DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07/22/2024, 08/19/2024, and 04/03/2025 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: SOURCE/DRAIN REGIONS AND METHODS OF FORMING SAME USING MASKS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the remaining portions of the first metal-comprising mask" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no prior recitation of “remaining portions of the first metal-comprising mask” in claim 4, or in claim 1 on which claim 4 depends – rendering it unclear if “the remaining portions of the first metal-comprising mask” refers to previously-introduced portions or newly-designated portions of the “first metal-comprising mask”. Therefore, for the purposes of Examination, Examiner has interpreted “the remaining portions of the first metal-comprising mask” as --- remaining portions of the first metal-comprising mask --- however, this edit may be altered if Applicant intends otherwise. Claims 5-7 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xie (U.S. PG Pub No US2021/0265348A1).
Regarding claim 1, Xie teaches a method [see figs. 1-9, 0030] comprising:
etching a first recess (left recess/gap in stack) fig. 2 [0047] adjacent a first gate stack (comprising left 114, 204, 116, 204 stack) fig. 2 [0046] and a first fin (comprising left, fin-shaped 108, 110, 202 stack) fig. 2 [0047, 0042, 0031];
etching a second recess (right recess/gap in stack) fig. 2 [0047] adjacent a second gate stack (comprising right 114, 204, 116, 204 stack) fig. 2 [0046] and a second fin (comprising right, fin-shaped 108, 110, 202 stack) fig. 2 [0047, 0042, 0031];
epitaxially growing a first epitaxy layer (left, lower 302 material) fig. 3 [0050-0053] in the first recess (left gap) and a second epitaxy layer (right, lower 302 material) fig. 3 [0050-0053] in the second recess (right gap);
depositing a first metal-comprising mask (304) fig. 3 [0055] (acting as a mask to cover 304, may be formed of aluminum-oxide) to cover the first epitaxy layer (left, lower 302 material) in the first recess (left gap) and the second epitaxy layer (right, lower 302 material) in the second recess (right gap);
patterning (removing/etching) [see fig. 4, 0056-0058 for initial patterning, fig. 7, 0075-0076 for subsequent patterning] the first metal-comprising mask (304) to (eventually) expose the first epitaxy layer (left, lower 302) [see fig. 7, 0075-0076 for 302 exposed in cavity]; and
epitaxially growing a third epitaxy layer (left 502) fig. 5 [0060-0062] (502 may be formed in same manner as 302 [0060], i.e, by an epitaxial method such as MBE [0051-0053]) in the first recess (left gap) on (supported by) the first epitaxy layer (left, lower 302), wherein the first metal-comprising mask (right portion of 304) continues to cover [see fig. 5] the second epitaxy layer (right, lower 302) in the second recess (right gap) while epitaxially growing the third epitaxy layer (left 502) in the first recess (left gap) [see fig. 5].
Regarding claim 2, Xie teaches the method [see figs. 1-9, 0030] of claim 1. Xie also teaches wherein the first metal-comprising mask (304) fig. 3 [0055] comprises aluminum oxide (AlOx) [0055].
Regarding claim 4, Xie teaches the method [see figs. 1-9, 0030] of claim 1. Xie also teaches further comprising:
after epitaxially growing [0051-0053] the third epitaxy layer (left 502) fig. 5 [0060-0062], (fully) removing remaining portions of the first metal-comprising mask (304) figs. 6-7 [0055] from the second recess (right gap) to expose the second epitaxy layer (right, lower 302 exposed in cavity) [see fig. 7, 0075-0076].
Regarding claim 8, Xie teaches the method [see figs. 1-9, 0030] of claim 1. Xie also teaches wherein after (initially) patterning the first metal-comprising mask (partial/initial removal of 304 material) figs. 3-4 [0056-0058], metal residue (aluminum metal comprising, residual portions of 304) [0055] of the first metal-comprising mask (304) [0055] remains over the first epitaxy layer (left, lower 302) fig. 4 [0050-0053], and wherein the third epitaxy layer (left 502) fig. 5 [0051, 0061-0063] is deposited over the metal residue (residual portions of 304) fig. 5 [0055-0056] [see fig. 5].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ando (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0131184A1) in view of Peng (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0164972A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ando teaches a method [see figs. 1-14, 0040, 0069] comprising:
etching a first recess (left recess/gap in stack) figs. 2-3 [0049-0052] adjacent a first gate stack (comprising left 110, 120, 130) fig. 2 [0050-0052] and a first fin (comprising left, fin-shaped 105 with 107 stack) fig. 3 [0002, 0033, 0043-0046];
etching a second recess (right recess/gap in stack) figs. 2-3 [0049-0052] adjacent a second gate stack (comprising right 114, 204, 116, 204 stack) fig. 2 [0050-0052] and a second fin (comprising right, fin-shaped 105 with 107 stack) fig. 3 [0002, 0033, 0043-0046];
epitaxially growing a first epitaxy layer (left 140) fig. 4 [0053-0054] in the first recess (left gap) and a second epitaxy layer (right 140) fig. 4 [0053-0054] in the second recess (right gap);
depositing a first mask (150) fig. 6 [0058] (150 material acting as a mask to cover 140) to cover the first epitaxy layer (left 140) in the first recess (left gap) and the second epitaxy layer (right 140) in the second recess (right gap);
patterning (removing/etching) [see figs. 9-10, 0065] the first mask 150) to expose [0065] the first epitaxy layer (left 140) [see fig. 10, 0065, for 140 exposed by 175 cavity]; and
epitaxially growing a third epitaxy layer (left 142) fig. 7 [0059] in the first recess (left gap) on (supported by) the first epitaxy layer (left 140), wherein the first mask (150) continues to cover [see fig. 7] the second epitaxy layer (right 140) in the second recess (right gap) while epitaxially growing the third epitaxy layer (left 142) in the first recess (left gap) [see fig. 7, 0059-0060].
However, Ando does not explicitly disclose the first mask (150 material) is a metal-comprising mask (150 may be, for example, silicon dioxide [0058], although not specifically limited thereto – metal oxide not specifically mentioned).
Peng teaches a method [see figs. 3A-3J, 0067, 0083] wherein the first mask (324, acting as a gate-mask) fig. 3G [007-00819] is a metal-comprising mask (324 may be, for example, aluminum oxide [0080] instead of silicon oxide [0080], although not specifically limited thereto [0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dielectric masking layer of Ando to be composed of a metal-comprising oxide material like aluminum oxide [0080] instead of silicon oxide [0080], formed with the size characteristics specified by Peng [0080], in order to selective vary the dielectric [0080] and etch selectivity [0080-0081] properties of the dielectric masking layer [0080-0081], as taught by Peng.
Regarding claim 3, Ando in view of Peng teaches the method [see figs. 1-14, 0040, 0069] of claim 1. Ando in view of Peng (with reference to Peng) also teaches wherein a width (vertical width/thickness) of the first metal-comprising mask (324) fig. 3G [0080] is in a range of 1nm to 5nm (“324 may have a thickness ranging from about 1 nm to about 5 nm” [0080 Peng], which is considered substantially identical to the recited range).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, as interpreted, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 5 is considered to contain allowable subject matter because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed limitation(s) “wherein the second metal-comprising mask continues to cover the third epitaxy layer while epitaxially growing the fourth epitaxy layer in the second recess” in the context of claim 5, dependent upon claim 4, dependent upon claim 1. Claim 6 is also objected as containing allowable subject matter by virtue of its dependency on claim 5.
Claim 7 is considered to contain allowable subject matter because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed limitation(s) “and wherein removing the remaining portions of the first metal-comprising mask comprises removing precursor residue of the hydrogen-comprising precursor with the remaining portions of the first metal-comprising mask” in the context of claim 7, dependent upon claim 4, dependent upon claim 1.
Claims 9-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 9 is allowed because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed limitation(s) “wherein removing the first aluminum oxide layer from the second recess removes the first precursor residue” in the context of claim 9. Claims 10-14 are also allowed by virtue of their dependency on claim 9.
Claim 15 is allowed because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed limitation(s) “and after removing the remaining portions of the first metal-comprising mask, epitaxially growing a second epitaxial region of a second source/drain region in direct contact with the second lateral surface of the second semiconductor material in the second source/drain recess” in the context of claim 15. Claims 16-20 are also allowed by virtue of their dependency on claim 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Remaining references made available on the PTO-892 form are each considered relevant to the present disclosure because they all feature gate stacks and recesses sequentially filled with epitaxial source/drain materials.
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 10/30/2026