Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 12-14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wennstrom et al (US 2011/0212730) (hereinafter Wennstrom).
Regarding claim 1, Wennstrom discloses a terminal device (e.g., remote node (RN)) for transmission of N uplink reference signals, the terminal device comprising:
at least N physical antenna ports (see Wennstrom, Fig. 3, p. [0024], e.g., A user terminal may have multiple physical antennas); and processing circuitry, the processing circuitry being configured to cause the terminal device to:
connect a virtual antenna port to at least two of the N physical antenna ports (see Wennstrom. Fig. 3, p. [0024], e.g., Whatever is transmitted from the virtual antenna will undergo a defined mapping and be transmitted from the physical antennas, and p. [0025], e.g., Mapping is described in general by the connection from virtual antenna ports to physical antennas); and
transmit the N uplink reference signals (see Wennstrom, Fig. 7.p. [0039], e.g., performing the uplink transmission with at most the number of reference signals N on transmit antennas comprised in the RN); in the virtual antenna port, wherein N is at least two (see Wennstrom, p. [0026], e.g., If a DRS is transmitted through a virtual antenna, as shown in the example in FIG. 4, the DRS in this example will be copied into two replicas, each weighted by complex valued weights W1 and W2, respectively, and then transmitted from each of the two physical antennas shown in FIG. 4, and p. [0030]).
Regarding claim 2, Wennstrom discloses the terminal device according to claim 1, wherein the N uplink reference signals are transmitted sequentially (see Wennstrom, p. [0024-0026], e.g., If a DRS is transmitted through a virtual antenna, as shown in the example in FIG. 4, the DRS in this example will be copied into two replicas, each weighted by complex valued weights W1 and W2, respectively, and then transmitted from each of the two physical antennas shown in FIG. 4, and p. [0030]).
Regarding claim 3, Wennstrom discloses the terminal device according to claim 1, wherein each of the N uplink reference signals is distributed over the at least two of the N physical antenna ports (see Wennstrom, p. [0024-0026], e.g., If a DRS is transmitted through a virtual antenna, as shown in the example in FIG. 4, the DRS in this example will be copied into two replicas, each weighted by complex valued weights W1 and W2, respectively, and then transmitted from each of the two physical antennas shown in FIG. 4, and p. [0030]).
Regarding claim 7, Wennstrom discloses the terminal device according to claim 1, wherein one single virtual antenna port is connected to the at least two of the N physical antenna ports (see Wennstrom, Fig. 4, p. [0026], e.g., If a DRS is transmitted through a virtual antenna, the DRS will be copied into two replicas, each weighted by complex valued weights W1 and W2, respectively, and then transmitted from each of the two physical antennas shown in FIG. 4, and p. [0053]).
Regarding claim 8, Wennstrom discloses the terminal device according to claim 1, wherein the virtual antenna port is connected to all N physical antenna ports of the terminal device (see Wennstrom, Figs. 3-4, p. [0024-0026], e.g., Mapping is described in general by the connection from virtual antenna ports to physical antennas and weighted by complex valued weights e.g. W1 and W2 as shown in FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Wennstrom discloses the terminal device according to claim 1, wherein the N uplink reference signals are sounding reference signals (SRSs) (see Wennstrom, claim 14).
Regarding claim 12, Wennstrom discloses the terminal device according to claim 1, wherein the terminal device is further configured to obtain an indication to transmit the N uplink reference signals (see Wennstrom, p. [0039], e.g., receiving an indication of a number of reference signals N to be used for uplink transmission by a RN).
Regarding claim 13, the combined teaching of Wennstrom and Liu disclose the terminal device according to claim 1, wherein the terminal device is further configured to transmit, in the virtual antenna port, uplink data (see Wennstrom, p. [0009], e.g., transmitting independent data streams for each antenna).
Regarding claim 14, the combined teaching of Wennstrom and Liu disclose the terminal device according to claim 1, wherein the terminal device is further configured to transmit, in the virtual antenna port, uplink data (see Wennstrom, p. [0009], e.g., transmitting independent data streams for each antenna).
Regarding claim 17, Wennstrom discloses a method for transmission of N uplink reference signals, the method being performed by a terminal device comprising at least N physical antenna ports (see Wennstrom, Fig. 3, p. [0024], e.g., A user terminal may have multiple physical antennas), the method comprising: connecting a virtual antenna port to at least two of the N physical antenna ports (see Wennstrom. Fig. 3, p. [0024], e.g., Whatever is transmitted from the virtual antenna will undergo a defined mapping and be transmitted from the physical antennas, and p. [0025], e.g., Mapping is described in general by the connection from virtual antenna ports to physical antennas); and transmitting the N uplink reference signals in the virtual antenna port, wherein N is at least two (see Wennstrom, Fig. 7.p. [0039], e.g., performing the uplink transmission with at most the number of reference signals N on transmit antennas comprised in the RN, and p. [0026], e.g., If a DRS is transmitted through a virtual antenna, as shown in the example in FIG. 4, the DRS in this example will be copied into two replicas, each weighted by complex valued weights W1 and W2, respectively, and then transmitted from each of the two physical antennas shown in FIG. 4, and p. [0030]).
Regarding claim 18, Wennstrom discloses a computer program product comprising a computer program for transmission of reference signals and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium on which the computer program is stored, the computer program comprising computer code which, when run on processing circuitry of a terminal device for transmission of N uplink reference signals, the terminal device comprising at least N physical antenna ports (see Wennstrom, Fig. 3, p. [0024], e.g., A user terminal may have multiple physical antennas), causes the terminal device to: connect a virtual antenna port to at least two of the N physical antenna ports (see Wennstrom. Fig. 3, p. [0024], e.g., Whatever is transmitted from the virtual antenna will undergo a defined mapping and be transmitted from the physical antennas, and p. [0025], e.g., Mapping is described in general by the connection from virtual antenna ports to physical antennas); and transmit the N uplink reference signals in the virtual antenna port, wherein N is at least two (see Wennstrom, Fig. 7.p. [0039], e.g., performing the uplink transmission with at most the number of reference signals N on transmit antennas comprised in the RN, and p. [0026], e.g., If a DRS is transmitted through a virtual antenna, as shown in the example in FIG. 4, the DRS in this example will be copied into two replicas, each weighted by complex valued weights W1 and W2, respectively, and then transmitted from each of the two physical antennas shown in FIG. 4, and p. [0030]).
Regarding claim 19, Wennstrom discloses a communication system comprising a terminal device for transmission of N uplink reference signals, the terminal device comprising at least N physical antenna ports (see Wennstrom, Fig. 3, p. [0024], e.g., A user terminal may have multiple physical antennas) and a radio access network node configured to provide network access over one or more radio propagation channels to the terminal device (see Wennstrom, Fig. 3, p. [0032], e.g., a Central Node (CN), e.g. a BS such as an eNB in the 3GPP LTE system or a Node B in the UMTS system), wherein the communication system is configured to: connect a virtual antenna port to at least two of the N physical antenna ports (see Wennstrom. Fig. 3, p. [0024], e.g., Whatever is transmitted from the virtual antenna will undergo a defined mapping and be transmitted from the physical antennas, and p. [0025], e.g., Mapping is described in general by the connection from virtual antenna ports to physical antennas); and transmit the N uplink reference signals in the virtual antenna port, wherein N is at least two (see Wennstrom, Fig. 7.p. [0039], e.g., performing the uplink transmission with at most the number of reference signals N on transmit antennas comprised in the RN, and p. [0026], e.g., If a DRS is transmitted through a virtual antenna, as shown in the example in FIG. 4, the DRS in this example will be copied into two replicas, each weighted by complex valued weights W1 and W2, respectively, and then transmitted from each of the two physical antennas shown in FIG. 4, and p. [0030]).
Regarding claim 20, Wennstrom discloses the communication system according to claim 19, wherein each of the N physical antenna port is fed by its own power amplifier (see Wennstrom, p. [0003]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wennstrom in view of Liu et al (US 2021/0352596) (hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 1, Wennstrom does not expressly disclose the terminal device according to claim 1, wherein the terminal device only has access to non-coherent precoders for uplink transmission.
Liu discloses the above recited limitations (see Liu, p. [0003], e.g., Liu discloses a coherent capability, and p. [0100], e.g., the network device may indicate to use a fully-coherent codeword, a partially-coherent codeword, and a non-coherent codeword, or use a partially-coherent codeword and a non-coherent codeword, or use a non-coherent codeword. For another example, if the maximum coherent capability reported by the terminal is partially-coherent, the network device indicates to use a partially-coherent codeword and a non-coherent codeword, or use a non-coherent codeword).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Liu’s teachings into Wennstrom. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide precoding manner of each transmit port and select the proper antenna port for data transmission.
Regarding claim 5, the combined teaching of Wennstrom and Liu disclose the terminal device according to claim 1, wherein the terminal device only has access to non-coherent precoders and partial-coherent precoders for uplink transmission (see Liu, p. [0003], e.g., Liu discloses a coherent capability, and p. [0100], e.g., the network device may indicate to use a fully-coherent codeword, a partially-coherent codeword, and a non-coherent codeword, or use a partially-coherent codeword and a non-coherent codeword, or use a non-coherent codeword. For another example, if the maximum coherent capability reported by the terminal is partially-coherent, the network device indicates to use a partially-coherent codeword and a non-coherent codeword, or use a non-coherent codeword).
Regarding claim 15, the combined teaching of Wennstrom and Liu disclose the terminal device according to claim 14, wherein the uplink data is transmitted on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see Liu, p. [0094], e.g., the antenna port includes an antenna port for an uplink data channel, for example, an antenna port for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)).
Regarding claim 16, the combined teaching of Wennstrom and Liu disclose the terminal device according to claim 1, wherein the N uplink reference signals are transmitted over the 5G New Radio (NR) air interface (see Liu, p. [0089]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MINH TRANG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477