DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made that the instant application claims priority from JP 2023-120185, filed on 7/24/2023, JP 2023-120186, filed on 7/24/2023, and JP 2024-026912, filed on 2/26/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 13, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Imaoka (US PGPub 2010/0073656).
Regarding claim 1, Imaoka discloses a lithography method of forming, on a substrate, a plurality of layers including a first layer including a first pattern, a second layer including a second pattern, and a third layer (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0019], [0028], [0031]-[0034], [0036]-[0038], the substrate 2 includes first layer 29 with a first pattern, second layer 30 with a second pattern, and third layer 31 with a third pattern, fourth layer 32 with a fourth pattern, and photoresist 33), comprising:
detecting relative position information indicating relative position between the first pattern and the second pattern in aligning the substrate and an original for patterning of the third layer (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0006], [0019], [0028], [0031]-[0032], [0034], [0036], [0038]-[0039], [0042], [0049]-[0050], [0055], [0057], the overlay between the first and second patterns in the first and second layers is calculated from the measurement of the positions of the alignment marks to align the substrate 2 with photoresist 33 with the original 3); and
collecting the relative position information obtained in the detecting (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0019], [0036], [0038]-[0052], the measurement information is obtained and the offset information for each layer is collected for each original and apparatus used to expose each layer (see para. [0051])).
Regarding claim 2, Imaoka discloses wherein in the aligning, the alignment between the substrate and the original is performed based on at least one of a position of the first pattern and a position of the second pattern (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0006], [0019], [0028], [0031]-[0032], [0034], [0036], [0038]-[0039], [0041]-[0042], [0049]-[0050], [0055]-[0057], the alignment mark measurement of marks 21-28 is used to align and expose the substrate 2 with photoresist 33 with the pattern on the original 3).
Regarding claim 8, Imaoka discloses further comprising registering, in a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the third layer, the first pattern and the second pattern whose relative position information should be detected (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0006], [0019], [0028], [0031]-[0032], [0034], [0036], [0038]-[0039], [0042], [0049]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], [0055]-[0057], the exposure apparatus exposes the photoresist layer on the substrate using the measured offset information).
Regarding claim 9, Imaoka discloses wherein the registering includes registering a mark to be used for the alignment between the substrate and the original in the aligning (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0006], [0019], [0028], [0031]-[0032], [0034], [0036], [0038]-[0039], [0041]-[0042], [0049]-[0050], [0055]-[0057], the alignment mark measurement of marks 21-28 is used to align and expose the substrate 2 with photoresist 33 with the pattern on the original 3).
Regarding claim 13, Imaoka discloses wherein in the aligning, the alignment between the substrate and the original is performed based on both the position of the first pattern and the position of the second pattern (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0006], [0019], [0028], [0031]-[0032], [0034], [0036], [0038]-[0039], [0041]-[0042], [0049]-[0050], [0055]-[0057], the alignment mark measurement of marks 21-28 is used to align and expose the substrate 2 with photoresist 33 with the pattern on the original 3).
Regarding claim 17, Imaoka discloses an information processing method of processing information obtained in a lithography method of forming, on a substrate, a plurality of layers including a first layer including a first pattern, a second layer including a second pattern, and a third layer (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0019], [0028], [0031]-[0034], [0036]-[0038], the substrate 2 includes first layer 29 with a first pattern, second layer 30 with a second pattern, and third layer 31 with a third pattern, fourth layer 32 with a fourth pattern, and photoresist 33), comprising:
detecting relative position information indicating relative position between the first pattern and the second pattern based on an image obtained by capturing the first pattern and the second pattern in aligning the substrate and an original for patterning of the third layer (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0006], [0019], [0028], [0031]-[0032], [0034], [0036], [0038]-[0039], [0042]-[0043], [0049]-[0050], [0055], [0057], the off-axis measurement unit 7 captures the images of the alignment marks to determine the alignment mark coordinates and offset information of each layer at the position measurement for all layers, and the overlay between the first and second patterns in the first and second layers is calculated from the measurement of the positions of the alignment marks to align the substrate 2 with photoresist 33 with the original 3); and
collecting the information obtained in the detecting (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0019], [0036], [0038]-[0052], the measurement information is obtained and the offset information for each layer is collected for each original and apparatus used to expose each layer (see para. [0051])).
Regarding claim 18, Imaoka discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, perform the information processing method defined in claim 17 (see claim 17 rejection above, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0019], [0025], [0028], [0036], [0039]-[0042], [0049]-[0052], the measurement and offset information collection is performed under control of controller 16 and by host 51).
Regarding claim 20, Imaoka discloses an information processing apparatus for processing information obtained in a lithography method of forming, on a substrate, a plurality of layers including a first layer including a first pattern, a second layer including a second pattern, and a third layer (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0017], [0019], [0025], [0028], [0031]-[0034], [0036]-[0039], the exposure apparatus includes controller 16, and host 51 calculates and transfers data for each layer. The substrate 2 includes first layer 29 with a first pattern, second layer 30 with a second pattern, and third layer 31 with a third pattern, fourth layer 32 with a fourth pattern, and photoresist 33), wherein the apparatus is configured to:
detect relative position information indicating relative position between the first pattern and the second pattern based on an image obtained by capturing the first pattern and the second pattern in aligning the substrate and an original for patterning of the third layer (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0006], [0019], [0028], [0031]-[0032], [0034], [0036], [0038]-[0039], [0042]-[0043], [0049]-[0050], [0055], [0057], the off-axis measurement unit 7 captures the images of the alignment marks to determine the alignment mark coordinates and offset information of each layer at the position measurement for all layers, and the overlay between the first and second patterns in the first and second layers is calculated from the measurement of the positions of the alignment marks to align the substrate 2 with photoresist 33 with the original 3); and
collect the information obtained in the detecting (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0019], [0036], [0038]-[0052], the measurement information is obtained and the offset information for each layer is collected for each original and apparatus used to expose each layer (see para. [0051])).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6, 14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imaoka as applied to claims 1, 13, and 20 above, and further in view of Nagai (US PGPub 2012/0244461).
Regarding claim 3, Imaoka discloses a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer based on the relative position information collected in the collecting (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0039], [0050], [0052]-[0053], [0056], different layers are exposed with a different exposure apparatus, and the alignment mark positions are corrected using measured offset information in the determined exposure apparatus), but Imaoka does not appear to explicitly describe adjusting at least one of a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer.
Nagai discloses further comprising adjusting at least one of a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer based on the relative position information collected in the collecting (Figs. 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, paras. [0031]-[0036], [0040], [0045], [0047], [0049]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], a measurement module determines overlay and registration errors, and the exposure of a layer by a lithography tool (such as lithography tool 202 or 210) is adjusted to correct the errors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included adjusting at least one of a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer based on the relative position information collected in the collecting as taught by Nagai in the method as taught by Imaoka since including adjusting at least one of a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer based on the relative position information collected in the collecting is commonly used to enhance overlay control across multiple layer processes (Nagai, paras. [0020]-[0021]) for improved device integration.
Regarding claim 4, Imaoka as modified by Nagai discloses wherein in the adjusting, an offset value used to adjust a patterning operation in at least one of the lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and the lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer is adjusted (Nagai, Figs. 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, paras. [0031]-[0037], [0040], [0045], [0047], [0049]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], corrections to parameter values of overlay between layers are made by the lithography tool to correct overlay errors).
Regarding claim 5, Imaoka as modified by Nagai discloses wherein the adjusting is executed to reduce an overlay error between the first layer, the second layer, and the third layer (Imaoka, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0019], [0044], [0050], [0052]-[0053], [0055]-[0057], the overlay between layers is reduced, and as modified by Nagai, Figs. 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, paras. [0026]-[0029], [0031]-[0037], [0040], [0045], [0047], [0049]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], the lithography tool is adjusted to correct overlay errors among three layers).
Regarding claim 6, Imaoka as modified by Nagai wherein the lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and the lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer are different from each other (Imaoka, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0050], [0052]-[0053], [0056], a plurality of lithography systems form the layers, and as modified by Nagai, Figs. 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, paras. [0025], [0029], [0031]-[0037], [0040], [0045], [0047], [0049]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], the layers are formed by different lithography tools 202, 210, 220, for example).
Regarding claim 14, Imaoka discloses forming a fourth layer, wherein the third layer includes a third pattern (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0031]-[0035], the substrate 2 has four layers 29-32 with patterns), the forming includes detecting position information of the first pattern, the second pattern, and the third pattern in a case of aligning the substrate and the original (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0006], [0019], [0028], [0031]-[0032], [0034], [0036], [0038]-[0039], [0041]-[0042], [0049]-[0050], [0055]-[0057], the alignment mark measurement of marks 21-28 is performed), aligning is executed, and in the aligning, the alignment between the substrate and the original is performed based on both the position of the first pattern of the substrate and the position of the second pattern of the substrate and the position information obtained for the substrate in the detecting the position information (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0006], [0019], [0028], [0031]-[0032], [0034], [0036], [0038]-[0039], [0041]-[0042], [0049]-[0050], [0055]-[0057], the alignment mark measurement of marks 21-28 is used to align and expose the substrate 2 with photoresist 33 with the pattern on the original 3). However, Imaoka does not appear to explicitly describe forming a fourth layer on the third layer using a second original, in the aligning for the second substrate, the alignment between the second substrate and the original is performed based on both the position of the first pattern of the second substrate and the position of the second pattern of the second substrate and the position information obtained for the substrate in the detecting the position information.
Nagai discloses further comprising forming a further layer on the previous layer using a second original (Figs. 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, paras. [0025]-[0027], [0031]-[0036], [0040], [0045], [0047], [0049]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], the lithography tools expose the layers on the substrate with patterns specifying design layouts for layers, including exposing a further layer with a further design on a layer formed above a prior patterned layer),
wherein the previous layer includes a previous pattern (Figs. 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, paras. [0025]-[0027], [0031]-[0036], [0040], [0045], [0047], [0049]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], a prior layer i is formed with pattern i),
the forming includes detecting position information of the patterns in a case of aligning the substrate and the second original (Figs. 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, paras. [0031]-[0036], [0040], [0045], [0047], [0049]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], a measurement module determines overlay and registration errors amongst the patterns),
the aligning is executed for a second substrate in addition to the substrate (Figs. 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, paras. [0030]-[0032], [0035]-[0036], [0052], the lithography tool exposes a next wafer in a lot or a next lot and measures registration and uses feedback from previous measurements to correct the lithography tool exposing the substrate), and
in the aligning for the second substrate, the alignment between the second substrate and the original is performed based on both the position of the first pattern of the second substrate and the position of the second pattern of the second substrate and the position information obtained for the substrate in the detecting the position information (Figs. 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, paras. [0029]-[0036], [0040], [0045], [0047], [0049]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], the alignment and registration measurements are used as feedback information to align and expose the wafers in a next lot for the lithography processes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included forming a further layer on the previous layer using a second original, in the aligning for the second substrate, the alignment between the second substrate and the original is performed based on both the position of the first pattern of the second substrate and the position of the second pattern of the second substrate and the position information obtained for the substrate in the detecting the position information as taught by Nagai with the four layers in the method as taught by Imaoka such that the method includes forming a fourth layer on the third layer using a second original, in the aligning for the second substrate, the alignment between the second substrate and the original is performed based on both the position of the first pattern of the second substrate and the position of the second pattern of the second substrate and the position information obtained for the substrate in the detecting the position information since including forming a fourth layer on the third layer using a second original, in the aligning for the second substrate, the alignment between the second substrate and the original is performed based on both the position of the first pattern of the second substrate and the position of the second pattern of the second substrate and the position information obtained for the substrate in the detecting the position information is commonly used to enhance overlay control across multiple layer processes (Nagai, paras. [0020]-[0021]) for improved device integration.
Regarding claim 21, Imaoka discloses wherein the apparatus is further configured to detect a position of the first pattern and a position of the second pattern based on the image obtained by capturing the first pattern and the second pattern in the aligning the substrate and the original for patterning of the third layer (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0006], [0019], [0028], [0031]-[0032], [0034], [0036], [0038]-[0039], [0042]-[0043], [0049]-[0050], [0055], [0057], the off-axis measurement unit 7 captures the images of the alignment marks to determine the alignment mark coordinates and offset information of each layer at the position measurement for all layers, and the overlay between the first and second patterns in the first and second layers is calculated from the measurement of the positions of the alignment marks to align the substrate 2 with photoresist 33 with the original 3). Imaoka discloses at least one of a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer based on a result obtained in the detecting (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0039], [0050], [0052]-[0053], [0056], different layers are exposed with a different exposure apparatus, and the alignment mark positions are corrected using measured offset information in the determined exposure apparatus), but Imaoka does not appear to explicitly describe the apparatus is configured to generate adjustment information used to adjust at least one of the lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and the lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer.
Nagai discloses the apparatus is configured to generate adjustment information used to adjust at least one of a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer based on a result obtained in detecting (Figs. 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, paras. [0031]-[0036], [0040], [0045], [0047], [0049]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], a measurement module determines overlay and registration errors, and the exposure of a layer by a lithography tool (such as lithography tool 202 or 210) is adjusted to correct the errors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus is configured to generate adjustment information used to adjust at least one of a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer based on a result obtained in detecting as taught by Nagai in the apparatus as taught by Imaoka since including the apparatus is configured to generate adjustment information used to adjust at least one of a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer based on a result obtained in detecting is commonly used to enhance overlay control across multiple layer processes (Nagai, paras. [0020]-[0021]) for improved device integration.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imaoka as modified by Nagai as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Visser (US PGPub 2007/0002298).
Regarding claim 7, Imaoka as modified by Nagai does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and the lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer are the same.
Visser discloses wherein the lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and the lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer are the same (para. [0053], a single lithographic apparatus is used for multiple layers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and the lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer are the same as taught by Visser in the method as taught by Imaoka as modified by Nagai since including wherein the lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and the lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer are the same is commonly used to improve the tool utilization of the lithography apparatus.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imaoka as applied to claims 8 and 1, respectively, above, and further in view of Bhattacharya et al. (US PGPub 2016/0061589, Bhattacharyya hereinafter).
Regarding claim 10, Imaoka discloses wherein in the registering, as the first pattern and the second pattern, marks arranged in a visual field of a position measurement device in the lithography apparatus used for patterning of the third layer are registered (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0006], [0013], [0019], [0028], [0031]-[0032], [0034], [0036], [0038]-[0039], [0041]-[0042], [0049]-[0050], [0055]-[0057], the off-axis measurement unit 7 in the exposure apparatus captures the images of the alignment marks 21-28 to determine alignment for exposure of the photoresist layer on the substrate 2), but Imaoka does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the marks arranged to be simultaneously fitted in the visual field of the position measurement device.
Bhattacharya discloses wherein in the registering, as the first pattern and the second pattern, marks arranged to be simultaneously fitted in a visual field of a position measurement device in the lithography apparatus (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0087], [0099], [0105], [0253], the measurement spot 31 captures the marks to simultaneously image the periodic structures on the image sensors for overlay and alignment measurement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included marks arranged to be simultaneously fitted in a visual field of a position measurement device as taught by Bhattacharya in the lithography apparatus in the registering in the method as taught by Imaoka since including marks arranged to be simultaneously fitted in a visual field of a position measurement device is commonly used to reduce measurement time and overall throughput while maintaining measurement accuracy (Bhattacharya, para. [0006], [0176]).
Regarding claim 11, Imaoka discloses wherein the first pattern and the second pattern are marks arranged in a visual field of a position measurement device in a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the third layer (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0006], [0013], [0019], [0028], [0031]-[0032], [0034], [0036], [0038]-[0039], [0041]-[0042], [0049]-[0050], [0055]-[0057], the off-axis measurement unit 7 in the exposure apparatus captures the images of the alignment marks 21-28 to determine alignment for exposure of the photoresist layer on the substrate 2), but Imaoka does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the marks are arranged to be simultaneously fitted in the visual field of the position measurement device.
Bhattacharya discloses wherein the first pattern and the second pattern are marks arranged to be simultaneously fitted in a visual field of a position measurement device in a lithography apparatus (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0087], [0099], [0105], [0253], the measurement spot 31 captures the marks to simultaneously image the periodic structures on the image sensors for overlay and alignment measurement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included marks are arranged to be simultaneously fitted in the visual field of the position measurement device as taught by Bhattacharya in the lithography apparatus in the method as taught by Imaoka since including marks arranged to be simultaneously fitted in a visual field of a position measurement device is commonly used to reduce measurement time and overall throughput while maintaining measurement accuracy (Bhattacharya, para. [0006], [0176]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imaoka as applied to claims 8 and 1 above, and further in view of Okita (US PGPub 2008/0286667).
Regarding claim 12, Imaoka does not appear to explicitly describe further comprising determining occurrence of an abnormality based on the relative position information collected in the collecting.
Okita discloses determining occurrence of an abnormality based on the relative position information collected in the collecting (Figs. 1, 4-6, abstract, paras. [0066]-[0067], [0071]-[0074], [0083], [0085], [0093]-[0097], [0106]-[0111], the analytical apparatus 500 detects an abnormality of overlay).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included determining occurrence of an abnormality based on the relative position information collected in the collecting as taught by Okita in the method as taught by Imaoka since including determining occurrence of an abnormality based on the relative position information collected in the collecting is commonly used to quickly correct overlay accuracy during lot processing to improve productivity and patterning accuracy (Okita, abstract, paras. [0007]-[0011]).
Claims 15, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imaoka as modified by Nagai.
Regarding claim 15, Imaoka discloses a lithography method of forming, on a substrate, a plurality of layers including a first layer including a first pattern, a second layer including a second pattern, and a third layer (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0019], [0028], [0031]-[0034], [0036]-[0038], the substrate 2 includes first layer 29 with a first pattern, second layer 30 with a second pattern, and third layer 31 with a third pattern, fourth layer 32 with a fourth pattern, and photoresist 33), comprising:
detecting relative position between the first pattern and the second pattern in aligning the substrate and an original for patterning of the third layer (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0006], [0019], [0028], [0031]-[0032], [0034], [0036], [0038]-[0039], [0042], [0049]-[0050], [0055], [0057], the overlay between the first and second patterns in the first and second layers is calculated from the measurement of the positions of the alignment marks to align the substrate 2 with photoresist 33 with the original 3). Imaoka discloses a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer based on a result in the detecting (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0039], [0050], [0052]-[0053], [0056], different layers are exposed with a different exposure apparatus, and the alignment mark positions are corrected using measured offset information in the determined exposure apparatus), but Imaoka does not appear to explicitly describe adjusting at least one of the lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and the lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer.
Nagai discloses adjusting at least one of a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer based on a result obtained in detecting (Figs. 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, paras. [0031]-[0036], [0040], [0045], [0047], [0049]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], a measurement module determines overlay and registration errors, and the exposure of a layer by a lithography tool (such as lithography tool 202 or 210) is adjusted to correct the errors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusting at least one of a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer based on a result obtained in detecting as taught by Nagai in the method as taught by Imaoka since including adjusting at least one of a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer based on a result obtained in detecting is commonly used to enhance overlay control across multiple layer processes (Nagai, paras. [0020]-[0021]) for improved device integration.
Regarding claim 16, Imaoka as modified by Nagai discloses an article manufacturing method (Imaoka, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0056]-[0057], the device is manufactured, and as modified by Nagai, Figs. 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, paras. [0026], [0027], a semiconductor device is manufactured) comprising:
forming a plurality of layers by the lithography method defined in claim 15 (see claim 15 rejection above, Imaoka, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0039], [0050], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], the device is manufactured by patterning multiple layers in lithography steps, and as modified by Nagai, Figs. 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, paras. [0026], [0027], lithography steps pattern multiple layers); and
processing a substrate that has undergone the forming, thereby obtaining an article (Imaoka, Figs. 1-4, paras. [0039], [0050], [0052]-[0053], [0056]-[0057], the exposed substrate is developed and further processed to manufacture the device, and as modified by Nagai, Figs. 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, paras. [0026], [0027], the exposed resist is developed and subsequently processed to complete layers to manufactured a device).
Regarding claim 19, Imaoka discloses an information process method of processing information obtained in a lithography method of forming, on a substrate, a plurality of layers including a first layer including a first pattern, a second layer including a second pattern, and a third layer (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0019], [0028], [0031]-[0034], [0036]-[0038], the substrate 2 includes first layer 29 with a first pattern, second layer 30 with a second pattern, and third layer 31 with a third pattern, fourth layer 32 with a fourth pattern, and photoresist 33), comprising:
detecting a position of the first pattern and a position of the second pattern based on an image obtained by capturing the first pattern and the second pattern in aligning the substrate and an original for patterning of the third layer (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0006], [0019], [0028], [0031]-[0032], [0034], [0036], [0038]-[0039], [0042]-[0043], [0049]-[0050], [0055], [0057], the off-axis measurement unit 7 captures the images of the alignment marks to determine the alignment mark coordinates and offset information of each layer at the position measurement for all layers, and the overlay between the first and second patterns in the first and second layers is calculated from the measurement of the positions of the alignment marks to align the substrate 2 with photoresist 33 with the original 3). Imaoka discloses a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer based on a result in the detecting (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0039], [0050], [0052]-[0053], [0056], different layers are exposed with a different exposure apparatus, and the alignment mark positions are corrected using measured offset information in the determined exposure apparatus), but Imaoka does not appear to explicitly describe generating adjustment information used to adjust at least one of the lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and the lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer.
Nagai discloses generating adjustment information used to adjust at least one of a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer based on a result obtained in detecting (Figs. 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, paras. [0031]-[0036], [0040], [0045], [0047], [0049]-[0050], [0052]-[0053], a measurement module determines overlay and registration errors, and the exposure of a layer by a lithography tool (such as lithography tool 202 or 210) is adjusted to correct the errors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have generating adjustment information used to adjust at least one of a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer based on a result obtained in detecting as taught by Nagai in the method as taught by Imaoka since including generating adjustment information used to adjust at least one of a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the first layer and a lithography apparatus used for patterning of the second layer based on a result obtained in detecting is commonly used to enhance overlay control across multiple layer processes (Nagai, paras. [0020]-[0021]) for improved device integration.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chiu et al. (US PGPub 2009/0040536) discloses a mark for alignment and overlay.
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882