DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/16/2025 and 10/14/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS(s) have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Thompson et al. (US 20020166756; hereinafter Thompson).
Regarding claim 21, Thompson discloses in figure(s) 1-17 a tilt indicator (abs. – tilt detection), comprising:
a housing (mailbox; fig. 17) having a tilt detection assembly, the tilt detection assembly comprising a first mass (22; fig. 1) disposed within a receptacle (24) and a second mass (56) positioned with respect to the receptacle to prevent the first mass from exiting the receptacle;
a communication module (pcb fig. 13; paras. 2-4 - sensor can produce a strong repeatable pulse signal over a range of tilting scenarios … a distinct electrical output suitable for use as a triggering signal);
an arming element (52) removable to enable the second mass to move with respect to the receptacle to allow the first mass to exit the receptacle (24; figs. 1-5) in response to a tilt event exceeding a threshold (para. 5 - weight is mounted movably in a mechanism having extremes of motion that determine an angular hysteresis between the critical angle at which the weight falls and a resetting angle at which the weight is returned to a loaded unstable position for a new sensing cycle); and
switch circuitry (tilt switch 76/40; fig. 13) conductively connected to the first mass (22) when the tilt indicator is in an upright position (fig. 5,17), and wherein responsive to the tilt event (figs. 3-4, 17), the first mass (22) disconnects from the switch circuitry (76/40), and wherein the communication module is configured to detect a state of the switch circuitry and indicate an activated state (para. 7 - opening of a horizontally hinged mailbox door; para. 45 - movable mass 22 to move between the preloaded position and the unloaded position; figs. 1,17) of the tilt indicator in response to the disconnection (sig in figs. 13-14; para. 70 - output produces strong peaks followed by decreasing bounce as the weight settles mechanically against the piezo strip).
Regarding claim 22, Thompson discloses in figure(s) 1-17 the tilt indicator of Claim 21, wherein the switch circuitry includes a plurality of conductive surfaces (40; para. 8 - electrical leads can be coupled to conductive polymer or metalized foil layers in a laminate or sandwich containing the PVDF piezoelectric material) formed on the receptacle (24).
Regarding claim 23, Thompson discloses in figure(s) 1-17 the tilt indicator of Claim 22, and wherein the first mass member comprises a conductive first mass (abs. - A piezoelectric element such as a resilient strip is arranged to be deflected suddenly by the movable mass, and generates an electrical signal).
Regarding claim 24, Thompson discloses in figure(s) 1-17 the tilt indicator of Claim 21, wherein the switch circuitry is configured to be in the state of either a closed circuit or an open circuit (abs. preloaded/unloaded positions; closed/open mailbox; fig. 17), and responsive to the tilt detection assembly being subjected to the tilt event exceeding the threshold, a change to the state occurs (para. 2 - movable parts that interact at a predetermined threshold angle of the switch, for producing a distinct electrical output).
Claim(s) 28 and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chu et al. (US 20100243413; hereinafter Chu).
Regarding claim 28, Chu discloses in figure(s) 1-5 a tilt indicator, comprising:
a housing (housing 200; figs. 1-3) having a tilt detection assembly, the tilt detection assembly comprising;
a receptacle (202) disposed on a first side of a support member (203); and
a mass (400; fig. 1) disposed within the receptacle;
switch circuitry (abs. - tilt switch) comprising:
a plurality of conductive surfaces (501,502) disposed on the first side of the support member and engageable with the mass (400); and
a plurality of conductors (500) connected to respective ones of the plurality of conductive surfaces and extending through the support member to a second side of the support member opposite the first side; and
a communication module (device with PCB interpreted as communication device; para. 15 - inner terminal portion 501 is positioned within the chamber 201 and the outer terminal portion 502 protrudes outwardly from the outside surface of the housing 200. The outer terminal portions 502 can be soldered to a PCB contained within a device (not shown) utilizing the tilt switch 100) coupled to the switch circuitry; and
wherein responsive to the tilt detection assembly being subjected to a tilt event exceeding a threshold, the switch circuitry causes a change in a value output by the communication module when activated based on a connection state of the mass with the plurality of conductive surfaces (para.21-22 - When the gravitational torque has increased to predetermined value, the magnetic force between the moving member 400 and the pair of inner terminal portions 502 supporting the moving member 400 is overcome and the moving member 400 moves until being supported by another pair of contact terminals 500 …By detecting electrical connection of another pair of contact terminals 500, the upright standing appliance determines if it has leaned and can thus cut off power for safety purposes).
Regarding claim 30, Chu discloses in figure(s) 1-5 the tilt indicator of Claim 28, wherein the mass comprises a conductive mass (electrically conductive moving member 400).
Regarding claim 31, Chu discloses in figure(s) 1-5 the tilt indicator of Claim 28, further comprising an arming element positioned to prevent the mass from exiting the receptacle until removal of the arming element (para. 21 - magnetic force between the moving member 400 and the pair of inner terminal portions 502 supporting the moving member 400. Because the existence of the magnetic force, the moving member 400 does not move until the magnetic force has been overcome, unintentional movement of the moving member 400 can be reduced to a minimal degree).
Regarding claim 32, Chu discloses in figure(s) 1-5 the tilt indicator of Claim 28, wherein the switch circuitry is configured to change from a closed circuit to an open circuit in response to the tilt indicator being subjected to the tilt event (para. 20 - movable member 400 stays in contact with the two contact terminals 500 until the housing 200 is tilted leftwards or rightwards from the initial position to at least a predetermined angle; para. 5 - When the tilt switch 10 is mounted on the support, which stands on a horizontal plane 20, the ball 12 contacts the upper tip ends 131 to make an electrical connection between the first and second electric contact terminals 13. Once the support is tilted, the ball 12 will roll away from the terminals 13 to break the electrical connection).
Claim(s) 33-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Eren et al. (US 20070152841; hereinafter Eren).
Regarding claim 33, Eren discloses in figure(s) 1-13 a tilt indicator, comprising:
a housing (shielded casing 304; figs. 3-6) having a tilt detection assembly (tilt detecting device 300), the tilt detection assembly comprising a mass (weight 308) disposed within a receptacle (306; para. 55 - a curved ledge 306 on which a weight 308 rests);
switch circuitry comprising a proximity sensor (gps device 260 @1308; fig. 13) positioned to detect the mass exiting the receptacle in responsive to a tilt event exceeding a threshold (weight 308 switching over curved kedge 306 causing RFID signal is interpreted as switching circuitry; para. 57 - tilt detecting device 300 is rotated past a predetermined threshold, either to the left or right, weight 308 will roll off of ledge 306); and
a communication module (RFID tag 302) coupled to the switch circuitry; and
wherein responsive to the tilt event, the communication module is configured to wirelessly indicate an activated state of the tilt indicator (abs. - RFID tag transmits the RFID reply signal only when the RFID tag is exposed which indicates that tilting of the device beyond the predefined threshold has occurred).
Regarding claim 34, Eren discloses in figure(s) 1-13 the tilt indicator of Claim 33, further comprising an arming element (306a, 306b, 810; figs. 3,8) positioned to prevent the mass (308,808) from exiting the receptacle until removal of the arming element.
Regarding claim 35, Eren discloses in figure(s) 1-13 the tilt indicator of Claim 33, wherein the communication module comprises a passive radio-frequency identification (RFID) module (RFID tag 302).
Regarding claim 36, Eren discloses in figure(s) 1-13 the tilt indicator of Claim 33, wherein the communication module comprises a memory storing a value, and wherein the communication module is configured to output the value to indicate the activated state of the tilt indicator (storage drive 240; para. 87 - data processing system suitable for storing and/or executing program code will include at least one processor coupled directly or indirectly to memory elements through a system bus).
Regarding claim 37, Eren discloses in figure(s) 1-13 the tilt indicator of Claim 36, wherein the value comprises an encoded value based at least partly on an identification number of the communication module (para. 27 - an activated RFID tag transmits back to the RFID reader includes that RFID tag's unique identifier. In this manner, the RFID reader can identify which tilt detecting device has been activated).
Regarding claim 38, Eren discloses in figure(s) 1-13 the tilt indicator of Claim 33, wherein the communication module comprises a memory storing a first value and a second value, and wherein the communication module is configured to output the first value (zero) to indicate an unactivated state of the tilt indicator and the second value (tag id) to indicate the activated state of the tilt indicator (para. 41 - All activated tilt detecting devices will transmit their unique RFID identifier back to reader 102 in response to reader's 102 interrogation signal. Inactivated tilt detecting devices will not transmit a response to the interrogation signal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson in view of Eren.
Regarding claim 25, Thompson teaches in figure(s) 1-17 the tilt indicator of Claim 21.
Thompson does not teach explicitly wherein the communication module comprises a passive radio-frequency identification (RFID) module.
However, Eren teaches in figure(s) 1-13 wherein the communication module comprises a passive radio-frequency identification (RFID) module (passive RFID tag 302).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Thompson by having wherein the communication module comprises a passive radio-frequency identification (RFID) module as taught by Eren in order to provide "communications links to other computers may be provided … RFID reader 250 includes a serial interface 252 for coupling RFID reader 250 to I/O bus 212 so that RFID reader 250 can communicate with I/O bus 212" (paras. 45,50).
Regarding claim 27, Thompson teaches in figure(s) 1-17 the tilt indicator of Claim 21,
Thompson does not teach explicitly wherein the communication module comprises a memory storing a value, and wherein the communication module is configured to output the value to indicate the activated state of the tilt indicator.
However, Eren teaches in figure(s) 13 wherein the communication module comprises a memory storing a value, and wherein the communication module is configured to output the value to indicate the activated state of the tilt indicator (storage drive 240; para. 87 - data processing system suitable for storing and/or executing program code will include at least one processor coupled directly or indirectly to memory elements through a system bus).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Thompson by having wherein the communication module comprises a memory storing a value, and wherein the communication module is configured to output the value to indicate the activated state of the tilt indicator as taught by Eren in order to provide " processor connected to system bus is memory controller/cache, which provides an interface to local memory" (para. 44).
Claim(s) 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. in view of Eren.
Regarding claim 29, Chu teaches in figure(s) 1-5 the tilt indicator of Claim 28.
Chu does not teach explicitly wherein the communication module comprises a passive radio-frequency identification (RFID) module.
However, Eren teaches in figure(s) 1-13 wherein the communication module comprises a passive radio-frequency identification (RFID) module (passive RFID tag 302).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chu by having wherein the communication module comprises a passive radio-frequency identification (RFID) module as taught by Eren in order to provide "communications links to other computers may be provided … RFID reader 250 includes a serial interface 252 for coupling RFID reader 250 to I/O bus 212 so that RFID reader 250 can communicate with I/O bus 212" (paras. 45,50).
Claim(s) 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson in view of Chu.
Regarding claim 26, Thompson teaches in figure(s) 1-17 the tilt indicator of Claim 21,
Thompson does not teach explicitly wherein the switch circuitry includes: first and second conductive surfaces formed on the receptacle; and first and second conductors extending through a support member of the housing and electrically connected to the respective first and second conductive surfaces; and wherein the communication module is coupled to the first and second conductors.
However, Chu teaches in figure(s) 1-5 wherein the switch circuitry includes: first and second conductive surfaces (501,502) formed on the receptacle (202); and first and second conductors (500) extending through a support member of the housing (200) and electrically connected to the respective first and second conductive surfaces (501,502); and wherein the communication module (PCB; para. 15 - inner terminal portion 501 is positioned within the chamber 201 and the outer terminal portion 502 protrudes outwardly from the outside surface of the housing 200. The outer terminal portions 502 can be soldered to a PCB contained within a device (not shown) utilizing the tilt switch 100) is coupled to the first and second conductors.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Thompson by having wherein the switch circuitry includes: first and second conductive surfaces formed on the receptacle; and first and second conductors extending through a support member of the housing and electrically connected to the respective first and second conductive surfaces; and wherein the communication module is coupled to the first and second conductors as taught by Chu in order to provide "tilt switch comprises an electrically insulating housing with a chamber formed therein. The chamber is defined by a bottom surface and a surrounding surface. The tilt switch also includes a plurality of contact terminals, each of which comprises an inner terminal portion and an outer terminal portion" (abstract).
Claim(s) 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eren in view of Thompson.
Regarding claim 39, Eren teaches in figure(s) 1-13 the tilt indicator of Claim 33,
Eren does not teach explicitly wherein the mass comprises a first mass, and further comprising a second mass positioned with respect to the receptacle to prevent the first mass from exiting the receptacle.
However, Thompson teaches in figure(s) 17 wherein the mass comprises a first mass (22; fig. 1), and further comprising a second mass (56) positioned with respect to the receptacle to prevent the first mass from exiting the receptacle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Eren by having wherein the mass comprises a first mass, and further comprising a second mass positioned with respect to the receptacle to prevent the first mass from exiting the receptacle as taught by Thompson in order to provide "A tilt switch generates a signal as a function of orientation relative to a force, especially to detect tilting relative to vertical under the influence of gravity. A movable mass is mounted for displacement along a path between preloaded and unloaded positions" (abstract).
Regarding claim 40, Eren in view of Thompson teaches the tilt indicator of Claim 39,
Thompson additionally teaches in figure(s) 17 further comprising an arming element (52; figs. 1-5) removable from the tilt indicator to enable movement of the second mass member to enable the first mass to exit the receptacle (24).
Conclusion
/AKM ZAKARIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858