DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/23/2024. The submission is following the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheu (US 2014/0350771 A1) in view of Richter (US 2024/0192341 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sheu discloses (Fig.1) a system for measuring steering angle and a change of steering angle in a vehicle, comprising: a steering shaft that is rotatable (42, Fig.1) to change a steering angle of a vehicle (driverless vehicle 100) (see paragraphs [0014]-[0016], The driving shaft 42 is fixedly connected the steering wheel 41, which rotates the shaft and changes the turning angle of the driven wheels);
an emitter (46) that emits light (Fig. 1 and [0024], “the light emitter 46 emit light rays”); and a receiver (43) that receives light emitted from the emitter ([0025], “light receiver 43 receives the light rays”), wherein one of the emitter and the receiver is carried by the steering shaft for rotation with the steering shaft (Fig.1 and paragraph [0017], the light receivers 43 are positioned on different positions of the outer side surface 411 of the steering wheel 41 and rotating with it).
Although Sheu discloses a fixing ring 45 around and arranged radially spaced from a surface of the steering shaft ([0022] and Fig.1), Sheu does not disclose a fixing ring with reflective function as reflector, wherein the steering shaft is rotatable relative to the reflector; and the other of the emitter and receiver does not rotate with the steering shaft such that rotation of the steering shaft causes relative movement between the emitter and the reflector, and wherein the time between an emission of light from the emitter and receipt of light by the receiver is indicative of the steering angle as claimed.
Richter discloses a reflector (32, Fig.3) from which emitted light is reflected and received ([0036]), and wherein the time between an emission of light from the emitter and receipt of light by the receiver is indicative of the steering angle ([0032], “the angular position can be determined on the basis of the time interval between the emission and the reception of the laser light”). Thus, the combination would disclose a reflector arranged radially spaced from a surface of the steering shaft, wherein the steering shaft would be rotatable relative to the reflector; and the other of the emitter and receiver would not rotate with the steering shaft such that rotation of the steering shaft causes relative movement between the emitter and the reflector (because the reflector as modified, would remain stationary relative to the vehicle frame, while the steering shaft and associated emitter or receiver rotate with the shaft, (see paragraphs [0017] and [0022] of Sheu).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sheu, to incorporate a reflective surface, as taught by Richter, such that emitted light is reflected and used for angular position information, thereby improving signal quality and overall performance for the system.
Regarding claims 2-4, Sheu in view of Richter, as discussed in claim 1, Sheu discloses the fixing ring (45, Fig.1) being tubular and the steering shaft is located at least partially within the reflector ([0022], “The fixing ring 45 is ring-shaped, and sleeves the steering wheel 41, and is spaced a distance from the steering wheel”. However, Sheu does not disclose a fixing ring as a reflector as claimed. Richter discloses a reflector (transparent cover glass 32, Fig. 2) that is a stationary surface for angular detection (see Fig.2, [0032]). In combination, the emitter (46, Fig.2 of Sheu) is carried by the reflector (the modified fixing ring) and the receiver (43, Fig.2) is carried by the steering shaft (see Fig.2 of Sheu); and the steering shaft and reflector are coaxial (Fig.2 of Sheu, the reflector (the modified fixing ring) sleeves the steering wheel 41 and the driving shaft 42, the ring that sleeves a shaft indicates as coaxial). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sheu, by making the ring reflective, as taught by the reflective cover glass of Richter, to allow the steering angle to be measured at any point in the shaft’s rotation.
Regarding claim 5, Sheu in view of Richter, as discussed in claim 1, Sheu discloses multiple emitters (46, Fig. 2, the number of the light emitters 46 is eight) being provided equally circumferentially spaced apart about an axis of the steering shaft or the reflector (see Fig.2, and [0017], the eight emitters are equiangularly spaced from each other and fixed on the inner surface 45a of the ring that sleeves the steering shaft).
Regarding claim 6, Sheu in view of Richter, as discussed in claim 5, Sheu discloses multiple receivers (43, Fig. 2) being provided equally circumferentially spaced apart about an axis of the steering shaft or the reflector ([0017], “The light receivers 43 are positioned on different positions of the outer side surface 411 of the steering wheel 41” which rotates around the shaft axis).
Regarding claim 7, Sheu in view of Richter, as discussed in claim 5, Sheu discloses the fixing ring being radially spaced from the steering shaft, and the fixing ring has an inner side surface 45a facing the shaft ([0023]). Sheu does not disclose the fixing ring being a reflector as claimed. Richter disclose a reflector (cover glass 32, Fig.3) where a part 34 of the laser light is reflected back to a receiver. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inner surface of the fixing ring of Sheu to be reflected, as taught by Richter, to enable reflective angular detection, improving the measurement for the system.
Regarding claim 8, Sheu in view of Richter, as discussed in claim 2 , the combination teaches the receiver (43, Fig.2 of Sheu) being arranged on a radially outer surface of the steering shaft ( [0017], The light receivers 43 are positioned on different positions of the outer side surface 411 of the steering wheel 41, which is fixed to the shaft) and the emitter (46, Fig. 2 of Sheu) is carried by the reflector (the modified fixing ring, as stated above in claim 2) and arranged to emit light in a radially inward direction (Fig. 1 and [0023], “The light emitters 46 are fixed on the inner surface 45 a facing the outer side surface 411 of the shaft).
Regarding claim 9, Sheu in view of Richter, as discussed in claim 8 above, Richter discloses in a home position of the steering shaft that defines a steering angle of zero ([0036[], “position can be identified, for example, with a 0° position”), and Sheu discloses the emitter being radially aligned with the receiver ([0023], “Each light emitter 46 is aligned with the corresponding light receiver 43”).
Regarding claim 10, Sheu in view of Richter, as discussed in claim 6, Sheu discloses the multiple emitters and multiple receivers being arranged in pairs ([0023], “The light emitters 46 are corresponding to the light receivers 43”) with each pair having one emitter and one receiver and the receiver and emitter of each pair being different than all other pairs ([0023], “each light emitter 46 is aligned with the corresponding light receiver 43, and thus each light receiver 43 can receive the light rays from the corresponding light emitter 46”), and wherein the receiver of each pair is responsive to the light emitted from the emitter of the same pair ([0023], “Each light emitter 46 is aligned with the corresponding light receiver 43, and thus each light receiver 43 can receive the light rays from the corresponding light emitter 46”) and the receiver provides an output when light emitted from the emitter of the same pair is received at the receiver ([0018], “The processor 44 is electrically connected to the light receivers 43, and according to the location of the current light receiver and a location of a preceding light receiver 43 to determine an angle).
Regarding claim 11, Sheu in view of Richter, as discussed in claim 10, do not disclose that each emitter emits light at a different wavelength than the other emitters. However, selecting different wavelength is a well-known for preventing interference. Thus, absent any of criticality, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sheu in view of Richter, accordingly in order to prevent the interference between signals.
Regarding claim 12, Sheu in view of Richter, as discussed in claim 9, Sheu discloses four equally circumferentially spaced emitters (44)being provided (see Fig.2), and four equally circumferentially spaced receivers (43) are provided, the emitters and the receivers are arranged in pairs and each pair has one emitter and one receiver and the receiver and emitter of each pair are different than all other pairs ([0023], “Each light emitter 46 is aligned with the corresponding light receiver 43).
Regarding claim 13, Sheu in view of Richter, as discussed in claim 12, Sheu discloses the receiver (43, Fig.2) of each pair being responsive to the light emitted from the emitter of the same pair ([0023], “Each light emitter 46 is aligned with the corresponding light receiver 43”) and the receiver (43) provides an output when light emitted from the emitter of the same pair is received at the receiver ([0018], “The processor 44 is electrically connected to the light receivers 43, and according to the location of the current light receiver and a location of a preceding light receiver 43 to determine an angle).
Regarding claim 14, Sheu in view of Richter, as discussed in claim 1, Sheu discloses the emitter (46, Fig.1) emitting laser light or infrared light ([0023], “each of the light emitters 46 can include a laser diode”).
Regarding claim 15, Sheu in view of Richter, as discussed in claim 2, Sheu disclose inner surface (45a) and the outer surface 411 of the steering shaft as shown in Fig.1, but does not disclose the emitted light reflects off the inner surface of the reflector as claimed. Richter discloses emitted light reflecting off the inner surface of the reflector (see Fig.3, the light reflects off the cover glass 32) and in at least some positions of the steering shaft (the reflections occur “under certain angular positions”, [0029] and [0036], “in 180° increments”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sheu, by utilizing the teaching of Richter, to allow the steering angle to be measured at any point in the shaft’s rotation.
Regarding claim 16, Sheu discloses (Fig.1) a system for measuring steering angle and a change of steering angle in a vehicle, comprising: a steering shaft that is rotatable (42, Fig.1) to change a steering angle of a vehicle (driverless vehicle 100, Fig.1) ([0014]-[0016], The driving shaft 42 is fixedly connected the steering wheel 41, which rotates the shaft and changes the turning angle of the driven wheels); and a space is defined between the inner surface of a fixing ring and the outer surface of the steering shaft (Fig.1 and [0022], the fixing ring 45 is spaced from the steering wheel); multiple emitters (46, Fig.1) that each emit light into the space (see Fig.1); and multiple receivers (43) that each receive light emitted from at least one of the emitters ([0023], “The light emitters 46 are fixed on the inner surface 45 a, and are corresponding to the light receivers 43”), wherein either the multiple emitters or the multiple receivers are carried by the steering shaft for rotation with the steering shaft (Figs 1-2, [0017], the light receivers 43 are positioned on different positions of the outer side surface 411 of the steering wheel 41 and rotating with it).
Although Sheu discloses a fixing ring 45 around and arranged radially spaced from a surface of the steering shaft ([0022] and Fig.1), and the other of the multiple emitters or multiple receivers do not rotate with the steering shaft such that rotation of the steering shaft causes relative movement between the emitters and the fixing ring (see Fig.2, the emitter 46 mounted on the inner surface of the ring, the receivers 43 mounted on the steering shaft), Sheu does not disclose a fixing ring with reflective function as reflector, and wherein the time between an emission of light from the emitters and receipt of light by the receivers is indicative of the steering angle as claimed.
Richter discloses a reflector (32, Fig.3) from which emitted light is reflected and received ([0036]), and wherein the time between an emission of light from the emitter and receipt of light by the receiver is indicative of the steering angle ([0032], “the angular position can be determined on the basis of the time interval between the emission and the reception of the laser light”). In combination, the steering shaft would be rotatable relative to the reflector, and the reflector would be tubular, coaxial with the steering shaft and has a radially inner surface, and the other of the multiple emitters or multiple receivers do not rotate with the steering shaft such that rotation of the steering shaft causes relative movement between the emitters and the reflector as claimed. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sheu, to incorporate a reflective surface, as taught by Richter, such that emitted light is reflected and used for angular position information, thereby improving signal quality and overall performance for the system.
Regarding claim 17, Sheu in view of Richter, as discussed in claim 16, Sheu does not disclose a reflector as claimed. Richter discloses a reflector (transparent cover glass 32, Fig. 2) that is a stationary surface for angular detection (see Fig.2, [0032]). In combination, the emitter (46, Fig.2 of Sheu) is carried by the reflector (the modified fixing ring) and the receiver (43, Fig.2) is carried by the steering shaft (see Fig.2 of Sheu). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sheu, by making the ring reflective, as taught by the reflective cover glass of Richter, to allow the steering angle to be measured at any point in the shaft’s rotation.
Regarding claim 18, Sheu in view of Richter, as discussed in claim 16, Sheu discloses multiple receivers (43, Fig. 2) being provided equally circumferentially spaced apart about an axis of the steering shaft or the reflector ([0017], “The light receivers 43 are positioned on different positions of the outer side surface 411 of the steering wheel 41” which rotates around the shaft axis).
Regarding claim 19, Sheu in view of Richter, as discussed in claim 18, do not disclose that each emitter emits light at a different wavelength than the other emitters. However, selecting different wavelength is a well-known for preventing interference. Thus, absent any of criticality, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sheu in view of Richter, accordingly in order to prevent the interference between signals.
Regarding claim 20, Sheu in view of Richter, as discussed in claim 16, Sheu discloses each emitter (46, Fig.1) emitting laser light or infrared light ([0023], “each of the light emitters 46 can include a laser diode”), and the inner surface (45a) and the outer surface 411 of the steering shaft as shown in Fig.1, Sheu does not disclose the emitted light reflects off the inner surface of the reflector as claimed. Richter discloses emitted light reflecting off the inner surface of the reflector (see Fig.3, the light reflects off the cover glass 32) and in at least some positions of the steering shaft (the reflections occur “under certain angular positions”, [0029], and [0036], “in 180° increments”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sheu, by utilizing the teaching of Richter, to allow the steering angle to be measured at any point in the shaft’s rotation.
Conclusion
/M.T.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2878
/GEORGIA Y EPPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2878