DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 15 January 2025, 26 May 2025, 29 August 2025, and 17 November 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15-25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims are directed towards a computer readable storage medium, which according to 0114 of the instant specification, can include, “any other form of storage medium known in the art.” This includes a carrier signal or wave, which is not within the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McDougall et al., USPN 2019/0372940.
With regard to claims 8, 1, and 15, McDougall discloses a method including receiving application data via at least one data prompt on an application form on a computing device (0020, 0023, 0133), receiving device data from the computing device (0132), executing a trained artificial intelligence (AI) model to predict an identity risk level based on the application data and the device data (0133, 0030-0032, 0043), determining at least one identity check to be performed based on the predicted identity risk level (0133, 0022, 0094-0106, 0129), executing the at least one identity check while receiving additional application data via at least one additional data prompt on the application form (0022, 0032, 0070-0077, 0093, 0129), and updating the application form on the computing device with an identity check indicator based on the executing (0032, 0070-0077, 0051).
With regard to claims 9, 2, and 16, McDougall discloses the method of claim 8, as outlined above, and further discloses comparing the received application data against an expected range of the application data (0129) and providing an indication on the application form when the received application data is not in the expected range (0129, 0133).
With regard to claims 10, 3, and 17, McDougall discloses the method of claim 8, as outlined above, and further discloses the received application data is not in the expected range, providing the expected range and a rationale for the provided expected range on the application form (0129-0133).
With regard to claims 11, 4, and 18, McDougall discloses the method of claim 8, as outlined above, and further discloses the expected range and the rationale are based on at least one private data source and at least one public data source (0030, 0079-0081, 0087, 0091, 0132).
With regard to claims 12, 5, and 19, McDougall discloses the method of claim 8, as outlined above, and further discloses communicating with another computing device associated with the computing device to verify at least one of the received application data or the received device data (0024, 0030, 0032, 0070, 0079-0081, 0087, 0091).
With regard to claims 13, 6, and 20, McDougall discloses the method of claim 8, as outlined above, and further discloses adding a model feedback record, which includes the predicted identity risk level and a final application identity check result, to model feedback data, and retraining the trained AI model with the model feedback data (0105, 0033, 0073, 0043, 0061-0067).
With regard to claims 14 and 7, McDougall discloses the method of claim 8, as outlined above, and further discloses application form is displayed on a graphical user interface (GUI) on the computing device, wherein the identity check indicator is a visual indicator displayed on the GUI (Figures 3-5E), wherein an AI agent performs an action based on the application form (0032, 0105).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/778,030 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are seen as broader than the claims in the 030 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
References Cited
Tugerman et al., USPN 2016/0307201, discloses a method of using artificial intelligence (0037) to reduce risk associated with an application form (0025).
Conclusion
/JACOB LIPMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434