DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed on Apr. 10, 2026 have been fully considered. In addition to the previous rejections, new rejections are made based on the references cited on IDS filed on Feb. 4, 2026 and March 18, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mizutani (5,532,0191).
Regarding claim 1, Mizutani discloses an exposure method (Fig. 2, 4, col. 3, line 22 – col. 4, line 49, col. 8, lines 42-49) comprising: forming a first exposure pattern (50 on top) in a first region in a pattern formation region on a substrate (45, W); forming a second exposure pattern (50, pattern below 51) in a second region spaced apart from the first region (Fig. 4, col. 8, lines 42-49), the second region being in the pattern formation region (Fig. 4); and forming an exposure pattern in a third region between the first region and the second region (Fig. 4, col. 8, lines 47-49) based on measurement results of a position of the first exposure pattern and a position of the second exposure pattern (col. 8, lines 49-63, “although a positional relation between the patterns 50 which have already been formed and the pattern 51 to be exposed in the Y direction must be regulated strictly”).
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujino et al. (Fujino) (JP 1-215022 in IDS, page numbers refer to the translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, Fujino discloses an exposure method comprising: forming a first exposure pattern (6, Fig. 1(a)) in a first region (X region) in a pattern formation region on a substrate; forming a second exposure pattern (8, Fig. 1(a)) in a second region (Y region) spaced apart from the first region (Fig. 1), the second region being in the pattern formation region (page 3, “X region on the left side of a broken line 17”, “Y region on the right side of a broken line 18 are independently patterned by a stepper”); and forming an exposure pattern (14, 15) in a third region between the first region and the second region (between broken lines 17 and 18) based on measurement results of a position of the first exposure pattern and a position of the second exposure pattern (page 3, alignment marks 10 and 11 formed in the X region and the Y region, respectfully, in the same process as that for forming the first and second exposure patterns. Position detection is performed before forming of the exposure pattern in the third region and pattern shift amount 12 of the Y region is measured).
Regarding claim 2, Fujino discloses wherein the exposure pattern formed in the third region includes a pattern (14, Fig. 1(b), (c)) connected to the first exposure pattern (6) formed in the first region and a pattern (16, Fig. 1(c)) connected to the second exposure (8) pattern formed in the second region (page 3).
Regarding claim 3, Fujino discloses wherein the exposure pattern formed in the third region includes a pattern (14, 16, Fig. 1(c)) that connects the first exposure patten and the second exposure pattern (page 3).
Regarding claim 5, Fujino discloses changing the exposure pattern formed in the third region based on the measurement results of the position of the first exposure pattern and the position of the second exposure pattern (Fig. 1(a), (c) and page 3, the exposure pattern wiring 9 in Fig. 1(a) is changed to patterning 14, 16 based on the measurement result).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nara et al. (Nara) (2008/0266539) in view of Hollerbach et al. (Hollerbach) (2020/0159132).
Regarding claim 1, Nara discloses an exposure method comprising: forming a first exposure pattern (SH1-SH3, Fig. 13) in a first region in a pattern formation region on a substrate (P, Fig. 13, para 0085-0087); forming a second exposure pattern (SH4, SH5) in a second region spaced apart from the first region (P, Fig. 13) the second region being in the pattern formation region (para 0085-0087). Nara discloses using marks, AM1 and AM2 to determine the position of the exposure pattern to determine the positioning of the next exposure pattern (para 0085, 0087-0089). However, Nara does not disclose forming an exposure pattern in a third region between the first region and the second region based on measurement results of a position of the first exposure pattern and a position of the second exposure pattern. Hollerbach, which is in the same technical field as Nara, discloses a method for attaching wiring connection to a region between two components (Fig. 3, 4, para 0043, 0044) based on measurement results of a position of the two components (Fig. 5-7, para 0045, 0046, 0051, 0052) using microlithography system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide wiring to connect the components manufactured by the process of Nara using the method of Hollerbach in order to provide properly aligned connection between the components.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Nara does not disclose wherein the exposure pattern formed in the third region includes a pattern connected to the first exposure pattern formed in the first region and a pattern connected to the second exposure pattern formed in the second region and wherein the exposure pattern formed in the third region includes a pattern that connects the first exposure patten and the second exposure pattern. Hollerbach discloses in Fig. 4, (see below) the third region includes a pattern connected to a first component in the first region and a pattern connected to a second component in the second region and wherein the exposure pattern formed in the third region includes a pattern that connects the first exposure patten and the second exposure pattern. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select and provide the pattern that connects the first pattern and the second pattern depending on the intended requirement of the design.
Regarding claim 4, Nara discloses using SLM (para 0114). However, Nara does not disclose the forming of the exposure pattern in the third region. Hollerbach discloses wherein the forming of the exposure pattern in the third region is performed using an exposure device (Fig. 1A, 1B, 2A-2C) that uses a spatial light modulator (280, 289) that modulates exposure light based on an output from an exposure pattern determination unit (para 0036, 0040). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the exposure pattern in the third region for the reason stated above of providing properly aligned connection between the components.
Regarding claim 5, Nara does not disclose changing the exposure pattern formed in the third region based on the measurement results of the position of the first exposure pattern and the position of the second exposure pattern. Hollerbach discloses changing the exposure pattern in the third region (Fig. 3 to Fig. 4) based on the measurement results of the position of the first component and the position of the second component (Fig. 5-7, para 0045, 0046, 0051, 0052). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the exposure pattern based on the position of the first and second exposure patterns in order to accommodate for the position misalignment of the exposure patterns so that proper connection is made as taught by Hollerbach.
Regarding claim 6, Nara discloses wherein the pattern formation region is provided in plural (R1-R3, R4, R5), wherein the first exposure pattern is formed in the first region of each of the pattern formation regions on the substrate with exposure light through a first mask, and the second exposure pattern is formed in the second region spaced apart from the first region in each of the pattern formation regions with exposure light through a second mask (Fig. 6, 7 para 0059, 0060, Fig. 13, para 0085-0087), by using an exposure device (Fig. 6). However, Nara does not disclose wherein an exposure pattern determined based on the position of the first exposure pattern and the position of the second exposure pattern is formed between the first region and the second region in each of the pattern formation regions with exposure light through a spatial light modulator, by using an exposure device that uses the spatial light modulator that modulates exposure light based on an output from an exposure pattern determination unit. Hallerbach discloses wherein an exposure pattern determined based on the position of the first exposure pattern and the position of the second exposure pattern is formed between the first region and the second region in each of the pattern formation regions with exposure light through a spatial light modulator (280, 289), by using an exposure device that uses the spatial light modulator that modulates exposure light (Fig. 5-7, para 0045, 0046, 0051, 0052) based on an output from an exposure pattern determination unit (processor, para 0045, Fig. 5-7, compare design data and in-situ data and calculate offset data). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the determination unit and the spatial light modulator of Hallerbach to exposure the region between the first and the second region in a plurality of pattern formation regions in order to readily modify the exposure pattern to accommodate different positioning of the first and the second exposure patterns in all of the pattern formation regions to increase throughput since merely duplicating and repeating the inventive process requires only the routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 7, Nara discloses using SLM (para 0114). However, Nara does not disclose changing the exposure pattern formed with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator based on the position of the first exposure pattern and the position of the second exposure pattern. Hallerbach discloses changing the exposure pattern formed with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator (280, 289, para 0036, 0040) based on the position of the first exposure pattern and the position of the second exposure pattern (Fig. 3-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the spatial light modulator of Hallerbach to exposure the region between the first and the second region in order to readily modify the exposure pattern to accommodate different positioning of the first and the second exposure patterns.
Regarding claim 8, Nara discloses measuring a position of the first exposure pattern and a position of the second exposure pattern (using AM1 and AM2, para 0085-0088). However, Nara does not disclose wherein the changing of the exposure pattern formed with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator includes changing the exposure pattern formed with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator based on measurement results of the position of the first exposure pattern and the position of the second exposure pattern. Hallerbach discloses wherein the changing of the exposure pattern formed with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator includes changing the exposure pattern formed with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator based on measurement results of the position of the first exposure pattern and the position of the second exposure pattern (Fig. 5-7, para 0036, 0040, 0045, 0046, 0051, 0052). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the changing of the exposure pattern formed with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator includes changing the exposure pattern formed with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator based on measurement results of the position of the first exposure pattern and the position of the second exposure pattern in order to readily modify the exposure pattern to accommodate different positioning of the first and the second exposure patterns.
Regarding claim 9, Nara discloses wherein each of the pattern formation regions includes a first pattern formation region (R1-R3) and a second pattern formation region (R4, R5, Fig. 2, 13). However, Nara does not disclose wherein the exposure pattern formed between the first region and the second region in the first pattern formation region is different from the exposure pattern formed between the first region and the second region in the second pattern formation region. Hallerbach discloses wherein the exposure pattern formed between the first region and the second region in the first pattern formation region is different from the exposure pattern formed between the first region and the second region in the second pattern formation region (Fig. 3, 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to provide the accurate wiring connection which is different in each of the pattern formation region depending on the position of the first and second exposure patterns in the different pattern formation regions.
Regarding claim 10, although Nara in view of Hallerbach does not disclose forming a third exposure pattern in a fourth region different from the first region and the second region in each of the pattern formation regions on the substrate with exposure light through a third mask by using the exposure device, wherein the first region and the second region are adjacent to each other in a first direction along a surface of the substrate, wherein the fourth region is adjacent to the first region in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and wherein the forming of the exposure pattern with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator includes forming the exposure pattern between the first region and the second region adjacent to each other in the first direction with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator, and forming the exposure pattern between the first region and the fourth region adjacent to each other in the second direction with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Nara by providing a third exposure pattern in the fourth region using a third mask, the third region arranged with respect to the first and the second regions as claimed and forming the exposure pattern between the first region and the fourth region since merely duplicating and repeating the inventive process requires only the routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Nara in view of Hollerbach discloses forming the exposure pattern between the first region and the second region with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator as discussed above in rejection of claim 10. Although Nara in view of Hollerbach does not disclose changing orientation of the substrate around an axis intersecting the surface and the exposure pattern is formed between the first region and the fourth region adjacent to each other in the second direction with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator, Nara discloses that the substrate with the pattern formation is rotated or changes orientation around an axis intersecting the surface (para 0056). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the orientation of the substrate to form the exposure pattern between the first region and the fourth region adjacent to each other in the second direction with the spatial light modulator depending on the pattern design requirement and to provide connecting wiring pattern and changing orientation of the substrate for proper alignment since such adjustments require only the routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 13, Nara does not disclose wherein the exposure pattern formed in the third region includes a pattern connected to the first exposure pattern formed in the first region and a pattern connected to the second exposure pattern formed in the second region. Hollerbach discloses in Fig. 4, (see above) the third region includes a pattern connected to a first component in the first region and a pattern connected to a second component in the second region. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select and provide the pattern that connects the first pattern and the second pattern depending on the intended requirement of the design.
Regarding claim 14, Nara does not disclose wherein the first exposure pattern and the second exposure pattern and the exposure pattern formed with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator include a wiring pattern, and wherein a width of the wiring pattern is 200 nm or less. Hallerbach discloses wherein the first exposure pattern and the second exposure pattern and the exposure pattern formed with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator include a wiring pattern (Fig. 4-7). Although Hallerbach does not disclose the width of the wiring pattern, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the wiring pattern having width 200 nm or less depending on the intended use. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nara by forming a wiring pattern as taught by Hallerbach in order to properly align and electrically connect the components.
Regarding claim 15, Nara discloses wherein the first exposure pattern is formed by exposing the first region to an image of a pattern formed on the first mask, and wherein the second exposure pattern is formed by exposing the second region to an image of a pattern formed on the second mask different from the first mask (Fig. 6, 7 para 0059, 0060, Fig. 13, para 0085-0087).
Regarding claim 16, although Nara in view of Hallerbach does not disclose a device manufacturing method including: processing a surface of the substrate using the first exposure pattern and the second exposure pattern formed using the exposure method according to claim 1 as a mask; and processing the surface of the substrate using the exposure pattern formed in the third region using the exposure method according to claim 1 as a mask, it would have been obvious to process the exposure patterns as a mask since such process of producing exposed pattern on a substrate and using as a mask is commonly known and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 17, Nara discloses an exposure device (Fig. 6, 7) comprising: a substrate stage (PST) on which a substrate (P) on which patterns are formed in a plurality of regions spaced apart from each other is placed (Fig. 13). However, Nara does not disclose forming wiring pattern and an exposure pattern determination unit that determines an exposure pattern based on measurement results of positions of the wiring patterns; a spatial light modulator that modulates and emits incident light based on an output from the exposure pattern determination unit; an illumination optical system that irradiates the spatial light modulator with illumination light; and a projection optical system that projects an image of a light modulation surface of the spatial light modulator between adjacent regions among the plurality of regions. Hallerbach discloses forming a wiring pattern (Fig. 3, 4) and an exposure pattern determination unit that determines an exposure pattern based on measurement results of positions of the wiring patterns; a spatial light modulator that modulates and emits incident light based on an output from the exposure pattern determination unit; an illumination optical system that irradiates the spatial light modulator with illumination light; and a projection optical system that projects an image of a light modulation surface of the spatial light modulator between adjacent regions among the plurality of regions. (Fig. 5-7, para para 0045, 0046, 0051, 0052). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the wiring pattern forming device and process of Hallerbach to the invention of Nara in order to provide properly aligned connection between the components.
Regarding claim 18, although Nara in view of Hallerbach does not disclose a metal wiring pattern, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a metal wiring pattern since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nara et al. (Nara) (2008/0266539) in view of Hollerbach et al. (Hollerbach) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Ishikawa (2004/0223229).
Regarding claim 12, Nara in view of Hollerbach discloses wherein the exposure pattern is formed between the first region and the second region adjacent to each other in the first direction with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator as discussed above in rejection of claim 10. The further difference between the claimed invention and the modified Nara is wherein an orientation of the spatial light modulator is changed around an axis intersecting a light modulation surface of the spatial light modulator, and the exposure pattern is formed between the first region and the fourth region adjacent to each other in the second direction with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator. Ishikawa discloses an exposure apparatus (Fig. 9, 10, 18) comprising a spatial light modulator of DMD (80) wherein the spatial light modulator is in one orientation (Fig. 18A, para 0138) and wherein the spatial light modulator is in another orientation changed around an axis intersecting the light modulation surface (Fig. 18B, para 0138). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the orientation of the spatial light modulator to form the exposure pattern between the first region and the fourth region adjacent to each other in the second direction with the spatial light modulator depending on the pattern design requirement and to provide connecting wiring pattern and changing orientation of the spatial light modulator for proper alignment and resolution since such adjustments require only the routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 4, 6-11 and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujino et al. (Fujino) in view of Hollerbach et al. (Hollerbach).
Regarding claim 4, Fujino does not disclose wherein the forming of the exposure pattern in the third region is performed using an exposure device that uses a spatial light modulator that modulates exposure light based on an output from an exposure pattern determination unit. Hollerbach, which is in the same technical field as Fujino, discloses a method for attaching wiring connection to a region between two components (Fig. 3, 4, para 0043, 0044) based on measurement results of a position of the two components (Fig. 5-7, para 0045, 0046, 0051, 0052) using microlithography system. Hollerbach discloses wherein the forming of the exposure pattern in the third region is performed using an exposure device (Fig. 1A, 1B, 2A-2C) that uses a spatial light modulator (280, 289) that modulates exposure light based on an output from an exposure pattern determination unit (para 0036, 0040). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the exposure pattern in the third region using a spatial light modulator in order to adjust the shape of the exposure pattern depending on the measurement result.
Regarding claim 6, Fujino discloses wherein the pattern formation region is provided in plural (Fig. 3, plurality of regions A, B, C…) and exposing patterns in the first and second regions using an exposure device (stepper, page 3) and wherein an exposure pattern determined based on the position of the first exposure pattern and the position of the second exposure pattern is formed between the first region and the second region in each of the pattern formation regions with exposure light (page 3). Although Fujino does not disclose wherein the first exposure pattern is formed in the first region of each of the pattern formation regions on the substrate with exposure light through a first mask, and the second exposure pattern is formed in the second region spaced apart from the first region in each of the pattern formation regions with exposure light through a second mask by using an exposure device, Fujino discloses that a stepper is used to pattern X region and Y region. Since a stepper uses mask to pattern on to a substrate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a first mask for the first region and a second mask for the second region in order to provide different patterns for the different regions. However, Fujino does not disclose using a spatial light modulator that modulates exposure light based on an output from an exposure pattern determination unit. Hallerbach discloses wherein an exposure pattern determined based on the position of the first exposure pattern and the position of the second exposure pattern is formed between the first region and the second region in each of the pattern formation regions with exposure light through a spatial light modulator (280, 289), by using an exposure device that uses the spatial light modulator that modulates exposure light (Fig. 5-7, para 0045, 0046, 0051, 0052) based on an output from an exposure pattern determination unit (processor, para 0045, Fig. 5-7, compare design data and in-situ data and calculate offset data). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the determination unit and the spatial light modulator of Hallerbach to exposure the region between the first and the second region in a plurality of pattern formation regions in order to readily modify the exposure pattern to accommodate different positioning of the first and the second exposure patterns in all of the pattern formation regions to increase throughput since a spatial light modulator can readily adjust the wiring pattern based on the measurement result for each of the pattern formation regions.
Regarding claim 7, Fujino does not disclose changing the exposure pattern formed with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator based on the position of the first exposure pattern and the position of the second exposure pattern. Hallerbach discloses changing the exposure pattern formed with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator (280, 289, para 0036, 0040) based on the position of the first exposure pattern and the position of the second exposure pattern (Fig. 3-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the spatial light modulator of Hallerbach to exposure the region between the first and the second region in order to readily modify the exposure pattern to accommodate different positioning of the first and the second exposure patterns.
Regarding claim 8, Fujino discloses measuring a position of the first exposure pattern and a position of the second exposure pattern (Fig. 1, page 3). However, Fujino does not disclose wherein the changing of the exposure pattern formed with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator includes changing the exposure pattern formed with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator based on measurement results of the position of the first exposure pattern and the position of the second exposure pattern. Hallerbach discloses wherein the changing of the exposure pattern formed with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator includes changing the exposure pattern formed with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator based on measurement results of the position of the first exposure pattern and the position of the second exposure pattern (Fig. 5-7, para 0036, 0040, 0045, 0046, 0051, 0052). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the changing of the exposure pattern formed with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator includes changing the exposure pattern formed with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator based on measurement results of the position of the first exposure pattern and the position of the second exposure pattern in order to readily modify the exposure pattern to accommodate different positioning of the first and the second exposure patterns.
Regarding claim 9, Fujino discloses wherein each of the pattern formation regions includes a first pattern formation region (Fig. 3) and a second pattern formation region (Fig. 3). Although Fujino does not explicitly disclose wherein the exposure pattern formed between the first region and the second region in the first pattern formation region is different from the exposure pattern formed between the first region and the second region in the second pattern formation region, since the locations of the patterns in each of the pattern formation regions could be different, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to provide the accurate wiring connection which is different in each of the pattern formation region depending on the position of the first and second exposure patterns in the different pattern formation regions.
Regarding claim 10, although Fujino in view of Hallerbach does not disclose forming a third exposure pattern in a fourth region different from the first region and the second region in each of the pattern formation regions on the substrate with exposure light through a third mask by using the exposure device, wherein the first region and the second region are adjacent to each other in a first direction along a surface of the substrate, wherein the fourth region is adjacent to the first region in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and wherein the forming of the exposure pattern with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator includes forming the exposure pattern between the first region and the second region adjacent to each other in the first direction with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator, and forming the exposure pattern between the first region and the fourth region adjacent to each other in the second direction with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Fujino by providing a third exposure pattern in the fourth region using a third mask, the third region arranged with respect to the first and the second regions as claimed and forming the exposure pattern between the first region and the fourth region since merely duplicating and repeating the inventive process requires only the routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Fujino in view of Hollerbach discloses wherein the exposure pattern is formed between the first region and the second region adjacent to each other in the first direction with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator as discussed in rejection of claim 10. Although Fujino in view of Hollerbach does not disclose changing orientation of the substrate around an axis intersecting the surface and the exposure pattern is formed between the first region and the fourth region adjacent to each other in the second direction with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator, rotating or changing the orientation of the substrate for proper alignment with the mask is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the orientation of the substrate to form the exposure pattern between the first region and the fourth region adjacent to each other in the second direction with the spatial light modulator depending on the pattern design requirement and to provide connecting wiring pattern and changing orientation of the substrate for proper alignment since such adjustments require only the routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 13, Fujino does not disclose wherein the exposure pattern formed in the third region includes a pattern connected to the first exposure pattern formed in the first region and a pattern connected to the second exposure pattern formed in the second region. Hollerbach discloses in Fig. 4, (see above) the third region includes a pattern connected to a first component in the first region and a pattern connected to a second component in the second region. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select and provide the pattern that connects the first pattern and the second pattern depending on the intended requirement of the design.
Regarding claim 14, Fujino discloses wherein the first exposure pattern and the second exposure pattern and the exposure pattern formed with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator include a wiring pattern (Fig. 1, page 3). Although Fujino does not disclose wherein a width of the wiring pattern is 200 nm or less, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the wiring pattern having width 200 nm or less depending on the intended use since it has been held that discovering an optimum workable range involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 15, although Fujino does not disclose wherein the first exposure pattern is formed by exposing the first region to an image of a pattern formed on the first mask, and wherein the second exposure pattern is formed by exposing the second region to an image of a pattern formed on the second mask different from the first mask, Fujino discloses that a stepper is used to pattern X region and Y region. Since a stepper uses mask to pattern on to a substrate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a first mask for the first region and a second mask for the second region in order to provide different patterns for the different regions.
Regarding claim 16, although Fujino does not disclose a device manufacturing method including: processing a surface of the substrate using the first exposure pattern and the second exposure pattern formed using the exposure method according to claim 1 as a mask; and processing the surface of the substrate using the exposure pattern formed in the third region using the exposure method according to claim 1 as a mask, it would have been obvious to process the exposure patterns as a mask since such process of using a stepper to forming patterns on a substrate and using as a mask is commonly known and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 17, Fujino discloses an exposure device (page 3, X region and Y region independently patterned by a stepper) comprising: a substrate stage (inherent) on which a substrate (1, Fig. 3) on which patterns are formed in a plurality of regions spaced apart from each other is placed (Fig. 1, 3); an exposure pattern determination unit that determines an exposure pattern based on measurement results of positions of the wiring patterns (Fig. 1(a)-1(c), page 3, alignment marks 10 and 11 formed in the X region and the Y region, respectfully, in the same process as that for forming the first and second exposure patterns. Position detection is performed before forming of the exposure pattern in the third region and pattern shift amount 12 of the Y region is measured). However, Fujino does not disclose a spatial light modulator that modulates and emits incident light based on an output from the exposure pattern determination unit; an illumination optical system that irradiates the spatial light modulator with illumination light; and a projection optical system that projects an image of a light modulation surface of the spatial light modulator between adjacent regions among the plurality of regions. Hallerbach discloses forming a wiring pattern (Fig. 3, 4) and an exposure pattern determination unit that determines an exposure pattern based on measurement results of positions of the wiring patterns; a spatial light modulator that modulates and emits incident light based on an output from the exposure pattern determination unit; an illumination optical system that irradiates the spatial light modulator with illumination light; and a projection optical system that projects an image of a light modulation surface of the spatial light modulator between adjacent regions among the plurality of regions. (Fig. 5-7, para para 0045, 0046, 0051, 0052). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a spatial light modulator of Hallerbach in order to readily adjust the shape of the exposure pattern depending on the measurement result of the positions of the wiring patterns.
Regarding claim 18, although Fujino does not disclose a metal wiring pattern, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a metal wiring pattern since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujino et al. (Fujino) (2008/0266539) in view of Hollerbach et al. (Hollerbach) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Ishikawa (2004/0223229).
Regarding claim 12, Fujino in view of Hollerbach discloses wherein the exposure pattern is formed between the first region and the second region adjacent to each other in the first direction with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator as discussed above in rejection of claim 10. The further difference between the claimed invention and the modified Fujino is wherein an orientation of the spatial light modulator is changed around an axis intersecting a light modulation surface of the spatial light modulator, and the exposure pattern is formed between the first region and the fourth region adjacent to each other in the second direction with the exposure light through the spatial light modulator. Ishikawa discloses an exposure apparatus (Fig. 9, 10, 18) comprising a spatial light modulator of DMD (80) wherein the spatial light modulator is in one orientation (Fig. 18A, para 0138) and wherein the spatial light modulator is in another orientation changed around an axis intersecting the light modulation surface (Fig. 18B, para 0138). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the orientation of the spatial light modulator to form the exposure pattern between the first region and the fourth region adjacent to each other in the second direction with the spatial light modulator depending on the pattern design requirement and to provide connecting wiring pattern and changing orientation of the spatial light modulator for proper alignment and resolution since such adjustments require only the routine skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that there is no suggestion to connect the shot areas of Nara and there is no suggestion to form an exposure pattern in a region between various shot areas. However, it is not necessary that the references actually suggest, expressly or in so many words, the changes or improvements that applicant has made. The test for combining references is what the references as a whole would have suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art. Nara reference is not relied on for teaching that there are connections between the shot areas or forming exposure patterns between the shot areas. The teaching of forming exposure patterns between shot areas and connecting the shot areas is provided in Hallerbach. It is commonly known that patterned substrate using lithography comprises wiring patterns. Nara is relied on for exposing a first pattern in a first region and exposing a second pattern in a second region spaced apart from the first region. In addition, claims 11 and 12, which were indicated as allowable in the previous Office Action have been rejected.
New rejections are based on the references cited in the IDS.
Conclusion
/PETER B KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 June 7, 2026