DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10, 14 and 21-22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As per claims 1 and 14, the limitation “wherein the plurality of scanning line drive circuits is arrayed adjacently in the first direction outside the display region” should be “wherein the plurality of scanning line drive circuits [[is]] are arrayed adjacently in the first direction outside the display region”.
As per claim 10, the limitation “wherein scanning directions of the plurality of scanning line connection wiring lines are opposite each other in the at least one pair of divided regions adjacent to each other” should be “wherein scanning directions of the plurality of scanning line connection wiring lines are opposite to each other in the at least one pair of divided regions adjacent to each other”.
As per claims 21 and 22, the limitation “wherein the plurality of pixels includes at least two pairs of pixels, when:
a distance, between a pair of pixels of a same color that are, respectively, included in the at least one pair of divided regions adjacent to each other and that are closest to each other in the first direction, is denoted by d1, and
another distance, between another pair of pixels of the same color that are
included in one of the at least one pair of divided regions adjacent to each other and that are closest to each other in the first direction, is denoted by d2,
d1 and d2 are equal” should be
“wherein the plurality of pixels includes at least two pairs of pixels, and when:
a distance, between a pair of pixels of a same color that are, respectively, included in the at least one pair of divided regions adjacent to each other and that are closest to each other in the first direction, is denoted by d1, and
another distance, between another pair of pixels of the same color that are
included in one of the at least one pair of divided regions adjacent to each other and that are closest to each other in the first direction, is denoted by d2,
wherein d1 and d2 are equal to each other”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-10, 12-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washio (US 20030122773) in view of Wang (US 20160111054).
As per claim 1, Washio discloses a display device (Fig. 1, #11; [0035]) comprising:
a substrate including a main surface having a display region (#12) and a non-display region (i.e., region outside of display section #12) located around the display region (#12), the display region (#12) including three or more divided regions (Fig. 9(b), #P1b, P2b, P3b) disposed in a first direction (i.e., horizontal direction; [0035]-[0036]; [0100]; [0137]);
a plurality of scanning lines (#G1-Gm) disposed in each of the three or more divided regions (#P1b, P2b, P3b), the plurality of scanning lines (#G1-Gm) extending in the first direction (i.e., horizontal direction), and being arrayed in a second direction (i.e., vertical direction) intersecting the first direction ([0036]);
a plurality of data lines (#S1-Sn) disposed in each of the three or more divided regions (#P1b, P2b, P3b), the plurality of data lines (#S1-Sn) extending in the second direction (i.e., vertical direction), and being arrayed in the first direction (i.e., horizontal direction; [0036]);
a plurality of pixels (#PIX) disposed in each of the three or more divided regions (#P1b, P2b, P3b), each of the plurality of pixels (#PIX) being disposed in a region surrounded by a pair of data lines of the plurality of data lines (#S1-Sn) and a pair of scanning lines of the plurality of scanning lines (#G1-Gm; [0036]);
a plurality of scanning line connection wiring lines (i.e. vertical lines connecting #G1-Gm to #PIX) disposed in each of the three or more divided regions (#P1b, P2b, P3b), the plurality of scanning line connection wiring lines (i.e. vertical lines connecting #G1-Gm to #PIX) extending in the second direction (i.e., vertical direction), and being arrayed in the first direction (i.e., horizontal direction);
a plurality of data line drive circuits (Fig. 14, #SD1a-SD1b) connected to the plurality of data lines (#S1-Sn), respectively, in each of the three or more divided regions (#P1b, P2b, P3b; [0100]; [0111]);
a plurality of scanning line drive circuits (#GDa-GDb) corresponding to each of the three or more divided regions (#P1b, P2b, P3b; [0087]; [0100]; [0111]);
a control device (#CTL; [0113]); and
a plurality of start signal wiring lines (#SPG) independently connecting the plurality of scanning line drive circuits (#GD1-GD2), corresponding to each of the three or more divided regions (#P1b, P2b, P3b), and the control device (#CTL) to each other ([0037]; [0094]),
wherein (Fig. 11 discloses) the plurality of scanning line drive circuits (#GD1-GD2; [0094]) is arrayed adjacently in the first direction (i.e., horizontal direction) outside the display region (#12),
the control device (#CTLb) independently outputs a start signal to each of the plurality of start signal wiring lines (#SPG) connected to the plurality of scanning line drive circuits (#GD1-GD2) in each of the three or more divided regions (#P1b, P2b, P3b), such that the plurality of scanning line drive circuits (#GD1-GD2) and the plurality of data line drive circuits (#SD1a-SD1b) display images at frame frequencies different from each other in at least one pair of divided regions, among the three or more divided regions (#P1b, P2b, P3b), adjacent to each other ([0098]-[0101]; [0126]-[0128]).
However, Washio does not teach one end of each of the plurality of scanning line connection wiring lines extends to the non-display region and is connected to each of the plurality of scanning line drive circuits, and another end of each of the plurality of scanning line connection wiring lines is connected to one of the plurality of scanning lines.
Wang teaches one end of each of the plurality of scanning line connection wiring lines (Fig. 6, #106) extends to the non-display region (i.e., region outside display panel #80) and is connected to each of the plurality of scanning line drive circuits (#104), and another end of each of the plurality of scanning line connection wiring lines (#106) is connected to one of the plurality of scanning lines (#86; [0042]; [0045]-[0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the scanning line connection wiring lines and the plurality of scanning line drive circuits of Washio configured according to Wang so that the other edges of the panel may include less circuitry and thus may be designed to form a variety of different shapes and reduce the size of the respective bezel regions (Wang: [0046]).
As per claim 2, Washio discloses the display device according to claim 1, further comprising:
at least one of a power source wiring line (#PWC), a clock signal wiring line (#CKG), or a common wiring line is configured to connect the plurality of scanning line drive circuits of the at least one pair of divided regions adjacent to each other ([0037]; [0041]; [0080]-[0081]).
As per claim 3, Washio discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein intervals of a plurality of start signals, including the start signal, applied to the plurality of scanning line drive circuits are different from each other in the at least one pair of divided regions adjacent to each other ([0106]-[0107]).
As per claim 5, Washio discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein scanning periods, in which the plurality of scanning lines (Fig. 6, #G1-Gi+1) is arranged in the second direction (i.e., vertical direction) are scanned once, are equal to each other in the at least one pair of divided regions adjacent to each other ([0053]).
As per claim 6, Washio discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein in a period, in which the plurality of scanning lines is scanned in one region of the at least one pair of divided regions adjacent to each other, scanning of the plurality of scanning lines is stopped in another region of the at least one pair of divided regions adjacent to each other (Fig. 5; [0045]).
As per claim 7, Washio discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein a number of the plurality of data lines (#G1-G2) is an even number in each of the three or more divided regions (#P1b, P2b, P3b).
As per claim 9, Washio discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein (Fig. 14 discloses) scanning directions of the plurality of scanning line drive circuits (#GDa-GDb) are opposite to each other in the at least one pair of divided regions (#12a-12b) adjacent to each other.
As per claim 10, Washio discloses the display device according to claim 9, wherein (Fig. 14 discloses) scanning directions of the plurality of scanning line connection wiring lines are opposite each other in the at least one pair of divided regions (#12a-12b) adjacent to each other.
As per claim 12, Washio discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of data line drive circuits continuously outputs a same data signal for a plurality of times, and then pauses outputting the data signal in at least one of the three or more divided regions (Fig. 5; [0045]).
As per claim 13, Washio discloses the display device according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of times is an odd number ([0046]-[0047]).
As per claim 14, Washio discloses a control method performed by a display device including a display panel (Fig. 1, #11; [0035]) and a control device (#CTL; [0035]),
wherein the display panel (#11) includes:
a substrate including a main surface having a display region (#12) and a non-display region (i.e., region outside of display section #12) located around the display region, the display region including three or more divided regions (Fig. 9(b), #P1b, P2b, P3b) disposed in a first direction (i.e., horizontal direction; [0035]-[0036]; [0100]; [0137]);
a plurality of scanning lines (#G1-Gm) disposed in each of the three or more divided regions (#P1b, P2b, P3b), the plurality of scanning lines (#G1-Gm) extending in the first direction (i.e., horizontal direction), and being arrayed in a second direction (i.e., vertical direction) intersecting the first direction ([0036]),
a plurality of data lines (#S1-Sn) disposed in each of the three or more divided regions (#P1b, P2b, P3b), the plurality of data lines (#S1-Sn) extending in the second direction (i.e., vertical direction), and being arrayed in the first direction (i.e., horizontal direction; [0036]),
a plurality of pixels (#PIX) disposed in each of the three or more divided regions (#P1b, P2b, P3b), each of the plurality of pixels (#PIX) being disposed in a region surrounded by a pair of data lines of the plurality of data lines (#S1-Sn) and a pair of scanning lines of the plurality of scanning lines (#G1-Gm; [0036]),
a plurality of scanning line connection wiring lines (i.e. vertical lines connecting #G1-Gm to #PIX) disposed in each of the three or more divided regions (#P1b, P2b, P3b), the plurality of scanning line connection wiring lines (i.e. vertical lines connecting #G1-Gm to #PIX) extending in the second direction (i.e., vertical direction), and being arrayed in the first direction (i.e., horizontal direction),
a plurality of data line drive circuits (Fig. 14, #SD1a-SD1b) connected to the plurality of data lines (#S1-Sn), respectively, in each of the three or more divided regions (#P1b, P2b, P3b; [0100]; [0111]),
a plurality of scanning line drive circuits (#GDa-GDb) corresponding to each of the three or more divided regions (#P1b, P2b, P3b; [0087]; [0100]; [0111]),
a control device (#CTL; [0113]), and
a plurality of start signal wiring lines (#SPG) independently connecting the plurality of scanning line drive circuits (#GD1-GD2), corresponding to each of the three or more divided regions (#P1b, P2b, P3b), and the control device (#CTL) to each other ([0037]; [0094]),
wherein: (Fig. 11 discloses) the plurality of scanning line drive circuits (#GD1-GD2; [0094]) is arrayed adjacently in the first direction (i.e., horizontal direction) outside the display region (#12),
the control device (#CTLb) independently outputs a start signal to each of the plurality of start signal wiring lines (#SPG) connected to the plurality of scanning line drive circuits (#GD1-GD2) in each of the three or more divided regions (#P1b, P2b, P3b), such that the plurality of scanning line drive circuits (#GD1-GD2) and the plurality of data line drive circuits (#SD1a-SD1b) display images at frame frequencies different from each other in at least one pair of divided regions, among the three or more divided regions (#P1b, P2b, P3b) adjacent to each other ([0098]-[0101]; [0126]-[0128]).
However, Washio does not teach one end of each of the plurality of scanning line connection wiring lines extends to the non-display region and is connected to each of the plurality of scanning line drive circuits, and another end of each of the plurality of scanning line connection wiring lines is connected to one of the plurality of scanning lines.
Wang teaches one end of each of the plurality of scanning line connection wiring lines (Fig. 6, #106) extends to the non-display region (i.e., region outside display panel #80) and is connected to each of the plurality of scanning line drive circuits (#104), and another end of each of the plurality of scanning line connection wiring lines (#106) is connected to one of the plurality of scanning lines (#86; [0042]; [0045]-[0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the scanning line connection wiring lines and the plurality of scanning line drive circuits of Washio configured according to Wang so that the other edges of the panel may include less circuitry and thus may be designed to form a variety of different shapes and reduce the size of the respective bezel regions (Wang: [0046]).
As per claim 15, Washio discloses the control method according to claim 14, wherein (Fig. 13 discloses) the control device outputs a plurality of start signals (#SPG), including the start signal, at intervals different from each other in the at least one pair of divided regions adjacent to each other.
As per claim 17, Washio discloses the control method according to claim 14, wherein scanning periods, in which the plurality of scanning line drive circuits scans the plurality of scanning lines arranged in the second direction once are equal to each other in the at least one pair of divided regions adjacent to each other (Fig. 13).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8, 11, 16 and 18-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of a display device comprising a control device independently outputs a start signal to each of the plurality of start signal wiring lines connected to the plurality of scanning line drive circuits in each of the plurality of divided regions, and thus the plurality of scanning line drive circuits and the plurality of data line drive circuits display images at frame frequencies different from each other in at least a pair of divided regions adjacent to each other among the plurality of divided regions does not teach or fairly suggest a relationship of Nb x Tspa = Na x Tspb is satisfied in the at least one pair of divided regions adjacent to each other, wherein Tspa is an interval of the start signal applied to each of the plurality of scanning line drive circuits in one region of the at least one pair of divided regions, wherein Tspb is an interval of the start signal in another region of the at least one pair of divided regions, and wherein Na and Nb are any natural numbers, wherein the control device controls the plurality of data line drive circuits to output data signals of at least two continuous frames to the plurality of data lines with a polarity reversed for each frame, continuously scans the plurality of scanning lines at least twice in the at least two continuous frame periods, and pauses the scanning in a subsequent period in at least one of the three or more divided regions, the control device stops outputting the start signal in a period in which transmission of a video data signal, among the video data signals, is stopped in at least one of the three or more of divided regions, wherein in a period, in which the plurality of scanning line drive circuits scans the plurality of scanning lines in one region of the at least one pair of divided regions adjacent to each other, the plurality of scanning line drive circuits stops scanning of the plurality of scanning lines in another region of the at least one pair of divided regions adjacent to each other, wherein the plurality of pixels includes at least two pairs of pixels, when: a distance, between a pair of pixels of a same color that are, respectively, included in the at least one pair of divided regions adjacent to each other and that are closest to each other in the first direction, is denoted by d1, and another distance, between another pair of pixels of the same color that are included in one of the at least one pair of divided regions adjacent to each other and that are closest to each other in the first direction, is denoted by d2, d1 and d2 are equal.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 14 have been considered but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection as presented above.
Conclusion
/Nelson Lam/Examiner, Art Unit 2627