CTNF 18/779,543 CTNF 82638 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 8, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. WO2024156088A1 Filing Date: 2023-01-27, hereinafter Cheng . Regarding claim 1, Cheng teaches an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: (Cheng: Abstract, Summary and para. [0176 & 0175-01178] and Fig. 14 wireless device 1402 may include a memory 1406. The memory 1406 may be a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores instructions 1408 (which may include, for example, the instructions being executed by the processor (s) 1404) . The instructions 1408 may also be referred to as program code or a computer program) receiving, from a device, a monitoring occasion configuration for control information related to a discontinuous operation pattern of a cell, the discontinuous operation pattern comprising a pattern of at least one of a discontinuous transmission operation (DTX) or a discontinuous reception operation (DRX) , (Cheng: Fig. 10 step 1002 and para. [0110 & 0026-0031] UE, receiving 1002, from a network, first configuration information for a first cell DTX/DRX pattern used by a first serving cell of the UE, the first configuration information comprising a first periodicity of the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, a first offset for the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, a first active duration length for the for the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, and first UE behavior information defining one or more UE behaviors for a first non-active serving cell mode) the monitoring occasion configuration (receiving configuration information 1002) indicating at least one monitoring occasion that is before activation of the discontinuous operation pattern or during a time when the discontinuous operation pattern is activated; (Cheng: Fig. 10 step 1002 and para. [0110 & 0026-0031] UE, receiving 1002, from a network, first configuration information (configuration information received before activation of DTX/DRX operation in step 1006) for a first cell DTX/DRX pattern used by a first serving cell of the UE. step 1006 performing 1006 first communication with the network on the first serving cell according to the first non-active serving cell mode during the first non-active duration of the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, para. [0112]) monitoring the control information from the device at the at least one monitoring occasion, the control information at least indicating a state transition of the cell between an active state and a non-active state; and (Cheng: Fig. 10 step 1002 and para. [0110 & 0026-0031 & 0054] UE, receiving 1002, from a network, first configuration information for a first cell DTX/DRX pattern used by a first serving cell of the UE, the first configuration information comprising a first periodicity of the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, a first offset for the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, a first active duration length for the for the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, and first UE behavior information defining one or more UE behaviors for a first non-active serving cell mode. Para. [0027 & 0056 & 0109] for activating/deactivating a configured cell DTX/DRX mode) based on receiving the control information from the device, determining (calculated) , from the control information, the state transition of the cell between the active state and the non-active state. (Cheng: para. [0026] cell DTX/DRX pattern 100 is expressly described in a per-serving-cell manner). As part of this configuration, at least the following parameters can be configured: periodicity ( e.g., the length of the cell DTX/R TX periodicity 102, where each such length corresponds to one period of/one periodicity within the cell DTX/DRX pattern 100), a start slot and/or start offset, and an active duration length ( e.g., the length of the cell DTX/DRX active duration 104. Para. [0037-0038 & 0091] first cell DTX/DRX pattern 202 operates beginning at a first cell DTX/DRX StartOffset 212 (that is calculated relative to slot O of system frame number (SFN) 0). Note that herein, a cell DTX/DRX StartOffset may be referred to alternatively as a StartOffset or an offset of a cell DTX/DRX pattern) Regarding claim 3, Cheng teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the monitoring occasion configuration comprises a first monitoring occasion configuration for control information before the activation of the discontinuous operation pattern, (Cheng: Fig. 10 step 1002 and para. [0110 & 0026-0031] UE, receiving 1002, from a network, first configuration information for a first cell DTX/DRX pattern used by a first serving cell of the UE. after receiving configuration information at step 1002, step 1006 performing 1006 first communication with the network on the first serving cell according to the first non-active serving cell mode during the first non-active duration of the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, para. [0112]) the first monitoring occasion configuration comprising at least one of the following: a first reference boundary (first active duration length) , the first reference boundary comprising a boundary of a time-domain resource unit, a first start offset (first offset) relative to the first reference boundary to indicate when the first monitoring occasion configuration is applied, or a first periodicity (first periodicity) of monitoring occasions. (Cheng: Fig. 10 step 1002 and para. [0110 & 0026-0031] UE, receiving 1002, from a network, first configuration information for a first cell DTX/DRX pattern used by a first serving cell of the UE, the first configuration information comprising a first periodicity of the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, a first offset for the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, a first active duration length for the for the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, and first UE behavior information defining one or more UE behaviors for a first non-active serving cell mode. Para. [0037-0038 & 0091] first cell DTX/DRX pattern 202 operates beginning at a first cell DTX/DRX StartOffset 212 (that is calculated relative to slot O of system frame number (SFN) 0). Note that herein, a cell DTX/DRX StartOffset may be referred to alternatively as a StartOffset or an offset of a cell DTX/DRX pattern) Regarding claim 4, Cheng teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the time-domain resource unit comprises a system frame number (SFN 0) , a slot (slot 0) , or a symbol. (Cheng: para. [0026] cell DTX/DRX pattern 100 is expressly described in a per-serving-cell manner). As part of this configuration, at least the following parameters can be configured: periodicity ( e.g., the length of the cell DTX/R TX periodicity 102, where each such length corresponds to one period of/one periodicity within the cell DTX/DRX pattern 100), a start slot and/or start offset, and an active duration length ( e.g., the length of the cell DTX/DRX active duration 104. Para. [0037-0038 & 0091] first cell DTX/DRX pattern 202 operates beginning at a first cell DTX/DRX StartOffset 212 (that is calculated relative to slot 0 of system frame number (SFN) 0). Note that herein, a cell DTX/DRX StartOffset may be referred to alternatively as a StartOffset or an offset of a cell DTX/DRX pattern) Regarding claim 6, Cheng teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the monitoring occasion configuration comprises a second monitoring occasion configuration for control information during an active period of the discontinuous operation pattern, (Cheng: Fig. 10 step 1002 and para. [0110 & 0026-0031] UE, receiving 1002, from a network, first configuration information for a first cell DTX/DRX pattern used by a first serving cell of the UE. after receiving configuration information at step 1002, step 1006 performing 1006 first communication with the network on the first serving cell according to the first non-active serving cell mode during the first non-active duration of the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, para. [0112]) the second monitoring occasion configuration comprising at least one of the following: a second reference boundary, the second reference boundary comprising a reference time within the active period of the discontinuous operation pattern, a second start offset (different StartOffset) relative to the second reference boundary (different duration) to indicate when the second monitoring occasion configuration is applied, or a second periodicity (different periodicity) of monitoring occasions. (Cheng: para. [0040-0042] each of the cell DTX/DRX patterns uses an individual (e.g., different) periodicity, StartOffset, and cell active duration. In a second case, each of the cell DTX/DRX patterns may use an individual (e.g., different) active duration. Para. [0042] each of the cell DTX/DRX patterns may use an individual (e.g., different) active duration and periodicity) Regarding claim 8, Cheng teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the monitoring occasion configuration comprises a third monitoring occasion configuration for control information during a non-active period of an activated discontinuous operation pattern, (Cheng: Fig. 10 step 1002 and para. [0110 & 0026-0031] UE, receiving 1002, from a network, first configuration information for a first cell DTX/DRX pattern used by a first serving cell of the UE. after receiving configuration information at step 1002, step 1006 performing 1006 first communication with the network on the first serving cell according to the first non-active serving cell mode during the first non-active duration of the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, para. [0112]) the third monitoring occasion configuration comprising at least one of the following: a third reference boundary, the third reference boundary comprising a configured boundary of switching from an active period to a non-active period of the discontinuous operation pattern, or a latest boundary of switching from an active period to a non-active period of the discontinuous operation pattern triggered by the control information from the device, a third start offset (different StartOffset) relative to the third reference boundary (different duration) to indicate when the third monitoring occasion configuration is applied, or a third periodicity (different periodicity) of monitoring occasions. (Cheng: para. [0040-0042] each of the cell DTX/DRX patterns uses an individual (e.g., different) periodicity, StartOffset, and cell active duration. In a second case, each of the cell DTX/DRX patterns may use an individual (e.g., different) active duration. Para. [0042] each of the cell DTX/DRX patterns may use an individual (e.g., different) active duration and periodicity) Regarding claim 19, Cheng teaches a device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the device at least to perform: (Cheng: Summary, Fig. 14 and para. [0199-0201] network device 1418 may include a memory 1422. The memory 1422 may be a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores instructions 1424 (which may include, for example, the instructions being executed by the processor (s) 1420) . The instructions 1424 may also be referred to as program code or a computer program. The memory 1422 may also store data used by, and results computed by, the processor (s) 1420) transmitting, to an apparatus, a monitoring occasion configuration for control information related to a discontinuous operation pattern of a cell, the discontinuous operation pattern comprising a pattern of at least one of a discontinuous transmission operation (DTX) or a discontinuous reception operation (DRX) , (Cheng: Fig. 10 step 1002 and para. [0110 & 0026-0031] UE, receiving 1002, from a network, first configuration information for a first cell DTX/DRX pattern used by a first serving cell of the UE, the first configuration information comprising a first periodicity of the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, a first offset for the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, a first active duration length for the for the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, and first UE behavior information defining one or more UE behaviors for a first non-active serving cell mode) the monitoring occasion configuration (receiving configuration information 1002) indicating at least one monitoring occasion that is before activation of the discontinuous operation pattern or during a time when the discontinuous operation pattern is activated; and (Cheng: Fig. 10 step 1002 and para. [0110 & 0026-0031] UE, receiving 1002, from a network, first configuration information for a first cell DTX/DRX pattern used by a first serving cell of the UE. after receiving configuration information at step 1002, step 1006 performing 1006 first communication with the network on the first serving cell according to the first non-active serving cell mode during the first non-active duration of the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, para. [0112]) transmitting control information to the apparatus at the at least one monitoring occasion before or during activation of the discontinuous operation pattern, (Cheng: Fig. 10 step 1002 and para. [0110 & 0026-0031] UE, receiving 1002 – before the activation of DRX at step 1006, which corresponds to claim limitation “before activation of discontinuous operation” , from a network, first configuration information for a first cell DTX/DRX pattern used by a first serving cell of the UE. step 1006 performing 1006 first communication with the network on the first serving cell according to the first non-active serving cell mode during the first non-active duration of the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, para. [0112]) the control information at least indicating a state transition of the cell between an active state and a non-active state. (Cheng: Fig. 10 step 1002 and para. [0110 & 0026-0031 & 0054] UE, receiving 1002, from a network, first configuration information for a first cell DTX/DRX pattern used by a first serving cell of the UE, the first configuration information comprising a first periodicity of the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, a first offset for the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, a first active duration length for the for the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, and first UE behavior information defining one or more UE behaviors for a first non-active serving cell mode. Para. [0027 & 0056 & 0109] for activating/deactivating a configured cell DTX/DRX mode) Regarding claim 20, Cheng teaches all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and therefore method claim 20 is rejected using the same rationales . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. US 20240107444 A1, hereinafter Hu . Regarding claim 2, Cheng teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is caused to receive, from the device, downlink control information indicating the monitoring occasion configuration (Cheng: para. [0044] physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for dynamic UL/DL grant so that the UE can receive/transmit a dynamic physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)/physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) initial transmission or retransmission) and/or Cheng does not explicitly teach: wherein the monitoring occasion configuration is configured with a search space type of common search space associated with a predetermined group-common downlink control information format. Hu from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the monitoring occasion configuration is configured with a search space type of common search space associated with a predetermined group-common downlink control information format. (Hu: [0088] After gNB broadcasts group DCI, it is received by one or more UEs. The assigned PDCCH search spaces are monitored by the UE, which attempts to decode the group DCI. The following description explains how the format of the group common DCI is designed to indicate cell-specific gNB DTX and DRX patterns) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hu in the apparatus of Cheng. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for enable network power savings. Notably, the concept of UE connected discontinuous transmission/reception (C-DTX/DRX) is adapted to be used with gNB, and signaling is defined for UEs to operate in the presence of gNB DTX/DRX (Hu: [0011-0019]). Regarding claim 10, Cheng teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the control information comprises at least one of the following: a fourth indication of transitioning from the non-active state to the active state (Cheng: Fig. 10 step 1002 and para. [0110 & 0026-0031 & 0054] UE, receiving 1002, from a network, first configuration information for a first cell DTX/DRX pattern used by a first serving cell of the UE, the first configuration information comprising a first periodicity of the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, a first offset for the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, a first active duration length for the for the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, and first UE behavior information defining one or more UE behaviors for a first non-active serving cell mode. Para. [0027 & 0056 & 0109] for activating/deactivating a configured cell DTX/DRX mode) , Cheng does not explicitly teach: a fifth indication of not transitioning from the non-active state to the active state, or a temporary active duration. Hu from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: a fifth indication of not transitioning from the non-active state to the active state, or a temporary active (dynamic on duration) duration. (Hu: para. [0016 & 0013 & 0100-0101] and Table 6 dynamic DTX/DRX solution, a design is provided where the gNB DTX/DRX pattern, including the on/off duration, is dynamically indicated through group common DCI) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hu in the apparatus of Cheng. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for enable network power savings. Notably, the concept of UE connected discontinuous transmission/reception (C-DTX/DRX) is adapted to be used with gNB, and signaling is defined for UEs to operate in the presence of gNB DTX/DRX (Hu: [0011-0019]). Regarding claim 12, Cheng teaches the apparatus of claim 10, Cheng does not expliclty teach: wherein the temporary active duration is determined based on at least one of the following: a configured duration of an active period of the discontinuous operation pattern, or a duration determined based on a minimum delay related to a service to be performed during the non-active period. Hu from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the temporary active duration is determined based on at least one of the following: a configured duration of an active period of the discontinuous operation pattern (dynamic on duration) , or a duration determined based on a minimum delay related to a service to be performed during the non-active period. (Hu: para. [0016 & 0013 & 0100-0101] and Table 6 dynamic DTX/DRX solution, a design is provided where the gNB DTX/DRX pattern, including the on/off duration, is dynamically indicated through group common DCI) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Hu in the apparatus of Cheng. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for enable network power savings. Notably, the concept of UE connected discontinuous transmission/reception (C-DTX/DRX) is adapted to be used with gNB, and signaling is defined for UEs to operate in the presence of gNB DTX/DRX (Hu: [0011-0019]) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 5, 7, 9, 11 and 13-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. PTO-892 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WUTCHUNG CHU whose telephone number is (571)272-4064. The examiner can normally be reached 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Moo R Jeong can be reached at (571) 272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/779,543 Page 2 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/779,543 Page 3 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/779,543 Page 4 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/779,543 Page 5 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/779,543 Page 6 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/779,543 Page 7 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/779,543 Page 8 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/779,543 Page 9 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/779,543 Page 10 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/779,543 Page 11 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/779,543 Page 12 Art Unit: 2418