Response to Amendment
Amendments submitted on 6/21/26 include amendments to the claims. Claims 1-4, 6-8 are pending. Claims 1-4, 6-8 have been amended. Claim 5 has been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/21/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments that none of the references teach that the feed conduct and the filter are movable relative to the extraction end between a first position spaced from said extraction end to unblock said extraction end relative to passage of the granular material and to a second position adjacent said extraction end to close said extraction end relative to passage of the granular material: Shirai et al. does not teach that the feed conduct and the filter are movable relative to the extraction end between a first position spaced from said extraction end to unblock said extraction end relative to passage of the granular material and to a second position adjacent said extraction end to close said extraction end relative to passage of the granular material. However, in the modified system by Shirai et al. and Kittrick et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the feed conduct and filter may be either attached (where it would be capable of blocking granular material) to or detached from the extraction end depending on the need to provide the filtration and feed fluid for the particular application. Furthermore, it has been determined that making separable is an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). Moreover, regarding the blocking/unblocking of the passage of granular material, it has been determined that expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969).
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim rejections under 35 USC 112 have been withdrawn based on the amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirai et al. (JP2009262036A) in view of Kittrick et al. (US20100230329).
Regarding claims 1-3, 6, Shirai et al. teaches a device capable of carrying out a method for washing/cleaning granular material from slag as well as bottom/boiler ash from a thermal waste treatment as well as mineral residue and recycling material (see abstract, page 1 of the translation), comprising a cleaning channel 5 and at least one ultrasound generator 6 capable of subjecting the cleaning channel 5 and process liquid therein and granular material therein to ultra sound (see page 3 of the translation, figures 1-2), wherein the cleaning channel 5 extends upright or vertically in its longitudinal extension from an upper feeding end (see end of 5 adjacent to 23, as shown in figure 1) to a lower extraction end (see end of 5 adjacent to 24, as shown in figure 1), that the ultrasound generator is located along the longitudinal extension of the cleaning channel 5; a collection device 8 capable of holding the granular material is provided downstream the extraction end (see figure 1 and page 3 of the translation) (reads on claim 6). Shirai et al. does not explicitly teach a plurality of ultrasound generators. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the number of ultrasound generators may be increased so as to increase the ultrasonic cleaning capacity of the system. Furthermore, it has been determined that the duplication of parts constitutes an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Shirai et al. does not teach a filter provided upstream the feed conduct. Kittrick et al. teaches a filter (see filtration unit) provided upstream the feed conduct 33 for the process liquid, allowing for the removal of particulates (reads on a mesh width smaller than the smallest diameter of the granular particles) and recycling and reuse of the process liquid (see paragraphs [0023] and figure 2). Since both Shirai et al. and Kittrick et al. teach ultrasonic cleaning systems it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that a filter may be provided upstream of the feed conduct in the modified system by Shirai et al. and Kittrick et al. so as to allow for the removal of particulates recycling and reuse of process liquid, as shown to be known and conventional by Kittrick et al. Shirai et al. does not teach a plurality of ultrasound generators or that the extraction end is connected to a feed conduct for process liquid. Kittrick et al. teaches an ultrasonic cleaning system (see abstract) whereby the cross section of the cleaning channel 14/16/18 is rectangular in shape (see paragraph [0025]) and has at least two flat sides extending along the flow direction and parallel to each other and that a plurality of ultrasound generators 20 are located along the flat sides (see paragraph [0025], figures 2, 4, 6) (reads on claim 2), such that the sound emission surfaces of the ultrasound generators 20 constitute flat sides of the cleaning channel 14/16/18 (see paragraph [0025], figures 2, 4, 6) (reads on claim 3); and that the extraction end (see bottom end of 14/16/18 attached to 33, as shown in figure 1) is connected to a feed conduct 33 for process liquid, such that the delivered process liquid flows from the lower extraction end to the upper feeding end (see top end of 14/16/18 attached to 34, as shown in figure 1) of the cleaning channel 14/16/18 and that the upper feeding end is connected to an overflow 34 in order to extract process liquid escaping from the cleaning channel 14/16/18; thereby allowing for an improved cleaning effect (see figure 1, paragraph [0023]). Since both Shirai et al. and Kittrick et al. both teach ultrasonic cleaning systems it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that a plurality of ultrasound generators, a feed conduct and overflow may be included in the system by Shirai et al. so as to allow for an improved cleaning effect, as shown to be known and conventional by Kittrick et al. Shirai et al. does not teach that the feed conduct and the filter are movable relative to the extraction end between a first position spaced from said extraction end to unblock said extraction end relative to passage of the granular material and to a second position adjacent said extraction end to close said extraction end relative to passage of the granular material. However, in the modified system by Shirai et al. and Kittrick et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the feed conduct and filter may be either attached (where it would be capable of blocking granular material) to or detached from the extraction end depending on the need to provide the filtration and feed fluid for the particular application. Furthermore, it has been determined that making separable is an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). Moreover, regarding the blocking/unblocking of the passage of granular material, it has been determined that expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969).
Regarding claim 4, Shirai et al. and Kittrick et al. together teach the limitations of claim 2. Shirai et al. also teaches in page 3 of the translation and figure 2 a flat side 23/24 is movable with the ultrasound generator 6 back and forth towards the opposite flat side 23/24 (e.g. during vibration due to operation of the ultrasound generator) and that the narrow sides (see vertical wall portions of 5 that are connected to 23 and 24, as shown in figure 2) of the cleaning channel 5 are connected upright to the flat sides 23, 24 and are constituted by seals (the side walls are capable of providing a sealing effect by blocking fluid passage therethrough).
Regarding claim 7, Shirai et al. and Kittrick et al. together teach the limitations of claim 1. Shirai et al. also teaches that the cleaning channel 5 is capable of being closed upstream of the extraction end by means of a valve (see e.g. closure through sealable dampers 23).
Regarding claim 8, Shirai et al. and Kittrick et al. together teach the limitations of claim 1. Shirai et al. does not teach an inspection glass and/or a detection means. Kittrick et al. teaches a detection means 56 provided at a lower portion of the cleaning channel 14/16/18 and upstream the extraction end and at an upper portion of the cleaning channel 14/16/18 and downstream the feeding end (see paragraph [0031], positioning of multiple detectors 56 longitudinally spaced apart along the length of the cleaning channel 14/16/18) capable of detecting the presence or the arrival of a granular grain (see paragraph [0031], see e.g. the detection of increasing turbidity and progressively dirtier water, which reads on detection of the presence of granular grain) adjacent the extraction end or in the feeding end (see paragraph [0031], figures 3, 5). Since both Shirai et al. and Kittrick et al. teach ultrasound cleaning systems it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that detection means may be disposed between the cleaning channel and extraction and feeding ends so as to allow for the ability to detect the presence of dirt, as shown to be known and conventional by Kittrick et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TINSAE B AYALEW/EXAMINER, Art Unit 1711