DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 thru 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In lines 9-13 of claim 1, the applicant states “the active layer located on an opposite side
of that is spaced from the gate dielectric, wherein the active layer comprises an inhomogeneous compound semiconductor region, wherein an atomic concentration of the acceptor-type element increases continuously throughout the inhomogeneous compound semiconductor region with a vertical distance from the gate dielectric;” and in lines 2-3 of the same claim, also states “forming a stack including an active layer, a gate dielectric, and a gate electrode in a … reverse order,”; however, it appears the above-stated limitation in lines 9-13 of claim 1 is contradictory to a “reverse order” based on applicant’s FIG. 6A, which represents a bottom/reverse order transistor. In other words, the new limitation in claim 1 appears to only apply to a top gate configuration as shown in FIG. 14A, as opposed to FIG. 6A, which applies to a bottom/reverse gate configuration. In both FIG. 6A (i.e. bottom/reverse gate), and FIG. 14A (i.e. top gate), the applicant shows the line 21A representing the acceptor-type element, but they have slopes that are inverse to each other so at least one of the conditions (i.e. “forward or in a reverse order” as stated in line 3 of claim 1) does not apply to the limitation stated above. Appropriate clarification and/or correction are required.
Claims 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In lines 1-3 of claim 12, the applicant states the limitation “wherein another of the front
channel layer, the back channel layer, and the bulk semiconductor layer comprising a homogeneous compound semiconductor material …”; however, this limitation is contradictory to lines 10-11 of claim 6, which states “wherein the active layer comprises an inhomogeneous compound semiconductor region,”. Appropriate clarification and/or correction re required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In view of the 112 rejection above, claim(s) 1, 6 thru 8, and 10 thru 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im et al. US 2019/0140101 A1 in view of Yamazaki US 2016/0329437 A1. Im discloses (see, for example, FIG. 1) a method of forming a transistor 100, comprising: forming a stack including an active layer 130, a gate dielectric 120, and a gate electrode 140 in a forward or in a reverse order, over a substrate 110, wherein the active layer 130 comprises a compound semiconductor material comprising oxygen, an acceptor-type element selected from gallium (Ga) or tungsten (W), and a heavy post-transition metal element selected from indium (In) or tin (Sn), and wherein an atomic percentage of the at least one heavy post-transition metal element at a first surface portion 133 of the active layer 130 that contacts the gate dielectric 120 being higher than an atomic percentage of the at least one heavy post-transition metal element at a second surface portion 131 of the active layer 130 located on an opposite side of the gate dielectric; and forming a source electrode 150 and a drain electrode 160 on peripheral portions of a top surface of the active layer 130, wherein the source electrode 150 and the drain electrode 160 are laterally spaced from each other by the gate electrode 140. In paragraph [0013], and [0017], Im discloses an oxide semiconductor, and each of the first sub layer 131, the second sub layer 132, and the third sub layer 133 may include indium (In), gallium (Ga), and zinc (Zn), and further discloses the third sub layer 133 may have higher indium (In) concentration (at %) than the first sub layer 131 and the second sub layer 132, and therefore the third sublayer 133 (i.e. first surface portion of the active layer 130) has a higher indium (i.e. heavy post-transition metal element) atomic percentage than the first sublayer (i.e. second surface portion of the active layer) 131. Im does not disclose the active layer comprises an inhomogeneous compound semiconductor region, wherein an atomic concentration of the acceptor-type element increases continuously throughout the inhomogeneous compound semiconductor region with a vertical distance from the gate dielectric. However, Yamazaki US 2016/0329437 A1 discloses (see, for example, FIG. 1A) a method of forming a transistor, comprising: forming a stack including an active layer 106, second insulating film (i.e. gate dielectric) 112, first insulating film 102, and a gate electrode 104. In paragraph [0014], Yamazaki US 2016/0329437 A1 discloses the oxide semiconductor film has an element M (i.e. acceptor-type element including gallium) concentration gradient that increases toward the first insulating film. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at time prior to the effective filing date, to have the active layer comprises an inhomogeneous compound semiconductor region, wherein an atomic concentration of the acceptor-type element increases continuously throughout the inhomogeneous compound semiconductor region with a vertical distance from the gate dielectric in order to have a transistor of high field-effect mobility, stable electrical characteristics, and low off-state current.
Regarding claim 6, see, for example, FIG. 1, and paragraph [0078] wherein Im discloses a method of forming a thin film transistor 100, the method comprising: forming an active layer 130 over a substrate 110 by depositing and patterning a compound semiconductor material having a vertical compositional modulation, wherein the compound semiconductor material comprises oxygen, at least one acceptor-type element, and at least one heavy post-transition metal element, wherein each of the at least one acceptor-type element is selected from a group consisting of gallium (Ga) or tungsten (W), wherein each of the at least one heavy post-transition metal element is selected from a group consisting of indium (In) or tin (Sn), and wherein an atomic percentage of the at least one heavy post-transition metal element at a top surface 133 of the active layer 130 is higher than an atomic percentage of the at least one heavy post-transition metal element at a bottom surface 131 of the active layer 130; and forming a top gate stack 120/140, wherein the top gate stack comprises a top gate dielectric 120 straddling the active layer 130 and a top gate electrode 140 formed on a top surface of the top gate dielectric 120. In claims 1, and 5, Im discloses the oxide semiconductor material (i.e. compound semiconductor material) having a vertical compositional modulation wherein the oxide semiconductor has changing compositions based on concentrations displayed at different vertical heights, which are represented by the first sub layer 131, the second sub layer 132, and the third sub layer 133. These sub layers 131/132/133 of the oxide semiconductor material include indium (In), gallium (Ga), and zinc (Zn), and, further, the third sub layer 133 includes higher indium (In) concentration (at %) than the first sub layer 131 and the second sub layer 132, and therefore, the third sublayer 133 (i.e. top surface portion of the active layer 130) has a higher indium (i.e. heavy post-transition metal element) atomic percentage than the first sublayer (i.e. bottom surface portion of the active layer) 131. Im in view of Yamazaki US 2016/0329437 A1 does not disclose the active layer comprises an inhomogeneous compound semiconductor region, wherein an atomic concentration of the at least one acceptor-type element decreases continuously throughout the inhomogeneous compound semiconductor region with a vertical distance from the substrate. However, Yamazaki US 2016/0329437 A1 discloses (see, for example, FIG. 1A) a method of forming a transistor, comprising: forming a stack including an active layer 106, second insulating film (i.e. gate dielectric) 112, first insulating film 102, substrate 100, and a gate electrode 104. In paragraph [0014], Yamazaki US 2016/0329437 A1 discloses the oxide semiconductor film has an element M (i.e. acceptor-type element including gallium) concentration gradient that increases toward the first insulating film. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at time prior to the effective filing date, to have the active layer comprises an inhomogeneous compound semiconductor region, wherein an atomic concentration of the at least one acceptor-type element decreases continuously throughout the inhomogeneous compound semiconductor region with a vertical distance from the substrate in order to have a transistor of high field-effect mobility, stable electrical characteristics, and low off-state current.
Regarding claim 7, since Im discloses the atomic percentage of the heavy post
transition metal element at the top surface being higher than the atomic percentage at the bottom surface, the atomic percentage of the acceptor-type element at the top surface is subsequently lower than atomic percentage at the bottom surface.
Regarding claim 8, see, for example, paragraph [0017] wherein Im discloses the oxide semiconductor may include zinc.
Regarding claim 10, see, for example, paragraph [0017] wherein Im discloses the top sublayer 133 having a higher indium concentration than the lower layers 132 and 131. Also see TABLE 1.
Regarding claims 11-12, see, for example, FIG. 1 wherein Im discloses the active layer 130 having multiple channel layers 131-133, and in paragraph [0076], include the same oxide semiconductor material.
Regarding claim 13, see, for example, claim 14 wherein Im discloses the atomic concentration of zinc decreasing within the active layer.
Regarding claim 14, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have a yet additional one of the front channel layer, the back channel layer, and the bulk semiconductor layer comprises an additional inhomogeneous compound semiconductor material having an additional vertical composition gradient such that another atomic concentration of the at least one acceptor-type element decreases continuously throughout said yet additional one of the front channel layer, the back channel layer, and the bulk semiconductor layer with the vertical distance from the substrate, and another atomic concentration of the at least one heavy post-transition metal element increases continuously throughout said yet additional one of the front channel layer, the back channel layer, and the bulk semiconductor layer with the vertical distance from the substrate in order to form a stable film structure with high reliability, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim(s) 2, and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im et al. US 2019/0140101 A1 in view of Yamazaki US 2016/0329437 A1 as applied to claims 1, 6-8, and 10-14 above, and further in view of Yamazaki US 2014/0154837 A1. Im in view of Yamazaki US ‘437 A1 does not disclose the active layer is formed by performing multiple instances of a unit set of atomic layer deposition (ALD) steps that includes a first ALD step that deposits an acceptor-type element oxide selected from gallium oxide (GaO) or tungsten oxide (WO), and a second ALD step that deposits a heavy post-transition metal element oxide selected from indium oxide (InO) or tin oxide (SnO); and a ratio of a duration of the first ALD step to a duration of the second ALD step in each instance of the unit set of ALD steps increases or decreases during performance of the multiple instances of the unit set of ALD steps. However, Yamazaki ‘837 A1 discloses (see, for example, paragraph [0235]) a method including forming an oxide semiconductor film by atomic layer deposition method, etc., and further, in paragraph [0238]-[0243], discloses using an atomic layer deposition method in multiple instances of a unit set of atomic layer deposition steps to form an active layer using forms of GaO and InO. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have the active layer being formed by performing multiple instances of a unit set of atomic layer deposition (ALD) steps that includes a first ALD step that deposits an acceptor-type element oxide selected from gallium oxide (GaO) or tungsten oxide (WO), and a second ALD step that deposits a heavy post-transition metal element oxide selected from indium oxide (InO) or tin oxide (SnO); and a ratio of a duration of the first ALD step to a duration of the second ALD step in each instance of the unit set of ALD steps increases or decreases during performance of the multiple instances of the unit set of ALD steps in order to have excellent step coverage with a desired thickness.
Regarding claim 3, since Im discloses the atomic percentage of the heavy post
transition metal element at the first surface portion being higher than the atomic percentage at the second surface portion, the atomic percentage of the acceptor-type element at the first surface portion is subsequently lower than atomic percentage at the second surface portion.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im et al. US 2019/0140101 A1 in view of Yamazaki US 2016/0329437 A1 as applied to claims 1, 6-8, and 10-14 above, and further in view of Yang et al. US 2021/0091233 A1. Im in view of Yamazaki US ‘437 A1 does not disclose the gate dielectric and the gate electrode are formed after formation of the active layer by depositing and patterning a gate dielectric layer and a gate electrode layer over the active layer; the method comprises forming a dielectric layer around the gate electrode and over the active layer; and the source electrode and the drain electrode are formed through the dielectric layer. However, Yang discloses (see, for example, FIG. 28B-28D) a method including the gate dielectric 150 and the gate electrode 145 are formed after formation of the active layer 130 by depositing and patterning a gate dielectric layer 150 and a gate electrode layer 145 over the active layer 130; the method comprises forming a dielectric layer 150 around the gate electrode 145 and over the active layer 130; and the source electrode 161 and the drain electrode 162 are formed through the dielectric layer 150. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have the gate dielectric and the gate electrode being formed after formation of the active layer by depositing and patterning a gate dielectric layer and a gate electrode layer over the active layer; the method comprises forming a dielectric layer around the gate electrode and over the active layer; and the source electrode and the drain electrode are formed through the dielectric layer in order to use a process that accurately forms the thin film transistor within a high density package.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im et al. US 2019/0140101 A1 in view of Yamazaki US 2016/0329437 A1 as applied to claims 1, 6-8, and 10-14. Im in view of Yamazaki ‘437 A1 does not specifically disclose the atomic percentage of the at least one heavy post-transition metal element at the top surface of the active layer being greater than 25%; and the atomic percentage of the at least one heavy post-transition metal element at the bottom surface of the active layer being less than 25 %. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have the atomic percentage of the at least one heavy post-transition metal element at the top surface of the active layer being greater than 25 %; and the atomic percentage of the at least one heavy post-transition metal element at the bottom surface of the active layer being less than 25 % in order to prevent oxygen vacancies and increase the reliability of the transistor, and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective value involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 21 thru 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im et al. US 2019/0140101 A1 in view of Yamazaki US 2016/0329437 A1 as applied to claims 1, 6-8, and 10-14 above, and further in view of Yamazaki et al. US 6,639,244 B1. Im in view of Yamazaki US 2016/0329437 A1 does not disclose forming a plurality of top gate stacks over the active layer, wherein each of the plurality of top gate stacks comprises a respective top gate dielectric straddling the active layer and a respective top gate electrode formed on a top surface of the respective top gate dielectric; and forming a source electrode and a drain electrode contacting top surface portions of the active layer, wherein the plurality of top gate stacks are located between the source electrode and the drain electrode. However, Yamazaki et al. US 6,639,244 B1 discloses (see, for example, Fig. 8C) a transistor comprising a plurality of top gates stacks 611, source electrode 652, drain electrode 654, and top gate dielectrics 606. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to form a plurality of top gate stacks over the active layer, wherein each of the plurality of top gate stacks comprises a respective top gate dielectric straddling the active layer and a respective top gate electrode formed on a top surface of the respective top gate dielectric; and forming a source electrode and a drain electrode contacting top surface portions of the active layer, wherein the plurality of top gate stacks are located between the source electrode and the drain electrode.in order to have more adjustment control in the semiconductor device according to the preferences of the user and also to make more robust devices such as a pixel matrix circuit, etc. Also, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate gates since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 22, see, for example, FIG. 1 wherein Im discloses the active layer 130 having multiple channel layers 131-133, and in paragraph [0076], include the same oxide semiconductor material.
Regarding claim 23, see, for example, claim 14 wherein Im discloses the atomic concentration of zinc decreasing within the active layer.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im et al. US 2019/0140101 A1 in view of Yamazaki US 2016/0329437 A1 in view of Yamazaki et al. US 6,639,244 B1 as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Sone et al. US 2018/0331196 A1. Im in view of Yamazaki ‘437 A1 in view of Yamazaki ‘244 B1 does not disclose the top gate dielectric comprises a dielectric metal oxide material including a first metallic element, a second metallic element, and oxygen; and the top gate dielectric has a vertical compositional modulation in which an atomic percentage of the second metallic element has a minimum at a height that being vertically spaced from a bottom surface of the top gate dielectric and from a top surface of the top gate dielectric. However, Sone discloses (see, for example, FIG. 5) a transistor comprising a top gate dielectric 52, and in paragraph [0121] discloses that the gate insulating layer may be made of a composite metal oxide insulating film made of one or two or more alkaline-earth metal elements chosen from a group consisting of Be, Mg, Ca, Sr, Ba, and Ra. Further, in paragraph [0122], Sone discloses “the amounts of elements included in the composite metal oxide insulating film are not particularly limited. The composition can be determined so as to satisfy the respective properties required by the field-effect transistor to be manufactured, such as the dielectric constant, the dielectric loss, the thermal expansion coefficient, process compatibility, and cost. The gate insulating film according to an embodiment of the present invention may have a composition selected from a wide range, and therefore a wide range of requested specifications can be satisfied.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have the top gate dielectric comprises a dielectric metal oxide material including a first metallic element, a second metallic element, and oxygen; and the top gate dielectric has a vertical compositional modulation in which an atomic percentage of the second metallic element has a minimum at a height that being vertically spaced from a bottom surface of the top gate dielectric and from a top surface of the top gate dielectric in order to use a high-k dielectric film that reduces gate leakage and power consumption.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im et al. US 2019/0140101 A1 in view of Yamazaki US 2016/0329437 A1 in view of Yamazaki et al. US 6,639,244 B1 as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Yamazaki US 2014/0154837 A1. Im in view of Yamazaki US ‘437 A1 in view of Yamazaki et al. US’ 244 B1 does not disclose prior to forming the active layer, forming lower-level dielectric layers embedding lower-level metal interconnect structures over a field effect transistor formed on a semiconductor material layer of the substrate, wherein the active layer and the plurality of top gate stacks are formed over the lower-level dielectric layers. However, Yamazaki discloses (see, for example, FIG. 22B) a substrate 403, field effect transistor 401, lower-level dielectric layers 421/425/429, lower-level metal interconnect structures 431/427/423/416, and thin film transistor 300. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have prior to forming the active layer, forming lower-level dielectric layers embedding lower-level metal interconnect structures over a field effect transistor formed on a semiconductor material layer of the substrate, wherein the active layer and the plurality of top gate stacks are formed over the lower-level dielectric layers in order to increase the degree of integration such as in a memory device according to the preferences of the user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-14, and 21-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
INFORMATION ON HOW TO CONTACT THE USPTO
Eugene Lee
October 26, 2026
/EUGENE LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815