DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 6-15 in the reply filed on 01/12/2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 6-15 are searched and examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan et al. (US 2021/0351816 A1) in view of Rosa et al. (US 2026/0006474 A1).
Consider claim 6:
Raghavan discloses a beamforming transceiver system (see Fig. 4 and paragraph 0064, where Raghavan describes a beamforming architecture 400) including:
(a) a first signal port configured to convey a signal having a first polarization (see Fig. 4 and paragraph 0068, where Raghavan describes that the beamforming architecture 400 includes a mixer 408 which is configured to output a signal to one transmitting radio frequency (RF) chain; see paragraph 0083, where Raghavan describes that a RF chain may be operated in a polarization mode);
(b) a first signal splitter coupled to the first signal port (see Fig. 4 and paragraph 0068, where Raghavan describes that a splitter 410 is connected to the output of the mixer 408);
(c) a first phase-and-gain control element coupled to the first signal splitter (see Fig. 4 and paragraphs 0069-0071, where Raghavan describes an amplifier 412 and a phase shifter 414 which are connected to process output of the splitter 410, the amplifier 412 may provide positive or negative gain);
(d) a first amplifier having an input coupled to the first phase-and-gain control element, and an output (see Fig. 4 and paragraph 0069, where Raghavan describes amplifier 416 which processes output of the amplifier 412 and the phase shifter 414);
(e) a connector having an input port coupled to the output of the first power amplifier, an output port configured to be selectably connected to a first terminal of an antenna, and a coupled port (see Fig. 4 and paragraphs 0072-0073, where Raghavan describes a connector which connects output of the amplifier 416 to antenna element 420 and to amplifier 456 in a time division duplex operation);
(f) a second signal port configured to normally convey a signal having a second polarization (see Fig. 4 and paragraph 0076, where Raghavan describes a mixer 448 which down converts received RF signal in a feedback RF chain; see paragraph 0083, where Raghavan describes that a feedback RF chain may be operated in a different polarization mode);
(g) a second signal splitter coupled to the second signal port (see Fig. 4 and paragraph 0076, where Raghavan describes a combiner 450 which is connected to the mixer 448);
(h) a second phase-and-gain control element coupled to the second signal splitter (see Fig. 4 and paragraphs 0074-0075, where Raghavan describes a receiving phase shifter 454 and amplifier 452 which are connected to the combiner 450);
(i) a second amplifier having an output coupled to the second phase-and-gain control element (see Fig. 4 and paragraphs 0072-0073, where Raghavan describes an amplifier 456 which output signal to the receiving phase shifter 454 and amplifier 452), and an input configured to be selectably coupled to a second terminal of the antenna (see Fig. 4 and paragraphs 0072-0073, where Raghavan describes that the amplifier 456 receives signal from antenna element 420); and
(j) a signal feedback path coupled between the coupled port of the connector and any portion of a circuit path from the input of the second amplifier to the output of the second amplifier (see Fig. 4 and paragraphs 0073-0074, where Raghavan describes a signal feedback path which includes the amplifier 456, the receive phase shifter 454 and the amplifier 452);
wherein a feedback signal generated through the coupled port of the connector and having the first polarization is coupled through the second phase-and-gain control element and through the second signal splitter, functioning as a signal combiner, to the second signal port (see Fig. 4 and paragraphs 0074-0076, where Raghavan describes a plurality of feedback signals which are generated from the transmitting signals by the amplifiers 456, the receive phase shifters 454 and the amplifiers 452, and the plurality of feedback signals are combined by the combiner 450 before being processed by the mixer 448).
As discussed above, Raghavan discloses a connector. However, Raghavan does not specifically disclose: the connector is a directional coupler.
Rosa teaches: a connector which is a directional coupler (see Fig. 3B and paragraph 0110, where Rosa describes a transmitter in which the output of a power amplifier is input to a feedback receiver 3500 using a directional coupler).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: the connector is a directional coupler, as taught by Rosa to modify the method of Raghavan in order to lower the power of the output signal, as discussed by Rosa (see paragraph 0110).
Consider claim 7:
Raghavan in view of Rosa discloses the beamforming transceiver system of claim 6 above. Raghavan discloses: the first amplifier is a power amplifier (see Fig. 4 and paragraph 0071, where Raghavan describes that the amplifier 416 is used to increase an amplitude of a signal for radiation by antenna element 420).
Consider claim 8:
Raghavan in view of Rosa discloses the beamforming transceiver system of claim 6 above. Raghavan discloses the second amplifier (see Fig. 4 and paragraph 0073, where Raghavan describes amplifier 456).
Raghavan does not specifically disclose: the second amplifier is a low-noise amplifier.
Rosa teaches: an amplifier that is a low-noise amplifier (see Fig. 3B and paragraph 0110, where Rosa describes a low-noise amplifier 3511 in the feedback receiver 3500).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: the second amplifier is a low-noise amplifier, as taught by Rosa to modify the method of Raghavan in order to lower the power of the output signal, as discussed by Rosa (see paragraph 0110).
Consider claim 9:
Raghavan in view of Rosa discloses the beamforming transceiver system of claim 6 above. Raghavan does not specifically disclose: the second amplifier is a low-noise amplifier and the feedback signal is coupled to the input of the low-noise amplifier.
Rosa teaches: a second amplifier is a low-noise amplifier and a feedback signal is coupled to input of the low-noise amplifier (see Fig. 3B and paragraph 0110, where Rosa describes a low-noise amplifier 3511 which receives feedback signal as input).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: the second amplifier is a low-noise amplifier and the feedback signal is coupled to the input of the low-noise amplifier, as taught by Rosa to modify the method of Raghavan in order to lower the power of the output signal, as discussed by Rosa (see paragraph 0110).
Consider claim 12:
Raghavan in view of Rosa discloses the beamforming transceiver system of claim 6 above. Raghavan discloses: an analysis circuit selectably couplable to the feedback signal (see Fig. 4 and paragraph 0068, where Raghavan describes a modem 402 which processes the feedback signal).
Consider claim 13:
Raghavan in view of Rosa discloses the beamforming transceiver system of claim 12 above. Raghavan discloses: the analysis circuit is configured to generate control signals applied to set at least one operating parameter of the first amplifier (see Fig. 4 and paragraph 0068, where Raghavan describes that the modem 402 generates signal to control operation of the amplifier 416).
Consider claim 14:
Raghavan in view of Rosa discloses the beamforming transceiver system of claim 12 above. Raghavan discloses: the analysis circuit is configured to generate control signals applied to set at least one operating parameter of the first phase-and-gain control element and/or the second phase-and-gain control element (see Fig. 4 and paragraph 0068, where Raghavan describes that the modem 402 generates signal to control operation of the phase shifter 414).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan et al. (US 2021/0351816 A1) in view of Rosa et al. (US 2026/0006474 A1), as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Krayeski (US 5,471,146).
Consider claim 10:
Raghavan in view of Rosa discloses the beamforming transceiver system of claim 6 above. Raghavan does not specifically disclose: (a) a sense pad/pin configured to be coupled to an external analysis circuit; and (b) a switch having an input terminal coupled to the coupled port of the directional coupler, a first output terminal coupled to the signal feedback path, and a second output terminal coupled to the sense pad/pin.
Krayeski teaches: (a) a sense pad/pin configured to be coupled to an external analysis circuit (see Fig. 1, col. 3, lines 66-67 and col. 4, lines 1-17, where Krayeski describes a direction coupler 56 which senses transmitted signal power); and (b) a switch having an input terminal coupled to the coupled port of the directional coupler, a first output terminal coupled to a signal feedback path, and a second output terminal coupled to the sense pad/pin (see Fig. 1, col. 3, lines 66-67 and col. 4, lines 1-17, where Krayeski describes that the direction coupler 56 is a switchable directional coupler which outputs a signal to a feedback path).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: (a) a sense pad/pin configured to be coupled to an external analysis circuit; and (b) a switch having an input terminal coupled to the coupled port of the directional coupler, a first output terminal coupled to the signal feedback path, and a second output terminal coupled to the sense pad/pin, as taught by Krayeski to modify the method of Raghavan in order to circumvent the accuracy problem, as discussed by Krayeski (see col. 4, lines 5-10).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raghavan et al. (US 2021/0351816 A1) in view of Rosa et al. (US 2026/0006474 A1), as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Xu et al. (US 2018/0287569 A1).
Consider claim 15:
Raghavan in view of Rosa discloses the beamforming transceiver system of claim 12 above. Raghavan does not specifically disclose: a digital pre-distortion circuit configured to pre-distort a signal coupled to the first signal port, wherein the analysis circuit is configured to set parameter values within the pre-distortion circuit.
Xu teaches: a digital pre-distortion circuit configured to pre-distort a signal coupled to a first signal port, an analysis circuit is configured to set parameter values within the pre-distortion circuit (see Fig. 1 and paragraph 0041, where Xu describes a digital predistortion circuit 108 which is configured to pre-distort a transmit signal, and an adaptation module 122 is connected to the digital predistortion circuit 108 to modify the predistortion parameters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include: a digital pre-distortion circuit configured to pre-distort a signal coupled to the first signal port, wherein the analysis circuit is configured to set parameter values within the pre-distortion circuit, as taught by Xu to modify the method of Raghavan in order to counteract distortion, as discussed by Xu (see paragraph 0041).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LIHONG YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631