+DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US 2008/0223873 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches an integrated chip processing tool (Figures 1-3; paragraphs 23-25), comprising: a gas distribution ring configured to extend along a perimeter of a process chamber and comprising: a lower ring extending around the process chamber, wherein the lower ring comprises a plurality of gas inlets arranged along a bottom surface of the lower ring and a plurality of gas conveyance channels arranged along an upper surface of the lower ring directly over the plurality of gas inlets; an upper ring disposed on the upper surface of the lower ring and covering the plurality of gas conveyance channels, wherein a plurality of gas outlets are arranged along opposing ends of the plurality of gas conveyance channels; and wherein a plurality of gas conveyance paths extending between the plurality of gas inlets and the plurality of gas outlets have approximately equal lengths (Figures 2-4; paragraphs 35-37). It is noted that the process chamber is not positively recited. The recitations of “configured to extend along a perimeter of a process chamber” and “extending around the process chamber” have been interpreted as an intended use or functionality. These limitations do not appear to impart any structure which distinguishes over the gas distribution ring of Chen. The inlets are shown in Figure 3 and at the lower left of Figure 4. The gas conveyance channels are satisfied by the combined 232, 234 channels shown in Figure 3, shown in cross-section as channels 332, 334 in Figure 4. As seen in Figure 3, each channel 234 has gas outlets at opposing ends thereof. Claim 1 does not preclude additional gas outlets.
Regarding claims 4 and 6-8, Chen clearly teaches these additional limitations (Figures 2-4; paragraphs 36-37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claims 1, 4 and 6-8 above.
Regarding claim 2, as seen in Figure 3, Chen’s channels extend over about 60°. However, claim 1 of Chen indicates there may be 1 or more of such channels, which includes four channels. With four channels, each would extent approximately 90°. It is noted that a prima facie case of obviousness exists when a claimed range overlaps, falls within or is near a prior art range. See MPEP 2144.05.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-20 are allowed. Claims 3 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 3 and 5, Chen is applied above and is considered the closest prior art of record. However, Chen does not teach or suggest these additional limitations.
Regarding claim 9, in combination with the claimed limitations, Chen does not teach the additional limitations of the gas distribution ring disposed within the groove of the claimed shielding inset or the plurality of gas vents arranged between the horizontally extending surface of the shielding inset and the upper ring.
Regarding claim 16, in combination with the claimed limitations, Chen does not teach gas outlets that are within an innermost sidewall of the lower ring. Rather, Chen’s outlets are in an upper surface of the upper ring, as seen in Figure 4. Chen does teach the interior side walls (Figure 4), pair of channels (claim 1 recites 1 or more channels), and suggests the claimed symmetric arrangement as seen in Figure 3. Chen provides a gas inlet for each channel arranged in the claimed manner (Figures 3-4), and as explained in the rejection above, suggests the claimed substantially equal distances for outlets at the ends of the channels. However, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the above noted allowable subject matter.
The following references are noted of interest. Each is directed to gas distribution rings.
Su (US 2021/0151294 A1).
Kim (US 2004/0099378 A1).
Katz (US 2009/0057269 A1).
Lian (US 2020/0381213 A1).
Kadkhodayan (US 2010/0252197 A1) is cited of interest for a general teaching of aligning pegs and corresponding holes (Figures 1A,E-G and 3; paragraphs 16, 18 and 21-22).
The above references do not teach or suggest, alone or in combination with the prior art of record, the above noted allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL A TOLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745