DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Amendment filed 1/20/2026 wherein claims 2-3 and 20 are canceled, claims 11-19 are withdrawn, and claims 1, 4-10, and 21-23 are presented for examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “radial axis comprises a shorter axial length measured along the axis than the second accessory” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Although Applicant’s specification states that “the radial turbine 201 has a smaller height than a traditional axial turbine thus facilitating the stacked arrangement of the accessories 200. The shorter length of the radial design also reduces the overall length of the stacked arrangement 220” (see Paragraph 0052), Applicant’s specification does not include any description of any axial length of a radial axis. Therefore, the claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the art that Applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the radial axis" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 9-10, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cass et al. (US 2010/0242496) in view of Nayak et al. (US 2021/0239012) and Altamura (US 2018/0283464).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Cass teaches (Figures 1-6B) an assembly (see Figure 5B) that is operatively connected with a connection assembly (see Figure 5A) to a turbine engine (10) of an aircraft (see Figure 1A), the assembly (see Figure 5B) comprising:
an accessory gearbox (60) comprising:
a body (the casing of 60) configured to be connected to the connection assembly (see Figure 5A);
mounting pads (66A, 66B, 66C, 66D, 66E, 66F) spaced about the body (the casing of 60);
a first accessory (AC1) mounted to the body (60) at a first one of the mounting pads (one of 66A-66F;see Figure 4 and Paragraph 0029),
a second accessory (AC2) mounted to the first accessory (AC1), and configured to be driven (see Figure 5B) with the accessory gearbox (60) through the first accessory (AC1);
a gear assembly (70) connected to (see Figures 5A-5B and Paragraphs 0030-0032) the first accessory (AC1) and to the second accessory (AC2), wherein the gear assembly (70) enables the first accessory (AC1) and the second accessory (AC2) to operate at different speeds (see Paragraph 0032),
wherein the first accessory (AC1) and the second accessory (AC2) are in a stacked arrangement (see Figure 5B) that extends along an axis (Z); and
wherein the first accessory (AC1) comprising a shorter axial length (see Figure 5B) measured along the axis (Z) than the second accessory (AC2).
Although Cass teaches that the accessory can include a starter (see Paragraph 0025), Cass does not teach that the first accessory comprises an inlet to be driven by air that is received from a source and outlets to exhaust the air or that the gear assembly comprises a planetary gear;
Nayak teaches (Figures 1-7) a starter (10) having an inlet (32) to be driven by air that is received from a source (a source of pressurized air; see Paragraph 0033) and outlets (see the openings disposed on the housing 30 where the air flow from flow path 36 exits the starter; see Figure 2) to exhaust the air (see flow path 36 in Figures 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cass to have the accessory comprise an inlet to be driven by air that is received from a source and outlets to exhaust the air, as taught by Nayak, in order to extract mechanical power from the flow of a fluid to provide rotational output used to start the engine (see abstract and Paragraph 0002 of Nayak) and since Cass teaches that the accessory can be a starter (see Paragraph 0025 of Cass). Cass in view of Nayak does not teach that the gear assembly comprises a planetary gear.
Altamura teaches (Figures 1-10) a gearbox (218) that includes a planetary gear set (see Paragraph 0060).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cass in view of Nayak to have the gearbox include a planetary gear, as taught by Altamura, in order to allow a first accessory to rotate at a relatively high rotational speed, while turning an output shaft at a relatively low rotational speed (Paragraph 0060 of Altamura).
Regarding Claim 4, Cass in view of Nayak and Altamura teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Cass further teaches (Figures 1-6B) a drive shaft (76; see Figures 6A-6B) that extends outward from the second accessory (AC2), wherein the drive shaft (76) extends through the first accessory (AC1) and is operatively connected to the body (60).
Regarding Claim 5, Cass in view of Nayak and Altamura teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Cass further teaches (Figures 1-6B) wherein the first accessory (AC1) comprises a central opening (an opening for 76; see Figures 5A-6B) with a central axis (Z) and the drive shaft (76) comprises an axis (a central longitudinal axis through 76; see Figures 5A-6B) with the central axis (a central longitudinal axis through AC1; see Figures 5A-6B) and the axis being coincident (both axes along axis Z; see Figures 5A-6B).
Regarding Claim 6, Cass in view of Nayak and Altamura teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Cass further teaches (Figures 1-6B) a third accessory (one of a deoiler D, a hydraulic pump HP, or oil pump OP; see Figure 2C) mounted to the body (60) at a second one of the mounting pads (another one of 66A-66F) with the second mounting pad spaced apart (see Figure 4) on the body (60) from the first mounting pad (one of 66A-66F).
Regarding Claim 7, Cass in view of Nayak and Altamura teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Cass further teaches (Figures 1-6B) wherein the second accessory (AC2) is stacked on the first accessory (AC2) and positioned away from (see Figures 5A-6B) the body (at 60).
Regarding Claim 9, Cass in view of Nayak and Altamura teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Cass further teaches (Figures 1-6B) wherein the first accessory (AC1) comprises a first side (the side facing 60; see Figure 5B) that faces towards the accessory gearbox (at 60) and an opposing second side (the side facing AC2) that faces away from the accessory gearbox (at 60) with the second accessory (AC2) connected to (via 70 in Figure 5B or via 76 in Figure 6B) the second side (the side of AC1 facing AC2) of the first accessory (AC1).
Regarding Claim 10, Cass in view of Nayak and Altamura teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Cass further teaches (Figures 1-6B) wherein the first accessory (AC1) comprises a central opening (an opening for shaft 76; see Figures 5A-6B) and the second accessory (AC2) comprises a shaft (76; see Figures 5A-6B) that extends outwardly (see Figures 5A-6B) with the shaft (76) extending through the central opening (an opening for shaft 76; see Figures 5A-6B).
Regarding Claim 21, Cass in view of Nayak and Altamura teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Cass further teaches (Figures 1-6B) a shorter axial length (the length of AC1 compared to the length of AC2; see Figures 5B and 6B) of a first accessory (AC1) reduces an overhanging moment arm load (due to the relatively shorter length of AC1 compared to AC2) of the second accessory (AC2).
Regarding Claim 22, Cass in view of Nayak and Altamura teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Cass further teaches (Figures 1-6B) a third accessory (AC3) mounted to the second accessory (AC2) in the stacked arrangement (see Figure 6B).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cass et al. (US 2010/0242496) in view of Nayak et al. (US 2021/0239012) and Altamura (US 2018/0283464) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kusnierek et al. (US 2020/0123982).
Regarding Claim 8, Cass in view of Nayak and Altamura teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Although Cass teaches (Figures 1-6B) that the accessories can includes starter/generators (Paragraph 0025 of Cass), Cass in view of Nayak and Altamura does not teach as discussed so far, that the first accessory is a starter to start the turbine engine and the second accessory is a generator.
Kusnierek teaches (Figures 1-10B) first and second accessories in a stacked arrangement extending along an axis (see Figures 6B, 6D, and 8B), wherein the first accessory (330) is a starter (Paragraph 0035) to start the turbine engine (100) and the second accessory (328) is a generator (Paragraph 0038).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cass in view of Nayak and Altamura to have the first accessory be a starter to start the turbine engine and the second accessory is a generator, as taught by Kusnierek, in order to achieve two different modes of starting the turbine without redesigning or changing the accessory gearbox, while also allowing for more electrical power generation without changing the generator or otherwise changing the accessory gearbox to support an additional generator (see Paragraph 0038 of Kusnierek).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cass et al. (US 2010/0242496) in view of Mahoney et al. (US 2006/0010875) and Crites et al. (US 5,443,362).
Regarding Independent Claim 23, Cass teaches (Figures 1-6B) an assembly (see Figure 5B) that is operatively connected with a connection assembly (see Figure 5A) to a turbine engine (10) of an aircraft (see Figure 1A), the assembly (see Figure 5B) comprising:
an accessory gearbox (60) comprising:
a body (the casing of 60) configured to be connected to the connection assembly (see Figure 5A);
mounting pads (66A, 66B, 66C, 66D, 66E, 66F) spaced about the body (the casing of 60);
a first accessory (AC1) mounted to the body (60) at a first one of the mounting pads (one of 66A-66F;see Figure 4 and Paragraph 0029),
a second accessory (AC2) mounted to the first accessory (AC1) away from (see Figures 5A-6B) the accessory gearbox (60),
wherein the first accessory (AC1) and the second accessory (AC2) are in a stacked arrangement (see Figure 5B) that extends along an axis (Z); and
wherein the first accessory (AC1) comprising a shorter axial length (see Figure 5B) measured along the axis (Z) than the second accessory (AC2), and a radial axis (a radial line through 60 extending from axis A; see Figure 5B) comprises a shorter length (due to the axis being a line) measured along the axis (Z) than the second accessory (AC2).
Although Cass teaches that the accessory can include a starter (see Paragraph 0025), Cass does not teach that the first accessory is a radial starter comprising: a radial turbine; an inlet scroll to deliver air to the radial turbine; and exhaust holes to exhaust the air.
Mahoney teaches (Figures 1-2) an air turbine (156) used to start a turbine engine (100; see Paragraph 0021), wherein the air turbine (156) may be any one of numerous types of air turbines including a vaned radial turbine, a vaneless radial turbine, and a vaned axial turbine (see Paragraph 0021).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cass to have the accessory include a radial starter comprising a radial turbine, as taught by Mahoney, since a simple substitution of one known element (in this case, a starter) for another (in this case, a radial turbine) to obtain predictable results (in this case, to provide a drive force supplied to the shaft of the turbine engine) was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. at 415-421, 82 USPQ2d at 1396, MPEP 2141 III B. Cass in view of Mahoney does not teach, as discussed so far, that the radial starter comprises an inlet scroll to deliver air to the radial turbine and exhaust holes to exhaust the air.
Crites teaches (Figures 1-10) an air turbine (10) having a radial turbine (12), an inlet scroll (98) to deliver air to the turbine (12), and exhaust holes (the openings between 50) to exhaust the air (from 12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cass in view of Mahoney to have the starter include an inlet scroll to deliver air to the radial turbine and exhaust holes to exhaust the air, as taught by Crites, in order to more effectively and efficiently provide guidance for the air flowing through the air turbine (Column 1, lines 11-45 of Crites) and since Mahoney teaches that the starting air turbine can be any one of numerous types of air turbines including a vaned radial turbine, a vaneless radial turbine, and a vaned axial turbine (see Paragraph 0021 of Mahoney).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-10, and 21-23 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references being applied in this office action, necessitated by amendment. However, to the extent possible, Applicant’s arguments have been addressed in the body of the rejection above, at the appropriate locations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/THOMAS P BURKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741