DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment of Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's amendment, filed on 3/17/2026. The changes and remarks disclosed therein have been considered. Claims 7, 14 have been cancelled by the amendment. Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 9, 11 and 15-20 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-6, 7-13, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park PG PUB 20200142637 (hereinafter Park), in view of Yang PG PUB 20210280261 (hereinafter Yang).
Regarding independent claim 1, Park teaches a system (figure 1 of Park) comprising:
a memory device (1100 in figure 1 of Park)); and
a processing device (1200 in figure 1 of Park, [0042] of Park, “…memory system 1000 may include a storage device 1100 for storing data and a memory controller 1200 for communicating between the storage device 1100…”), operatively coupled with the memory device, to perform operations comprising:
receiving a request to perform a programming operation on a first set of cells addressable by a first wordline of a first die of the memory device ([0055] of Park, “…host processor 2100 may generate a program request for controlling a program operation of the memory system 1000…”, [0046] of Park, “…CPU 200 may perform various operations for controlling the storage device 1100, or generate a command and an address for the storage device 1100…”);
identifying a programming order associated with the first wordline, wherein the programming order is one of: a source-to-drain programming order or a drain-to-source programming order ([0111] of Park, “…A program order PGM Order in which the program operation is performed may be changed depending on an algorithm set in a memory device…the program operation is set to be performed in the direction from the drain select line DSL to the source select line SSL…”, [0114] of Park, “…the program operation is performed in the direction from the source select line SSL to the drain select line DSL…”).
performing, using the programming order and the biasing scheme, the programming operation on the first set of cells addressable by the first wordline (Park teaches performing programming using selected direction and applied voltages).
Park further teaches biasing scheme in [0060] and [0100], “…the voltage generator 120 may generate a program voltage, a pass voltage, and a program verify operation in a program operation…parameter information PRM including information of setting values including a program start voltage, and a program pass voltage according to a number of dummy pages may be output…”.
But Park does not teach adjusting, based on the programming order, a biasing scheme associated with the first wordline.
However, Yang teaches that programming direction affects voltages (biasing) and different programming directions use different word line potential sequence, which correspond to different biasing scheme. Yang teaches in [0016] and figure 1A that “the block's word lines are driven to a low potential state in sequence moving up the columns from the bottom most word line to the top most word line 112”, Yang teaches in [0026] and figure 2A that “ word line potentials are driven low in succession on a word line by word line basis starting with the top most word line (WL_N) and ending with the bottom most word line (WL_1) 222”. Thus Yang teaches two different programming directions (from SL[Wingdings font/0xE0]BL, or BL[Wingdings font/0xE0]SL) and corresponding different biasing (word line potentials). Yang’s teaching in [0026] that “the column is cleansed of residue electrons by pushing electrons in a top-down rather than bottom-up direction 221, 222”, indicates programming direction changes electrical behavior, and biasing scheme is dependent on programming directions. Yang teaches that “word line potentials are driven low I succession”, which constitutes a biasing scheme applied to word lines during programming, and the sequence (top-down vs bottom-up) varies depending on programming direction. Therefore, Yang teaches that the applied biasing (word line potentials) is dependent on programming direction.
It would have been obvious to modify Park in view of Yang because Yang identifies a problem in [0024] of Yang, “the electrons are pushed past cells that have already been fully programmed” and provides a solution, direction-dependent biasing scheme. A person with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate Yang’s teaching into Park so to adjust Park’s biasing scheme based on programming order (direction) so as to control charge movement, such that “adjusting, based on the programming order, a biasing scheme associated with the first wordline”, in order to reduce disturbance and improve programming accuracy and reliability (abstract of Yang).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Park and Yang teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
identifyingan index value of the first wordline, wherein the index value corresponds to an identifier of a physical location of the first wordline (Address of WLs being selected for programming);
determining, based on the index value of the first wordline (e.g., WL1 in figures 12, 13), that the first wordline is located at a first edge of the first die (Park teaches wordlines are arranged along a string with defined positions, sequential programming along the string, either SL[Wingdings font/0xE0]BL< or BL[Wingdings font/0xE0] SL) ;
in response to determining that the first wordline is located at the first edge of the first die, identifying a second wordline (e.g., WL17 in figures 12, 13) of the first die, wherein the second wordline is located at a second edge of the first die, wherein the first edge and the second edge of the first die are physically located at differing sides of the first die; and
performing a second programming operation on a second set of cells addressable by the second wordline, wherein the second programming operation is performed using a same programming order as the programming order associated with the first wordline (Park teaches identify adjacent/next wordlines for continued programming, Yang also teaches in [0026] sequential programming from one WL to another WL, sequential movement from one edge to another, the combination teaches identifying WLs at edge, traversing between edges, and continuing programming in a consistent direction).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Park and Yang teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: identifying a number of programming operations (many blocks in first die use same program methods as taught in figures 12, 13 of Park, Yang teaches in [0018] “succession of program-verify operations performed at each word line”) performed on the first die of the memory device, wherein each programming operation of the number of programming operations is associated with a same programming order as the programming order associated with the first wordline (Park teaches an ISPP program method, this program method is applicable to all wordlines in first die); and determining that the number of programming operations performed on the first die of the memory device satisfies a threshold criterion (Park teaches an ISPP program method, this threshold could be ISPP loop number cap, or could be P/E cycle number, or could be any control parameters for reliability, e.g., cells reached targeted threshold, determining whether a number satisfies a threshold is a well-known control technique).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Park and Yang teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the operations further comprise: in response to determining that the number of programming operations performed on the first die satisfies the threshold criterion, identifying a second wordline of the first die, wherein the second wordline is located at a second edge of the first die, wherein the first edge and the second edge of the first die are physically located at differing sides of the first die; and performing a second programming operation on a second set of cells addressable by the second wordline, wherein the second programming operation is performed using a same programming order as the programming order associated with the first wordline (Park teaches sequential programming across entire string (edge to edge), Yang teaches directional programming control, it would have been obvious to continue programing to another edge once a condition (e.g., threshold) is met).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Park and Yang teaches the system of claim 1, wherein identifying the programming order associated with the first wordline comprises: retrieving, from an entry of a metadata structure (metadata structure” has been interpreted under BRI as any storage unit containing information such as wordline identity, wordline status (programmed or not), verify condition, bias information, etc), the programming order associated with the first wordline, wherein the metadata structure comprises a plurality of entries, each entry associating an index value of a wordline of the memory device with a programming order (Park teaches controller managing programming operations, Yang teaches controller orchestrating programming direction ([0032] of Yang), it would have been obvious to store programing order information in a look up table or metadata structure because memory controllers inherently manage operation parameters, and storing such parameters in structured memory (e.g., tables) is well known and routine implementation design choice for efficient access and control).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Park and Yang teaches the system of claim 1, wherein adjusting the biasing scheme comprises: performing a GIDL seed programming scheme or a WSD programming scheme on the first set of cells addressable by the first wordline (Yang teaches in [0017] “injecting positive “seed” charge” and [0030] “the seeding process can … send more seed charge … the injection efficiency …”, this corresponds to seed-assisted programming concepts).
As per independent claim 8 (method), it encompasses the same scope of invention as to that of claim 1 (apparatus claims) except it drafts in method format instead of apparatus format. The claim is therefore rejected for the same reason as set forth above.
As per claim 9 (method), it encompasses the same scope of invention as to that of claim 2 (apparatus claims) except it drafts in method format instead of apparatus format. The claim is therefore rejected for the same reason as set forth above.
As per claim 10 (method), it encompasses the same scope of invention as to that of claim 3 (apparatus claims) except it drafts in method format instead of apparatus format. The claim is therefore rejected for the same reason as set forth above.
As per claim 11 (method), it encompasses the same scope of invention as to that of claim 4 (apparatus claims) except it drafts in method format instead of apparatus format. The claim is therefore rejected for the same reason as set forth above.
As per claim 12 (method), it encompasses the same scope of invention as to that of claim 5 (apparatus claims) except it drafts in method format instead of apparatus format. The claim is therefore rejected for the same reason as set forth above.
As per claim 13 (method), it encompasses the same scope of invention as to that of claim 6 (apparatus claims) except it drafts in method format instead of apparatus format. The claim is therefore rejected for the same reason as set forth above.
As per independent claim 15 (CRM), it encompasses the same scope of invention as to that of claim 1 (apparatus claims) except it drafts in “non-transitory computer-readable medium” format instead of apparatus format. The claim is therefore rejected for the same reason as set forth above. In addition, Park /Yang teaches controller executing operations, and storing instructions in memory.
As per claim 16 (CRM), it encompasses the same scope of invention as to that of claim 2 (apparatus claims) except it drafts in “non-transitory computer-readable medium” format instead of apparatus format. The claim is therefore rejected for the same reason as set forth above. In addition, Park /Yang teaches controller executing operations, and storing instructions in memory.
As per claim 17 (CRM), it encompasses the same scope of invention as to that of claim 3 (apparatus claims) except it drafts in “non-transitory computer-readable medium” format instead of apparatus format. The claim is therefore rejected for the same reason as set forth above. In addition, Park /Yang teaches controller executing operations, and storing instructions in memory.
As per claim 18 (CRM), it encompasses the same scope of invention as to that of claim 4 (apparatus claims) except it drafts in “non-transitory computer-readable medium” format instead of apparatus format. The claim is therefore rejected for the same reason as set forth above. In addition, Park /Yang teaches controller executing operations, and storing instructions in memory.
As per claim 19 (CRM), it encompasses the same scope of invention as to that of claim 5 (apparatus claims) except it drafts in “non-transitory computer-readable medium” format instead of apparatus format. The claim is therefore rejected for the same reason as set forth above. In addition, Park /Yang teaches controller executing operations, and storing instructions in memory.
As per claim 20 (CRM), it encompasses the same scope of invention as to that of claim 6 (apparatus claims) except it drafts in “non-transitory computer-readable medium” format instead of apparatus format. The claim is therefore rejected for the same reason as set forth above. In addition, Park /Yang teaches controller executing operations, and storing instructions in memory.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Park and Yang.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOCHUN L CHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824