DETAILED ACTION
The following is a first action on the merits of application serial no. 18/778997 filed 7/21/2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 12/28/24 has been considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
-In paragraph [0055], line 2, the term “switching” should be changed to the term “shifting”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
-In claim 6, line 2, the term “switching” should be changed to the term “shifting”.
-In claim 8, line 2, the term “of” should be inserted after the term “ascertainment”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
-“a control unit (generic placeholder) configured to operate the gear shifting mechanism (function)” in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-Claim 1 recites the limitation "the current travel situation" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
-Claim 3 recites the limitation "the number of gear changes" in last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-13, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention lacks patentable utility. Per MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III): The courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. The "mental processes" abstract idea grouping is defined as concepts performed in the human mind, and examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. The courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed entirely in the human mind and mental processes that require a human to use a physical aid…..nor do the courts distinguish between claims that recite mental processes performed by humans and claims that recite mental processes performed on a computer. Currently, the claims as written, especially using the limitation “ascertaining and ascertainment” and the limitation “given a gear change” in claim 2 is being considered a “metal process” that can in part, be performed mentally without the use of a physical aid (i.e., computer). Examiner suggest applicant amend the claims to incorporate what is being used to operate and control the invented method as recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9, 11-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caillaud et al 20250282447 (corresponding to IDS cited WO 2022112504) in view of EP 3127799. As to claim 1, Caillaud discloses a method for controlling a gear shifting mechanism of a bicycle, comprising: ascertaining a reference shifting point (as shown in Figure 11); ascertaining the current travel situation of the bicycle (as described in [0199]); and ascertaining a target shifting point by adjusting the reference shifting point (as shown in Figure 11 via E1-E3). However, Caillaud doesn’t disclose determining a shifting hysteresis based on the current travel situation ascertained; and adjusting the reference shifting point by way of the shifting hysteresis determined to ascertain the target shifting point.
EP discloses a method for controlling a gear shifting mechanism of a bicycle, and shows that it is well known in the art to determine a shifting hysteresis ([0069] and claim 4) based on a current travel situation ascertained ([0046]); and adjusting a reference shifting point (available gear ratios) by way of the shifting hysteresis determined.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Caillaud with a shifting hysteresis determination in view of EP to improve efficiency, performance and comfort for driver during high and low power operation of bicycle.
As to claim 2, Caillaud discloses wherein the reference shifting point is ascertained such that, given a gear change at the reference shifting point, a change in pedaling cadence caused by the gear change is symmetrical to a reference pedaling cadence (Figure 11 shows that the shifting points across top of graph match R1-R7 cadence widths).
As to claim 3, Caillaud in view of EP discloses wherein: in a first travel situation (high power; [0069] in EP), a reduction of the shifting hysteresis is performed in order to reduce a deviation of an actual pedaling cadence from the reference pedaling cadence, and/or in a second travel situation (low power; [0069] in EP), an increase of the shifting hysteresis is performed in order to reduce the number of gear changes.
As to claim 7, Caillaud in view of EP discloses further comprising: ascertaining a constant rate of travel as the current travel situation; and decreasing the shifting hysteresis in response to the ascertainment of the constant rate of travel (maintain high power during acceleration; [0069] in EP).
As to claim 9, Caillaud in view of EP discloses further comprising: ascertaining an ascent as the current travel situation; and increasing the shifting hysteresis in response to the ascertainment of the ascent ([0082] in EP).
As to claim 11, Caillaud in view of EP discloses wherein the ascertainment of the current travel situation of the bicycle is performed by way of sensor data from a sensor of the bicycle which comprises one or more of the following sensor data: slope, acceleration, speed, pedal torque, and pedaling cadence ([0046] in EP).
As to claim 12, Caillaud discloses further comprising: ascertaining a shifting speed at the target shifting point based on a gear ratio of the bicycle ([0172]); sensing a speed ([0072]); and actuating a gear change when the sensed speed reaches the shifting speed ([0172]).
As to claim 13, Caillaud discloses wherein: the gear shifting mechanism of the bicycle comprises multiple gear steps, and a separate target shifting point is ascertained for each gear change between all of the gear steps (as shown in Figure 11).
As to claim 14, Caillaud in view of EP discloses a shifting system of a bicycle, comprising: a gear shifting mechanism (700 in Caillaud and 214 in EP); and a control unit (800 in Caillaud and 318 in EP) configured to operate the gear shifting mechanism, wherein the control unit is configured to perform the method according to claim 1.
As to claim 15, Caillaud discloses an electric bicycle (via 400), comprising the gear shifting system according to claim 14.
As to claim 17, Caillaud in view of EP discloses wherein the ascertainment of the current travel situation of the bicycle is performed by way of sensor data from a sensor of the bicycle ([0046] in EP).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 8, 10 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record doesn’t disclose or render obvious a motivation to provide for:
-(as to claim 4 in combination with the limitations in claim 1 exactly as written)…... wherein a target upshifting point and a target downshifting point are ascertained for each reference shifting point, respectively, by adjusting the reference shifting point by way of the shifting hysteresis.
-per applicant’s response to the 101 rejection above, reasons for allowability of claim 8 will not be indicated at this time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Hahn 12005994 (column 5, lines 17-67) and Jordan 20220094906 ([0042]) show that it is well known in the art to adjust shifts by way of shifting hysteresis.
Tdl
/TISHA D LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 July 25, 2026