DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-9 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 1, the limitation “…a pool to the computing device…”, The metes and bounds of the claim are not clearly set forth because the phrase “a pool to the computing device” lacks clarity and fails to provide proper antecedent basis. It is unclear whether the claim intends to recite a pool, pool environment, pool map or pool clearing robot. Appropriate correction by the applicant is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No.12079003B1, since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the "right to exclude" already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
Current Application
12079003 (reference patent)
1. A system comprising: a video capture device; a pool cleaning robot separated from the video capture device; and a computing device; wherein the video capture device is configured to transmit one or more videos of a pool to the computing device, wherein the computing device comprising a memory and a processor, and wherein the memory stores executable instructions that, in response to execution by the processor, cause the computing device to at least: determine a position of the pool cleaning robot relative to the pool using the one or more videos; and generate a moving instruction for the pool cleaning robot, based on the position of the pool cleaning robot.
1. A system comprising: a video capture device; a pool cleaning robot separated from the video capture device; and a computing device, wherein the video capture device is positioned on the computing device or included as a part of the computing device, and wherein the computing device includes a floating wireless charger for charging the pool cleaning robot; wherein the video capture device is configured to transmit one or more videos of a pool to the computing device, wherein the computing device comprising a memory and a processor, and wherein the memory stores executable instructions that, in response to execution by the processor, cause the computing device to at least: determine a position of the pool cleaning robot relative to the pool using the one or more videos; and generate a moving instruction for the pool cleaning robot, based on the position of the pool cleaning robot.
From above comparison it show that the present application discloses the similar/same/identical limitations with terminology, both method/system/apparatus claim discloses with broader or same but not narrow means as specially in present claims do not further define the method/system/apparatus while similar/same/identical limitations patented in claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Durvasula (US20190271987A1).
Claim.1 Durvasula disclose a system (see at least abstract, a pool cleaning system for cleaning debris from a sub-merged surface of a swimming pool) comprising: a video capture device (see at least fig.1-5, p20-23, element 32 is a cameras, cameras 32 comprise devices configured to capture video or time lapse images of pool 22); a pool cleaning robot separated from the video capture device (see at least fig.1-6, p23-25, pool cleaning system 20 may utilize dedicated cameras 32 independent of any cameras associated with a home); and a computing device (see at least fig.1-6, p26-29, controller 42); wherein the video capture device is configured to transmit one or more videos of a pool to the computing device (see at least fig.1-6, p24-27, wherein the signals from cameras 32 are transmitted across a wide area network or may be achieved with software controller 42, controller 42 comprises one or more processing units in communication with vehicle 30 and cameras 32, p27), wherein the computing device comprising a memory and a processor, and wherein the memory stores executable instructions that, in response to execution by the processor (see at least fig.6, p26, controller 42 comprises one or more processing units in communication with vehicle 30 and cameras 32, the term “processing unit” shall means a presently developed or future developed processing unit that executes sequences of instructions contained in a memory, execution of the sequences of instructions causes the processing unit to perform steps such as generating control signals, p29), cause the computing device to at least: determine a position of the pool cleaning robot relative to the pool using the one or more videos (see at least fig.5-8, representing the current position of vehicle 30, a person may view the current position of vehicle 30, the extent to which pool 22 has been cleaned or covered by vehicle 30 and the extent of pool 22 that remains to be cleaned); and generate a moving instruction for the pool cleaning robot, based on the position of the pool cleaning robot (see at least fig.1-8, step 610 steer vehicle based on identified portions, p28-29, controller 42 is configured to generate control signals for steering vehicle 30 based upon signals received from cameras 32, because vehicle 30 is precisely steered under the control of controller 42, rather than traveling in a random manner, entire summer surfaces of pool 22 may be more quickly and efficiently covered and cleaned, controller 42 uses signals from cameras 32 to steer vehicle 34 such areas to re-clean).
Claim.2 Durvasula disclose wherein the one or more videos include a first video including a real time video of the pool and a second video including a previously recorded video (see at least fig.1-8, p24-27, wherein the signals from cameras 32 are transmitted across a wide area network or may be achieved with software controller 42, controller 42 comprises one or more processing units in communication with vehicle 30 and cameras 32, p44, controller 42 further relays either the raw signals from camera 32 or image signals generated based upon signals from cameras 32 to PED 464m wherein such images are presented on display 468).
Claim.3 Durvasula disclose wherein the computing device being caused to determine the position of the pool cleaning robot incudes being caused to: create a coordinate system for the pool using the first video; and determine the position of the pool cleaning robot relative to the pool using the second video and based on the coordinate system (see at least fig.1-8, step 610 steer vehicle based on identified portions, p28-29, controller 42 is configured to generate control signals for steering vehicle 30 based upon signals received from cameras 32, because vehicle 30 is precisely steered under the control of controller 42, rather than traveling in a random manner, entire summer surfaces of pool 22 may be more quickly and efficiently covered and cleaned, controller 42 uses signals from cameras 32 to steer vehicle 34 such areas to re-clean, p44, controller 42 further relays either the raw signals from camera 32 or image signals generated based upon signals from cameras 32 to PED 464m wherein such images are presented on display 468).
Claim.4 Durvasula disclose wherein the computing device is separated from the pool cleaning robot (see at least fig.1-8, p36, remote server 254 comprises a server remote from dry station 246 which is in communication with dry station 246 across network 260, remote server 254 includes controller 42).
Claim.5 Durvasula disclose wherein the pool cleaning robot includes a mark including a lighting device, and wherein the video capture device is configured to track the position of the pool cleaning robot based on the mark (see at least fig.1-8, p48, those portions 632 of surfaces 26, 28 of pool 22 over which of vehicle 30 has moved are identified by graphical depiction 620 either by color, markings or other various distinctive attributes, p23, cameras 32 capture movement of vehicle 30 while vehicle 30 is submerged within pool 22).
Claim.6 Durvasula disclose wherein the video capture device is positioned on the computing device or included as a part of the computing device (see at least fig.5, p44, signals from cameras 32 are transmitted across dry station, 246 across network 260 to controller 42 of remote server 254).
Claim.7 Durvasula disclose wherein the computing device includes a floating wireless charger for charging the pool cleaning robot (see at least fig.1-4,9, p31, provides electrical power to vehicle 30 in a wired fashion, either wired or wireless fashion, p51).
Claim.8 Durvasula disclose further comprising a secondary computing device that is a server in a cloud computing system (see at least fig.3, 9, p34, remote server 254, p36-37, a server remote from dry station 246 which is in communication with dry station 246 across network 260).
Claim.9 Durvasula disclose wherein the computing device is positioned along a side of the pool (see at least fig.5-9, p51, pool cleaning system 820 is similar to pool cleaning system 520 except the pool cleaning system 820 located controller 42 in dry station 246 and includes pool cleaning vehicle 830).
Conclusion
/SHARDUL D PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664