DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to an application filed on 11/21/24 in which claims 1-24 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Seo et al. (Patent No.: 11, 425, 655), herein Seo.
As to claim 1, Seo teaches a user equipment, comprising:
at least one processor (Seo Fig. 11 control unit); and
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the user equipment to (Seo Fig. 11 memory unit):
receive, from a network device, configuration information associated with downlink control information for an action on a cell discontinuous operation of a cell, wherein the configuration information indicates when to monitor the downlink control information, and the cell discontinuous operation comprises at least one of (Seo Fig. 32 receive a configuration message indicating at least one monitoring occasion for WUS detection):
a cell discontinuous transmission or a cell discontinuous reception (Seo column 7 lines 37-44 receives a configuration message indicating at least one monitoring occasion for detection a wake-up (WUS) and may perform different actions according to whether the monitoring occasion is located within a predetermined time from the start time of the next DRX on-duration or whether it is located before the predetermined time from the start of the DRX-on duration); and
monitor the downlink control information based on the configuration information and a status of the cell discontinuous operation. (Seo column 11 lines 55-64 perform WUS monitoring according to whether there is a WUS monitoring occasion in a time window between the time based offset and the start slot. When the UE does not perform WUS monitoring (when WUS monitoring is skipped) the UE wakes up at the next DRX-on duration (status is between the offset and start slot))
As to claim 22, Seo teaches an apparatus comprising:
at least one processor (Seo Fig. 11 control unit); and
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to (Seo Fig. 11 memory unit)
transmit, to a terminal device, configuration information associated with downlink control information for an action on a cell discontinuous operation of a cell, wherein the configuration information indicates when to monitor the downlink control information, and the cell discontinuous operation comprises at least one of (Seo Fig. 32 receive a configuration message indicating at least one monitoring occasion for WUS detection):
a cell discontinuous transmission or a cell discontinuous reception (Seo column 7 lines 37-44 receives a configuration message indicating at least one monitoring occasion for detection a wake-up (WUS) and may perform different actions according to whether the monitoring occasion is located within a predetermined time from the start time of the next DRX on-duration or whether it is located before the predetermined time from the start of the DRX-on duration); and
transmit, to the terminal device, the downlink control information based on the configuration information and a status of the cell discontinuous operation (Seo column 11 lines 55-64 perform WUS monitoring according to whether there is a WUS monitoring occasion in a time window between the time based offset and the start slot. When the UE does not perform WUS monitoring (when WUS monitoring is skipped) the UE wakes up at the next DRX-on duration (status is between the offset and start slot))
and
transmit, per a periodicity configured by the network device, the downlink control information indicating the action (Seo column 38 lines 1-5 monitoring slot periodicity and offset)
As to claim 23, Seo teaches a method comprising: receiving, at an apparatus and from a network device, configuration information associated with downlink control information for an action on a cell discontinuous operation of a cell, wherein the configuration information indicates when to monitor the downlink control information, and the cell discontinuous operation comprises at least one of (Seo Fig. 32 receive a configuration message indicating at least one monitoring occasion for WUS detection):
a cell discontinuous transmission or a cell discontinuous reception (Seo column 7 lines 37-44 receives a configuration message indicating at least one monitoring occasion for detection a wake-up (WUS) and may perform different actions according to whether the monitoring occasion is located within a predetermined time from the start time of the next DRX on-duration or whether it is located before the predetermined time from the start of the DRX-on duration); and
monitoring the downlink control information based on the configuration information and a status of the cell discontinuous operation (Seo column 11 lines 55-64 perform WUS monitoring according to whether there is a WUS monitoring occasion in a time window between the time based offset and the start slot. When the UE does not perform WUS monitoring (when WUS monitoring is skipped) the UE wakes up at the next DRX-on duration (status is between the offset and start slot))
and
monitoring, per a periodicity configured by the network device, the downlink control information indicating the action (Seo column 38 lines 1-5 monitoring slot periodicity and offset)
As to claim 24, Seo teaches a method comprising:
transmitting, at an apparatus and to a terminal device, configuration information associated with downlink control information for an action on a cell discontinuous operation of a cell, wherein the configuration information indicates when to monitor the downlink control information, and the cell discontinuous operation comprises at least one of (Seo Fig. 32 receive a configuration message indicating at least one monitoring occasion for WUS detection):
a cell discontinuous transmission or a cell discontinuous reception (Seo column 7 lines 37-44 receives a configuration message indicating at least one monitoring occasion for detection a wake-up (WUS) and may perform different actions according to whether the monitoring occasion is located within a predetermined time from the start time of the next DRX on-duration or whether it is located before the predetermined time from the start of the DRX-on duration); and
transmitting, to the terminal device, the downlink control information based on the configuration information and a status of the cell discontinuous operation (Seo column 11 lines 55-64 perform WUS monitoring according to whether there is a WUS monitoring occasion in a time window between the time based offset and the start slot. When the UE does not perform WUS monitoring (when WUS monitoring is skipped) the UE wakes up at the next DRX-on duration (status is between the offset and start slot))
and
transmitting, per a periodicity configured by the network device, the downlink control information indicating the action (Seo column 38 lines 1-5 monitoring slot periodicity and offset)
As to claim 2, Seo teaches the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the user equipment is caused to: perform the action on the cell discontinuous operation based on the downlink control information (Seo column 7 lines 37-44 receives a configuration message indicating at least one monitoring occasion for detection a wake-up (WUS) and may perform different actions according to whether the monitoring occasion is located within a predetermined time from the start time of the next DRX on-duration or whether it is located before the predetermined time from the start of the DRX-on duration);
As to claim 3, Seo teaches the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the configuration information indicates a time offset relative to a start of the cell discontinuous operation, and the cell discontinuous operation is in deactivated status, and wherein the user equipment is caused to:
determine a start time point based on the first time offset and the start of the cell discontinuous operation (Seo column 11 lines 55-64 perform WUS monitoring according to whether there is a WUS monitoring occasion in a time window between the time based offset and the start slot);
monitor, from the start time point, the downlink control information related to the cell discontinuous operation (Seo Fig. 32 receive a configuration message indicating at least one monitoring occasion for WUS detection column 11 lines 55-64 perform WUS monitoring according to whether there is a WUS monitoring occasion in a time window between the time based offset and the start slot); and
perform an activation of the cell discontinuous operation based on the downlink control information indicating the activation of the cell discontinuous operation (Seo Fig. 32 receive a configuration message indicating at least one monitoring occasion for WUS detection column 11 lines 55-64 perform WUS monitoring)
As to claim 4, Seo teaches the user equipment of claim 3, wherein the start of the cell discontinuous operation is a start of a non-active period in the cell discontinuous operation, or wherein the start of the cell discontinuous operation is a start of an active period in the cell discontinuous operation (Seo column 11 lines 55-64 perform WUS monitoring according to whether there is a WUS monitoring occasion in a time window between the time based offset and the start slot (non-active period))
As to claim 5, Seo teaches the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the configuration information indicates a time offset relative to a switching boundary in the cell discontinuous operation, and the cell discontinuous operation is in activated status, and wherein the user equipment is caused to:
determine a start time point based on the time offset and the switching boundary (Seo column 11 lines 55-64 time based offset);
monitor, from the start time point, the downlink control information related to the cell discontinuous operation (Seo column 11 lines 55-64 perform WUS monitoring according to whether there is a WUS monitoring occasion in a time window between the time based offset and the start slot); and
perform a deactivation of the cell discontinuous operation based on the downlink control information indicating the deactivation of the cell discontinuous operation (Seo column 28 lines 34 go to sleep)
As to claim 6, Seo teaches the user equipment of claim 5, wherein the time offset is relative to an active-to-nonactive switching boundary in the cell discontinuous operation, or wherein the time offset is relative to a nonactive-to-active switching boundary in the cell discontinuous operation (Seo column 11 lines 56 offset based on start slot of DRX on duration)
As to claim 7, Seo teaches the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the cell is configured with a plurality of cell discontinuous operations, and none of the plurality of cell discontinuous operations is activated, and wherein the user equipment is caused to:
monitor the downlink control information related to the cell discontinuous operation, during an active period in a default cell discontinuous operation in the plurality of cell discontinuous operations (Seo column 12 lines 9-15 WUS monitoring duration DRX on duration); and
perform an activation of the cell discontinuous operation in the plurality of cell discontinuous operations based on the downlink control information indicating the activation of the cell discontinuous operation Seo column 12 lines 9-15 WUS monitoring duration DRX on duration);
As to claim 8, Seo teaches the user equipment of claim 7, wherein the configuration information comprises a time offset that is relative to a start or an end of the active period in the default cell discontinuous operation, and wherein the user equipment is caused to:
determine a start time point based on the time offset and a status of the default cell discontinuous operation (Seo column 11 lines 55-64 time based offset);
monitor the downlink control information related to the cell discontinuous operation from the start time point within the active period in the default cell discontinuous operation (Seo column 11 lines 63-65 perform PDCCH monitoring during DRX on duration); and
perform the activation of the cell discontinuous operation based on the downlink control information indicating an activation of the default cell discontinuous operation (Seo column 28 lines 66 wake up indication)
As to claim 9, Seo teaches the user equipment of claim 7, wherein the default cell discontinuous operation is the first one in the plurality of cell discontinuous operations, or wherein the default cell discontinuous operation is explicitly indicated by the network device, or wherein the default cell discontinuous operation is a last activated cell discontinuous operation in the plurality of cell discontinuous operations (Seo column 28 lines 56 WUS is a 1:1 mapping between WUS and DRX)
As to claim 10, Seo teaches the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the cell is configured with a plurality of cell discontinuous operations, and the cell discontinuous operation in the plurality of cell discontinuous operations is in activated status, and wherein the user equipment is caused to:
monitor the downlink control information related to the cell discontinuous operation, during an active period in the cell discontinuous operation (Seo column 12 lines 9-15 WUS monitoring duration DRX on duration);; and
perform a deactivation of the cell discontinuous operation based on the downlink control information indicating the deactivation of the cell discontinuous operation (Seo column 28 lines 34 go to sleep)
As to claim 11, Seo teaches the user equipment of claim 10, wherein the user equipment is caused to: monitor the downlink control information related to the cell discontinuous operation, during entire active periods in the cell discontinuous operation (Seo column 28 lines 56 WUS is a 1:1 mapping between WUS and DRX)
As to claim 12, Seo teaches the user equipment of claim 10, wherein the configuration information indicates a time offset relative to an active-to-nonactive switching boundary in an active period in the cell discontinuous operation, and wherein the user equipment is caused to:
determine a start time point based on the time offset and the active-to-nonactive switching boundary (Seo column 28 lines 56 WUS is a 1:1 mapping between WUS and DRX); and
monitor, from the start time point, the downlink control information related to the cell discontinuous operation (Seo column 12 lines 9-15 WUS monitoring duration DRX on duration);
As to claim 13, Seo teaches the user equipment of claim 10, wherein the user equipment is caused to: in accordance with a determination of a reception of the downlink control information related to the cell discontinuous operation, perform the deactivation of the cell discontinuous operation based on the downlink control information indicating the deactivation of the cell discontinuous operation (Seo column 28 lines 34 go to sleep)
As to claim 14, Seo teaches the user equipment of claim 13, wherein the user equipment is caused to: perform an activation of a further cell discontinuous operation in the plurality of cell discontinuous operations (Seo column 28 lines 66 wake up indication)
As to claim 15, Seo teaches the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the cell is configured with a plurality of cell discontinuous operations, and the cell discontinuous operation in the plurality of cell discontinuous operations is in activated status, and wherein the user equipment is caused to:
monitor the downlink control information related to the cell discontinuous operation, during an inactive period in the cell discontinuous operation (Seo column 38 lines 32-44 Fig. 32 the UE receives a configuration message indicating at least one monitoring occasion for WUS detection the WUS may be DCI including a wakeup indication, the UE determines whether the monitoring window exists between the time determined by the offset and the next start time of the DRX on duration (during the inactive period)); and
perform a deactivation of the cell discontinuous operation based on the downlink control information indicating the deactivation of the cell discontinuous operation. (Seo column 28 lines 34 go to sleep)
As to claim 16, Seo teaches the user equipment of claim 15, wherein the configuration information indicates a time offset relative to a start or an end of an inactive period in the cell discontinuous operation, and wherein the user equipment is caused to:
determine a start time point based on the time offset, and the start or the end of the inactive period (Seo column 28 lines 56 WUS is a 1:1 mapping between WUS and DRX);; and monitor, from the start time point, the downlink control related to the cell discontinuous operation (Seo column 28 lines 56 WUS is a 1:1 mapping between WUS and DRX);
As to claim 17, Seo teaches the user equipment of claim 15, wherein the user equipment is caused to: in accordance with a determination of a reception of the downlink control information indicating the deactivation of the cell discontinuous operation during the inactive period, perform the deactivation of the cell discontinuous operation (Seo column 28 lines 34 go to sleep)
; and perform an activation of a further cell discontinuous operation in the plurality of cell discontinuous operations (Seo column 28 lines 66 wake up indication)
As to claim 18, Seo teaches the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the user equipment is caused to: monitor, per a periodicity configured by the network device, the downlink control information indicating the action (Seo column 38 lines 1-5 monitoring slot periodicity and offset)
As to claim 19, Seo teaches the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the downlink control information is scrambled by a dedicated radio network temporary identifier (Seo column 40 lines 1-5 DCI CRC scrambled by PS-RNTI)
As to claim 20, Seo teaches the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the action on the cell discontinuous operation comprises one of: an activation of the cell discontinuous operation, or a deactivation of the cell discontinuous operation (Seo column 28 lines 66 wake up indication)
As to claim 21, Seo teaches the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the user equipment comprises a terminal device (Seo Fig. 12 terminal device)
Conclusion
AYANAH S. GEORGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/AYANAH S GEORGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467