's invention for the purpose of simulating a reservoir's fluid charge over geological time and calibrating it against downhole fluid measurements to provide calibration of the model and reduced uncertainty in modeling the fluid charging history (Kauerauf '258: Col. 13 lines 19-22) and to provide updated posterior geological models for closed-loop reservoir management and well-placement optimization (Maucec: [0067]).
This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
However, Kauerauf as modified by Kauerauf '258 and Maucec fails to teach explicitly obtaining dynamic data from at least one pressure transient test; comparing the respective predicted fluid distribution result to the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test by history-matching the candidate geological model against the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test.
Le Ravalec teaches obtaining dynamic data from at least one pressure transient test (Col. 4 lines 16-19 "well tests are analyzed in order to identify influence Zones (ZI), i.e. Zones where the well test induces a pressure variation. This stage thus consists in evaluating the radius of investigation for each well subjected to well testing."; Col. 5 lines 18-20 "a term for measuring the difference between the pressure data (p,) recorded during the well tests and the simulated pressures": the well tests are analyzed to find the zone where each test induces a pressure variation, and the pressure data recorded during the well tests, the time-varying pressure response of each tested well, are the dynamic data the method takes in); and
comparing the respective predicted fluid distribution result to the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test by history-matching the candidate geological model against the dynamic data from the at least one pressure transient test (Col. 4 lines 45-46 "The well tests are simulated for each influence Zone (SIMDEP)."; Col. 4 lines 47-49 "The pressure responses are then obtained, from which the pressure derivatives with respect to time are deduced."; Col. 5 lines 18-20 "a term for measuring the difference between the pressure data (p,) recorded during the well tests and the simulated pressures"; Col. 5 lines 21-24 "a term for measuring the difference between the derivatives deduced from the pressure data (dp,) recorded during the well tests and derivatives (dg(t).) estimated from the simulated pressures on the fine extracted grid patterns."; Col. 6 lines 46-48 "The minimization process stops when the objective function is sufficiently small or, in other words, when data matching is reasonably good.": the well tests are simulated on the geological model, the simulated pressures and pressure derivatives are compared term by term with the pressures and derivatives recorded during the well tests inside an objective function, and the geological model is modified and re-simulated until the match is reasonably good, history-matching the geological model against the well-test (pressure-transient) data).
In particular, Le Ravalec teaches updating a geological model by simulating well tests, comparing simulated pressures and pressure derivatives with those recorded during the well tests in an objective function, and modifying the model until the match is reasonably good.
Kauerauf, Kauerauf '258, Maucec, and Le Ravalec are analogous art because they are all from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, simulating and calibrating models of hydrocarbon reservoirs against measurements taken in the wells (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Le Ravalec into Kauerauf as modified by Kauerauf '258 and Maucec's invention for the purpose of simulating a reservoir's fluid charge over geological time and calibrating it against downhole fluid measurements to provide calibration of the model and reduced uncertainty in modeling the fluid charging history (Kauerauf '258: Col. 13 lines 19-22) and to provide updated posterior geological models for closed-loop reservoir management and well-placement optimization (Maucec: [0067]) and to provide a geological model meeting both dynamic data and well tests, the two data types being matched simultaneously (Le Ravalec: Col. 3 lines 57-59; Col. 3 lines 61-62).
This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
As per Claim 18, Kauerauf et al. teaches wherein the field-based values are used in at least one of field development planning, well placement and construction, wellbore completion, wellbore stimulation, or wellbore production activities ([0025], [0063]-[0067], [0070], [0074], [0096] “early development workflows in the oil & gas industry”, “block 508 the results of the simulation are output, e.g., to the integrated subsurface model, to a separate simulation output, or to a visualization module for display and analysis.”, "the results of the simulation may also be used in the performance of an oilfield operation, e.g., to drill a well, determine a field development plan, to configure a surface network, to control a production and/or injection well, etc.": the simulation results calibrated to the field data are used to drill a well, determine a field development plan and control production or injection wells, field development planning, well placement and production activities).
As per Claim 19, Kauerauf et al. teaches wherein the obtaining input data includes obtaining petrophysics data ([0077]-[0078] [0088], [0097] “input data for RFG model 402 may include at least subsurface maps of geological formations… faults … rock properties describing the volumes between mapped surfaces and faults may be used, such as rock type (e.g., sandstone, shale, salt, limestone, etc.), porosity, shale content, etc. Fault properties, e.g., shale gouge content, may also be used”, “subsurface formation data, which may include measurement data, rock properties, subsurface maps, fault maps,”: rock type, porosity and shale content, petrophysical properties, are obtained as input describing the volumes between the mapped surfaces).
As per Claim 20, Kauerauf et al. teaches wherein the obtaining input data includes obtaining one or more of: fluid composition data, optical density data, gas to oil gas-to-oil ratio data, mass density data, viscosity biomarker data, or isotope pressure data ([0047], [0049], [0055], [0064], [0077]-[0082], [0085] “a graph of the density, porosity, permeability, or some other physical property of the core sample over the length of the core. Tests for density and viscosity may be performed on the fluids in the core at varying pressures and temperatures.”, “fluid compositions within a reservoir”, “diffusion of fluid compounds, e.g. compositional grading”, “in and outflow of energy and/or fluid (water, hydrocarbons, non-hydrocarbons such as nitrogen, carbon dioxide, etc.), masses, pressures and/or mechanical constraints (e.g., outer stresses from tectonics), may also be used as input data.”, “measurement data 424, e.g. fluid samples from downhole fluid analysis (DFA)”: density and viscosity tests on the fluids in the core, and compositional grading of the fluid compounds, are among the data obtained, the viscosity, mass-density and fluid-composition prongs of the one-or-more-of list).
As per Claim 21, Kauerauf teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein, prior to performing the dynamic simulation of the charge process for each of the plurality of candidate geological models, the reservoir of the candidate geological model is filled with water or a hydrocarbon-based fluid ([0093] "boundary data for the cut out region may also be set up in block 460, e.g., in and outflow of energy and fluid such as hydrocarbons and water"; [0078] "in some instances, hydrocarbon inflow, which may come from a source rock from below, may be provided from a basin model or other data source": the cut-out reservoir region of the primary is set up before the simulation with boundary data for the in- and outflow of water and hydrocarbons, the hydrocarbons then entering from the source rock, so the modeled reservoir holds water before the charge is simulated; Examiner's Note – "the reservoir of the candidate geological model is filled with water" corresponds to Kauerauf's boundary data for the in and outflow of water set up in block 460 because the water present in the region at the start of the simulation is what the in and outflow boundary data describe; the simulation being performed for each of the candidate geological models is Maucec's, as applied to claim 1 above).
As per Claim 23, Kauerauf fails to teach explicitly wherein, when agreement is not obtained, the revising comprises: altering the charging process; feeding the altered charging process back to the plurality of candidate geological models prior to performing another dynamic simulation.
Kauerauf '258 teacheswherein, when agreement is not obtained, the revising comprises: altering the charging process (Col. 12 lines 7-11 "the fluid property-defining processes modeled by the PSM, such as the temp history of the SR, geochemical properties of the modeled kerogen, PVT behavior of the fluids, etc., are adjusted based on the measured formation properties"; Col. 11 lines 66-67 "the PSM is adjust before returning to Block 202 for the next"; Col. 12 line 1 "iteration to improve the matching in Block 205"; Kauerauf: [0085] "In case of not matching measurement data with a sufficient degree of accuracy, uncertain model parameters may be adjusted to achieve a better match after re-running the simulation": when the match fails, the processes that define the fluid properties in the petroleum-systems model, the source-rock temperature history, the kerogen's geochemical properties and the fluids' PVT behaviour, are adjusted on the basis of the measured formation properties; these are the charge-process inputs, so the charging process is what is altered); and
feeding the altered charging process back to the plurality of candidate geological models prior to performing another dynamic simulation (Col. 11 lines 66-67 "the PSM is adjust before returning to Block 202 for the next"; Col. 12 line 1 "iteration to improve the matching in Block 205"; Col. 12 lines 7-11 "the fluid property-defining processes modeled by the PSM, such as the temp history of the SR, geochemical properties of the modeled kerogen, PVT behavior of the fluids, etc., are adjusted based on the measured formation properties": see also Kauerauf: [0095] "If not, control passes to block 490 to tune the RFG model, e.g., using various tuning techniques known to those of ordinary skill in the art such as adjusting uncertain parameters. The simulation is then rerun": the adjusted petroleum-systems model is returned to the forward-modelling block for the next iteration, the altered charge processes are fed back into the model before it is simulated again, the primary likewise tuning its model and rerunning. Examiner's Note - "feeding the altered charging process back to the plurality of candidate geological models" corresponds to returning the adjusted PSM to Block 202 for the next iteration because the adjusted charge processes are the model's input for that iteration).
6. Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kauerauf (US 2019/0293835 A1) in view of Kauerauf '258 (US 10,083,258 B2), further in view of Maucec (US 2016/0047943 A1), further in view of Le Ravalec (US 8,032,345 B2) as applied to claims 1-5, 8-14, 17-21, and 23 above, further in view of Jiang (WO 2022/056353 A1).
Kauerauf as modified by Kauerauf '258, Maucec, and Le Ravalec teaches most all the instant invention as applied to claims 1-5, 8-14, 17-21, and 23 above.
As per Claim 22, Kauerauf as modified by Kauerauf '258, Maucec, and Le Ravalec fails to teach explicitly the pressure transient test has a radius of investigation of 200-500 meters around a well in which the pressure transient test is conducted.
Jiang teaches wherein the pressure transient test has a radius of investigation of 200-500 meters around a well in which the pressure transient test is conducted ([0152] "the plot 1830 shows the corresponding deviation in pressure from IA reservoir due to having no-flow boundaries at 200 ft, 400 ft, 800 ft, or 1100 ft. And, as shown in the plot 1850, the time at which the presence of no-flow boundary can be detected can be displayed as ROI versus time."; [0151] "The plot 1830 shows the pressure difference from the baseline when the formation has circular boundaries at 200 ft, 400 ft, 800 ft, 1100 ft or 1200 ft."; [0035] "ROI may be defined as a computed maximum radius in a formation in which pressure has been affected during a flow period of a transient well test": the transient test's radius of investigation grows with test time and is displayed as ROI versus time, no-flow boundaries at 800 ft, 1100 ft and 1200 ft (about 244 m, 335 m and 366 m) being detected within it, a pressure-transient test whose radius of investigation lies in the 200-500 m band. Examiner's Note - "a radius of investigation of 200-500 meters" corresponds to Jiang's radius of investigation growing with test time to the boundaries detected at 800 ft, 1100 ft and 1200 ft because those distances are 244 m, 335 m and 366 m, inside the recited band).
In particular, Jiang teaches computing the radius of investigation of a transient pressure test as it grows with test time, so that reservoir boundaries at several hundred feet from the well are detected within it.
Kauerauf, Kauerauf '258, Maucec, Le Ravalec, and Jiang are analogous art because they are all from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, simulating and calibrating models of hydrocarbon reservoirs against measurements taken in the wells (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Jiang into Kauerauf as modified by Kauerauf '258, Maucec, and Le Ravalec's invention for the purpose of simulating a reservoir's fluid charge over geological time and calibrating it against downhole fluid measurements to provide calibration of the model and reduced uncertainty in modeling the fluid charging history (Kauerauf '258: Col. 13 lines 19-22) and to provide updated posterior geological models for closed-loop reservoir management and well-placement optimization (Maucec: [0067]) and to provide a geological model meeting both dynamic data and well tests, the two data types being matched simultaneously (Le Ravalec: Col. 3 lines 57-59; Col. 3 lines 61-62) and to provide meaning in relation to the total volume of reservoir represented by the computed reservoir parameters (Jiang: [0035]).
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed 06/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 8-14, and 17-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument – in view of Kauerauf '258, Maucec, and Le Ravalec.
Further applicants have argued (Remarks, page 14, paragraph 2) that:
It is noted that Kauerauf is no longer relied upon for those features. As set forth above, Kauerauf '258 is relied upon for the petroleum systems data (Col. 9 lines 14-16; Col. 14 lines 34-35; Col. 14 lines 15-16), for the pruning (Col. 14 lines 61-64) and for the user-defined threshold value (Col. 11 lines 51-54; Col. 12 lines 43-49), and Maucec is relied upon for the ensemble of candidate geological models with multi-scenario three-dimensional depositional facies ([0048]; [0071]; [0072]; [0073]; [0074]) and for the selecting ([0064]; [0065]). Kauerauf remains relied upon for the teachings Applicant did not dispute, the dynamic simulation of the charge process over geological time with convective and diffusive mixing ([0067]; [0072]; [0082]) and the comparison of the simulated fluid distributions with downhole fluid analysis measurements ([0085]; [0095]).
Furthermore, it is noted that Gurpinar is no longer applied, so applicant's arguments directed to Gurpinar (Remarks, page 14, paragraph 3) are not reached. The history-matching against the dynamic data from the pressure transient test is taught by Le Ravalec (Col. 4 lines 45-46; Col. 4 lines 47-49; Col. 5 lines 18-20; Col. 5 lines 21-24), as set forth above.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Alwehaibi (US 11,493,654 B2) teaches calibrating a three-dimensional geological model against pressure transient data of multiple wells within the radius of investigation of each test.
Fung (US 10,650,175 B2) teaches simulation of hydrocarbon migration into reservoirs whose pore space is initially occupied by water.
EUNHEE KIM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2188
/EUNHEE KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2188