DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Applicant’s response filed 8/17/26 elected Species I, claims 1-7 for examination. Claims 1-7 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Publication No. 2022/0032180 A1 to Khaira et al. (hereinafter “Khaira”).
Concerning claim 1, Khaira discloses a gaming system, comprising: a handheld controller with a first handle and a second handle; a bridge connecting the first handle and the second handle, the bridge defining an x-y plane (Abstract, Figs. 1 and 18, elements 101, 102, 119, and 199); and
a contact zone on at least one of the first handle and the second handle, the contact zone configured to align and constrain a mobile device in a desired gameplay position that is substantially parallel to the x-y plane and between the first handle and the second handle, the contact zone having a cross-sectional profile in an x-z plane, the x-z plane being perpendicular to the x-y plane, the cross-sectional profile of the contact zone comprising an arcuate section and a chamfered section, the arcuate section having a radius and a center of curvature that is between the first handle and the second handle, the chamfered section comprising two substantially flat segments meeting at an obtuse angle, at least one of the two substantially flat segments having a length that is not less than one-quarter of the radius of the arcuate section (Figs. 19-21, elements 106, 145, 156, 155, paragraph [0112] – the contact zone on handles has both chamfered and arcuate sections and having a radius and a center of curvature that is between the first handle and the second handle).
Concerning claim 2, Khaira discloses in which the chamfered section further comprises a third substantially flat segment that meets at least one of the two substantially flat segments at an obtuse angle (Figs. 19-21, elements 106, 145, 156, 155, paragraph [0112]).
Concerning claim 3, Khaira discloses in which the contact zone on at least one of the first handle and the second handle is a first contact zone on the first handle and a second contact zone on the second handle (Figs. 19-21, elements 106, 145, 156, 155, paragraph [0112]).
Concerning claim 4, Khaira discloses in which the chamfered section is a first chamfered section, and in which the cross-sectional profile of the contact zone further comprises a second chamfered section, the arcuate section being between the first chamfered section and the second chamfered section in the cross-sectional profile of the contact zone (Figs. 19-21, elements 106, 145, 156, 155, paragraph [0112]).
Concerning claim 5, Khaira discloses in which the bridge is in sliding engagement with the first handle and the second handle, the bridge having a span extending away from the first handle, the span having a transverse midline, the midline of the bridge being between the first handle and the second handle, the bridge and the first handle being configured for the first handle to translate in a retraction direction toward the midline of the bridge and into a retracted configuration and also to translate in an extension direction away from the midline of the bridge into an extended configuration, the bridge and the second handle being configured for the second handle to translate along the bridge in the retraction direction toward the midline of the bridge and into the retracted configuration and also to translate in the extension direction away from the midline of the bridge and into the extended configuration (Abstract, Figs. 1 and 18, elements 101, 102, 119, and 199; Figs. 19-21, elements 106, 145, 156, 155, paragraph [0112]).
Concerning claim 6, Khaira discloses in which the contact zone is configured to align and constrain the mobile device in the desired gameplay position in the retracted configuration (Abstract, Figs. 1 and 18, elements 101, 102, 119, and 199).
Concerning claim 7, Khaira discloses further comprising a mobile device constrained between the first handle and the second handle in the desired gameplay position, the mobile device contacting the contact zone and being constrained to the desired gameplay position by the contact zone (Abstract, Figs. 1 and 18, elements 101, 102, 119, and 199).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the PTO-892.
MALINA D. BLAISE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/MALINA D. BLAISE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715