DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1 amended
Claims 1-9 pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung’201 (PG Pub 2012/0068201 A1) and in view of Sung’829 (PG Pub 2013/0032829 A1), in further view of McKee (US Pat. 5,906,857) and in further view of Boivin (US Pat. 4,579,083).
Consider Claim 1, Sung’201 teaches the process of forming display device (abstract), teaches the process that include placing first and second display substrates (501, 502) having long side and short side in a chamber (731) ([0050], figure 7a-7d), and placing the mask close to align and to correspond with the first display substrates [0021], [0085], [0087]. Sung’201 teaches the supplying of two deposition sources (301 and 302) where each deposition source (110) include crucible (112) ([0064], figure 4), where the deposition materials passes though the mask and deposited on the first and/or second substrate [0087]. Sung’201 teaches the moving of the deposition source in a longitudinal direction of the short side of one of the first display substrate and the second display substrate, arranging the deposition source to face the other one of the first display substrate and the second display substrate, aligning the mask assembly corresponding to the other one of the first display substrate and the second display substrate with the other one of the first display substrate and the second display substrate, and supplying at least two deposition materials to the mask assembly through the deposition source, and allowing the at least two deposition materials having passed through the mask assembly to be deposited on the other one of the first display substrate and the second display substrate while moving the deposition source in a longitudinal direction of the long side of the other one of the first display substrate and the second display substrate (figures 5 and 7a-7d, [0021], [0087], [0091]).
Sung’201 does not teach the single deposition source have plurality of crucibles (such as two crucibles) for plurality of deposition materials that are moving together in the entire depositing step.
However, Sung’829 is in the process of depositing materials on the display substrate (abstract), teaches the deposition unit (201) (figure 1) having two crucibles 112 and 112a depositing two materials 115a (host material) and 115b (dopant material) where each deposition material is deposited using first and second deposition nozzles 121a and 121b, respectively (figures 1, 2A and 2B, [0075]-[0076]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention would combine Sung’201 and Sung’829 to use the plurality of crucibles in the deposition source are configured to move together along the longitudinal direction of the long side of one of the first display substrate and the second display substrate during an entire step of depositing the at least two deposition materials on one of the first display substrate and the second substrate in the longitudinal direction of the long side of one of the first display substrate and the second display substrate, by using the single deposition unit (201) of Sung’829 for either of deposition sources (301 and 302) of Sung’201, to provide with a deposition process having a dopant materials into the formed deposition film of the display apparatus [0075]-[0077].
The combined Sung’201 (with Sung’829) does not teach the process of sensing the temperature inside each of the deposition crucibles by a sensor placed inside the crucible.
However, McKee is in the process of vapor depositing onto a substrate in a vacuum chamber (24) (Col. 3, lines 60-67) where the chamber (24) having plurality of crucibles (figure 1), where the vaporize source is formed by heating the crucibles (34) with heating element (37) (Col. 4, lines 44-50), teaches a crucible (34) having source material (46) sits within collar (80) (figure 2, Col. 5, line 64 to Col. 6, line 10), where collar (80) have a monitor (84) where the monitor is used to monitors that the deposition rate during the deposition process, using a pressure sensor placed within the interior of the collar) (Col. 6, lines 4-9, and figure 3). Therefore, sense/detect the internal pressure of the crucibles. McKee teaches the pressure sensor/monitor (84) placed between the source (46) and the shutters (60, 62) for collecting information thereat, the information gathered by the monitor (84) is used in a feedback loop (thus comparing the calculated evaporation rate to the preset evaporation rate) to enhance the accuracy of control of the deposition process (Col. 6, lines 7-12).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention would combine Sung’201 (with Sung’829) with McKee to calculate the evaporation rate by measuring the internal pressure of each of the crucibles using a sensor placed on the deposition source, to enhance the accuracy of control of the deposition process (Col. 6, lines 7-12).
The combined Sung’201 (with Sung’829 and McKee) does not teach the adjusting the shutter opening based on the calculated and the measured temperature.
However, Boivin is in the art of evaporation deposition process of crucible onto a substrate (abstract), teaches the calculating/sensing of the evaporation rate using quartz crystal monitor (abstract), and the comparing of the calculated rate vs the reference presser/signal (abstract), and the moving the aperture plates (of the shutter) to corrected rate base on the comparing step (abstract), where the aperture plates (46, 48) are parts of the shutter assembly (20) (Col. 2, lines 50-60, Fig. 3). Boivin teaches the shutter’s degree of opening is adjusted to the desired/compared rate base on the calculated/monitored evaporation rate (Claim 4, lines 14-17).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention would combine Sung’201 (with Sung’829 and McKee) with Boivin to calculate the evaporation rate and compare the actual evaporation rate with the reference rate and adjust the shutter opening’s for each crucible, to provide with a correction of the desired film deposition rate (abstract).
Consider Claim 2, the combined Sung’201 (with Sung’829 and McKee and Boivin) teaches the deposition process is preformed where the substrate (18) is horizontally as the deposition surface faces the lower surface of the chamber (10) (Boivin, figure 1).
Consider Claims 3 and 5, the combined Sung’201 (with Sung’829 and McKee and Boivin) teaches the shutter between the crucible and the substrate which moves in a linear motion (Boivin, figures 1-2). And where it would be obvious that the mask of Sung’201 is between the deposition source and the shutter, with reasonable and predictable expectation of success.
Consider Claim 4, the combined Sung’201 (with Sung’829 and McKee and Boivin) teaches the use of separate deposition sources (301 and 302) (Sung’201, Figure 7) where each deposition source (110) having crucible (112) containing deposition material (115) (Sung’201, Figure 4) where the deposition process is controlled (Sung’201, [0099]), thus having a cut-off portion that is connect and control the amount of deposition (Sung’201, [0100]).
Consider Claim 6, the combined Sung’201 (with Sung’829 and McKee and Boivin) teaches the process of deposition two deposition materials using two deposition sources (301, 302) on the first and the second display substrate (501, 502) (Sung’201, figure 6-7) using masks (Sung’201, [0087], [0091]).
Consider Claim 7, the combined Sung’201 (with Sung’829 and McKee and Boivin) teaches the moving of the shutter (60) in a rotation motion around axis (64) (McKee, figure 4).
Consider Claim 8, the combined Sung’201 (with Sung’829 and McKee and Boivin) teaches the crucibles has a limited ejection angle of the deposition material ejected (McKee, Figure 9).
Consider Claim 9, the combined Sung’201 (with Sung’829 and McKee and Boivin) teaches the two deposition materials have different materials from each other (Sung’201, [0089]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 04/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-9 under 103a have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sung’201 with Sung’829 and McKee and Boivin.
The applicant argued against the prior art of Sung’201, on the ground that none of the deposition sources move together though the entire either of the display substrates as show in figure 1 of the instant application.
However, the prior art of Sung’829 discloses the use of two deposition materials within the same deposition unit, where each deposition material is within a separate crucible as show in figures 1, 2A and 2B and in paragraphs [0075]-[0076].
All other applicant arguments not specifically addressed above are deemed unpersuasive as either not commensurate in scope with the broadly drafted claims or are unsupported by factual evidence and are deemed mere attorney speculation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mohammad Mayy/
Art Unit 1718
/GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718