DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1,3-10 and 12-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,046,296. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claims 1, 5-10, 12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,237,726. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claims 1, 5-10, 12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,257,546. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claims 1, 5-10, 12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,081,200. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claims 1, 5-10, 12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,221,800. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claims 1, 5-10, 12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,086,572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claims 1, 5-10, 12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,403,042. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claims 1, 5-10, 12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,029,890. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claims 1, 5-10, 12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,474,748. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claims 1, 5-10, 12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,562,793. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claims 1, 5-10, 12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,657,886. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claims 1, 5-10, 12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12/009,034. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are clearly anticipated by the patented application claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Danjean (US 2019/0130967).
Regarding claims 18, Danjean discloses a device and related method, comprising: memory cells; a read circuit configured to apply voltages to the memory cells and determine states of the memory cells under the voltages (see Figures 4-5); and a logic circuit coupled to the read circuit and configured to, in response to a command to read the memory cells (see paragraph 0036): determine, using the read circuit, signal and noise characteristics of the memory cells at a plurality of voltages; compute a read voltage based on the signal and noise characteristics (see Figure 6, 610); instruct the read circuit to determine states of the memory cells at the read voltage and two voltages identified based on the read voltage (See Figure 3, 320 and offsets of 340, 342); and generate a response to the command based on the states of the memory cells at the read voltage and the two voltages identified based on the read voltage (640).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Danjean (US 2019/0130967) in view of Tseng (US 2011/0317488).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Danjean discloses a device and related method, comprising: memory cells; a read circuit configured to apply voltages to the memory cells and determine states of the memory cells under the voltages (see Figures 4-5); and a logic circuit coupled to the read circuit and configured to, in response to a command to read the memory cells (see paragraph 0036): determine, using the read circuit, signal and noise characteristics of the memory cells at a plurality of voltages; compute a read voltage based on the signal and noise characteristics (see Figure 6, 610); instruct the read circuit to determine states of the memory cells at the read voltage and two voltages identified based on the read voltage (See Figure 3, 320 and offsets of 340, 342); and generate a response to the command based on the states of the memory cells at the read voltage and the two voltages identified based on the read voltage (640).
Danjean appears to teach that the two voltages have offsets of a same predetermined amount from the read voltage (see Figure 3), but Danjean fails to attest that the drawings are to scale or disclose specifics as to the voltage offset values. However, it was known at the time of filing to provide soft decision voltage offsets of equal predetermined amounts (see Tseng, Figure 7A, and paragraph 0087). Therefore, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill at the time of filing to provide the same predetermined offsets with the device/method of Danjean since it is suggested by the drawings, this was a known technique at the time of filing as illustrated by Tseng, and it would yield the predictable result of a symmetrical reading about the non-offset read voltage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10, 13-17 and 19-20 are provisionally objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims pending applicant’s overcoming the double patenting rejections above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to teach or reasonably disclose in combination instruct the read circuit to determine states of the memory cells at the two voltages in response to the command is of a first type; and in response to a command of a second type to read the memory cells, the logic circuit is configured to generate a response based on states of the memory cells at a corresponding read voltage without determination of states of the memory cells at two voltages identified based on the corresponding read voltage as in claims 3 and 13; or generate first data based on states of the memory cells at the read voltage; and generate second data based on exclusive or (XOR) of states of the memory cells at the two voltages as in claims 5, 15 and 19.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s amendments to independent claims 1 and 11 are to include previously rejected features from claims 2 and 12. Applicant’s remarks merely point out that Danjean fails to teach these features. However, these features were previously rejected in view of Tseng and not Danjean alone. Applicant has failed to address the relied upon teachings of Tseng and as such there is no argument with respect to the amendment to be addressed.
Further, Applicant has not amended claim 18, nor has Applicant provided arguments as to why independent claim 18 would be allowable. Claim 18 does not include the cited “offsets of the same predetermined amount” limitations of claims 1 and 11 and therefore Applicant’s remarks relying on these features are not applicable to claim 18.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824