DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung (PG Pub 2012/0068201 A1) in view of McKee (US Pat. 5,906,857) and in further view of Boivin (US Pat. 4,579,083).
Consider Claim 1, Sung teaches the process of forming display device (abstract), teaches the process that include placing first and second display substrates (501, 502) having long side and short side in a chamber (731) ([0050], figure 7a-7d), and placing the mask close to align and to correspond with the first display substrates [0021], [0085], [0087]. Sung teaches the supplying of two deposition sources (301 and 302) where each deposition source (110) include crucible (112) ([0064], figure 4), where the deposition materials passes though the mask and deposited on the first and/or second substrate [0087]. Sung teaches the moving of the deposition source in a longitudinal direction of the short side of one of the first display substrate and the second display substrate, arranging the deposition source to face the other one of the first display substrate and the second display substrate, aligning the mask assembly corresponding to the other one of the first display substrate and the second display substrate with the other one of the first display substrate and the second display substrate, and supplying at least two deposition materials to the mask assembly through the deposition source, and allowing the at least two deposition materials having passed through the mask assembly to be deposited on the other one of the first display substrate and the second display substrate while moving the deposition source in a longitudinal direction of the long side of the other one of the first display substrate and the second display substrate (figures 5 and 7a-7d, [0021], [0087], [0091]).
Sung does not teach the process of sensing the temperature inside each of the deposition crucibles by a sensor placed inside the crucible.
However, McKee is in the process of vapor depositing onto a substrate in a vacuum chamber (24) (Col. 3, lines 60-67) where the chamber (24) having plurality of crucibles (figure 1), where the vaporize source is formed by heating the crucibles (34) with heating element (37) (Col. 4, lines 44-50), teaches a crucible (34) having source material (46) sits within collar (80) (figure 2, Col. 5, line 64 to Col. 6, line 10), where collar (80) have a monitor (84) where the monitor is used to monitors that the deposition rate during the deposition process, using a pressure sensor placed within the interior of the collar) (Col. 6, lines 4-9, and figure 3). Therefore, sense/detect the internal pressure of the crucibles. McKee teaches the pressure sensor/monitor (84) placed between the source (46) and the shutters (60, 62) for collecting information thereat, the information gathered by the monitor (84) is used in a feedback loop (thus comparing the calculated evaporation rate to the preset evaporation rate) to enhance the accuracy of control of the deposition process (Col. 6, lines 7-12).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention would combine Sung with McKee to calculate the evaporation rate by measuring the internal pressure of each of the crucibles using a sensor placed on the deposition source, to enhance the accuracy of control of the deposition process (Col. 6, lines 7-12).
The combined Sung (with McKee) does not teach the adjusting the shutter opening based on the calculated and the measured temperature.
However, Boivin is in the art of evaporation deposition process of crucible onto a substrate (abstract), teaches the calculating/sensing of the evaporation rate using quartz crystal monitor (abstract), and the comparing of the calculated rate vs the reference presser/signal (abstract), and the moving the aperture plates (of the shutter) to corrected rate base on the comparing step (abstract), where the aperture plates (46, 48) are parts of the shutter assembly (20) (Col. 2, lines 50-60, Fig. 3). Boivin teaches the shutter’s degree of opening is adjusted to the desired/compared rate base on the calculated/monitored evaporation rate (Claim 4, lines 14-17).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention would combine Sung (with McKee) with Boivin to calculate the evaporation rate and compare the actual evaporation rate with the reference rate and adjust the shutter opening’s for each crucible, to provide with a correction of the desired film deposition rate (abstract).
Consider Claim 2, the combined Sung (with McKee and Boivin) teaches the deposition process is preformed where the substrate (18) is horizontally as the deposition surface faces the lower surface of the chamber (10) (Boivin, figure 1).
Consider Claims 3 and 5, the combined Sung (with McKee and Boivin) teaches the shutter between the crucible and the substrate which moves in a linear motion (Boivin, figures 1-2). And where it would be obvious that the mask of Sung is between the deposition source and the shutter, with reasonable and predictable expectation of success.
Consider Claim 4, the combined Sung (with McKee and Boivin) teaches the use of separate deposition sources (301 and 302) (Sung, Figure 7) where each deposition source (110) having crucible (112) containing deposition material (115) (Sung, Figure 4) where the deposition process is controlled (Sung, [0099]), thus having a cut-off portion that is connect and control the amount of deposition (Sung, [0100]).
Consider Claim 6, the combined Sung (with McKee and Boivin) teaches the process of deposition two deposition materials using two deposition sources (301, 302) on the first and the second display substrate (501, 502) (Sung, figure 6-7) using masks (Sung, [0087], [0091]).
Consider Claim 7, the combined Sung (with McKee and Boivin) teaches the moving of the shutter (60) in a rotation motion around axis (64) (McKee, figure 4).
Consider Claim 8, the combined Sung (with McKee and Boivin) teaches the crucibles has a limited ejection angle of the deposition material ejected (McKee, Figure 9).
Consider Claim 9, the combined Sung (with McKee and Boivin) teaches the two deposition materials have different materials from each other (Sung, [0089]).
Conclusion
/Mohammad Mayy/
Art Unit 1718
/MICHAEL B CLEVELAND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1712