DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The claims filed 10/9/2025 have been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 10, and 16 are independent.
Claims 1, 10, and 16 are currently amended.
Claims 2-9, 11-15, and 17-20 are original.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/9/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
35 U.S.C. 101
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claims integrate the abstract idea into a practical application by employing provided information to decision a transaction. More specifically, Applicant argues the location of the customer electronic device is used to determine the level of authentication that is needed for a transaction – if the customer electronic device is in a safe space location, then a lower level of customer authentication I required than for transactions conducted in other locations. Once the customer electronic device is determined to be in a safe space location, the safe space computer program is controlled to authorize the transaction with the lower level of customer authentication. Thus, the location and the identification of the safe space locations is used to select the level of customer authentication that is required to authorize the transaction (see Remarks, pp. 9-10).
The argument is not persuasive. Requiring different levels of authorization based on location is part of the abstract idea which is independently abstract idea. The additional element of using the location of the customer device to provide location is merely using generic computing technology as a tool to implement the abstract idea. This is merely reciting the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(f). This is also generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(h). As such, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application under Step 2A Prong 2, nor do they provide an inventive concept under Step 2B.
35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment presented herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1-20 are directed to a system, method, or non-transitory computer readable medium, and thus fall within the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A - Prong 1
The Examiner has identified independent method claim 1 as the claim that represents the claimed invention for analysis and is similar to independent system claim 10 and product claim 16. Claim 1 recites the limitations of:
A method comprising:
receiving, at a safe space computer program and from a customer electronic device associated with a customer, safe space locations, wherein transactions conducted in the safe space locations require a lower level of customer authentication than transactions conducted in other locations;
receiving, by the safe space computer program and from the customer electronic device, a transaction;
determining, by the safe space computer program, the customer electronic device is in one of the safe space location; and
authorizing, by the safe space computer program, the transaction with the lower level of customer authentication.
These limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation as “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity”. The claim limitations delineated in bold above recite a fundamental economic practice, as they set forth or describe authorization of a transaction when a customer is at a safe space location. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a fundamental economic practice, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. The computer program in claim 1 is just applying generic computer components to the recited abstract limitations. The recitation of generic computer components in a claim does not necessarily preclude that claim from reciting an abstract idea. Claims 10 and 16 are also abstract for similar reasons. (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES. The claims recite an abstract idea)
Step 2A - Prong 2
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the independent claims recite the additional elements of:
Claim 1: computer program
Claim 10: customer electronic device executing a customer computer program; electronic device executing a safe space computer program
Claim 16: non-transitory computer readable storage medium
The computer hardware/software is/are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and are at a high level of generality. Therefore, claims 1, 10, and 16 are directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer hardware amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. See Applicant’s specification para. [0074] about implementation using general purpose or special purpose computing devices and MPEP 2106.05(f) where applying a computer as a tool is not indicative of significantly more. Accordingly, these additional elements, do not change the outcome of the analysis, when considered separately and as an ordered combination. Thus, claims 1, 10, and 16 are not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more)
Dependent Claims
Dependent claims 2-9, 11-15, and 17-20 further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims 1, 10, and 16 and thus correspond to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” and hence are abstract for the reasons presented above.
The dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the dependent claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Thus, claims 1-20 are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ramalingam (US 2011/0238514 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 16, Ramalingam discloses a method, and associated system and non-transitory computer readable storage medium, comprising:
receiving, at a safe space computer program and from a customer electronic device associated with a customer, safe space locations, wherein transactions conducted in the safe space locations require a lower level of customer authentication than transactions conducted in other locations (see para. 0047, 0065-0067);
receiving, by the safe space computer program and from the customer electronic device, a transaction (see para. 0047, 0065-0067);
determining, by the safe space computer program, the customer electronic device is in one of the safe space location (see para. 0047, 0060, 0065-0067); and
authorizing, by the safe space computer program, the transaction with the lower level of customer authentication (see para. 0047, 0065-0067).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Ramalingam discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the safe space computer program receives a global positioning system location for each of the safe space locations (see para. 0052).
Regarding claims 3, 12, and 17, Ramalingam discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the step of determining, by the safe space computer program, the customer electronic device is in one of the safe space locations comprises: receiving, by the safe space computer program, a global positioning system location for a current location for the customer electronic device; and determining, by the safe space computer program, that the global positioning system location for the current location for the customer electronic device is in one of the global positioning system locations for one of the safe space locations (see para. 0052).
Regarding claim 4, Ramalingam discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the safe space computer program receives electronic environment information for each of the safe space locations (see para. 0058).
Regarding claims 5, 13, and 18, Ramalingam discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the electronic environment information comprises an identification of cell towers that are in communication with the customer electronic device at the safe space location (see para. 0039, wherein the claim is reasonably interpreted as covering receiving location information from cell tower triangulation, which involves identification of cell towers in the location).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 18, Ramalingam discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the electronic environment information comprises an identification of electronic devices connected to the customer electronic device at the safe space location (see par. 0039).
Regarding claim 7, Ramalingam discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the electronic environment information comprises computer network information for the safe space location (see para. 0028).
Regarding claims 8, 14, and 19, Ramalingam discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the step of determining, by the safe space computer program, the customer electronic device is in one of the safe space locations comprises: receiving, by the safe space computer program, electronic environment information for a current location for the customer electronic device; and comparing, by the safe space computer program, the electronic environment information for the current location for the customer electronic device to the electronic environment information for each of the safe spaces; wherein the customer electronic device is in one of the safe space locations when a threshold amount of the electronic environment information for the current location for the customer electronic device matches the electronic environment information for each of the safe spaces (see para. 0052, 0060).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramalingam (US 2011/0238514 A1) in view of Khandare (US 2023/0164570 A1):
Regarding claims 9, 15, and 20, Ramalingam, as discussed above, discloses determining, by the safe space computer program, the customer electronic device is in one of the safe space locations. Ramalingam does not explicitly disclose, but Khandare teaches: determining a confidence score that the customer electronic device is in a safe location; wherein the confidence score is based in part on a value of the transaction (see para. 0024-0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method/system/product of Ramalingam to include the feature taught by Khandare.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to identify issues with current transactions (see Khandare, para. 0024-0025)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Faith (US 2010/0280927 A1) discloses systems, apparatus, and methods for efficiently authorizing a transaction initiated by a consumer. An authorization can be generated before the consumer actually initiates the transaction. For example, a future transaction can be predicted, and an authorization can be generated for the predicted transaction. In this manner, the authorization can be ready and quickly used when the consumer does initiate the transaction. Previous transactions made by the consumer can be used to predict when the future transaction is likely. In various examples, the authorization can be sent to a specific merchant or to the consumer for use when the consumer initiates the predicted transaction, or saved by an authorization server for use in response to an authorization request from the merchant.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC T WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693
ERIC WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3693