DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 6, 7, 9-15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Staheli (WO 2013/151733).
Regarding claim 1, Staheli discloses a fluid mixing system comprising: a collapsible container (18) bounding a compartment, the container having a first end and an opposing second end; an elongated continuous drive line (44) at least partially disposed within the compartment of the container, wherein a first portion (for example a first strand of 44 as depicted in Fig. 10) of the drive line is laterally spaced apart from a second portion of the drive line (for example a second strand of 44 as depicted in Fig. 10), and the first portion of the drive line and the second portion of the drive line are rotatable within the compartment of the container.
Regarding claim 6, the first portion of the drive line and/or the second portion of the drive line comprises a flexible cable, cord, tube, or solid line (see [0056]).
Regarding claim 7, the first portion of the drive line and/or the second portion of the drive line comprises a plurality of polymeric strands woven together (see [0056]).
Regarding claim 9, Staheli discloses a method of mixing a fluid, the method comprising: providing at least a portion of an elongated continuous drive line (44) in a collapsible container (18) bounding a compartment, wherein a first portion (for example a first strand of 44 as depicted in Fig. 10) of the drive line is laterally spaced apart from a second portion (for example a second strand of 44 as depicted in Fig. 10) of the drive line; delivering a fluid into the compartment of the container; and rotating the first and second portions of the drive line to mix the fluid within the compartment.
Regarding claim 10, unfolding the container with at least a portion of the driveline in the container is disclosed (see [0084]).
Regarding claim 11, the fluid comprises a solution, suspension, colloid, emulsion, or biologic fluid (see [0003] and [0041]).
Regarding claim 12, a first end of the first portion of the drive line and a first end of the second portion of the drive line are secured to a hub (54) that is rotatably coupled to the container, the method further comprising: coupling a drive shaft (17)to the hub; and rotating the drive shaft to facilitate rotation of the hub and the first and second portions of the drive line.
Regarding claim 13, a first end of the first portion of the drive line and a first end of the second portion of the drive line are integrally connected together (see Figs. 8, 9 and 15).
Regarding claim 14, a first end of the first portion of the drive line and a first end of the second portion of the drive line are rotatably connected to a first end of the container and a second end of the first portion of the drive line and a second end of the second portion of the drive line are rotatably connected to a second end of the container (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, a port is disposed on the container and a pH probe or dissolved oxygen probe is coupled to the port (see [0050]).
Regarding claim 17, at least 50% of a length of the first portion of the drive line and the second portion of the drive line are maintained at lateral spaced apart positions within the compartment of the container during rotation of the first and second portions of the drive line (see Figs. 3 and 8).
Regarding claim 18, the first portion of the drive line and the second portion of the drive line each have a longitudinal axis extending along a length thereof, and at least 40% of the length of the first and second portions of the drive line are flexible that it can be bent along the longitudinal axis at an angle of at least 90° without plastic deformation of the drive line (see [0071]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-7 and 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivins (US 649,345) in view of Staheli (WO 2013/151733):
Regarding claim 1, Ivins discloses a fluid mixing system comprising a container (a, and optionally d) bounding a compartment, the container having a first end and an opposing second end (see drawing); an elongated continuous drive line at least partially disposed within the compartment of the container, wherein a first portion (one of the vertical wires of "b") of the drive line is laterally spaced apart from a second portion (another of the vertical wires of "b") of the drive line, and the first portion of the drive line and the second portion of the drive line are rotatable within the compartment of the container. However, it is not stated that the container is “collapsable”. Staheli teaches providing a collapsible container (18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provide the system of Ivins with a collapsable container, for example lining the existing rigid container, as taught by Staheli to reduce contamination.
Regarding claim 2, at least one tie (a horizontal member of “b”) extends between the first and second portions of the drive line so as to maintain at least a portion of the first and second portions of the drive line at lateral spaced apart positions within the compartment.
Regarding claim 3, Staheli further teaches making portions more rigid (see [0071]).
Regarding claim 4, the at least one tie projects in a normal direction from the first portion of the drive line (see drawing of Ivins).
Regarding claim 5, the at least one tie projects in a normal direction from the second portion of the drive line (see drawing of Ivins).
Regarding claim 6, Ivins further discloses, the first portion of the drive line and/or the second portion of the drive line comprises a flexible cable, cord, tube, or solid line (see page 1, line 40-45). Staheli also teaches a first portion of a drive line and/or the second portion of the drive line comprises a flexible cable, cord, tube, or solid line (see [0056]).
Regarding claim 7, Staheli further teaches the first portion of the drive line and/or the second portion of the drive line comprises a plurality of polymeric strands woven together (see [0056]).
Regarding claim 9, Ivins discloses a method of mixing a fluid, the method comprising providing at least a portion of an elongated continuous drive line in a container (a) bounding a compartment, wherein a first portion (one of the vertical wires of "b") of the drive line is laterally spaced apart from a second portion (another of the vertical wires of "b") of the drive line; delivering a fluid into the compartment of the container; and rotating the first and second portions of the drive line to mix the fluid within the compartment. However, it is not stated that the container is “collapsable”. Staheli teaches providing a collapsible container (18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the system of Ivins with a collapsable container, for example lining the existing rigid container, as taught by Staheli to reduce contamination.
Regarding claim 10, Staheli further teaches unfolding the container with at least a portion of the driveline in the container is disclosed (see [0084]).
Regarding claim 11, Ivins further discloses that the fluid comprises a solution, suspension, colloid, emulsion, or biologic fluid (see page 1, lines 8 and 9). Staheli also teaches that the fluid comprises a solution, suspension, colloid, emulsion, or biologic fluid (see [0003] and [0041]).
Regarding claim 12, Staheli further teaches that a first end of the first portion of the drive line and a first end of the second portion of the drive line are secured to a hub (54) that is rotatably coupled to the container, the method further comprising: coupling a drive shaft (17)to the hub; and rotating the drive shaft to facilitate rotation of the hub and the first and second portions of the drive line.
Regarding claim 13, a first end of the first portion of the drive line and a first end of the second portion of the drive line are integrally connected together (see drawing of Ivins).
Regarding claim 14, Staheli further teaches that a first end of the first portion of the drive line and a first end of the second portion of the drive line are rotatably connected to a first end of the container and a second end of the first portion of the drive line and a second end of the second portion of the drive line are rotatably connected to a second end of the container (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Staheli further teaches that a port is disposed on the container and a pH probe or dissolved oxygen probe is coupled to the port (see [0050]).
Regarding claim 16, the first portion of the drive line and the second portion of the drive line are coupled to at least one tie (a horizontal member of “b”) to maintain at least a portion of the first and second portions of the drive line at laterally spaced apart positions within the compartment.
Regarding claim 17, Staheli further teaches that at least 50% of a length of the first portion of the drive line and the second portion of the drive line are maintained at lateral spaced apart positions within the compartment of the container during rotation of the first and second portions of the drive line (see Figs. 3 and 8).
Regarding claim 18, Staheli further teaches that the first portion of the drive line and the second portion of the drive line each have a longitudinal axis extending along a length thereof, and at least 40% of the length of the first and second portions of the drive line are flexible that it can be bent along the longitudinal axis at an angle of at least 90° without plastic deformation of the drive line (see [0071]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staheli (WO 2013/151733) in view of Terentiev (US 2005/0002274). The system of Staheli was discussed above. A portion of the line being ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene is not disclosed. Terentiev teaches making a portion of a line with as bag of a mixing system of ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene (see [0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to date to have made the line of ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene because Staheli suggests making the line of a polymer (see [0056]) and Terentiev teaches ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene being an appropriate polymer in a highly analogous situation.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivins (US 649,345) in view of Staheli (WO 2013/151733) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Terentiev (US 2005/0002274). A portion of the line being ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene is not disclosed. Terentiev teaches making a portion of a line with as bag of a mixing system of ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene (see [0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to date to have made the line of ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene because Staheli suggests making the line of a polymer (see [0056]) and Terentiev teaches ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene being an appropriate polymer in a highly analogous situation.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 9, and 11-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,669,515. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of the pending claims are disclosed or suggested by the instant claims.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,669,515 in view of Terentiev (US 2005/0002274). The claims of the issued patent recite all the limitations of instant claim 8 except for the ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene requirement. Terentiev teaches making a portion of a line with as bag of a mixing system of ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene (see [0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to date to have made the line of ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene because Staheli suggests making the line of a polymer (see [0056]) and Terentiev teaches ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene being an appropriate polymer in a highly analogous situation.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,669,515 in view of Staheli (WO 2013/151733). The claims of the issued patent recite all the limitations of instant claim 10 except for unfolding step. Staheli teaches unfolding the container with at least a portion of the driveline in the container is disclosed (see [0084]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to date to have unfolded the container with at least a portion of the driveline in the container to facilitate compact storage and shipping as taught by Staheli.
Conclusion
DAVID L. SORKIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/DAVID L SORKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774