DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (Claim(s) 1 – 8) in the reply filed on (4 – 10 – 2026) is acknowledged. Consequently, Invention II (Claim(s) 9 – 12) is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the same reply filed on (4 – 10 – 2026).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the resulting green body 40 may have projections (not shown) that extend up from the sidewalls and weirs that correspond to the riser locations (e.g., the slip slurry was added to completely fill the channel network 20 such that an additional amount filled in the risers) as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1 – 8 is /are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 1 – 2 recites the limitation "the mold" twice in both claim 1 & claim 2, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Highlighting, that there is sufficient antecedent basis for the crucible mold. For the purposes of examination, the mold will be understood to be the crucible mold.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claim(s) 1 – 2 & 4 – 8, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehkordi et al. (US 20190078231 A1, hereinafter Dehkordi) in view of Phillips et al. (US 20170022631 A1, hereinafter Phillips)Regarding claim 1,
A method for forming a unitized crucible assembly for holding a melt of silicon for forming a silicon ingot by the Czochralski method, the method comprising:
providing a crucible mold,
the mold comprising a porous body and
a channel network disposed within the porous body,
the channel network comprising:
a bottom channel;
an outer sidewall channel that extends from the bottom channel; and
an inner weir channel that extends from the bottom channel,
the inner weir channel being disposed interior to the outer sidewall channel;
introducing a slip slurry into the channel network to fill the bottom channel, outer sidewall channel and inner weir channel with the slip slurry,
the slip slurry comprising silica and a liquid carrier;
drawing at least a portion of the liquid carrier into the mold by capillary action to form a green body;
separating the green body from the crucible mold; and
sintering the green body to dry and densify the green body to form the unitized crucible assembly.
Dehkordi teaches the following:
While Dehkordi does not illustrate a mold with the specific shape as claimed. Dehkordi does teach a crucible with the specific shape as claimed and molding techniques for fabricating. Namely, as depicted in (Figs. 8 & 9}, multiple concentric crucibles are utilized to give the structure as depicting in the instant applications (Fig. 1). Highlighting the extreme similarly between (Fig. 8) and instant applications (Fig. 4). Accordingly, the following mapping best represents a molding with a channel network used to fabricate a crucible.
([0047]) teaches that this and/or other processes are used to make outer crucible 110. The method 500 generally includes mixing 502 silica and other components to form slip, casting 504 the slip into a mold, drying 506 the slip and/or mold to form a green body. Where the mold implemented in slip casting of the crucible acts as applicant’s crucible mold. In summary, a providing a crucible mold / mold used to fabricate a crucible is understood to be disclosed.
([0048]) teaches that casting 504 the slip into the mold includes pouring the slip mixture into the mold. The mold is typically made of plaster of Paris. Where plaster of Paris is understood to be highly porous and absorbent material composed of calcium sulfate hemihydrates, calcium carbonate and crystalline silica. In summary, the mold comprising a porous body / plaster of Paris is understood to be disclosed.
([0047]) teaches the method 500 generally includes mixing 502 silica and other components to form slip, casting 504 the slip into a mold. As illustrated in (Fig. 8) and provided within, the crucible shape is found to comprise a horseshoe or “U” shaped. To fabricate the horseshoe shaped crucible in a mold a channel or cavity must be provided in the mold that mirror that horseshoe shape. Accordingly, the mold is understood to be provided with a horseshoe shape cavity / channels that mirror that horseshoe shape of the crucible fabricated. In summary, a channel network disposed within the porous body is understood to be disclosed. T
As illustrated in (Fig. 8) and provided within, the crucible fabricated is shown to comprise a bottom channel as demarked by the bottom / central arrow. In summary, a mold with a bottom channel is understood to be disclosed
As illustrated in (Fig. 8) and provided within, the crucible fabricated is shown to comprise an outer sidewall channel that extends from the bottom channel as demarked by the left arrow. In summary, a mold with an outer sidewall channel that extends from the bottom channel is understood to be disclosed.
& g.) As illustrated in (Fig. 8) and provided within, the crucible fabricated is shown to comprise an inner weir channel that extends from the bottom channel as demarked by the right arrow, noting that the inner weir channel is found interior to the outer sidewall channel. In summary, a mold with an inner weir channel that extends from the bottom channel, with the inner weir channel being located interior to the outer sidewall channel is understood to be disclosed.
& j.) ([0048]) teaches that casting 504 the slip into the mold includes pouring the slip mixture into the mold. The mold is typically made of plaster of Paris. Where plaster of Paris is understood to be highly porous and absorbent material composed of calcium sulfate hemihydrates, calcium carbonate and crystalline silica. In summary, pour slip into a mold comprising a porous body / plaster of Paris is understood to be disclosed, with plaster of Paris providing for drawing at least a portion of the liquid carrier into the mold by capillary action to form a green body.
([0048]) teaches that The step of mixing 502 silica and other components to form slip includes mixing silica with dispersing agent, binder, and/or water to form slip. Where the slip is understood to comprise a liquid / water and silica. In summary, the molding material / slip slurry is understood to comprise silica and a liquid carrier / water.
& l.) ([0047]) teaches drying 506 the slip and/or mold to form a green body, removing 508 the green body from the mold, firing 510 the green body, and cooling 512 the green body. Where, the removing 508 the green body from the mold, firing 510 the green body are understood to act as applicant’s separating the green body from the crucible mold and sintering the green body to dry and densify the green body to form the unitized crucible assembly, respectively. In summary, separating / removing 508 the green body from the crucible mold followed by sintering / firing 510 the green body to dry and densify the green body to form the unitized crucible assembly is understood to be disclosed.
Regarding Claim 1, Dehkordi is silent details regarding the inner weir channel that extends from the bottom channel. In analogous art for a crucible assembly configured to contain the melt and grow a crystal ingot from a melt, (Abstract), Phillips suggests details regarding the structure of a crucible comprising an inner weir that extends from the bottom channel, and in this regard, Phillips teaches the following:
As illustrated in (Fig. 1), the crucible is shown to comprise an inner channel / inner weir 134 that extends from the bottom channel / base 126, noting that the inner weir channel / inner weir 134 is found interior to the outer sidewall channel / side wall 128. In summary, a mold with an inner weir channel that extends from the bottom channel, with the inner weir channel being located interior to the outer sidewall channel is understood to be disclosed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing a crucible via slip casting into a mold of Dehkordi. By modifying the crucible to comprise an inner weir channel that extends from the bottom channel, with the inner weir channel being located interior to the outer sidewall channel, as taught by Phillips. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement crucible to comprise an inner weir channel that extends from the bottom channel, with the inner weir channel being located interior to the outer sidewall channel as it provides for a plurality of weirs 132, 134 that separate the melt 108 into different melt zones, thereby facilitate melting solid feedstock material 120 before it reaches an area immediately adjacent to the growing crystal (e.g., the growth zone 139), ([0018]). Additionally, the modification provided is understood to be a change in shape. Accordingly, the case law for change in shape may be recited. Where, it has been held that a mere change in shape without affecting the functioning of the part would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47; Eskimo Pie Corp. v, Levous et aI., 3 USPQ 23, MPEP 2143. Furthermore, the modification provided is understood to be making the crucible integral or of one-piece construction. Accordingly, the case law for making integral may be recited. Where, the use of a one-piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in the prior art would be obvious. It has been held to be within the general skill of one working in the art to make plural parts unitary or integral, In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 133 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965); In re Lockhart, 90 USPQ 214.
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the mold comprises a porous body and draws the liquid carrier into the mold by capillary action.
Dehkordi teaches the following:
([0048]) teaches that casting 504 the slip into the mold includes pouring the slip mixture into the mold. The mold is typically made of plaster of Paris. Where plaster of Paris is understood to be highly porous and absorbent material composed of calcium sulfate hemihydrates, calcium carbonate and crystalline silica. In summary, pour slip into a mold comprising a porous body / plaster of Paris is understood to be disclosed, with plaster of Paris providing for drawing at least a portion of the liquid carrier into the mold by capillary action to form a green body.
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein a moisture content of the green body is less than about 50 wt%.
Dehkordi teaches the following:
([0029]) teaches allowing the compound to solidify by removing moisture from the compound. ([0029]) goes on to state that the water from the slurry begins to move out by capillary action (or with the help of vacuum drying), and a mass builds along the mold wall. When the desired thickness of the dried mass is reached, the rest of the slurry is poured out of the mold. The green ceramic is then removed from the mold, dried. Where drying is understood and intended to remove moisture content of the green body. Accordingly, removing moisture is understood to provide for reducing the moisture content of the green body to as close to 0 wt% as possible. In summary, drying the molded body provides for a moisture content of the green body is less than about 50 wt%. With ([0048]) noting that during the drying of the slip, dried mass forms along the mold wall. When the desired thickness of the dried mass is reached, the remaining liquid slurry is poured out. As such, the amount of water / moisture content is understood to impact the desired thickness of the dried mass. Highlighting, while no discrepancies are perceived to exist regarding the moisture content of the green body is less than about 50 wt%. The case law for result effective variables may be recited. Where, it is well settled that determination of optimum values of cause effective variables such as these process parameters is within the skill of one practicing in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), MPEP 2143 II (B).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the bottom channel, outer sidewall channel, and inner weir channel are each fluidly connected to each other.
Regarding Claim 5, Dehkordi is silent details regarding the bottom channel, outer sidewall channel, and inner weir channel are each fluidly connected to each other. In analogous art as applied above, Phillips suggests details regarding the bottom channel, outer sidewall channel, and inner weir channel are each fluidly connected to each other, and in this regard, Phillips teaches the following:
As illustrated in (Fig. 1), the crucible is shown to comprise an inner channel / inner weir 134 that extends from the bottom channel / base 126, and outside wall channel / sidewall 128. Which as illustrated the bottom channel / base 126, outer sidewall channel / sidewall 128, and inner weir channel / weir 134 are each fluidly connected to each other. In summary, the bottom channel / base 126, outer wall channel / sidewall 128, and inner weir channel / weir 134 are each fluidly connected to each other
The same rejection rationale, case law(s) and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 5,
Wherein the bottom channel is rounded and
the unitized crucible assembly is transparent and
includes a single layer bottom.
Dehkordi teaches the following:
As illustrated in (Fig. 4), the bottom channel / base of the crucible is rounded.
Regarding Claim 6, Dehkordi is silent details regarding the unitized crucible assembly is transparent and includes a single layer bottom. In analogous art as applied above, Phillips suggests details regarding the unitized crucible assembly is transparent and includes a single layer bottom, and in this regard, Phillips teaches the following:
As illustrated in (Fig. 1), the bottom channel / base 126 of the crucible is rounded.
& c.) (Abstract) teaches that the crucible assembly includes a substantially transparent crucible. ([0017]) teaches that in the example embodiment, the crucible assembly 106 includes a substantially transparent crucible 124 having a base 126 and a generally annular sidewall 128 extending around the circumference of the base 126. As illustrated in (Fig. 1), crucible assembly is found to have only a single layer bottom. Noting, that ([0034]) teaches that the crucible 124 becomes press formed against the susceptor 102, thus closing a gap defined therebetween. Namely, the susceptor 102 layer provided is understood to be pressed formed and not a portion / part of the transparent crucible 124 itself, hence they are two separate parts. In summary, the unitized crucible assembly is transparent and includes a single layer bottom.
The same rejection rationale, case law(s) and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the unitized crucible assembly comprises:
a bottom;
an outer sidewall that extends upward from the bottom; and
an inner weir that extends upward from the bottom,
the inner weir being disposed radially inward of the outer sidewall channel.
Dehkordi teaches the following:
& b.) As illustrated in (Fig. 4), the bottom channel / base of the crucible has an outer sidewall that extends upward from the bottom .
As illustrated in (Fig. 4), the inner weir is found to be located radially inward of the outer sidewall channel.
Regarding Claim 7, Dehkordi is silent details regarding the bottom channel, outer sidewall channel, and inner weir channel are each fluidly connected to each other. In analogous art as applied above, Phillips suggests details regarding the bottom channel, outer sidewall channel, and inner weir channel are each fluidly connected to each other, and in this regard, Phillips teaches the following:
& d.) As illustrated in (Fig. 1), the crucible is shown to comprise an inner channel / inner weir 134 that extends from the bottom channel / base 126, noting that the inner weir channel / inner weir 134 is found interior to the outer sidewall channel / side wall 128. In summary, a mold with an inner weir channel that extends from the bottom channel, with the inner weir channel being located interior to the outer sidewall channel is understood to be disclosed.
The same rejection rationale, case law(s) and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the slip slurry and/or crucible mold are selected to form a unitized crucible assembly having
a concentration of calcium of less than about 1 ppmw,
a concentration of sodium of less than about 0.5 ppmw,
a concentration of potassium of less than about 0.5 ppmw,
a concentration of lithium of less than about 0.5 ppmw, and
a concentration of iron of less than about 0.5 ppmw.
Dehkordi teaches the following:
– c.) & e.) Dehkordi notes on ([0029]) that the composition used to form the slurry comprises the ceramic powder (Silica) which may be mixed with dispersing agents, binders, water, and/or other components. The slip and/or slip mixture, e.g., slurry, is poured into a mold. ([0023]) notes that the high purity quartz sand has a total impurity level not exceeding 20 parts per million by weigh, i.e. X < 20 ppmw impurities. Highlighting, that Dehkordi makes no mention of calcium, sodium, potassium or iron in their entire disclosure. As such, the composition of the slurry is understood to be free from i.e., 0 ppmw of calcium, sodium, potassium or iron.
([0044]) stating that the melt 410 further includes impurities 430 introduced into melt 410 from outer wall 122 and lower purity portion 320 of inner crucible 120. Impurities 420 and impurities 430 are separated from growth zone 210 by inner crucible 120. Impurities 420 and impurities 430 are substantially contained within non-growth zone 220. At least a portion of at least one high-partial-pressure species of impurities 420 and/or impurities 430 leave melt 410 through evaporation 440. This occurs before the high-partial-pressure species reach growth zone 210 and are thus reduced in concentration from the crystal ingot pulled from growth zone 210. For example, one high-partial-pressure species is lithium. Recalling that ([0023]) notes that the high purity quartz sand has a total impurity level not exceeding 20 parts per million by weigh, i.e. X < 20 ppmw impurities. As such, the composition of the slurry is understood to have lithium impurities at < 20 ppmw which is found to overlap with applicant’s range of lithium < 0.5 ppmw. With Dehkordi recognizes on ([0034]) that impurities / lithium impact on low-injection minority carrier lifetime in crystals and lower the efficiency of solar cells made from the crystals. A high purity cast crucible reduces impurities and results in more efficient solar cells. Highlighting, while no discrepancies are perceived to exist regarding implementing a slurry composition that is free from i.e., 0 ppmw of lithium. The case law for result effect may be recited. Where, it is well settled that determination of optimum values of cause effective variables such as these process parameters is within the skill of one practicing in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), MPEP 2143 II (B).
B.) Claim(s) 3, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehkordi in view of Phillips and as evidenced by F.R.R Mallory (How to Make Plaster of Paris Molds, 2010, hereinafter Mallory)Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the porous body is made of porous silica.
Dehkordi teaches the following:
([0048]) teaches that casting 504 the slip into the mold includes pouring the slip mixture into the mold. The mold is typically made of plaster of Paris. With evidence from Mallory's (Abstract) teaching that Plaster of Paris is a molding material composed of calcium sulfate hemihydrates, calcium carbonate and crystalline silica.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the slip casting production method for a crucible apparatus that can be utilized in the production of polycrystalline silicon via the standard Czochralski (CZ) method, the apparatus includes a series of concentric crucibles that each have at least a single channel that allows for the creation of a crystal growth zone and no growth zone utilized in the Czochralski silicon crystal production of Dehkordi. By utilizing the knowledge that plaster of Paris is porous and comprises a silica as evidenced by Mallory, due to the fact it would amount to nothing more than a use of a known composition for plaster of Paris, for its intended use, in a known environment, to accomplish entirely expected result, as suggested by Mallory.C.) Claim(s) 3, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehkordi in view of Phillips and in further view of Loxley et al. (US 5389582 A, hereinafter Loxley)
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the porous body is made of porous silica.
Dehkordi teaches the following:
([0048]) teaches that casting 504 the slip into the mold includes pouring the slip mixture into the mold. The mold is typically made of plaster of Paris.
Regarding Claim 3, Dehkordi as modified by Phillips is silent details regarding the porous body mold is made of porous silica. In analogous art for cristobalite-seeded quartz glass crucible suited for crystal growing, (Abstract), Loxley suggests details regarding implementing a porous body mold that is made of porous silica, and in this regard, Loxley teaches the following:
(Col. 15, lines 42 – 43) teaches that a conventional plaster of Paris mold may be employed for slip casting the crucible. (Col. 16, lines 40 – 47) teaches that it will be understood that the crucible can be slip cast in a porous silica mold, rather than in a conventional plaster mold, to avoid calcium contamination and/or to permit use of a somewhat lower pH in the slurry, and that the particle size of the micronized particles in the slurry and the amount of the aluminum subacetate may be modified. Namely, substituting a plaster mold with a porous silica mold to fabricate a crucible. In summary, the porous body mold is made of porous silica.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the slip casting production method for a crucible apparatus that can be utilized in the production of polycrystalline silicon via the standard Czochralski (CZ) method, the apparatus includes a series of concentric crucibles that each have at least a single channel that allows for the creation of a crystal growth zone and no growth zone utilized in the Czochralski silicon crystal production of Dehkordi as modified by Phillips. By further modifying the porous body mold to be fabricated from porous silica, as taught by Loxley. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement, and a porous body mold fabricated of plaster of Paris with a porous body mold made from porous silica as it provides for avoiding calcium contamination and/or to permit use of a somewhat lower pH in the slurry. Additionally, the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable result and/or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success provides for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143. Furthermore, the use of a known material, i.e., porous silica, in a known environment namely a porous mold, for its intended purposes, specifically as a material for molding a crucible, provides for the recitation of known material in the art case law. Where, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), MPEP 2144.07.
D.) Claim(s) 4, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehkordi and in further view of Englisch et al. (US 5736206 A, hereinafter Englisch)Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein a moisture content of the green body is less than about 50 wt%.
Dehkordi teaches the following:
([0029]) teaches allowing the compound to solidify by removing moisture from the compound. ([0029]) goes on to state that the water from the slurry begins to move out by capillary action (or with the help of vacuum drying), and a mass builds along the mold wall. When the desired thickness of the dried mass is reached, the rest of the slurry is poured out of the mold. The green ceramic is then removed from the mold, dried. Where drying is understood and intended to remove moisture content of the green body. Accordingly, removing moisture is understood to provide for reducing the moisture content of the green body to as close to 0 wt% as possible. In summary, drying the molded body provides for a moisture content of the green body is less than about 50 wt%. With ([0048]) noting that during the drying of the slip, dried mass forms along the mold wall. When the desired thickness of the dried mass is reached, the remaining liquid slurry is poured out. As such, the amount of water / moisture content is understood to impact the desired thickness of the dried mass. Highlighting, while no discrepancies are perceived to exist regarding the moisture content of the green body is less than about 50 wt%. The case law for result effective variables may be recited. Where, it is well settled that determination of optimum values of cause effective variables such as these process parameters is within the skill of one practicing in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), MPEP 2143 II (B).
Regarding Claim 4, Dehkordi as modified by Phillips is silent details regarding a moisture content of the green body is less than about 50 wt%. In analogous art for cristobalite-seeded quartz glass crucible suited for crystal growing, (Abstract), Schwertfeger suggests details regarding a moisture content of the green body is less than about 50 wt%, and in this regard, Schwertfeger teaches the following:
(Col. 4, lines 40 – End) teaches all of the bases for the individual parts shown in (Figs. 1 – 6 are made by the slip casting method. The starting material for this process is highly pure, amorphous silicon dioxide with a chemical purity of 99.9%, which is produced from quartz sand or rock crystal. The starting material is ground in a powder. This grinding process is carried out together with demineralized water in a ball mill lined with polyurethane. As such, the slurry comprise water and silica / silicon dioxide (SiO2). Then the slip is poured into a hard plaster mold, which represents a negative mold for the base to be obtained. After the cast material has been held in its entirety in the mold for several hours, the crude molded blank is removed from the mold and partially dried. The drying process should proceed and be completed under mild conditions such as under slow, gradual heating to a temperature of 300° C., during which the individual temperature stages are maintained for periods of time on the order of 10 – 15 hours. The temperature should be elevated in steps of approximately 15° – 20° C. Where, drying a slurry that comprises only water and the silica at 300 °C is understood to removal all water and completely dry the molded crucible, i.e., the moisture content of the green body 0 wt%, which is understood to overlap with applicant’s range of the moisture content of the green body is less than 50 wt%. In summary, drying the slurry after molding at a temperature of 300 °C is understood to removal all water providing for a moisture content of the green body 0 wt% which overlaps with a moisture content of the green body being less than 50 wt%.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the slip casting production method for a crucible apparatus that can be utilized in the production of polycrystalline silicon via the standard Czochralski (CZ) method, the apparatus includes a series of concentric crucibles that each have at least a single channel that allows for the creation of a crystal growth zone and no growth zone utilized in the Czochralski silicon crystal production of Dehkordi as modified by Phillips. By further modifying the moisture content of the green body is less than about 50 wt%, as taught by Schwertfeger. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a moisture content of the green body is less than about 50 wt% as it provides for removing moisture and water, so that the molded article may undergo high-temperature sintering, (Col. 4, lines 40 – End). Highlighting, that the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way provides for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fritz Schwertfeger (WO 2005028385 A1) – teaches on (Pg. 2) that an SiO2 molded body is produced by pumping a dispersion containing SiO2 particles into a die-casting mold of a die-casting machine, in which the dispersion is dehumidified to form the SiO2 molded body via an inner and an outer porous plastic membrane
Swaminathan et al. (US 20140174337 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) A system for growing a crystal ingot includes a crucible and a weir. The crucible has a base and a sidewall for the containment of a silicon melt therein. The weir is located along the base of the crucible inward from the sidewall of the crucible. The weir has a body connected with at least a pair of legs disposed to inhibit movement of the silicon melt therebetween.
Philips et al. (US 11326271 B2) – teaches in the (Abstract) Methods for forming a unitized crucible assembly for holding a melt of silicon for forming a silicon ingot are disclosed. In some embodiments, the methods involve a porous crucible mold having a channel network with a bottom channel, an outer sidewall channel that extends from the bottom channel, and a central weir channel that extends from the bottom channel.
Simpson et al. (US 20040102308 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) A crucible material whose chemical composition consists essentially of, in weight %, about 93.5% to about 97.5% ZrO2, about 0.2% to about 1.0% MgO, about 1.0% to about 3.0% SiO2, and about 1.5% to about 2.5% Y2O3 wherein the SiO2 can be present as silica and a silicate of zirconium, magnesium, and/or yttrium. When formed to a crucible shape and sintered (fired) at elevated temperature, the ceramic material provides a crucible with improved resistance to thermal shock when heated to over 1100 degrees C.
Basak et al. (US 20180291524 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) Methods for growing single crystal ingots doped with volatile dopants and ingots grown according to the methods are described herein.
Chen et al. (US 20170356099 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) An apparatus for doping a melt of semiconductor or solar-grade material is provided. The apparatus includes a seed chuck, a seed crystal connected to the seed chuck, and a dopant container connected to the seed chuck. The seed chuck defines a first end of the apparatus, and the seed crystal defines a second end of the apparatus
Kimbel et al. (US 20140261155 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) A system for growing a crystal ingot from a melt includes a first crucible, a second crucible, and a weir. The first crucible has a first base with a top surface and a first sidewall that form a first cavity. The second crucible is located within the first cavity of the first crucible, and has a second base and a second sidewall that form a second cavity.
Swaminathan et al. (US 20180044815 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) A system for growing an ingot from a melt includes an outer crucible, an inner crucible, and a weir. The outer crucible includes a first sidewall and a first base. The first sidewall and the first base define an outer cavity for containing the melt.
Zepeda et al. (US 20180187329 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) Systems and methods for forming an ingot from a melt are disclosed. A system includes a crucible defining a cavity for receiving the melt, and a first and second barrier to inhibit movement of the melt.
et al. (US 20150144056 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) A system for growing an ingot from a melt includes an outer crucible, an inner crucible, and a weir. The outer crucible includes a first sidewall and a first base. The first sidewall and the first base define an outer cavity for containing the melt.
Swaminathan et al. (US 20140261154 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract)
Hudson et al. (US 11111597 B2) – teaches in the (Abstract) A method for growing a single crystal silicon ingot by the continuous Czochralski method is disclosed. The melt depth and thermal conditions are constant during growth because the silicon melt is continuously replenished as it is consumed, and the crucible location is fixed
Burke et al. (US 3608617 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) A method for casting in a founding flask in which molten metal is continuously poured below the surface of the previously added molten metal through a heated funnel which extends to the lower portion of the flask and meters the flow of molten metal into the flask.
Burke et al. (US 3435885 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) A flask for casting precision metallic parts wherein the molten metal is continuously added below the surface of the molten pool and heat is conducted away from the bottom of the casting so that no liquid pockets are formed as the casting solidifies.
Pannocchia et al. (US 11767610 B2) – teaches in the (Abstract) Methods for producing single crystal silicon ingots by Continuous Czochralski (CCz) are disclosed. A batch of buffer members (e.g., quartz cullets) is added to an outer melt zone of the crucible assembly before the main body of the ingot is grown.
Matthew Holtzberg (US 6344160 B1) – teaches in the (Abstract) A method for molding composite structural plastic components is disclosed wherein such components are cast from a polymerizable thermoset or thermoplastic composition in a conventional metal casting mold. In the instant invention, a low viscosity thermoset or thermoplastic composition having reinforcing fibers distributed therein is poured into conventional metal casting molds, obviating the need for high heats and pressures associated with injection or compression molding of composite materials as taught in the prior art.
Phillips et al. (US 20220127748 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) Methods for forming a unitized crucible assembly for holding a melt of silicon for forming a silicon ingot are disclosed. In some embodiments, the methods involve a porous crucible mold having a channel network with a bottom channel, an outer sidewall channel that extends from the bottom channel, and a central weir channel that extends from the bottom channel.
Phillips et al. (US 20220228292 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) Methods for forming a unitized crucible assembly for holding a melt of silicon for forming a silicon ingot are disclosed. In some embodiments, the methods involve a porous crucible mold having a channel network with a bottom channel, an outer sidewall channel that extends from the bottom channel, and a central weir channel that extends from the bottom channel.
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743