DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,046,296. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claims 1, 2, 5-12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,237,726. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claims 1, 2, 5-12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,257,546. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claims 1, 2, 5-12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,081,200. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claims 1, 2, 5-12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,221,800. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claims 1, 2, 5-12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,086,572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claims 1, 2, 5-12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,403,042. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claims 1, 2, 5-12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,029,890. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claims 1, 2, 5-12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,474,748. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claims 1, 2, 5-12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,562,793. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claims 1, 2, 5-12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,657,886. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claims 1, 2, 5-12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12/009,034. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Danjean (US 2019/0130967).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 18, Danjean discloses a device and related method, comprising: memory cells; a read circuit configured to apply voltages to the memory cells and determine states of the memory cells under the voltages (see Figures 4-5); and a logic circuit coupled to the read circuit and configured to, in response to a command to read the memory cells (see paragraph 0036): determine, using the read circuit, signal and noise characteristics of the memory cells at a plurality of voltages; compute a read voltage based on the signal and noise characteristics (see Figure 6, 610); instruct the read circuit to determine states of the memory cells at the read voltage and two voltages identified based on the read voltage (See Figure 3, 320 and offsets of 340, 342); and generate a response to the command based on the states of the memory cells at the read voltage and the two voltages identified based on the read voltage (640).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Danjean (US 2019/0130967) in view of Tseng (US 2011/0317488).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Danjean appears to teach that the two voltages have offsets of a same predetermined amount from the read voltage (see Figure 3), but Danjean fails to attest that the drawings are to scale or disclose specifics as to the voltage offset values. However, it was known at the time of filing to provide soft decision voltage offsets of equal predetermined amounts (see Tseng, Figure 7A, and paragraph 0087). Therefore, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill at the time of filing to provide the same predetermined offsets with the device/method of Danjean since it is suggested by the drawings, this was a known technique at the time of filing as illustrated by Tseng, and it would yield the predictable result of a symmetrical reading about the non-offset read voltage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10, 13-17 and 29-20 are provisionally objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims pending applicant’s overcoming the double patenting rejections above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to teach or reasonably disclose in combination instruct the read circuit to determine states of the meory cells at the two voltages in response to the command is of a first type; and in response to a command of a second type to read the memory cells, the logic circuit is configured to generate a response based on states of the memory cells at a corresponding read voltage without determination of states of the memory cells at two voltages identified based on the corresponding read voltage as in claims 3 and 13; or generate first data based on states of the memory cells at the read voltage; and generate second data based on exclusive or (XOR) of states of the memory cells at the two voltages as in claims 5, 15 and 19.
Conclusion
This is a continuation of applicant's earlier Application No. 17/577,716. All claims are identical to the invention claimed in the earlier application (that is, restriction (including lack of unity) would not be proper) and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the earlier application. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action in this case. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The claims filed herein are identical to those filed in ‘716 original. These claims were properly rejected on 12/05/22, 4/26/23 and 8/30/23 and the basis of these rejections is repeated herein.
/DOUGLAS KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824