Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HIRONAKA MISAO (JP H06224463 A), cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, HIRONAKA MISAO discloses a light detection device, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (1) that has a first main surface (top) and a second main surface (Bottom) facing each other and forms an avalanche photodiode (20) and a temperature compensation diode (30) so as to be spaced apart from each other when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the first main surface [Figs. 4-5, and Machine English Translation, paragraphs 0032-0033],
wherein the semiconductor substrate includes a peripheral carrier absorbing portion (50,60) configured to absorb carriers located at a periphery, the peripheral carrier absorbing portion (50,60) being between the avalanche photodiode (20) and the temperature compensation diode (30) when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the first main surface, when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the first main surface, on a line segment connecting the avalanche photodiode and the temperature compensation diode to each other at a shortest distance, a shortest distance (S1) between the avalanche photodiode and the peripheral carrier absorbing portion is smaller than a shortest distance (S2) between the temperature compensation diode and a portion, which is closest to the avalanche photodiode, of an edge (edge closest to the photodiode 20) of the peripheral carrier absorbing portion (50,60) [See Figure 4, annotated below], and
a voltage corresponding to a breakdown voltage applied to the temperature compensation diode is applied to the avalanche photodiode as a bias voltage to provide temperature compensation for a multiplication factor of the avalanche photodiode (see description of Example 6].
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (S2)][AltContent: textbox (S1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Regarding claim 12, HIRONAKA MISAO discloses a light detection device, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (1) having a first main surface and a second main surface facing each other [Figs. 4-5], wherein the semiconductor substrate includes:
a first avalanche photodiode (20) having a light incidence surface on a side of the first main surface [Fig. 4-5];
a second avalanche photodiode (30) that is spaced apart from the first avalanche photodiode when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the first main surface and is shielded (14) from light [Fig. 4-5];
and a peripheral carrier absorbing portion (50,60) that is located between the first and second avalanche photodiodes when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the first main surface and is configured to absorb carriers located at a periphery [Figs. 4-5, respectively], and
when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the first main surface, on a line segment connecting the first avalanche photodiode (20) and the second avalanche photodiode (30) to each other at a shortest distance, a shortest distance (S1) between the first avalanche photodiode (20) and the peripheral carrier absorbing portion (50,60) is smaller than a shortest distance (S2) between the second avalanche photodiode (30) and a portion, which is closest to the first avalanche photodiode, of an edge (edge closest to the photodiode 20) of the peripheral carrier absorbing portion (50,60) [Figs. 4-5].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,322,744 in view of HIRONAKA MISAO (JP H06224463 A).
Regarding claims 1-12, U.S. Patent No. 12,322,744 discloses:
Claims
Current App.
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
‘803
1
3
4
5
6
7
1
1
8
9
2
1
However, U.S. Patent No. 12,322,744 does not disclose the “shortest” distances as recited in claims 1, 6-7, and 12.
HIRONAKA MISAO, as stated above, teaches a shortest distance (S1) between the avalanche photodiode and the peripheral carrier absorbing portion that is smaller than a shortest distance (S2) between the temperature compensation diode and a portion, which is closest to the avalanche photodiode, of an edge (edge closest to the photodiode 20) of the peripheral carrier absorbing portion (50) [See Figure 4, annotated above].
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify U.S. Patent No. 12,322,744 by incorporating the portion and respective distances as taught by HIRONAKA MISAO because it helps to reduce cost (see Abstract).
Conclusion
/Jose R Diaz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815