DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Entry of Amendments
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-11 have been amended.
New Claim(s) 12 have been added.
Rejections under 35 USC 102 and 103
Applicant’s amendments filed 06/02/2026 with respect to Claim(s) 1-12 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the reference(s) and/or ground(s) being used in the current rejection.
For further details see the rejections/objections for Claim(s) 1-12 herein.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 uses punctuation “, and” at the end 4th paragraph. Examiner suggests replacing with “; and” to restore clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUMURA et al. (US 20230064269; hereinafter MATSUMURA) in view of HOSAKA et al. (US 20170131364).
Regarding claim 1, MATSUMURA teaches in figure(s) 1-12 An information processing method for outputting a degradation degree (abs. measuring degradation level) of a chargeable and dischargeable battery, comprising:
acquiring log data (@108; fig. 3) indicative of a state history (performance information acquiring unit 112 fig. 3; para. 43 - information indicating the performance of a secondary battery such as nominal voltage, internal resistance, capacity, the number of charging times, charging rate, and the type of the secondary battery) of the battery and information indicative of a plurality of use fields (use history acquiring unit 114; para. 43 - information indicating driving history such as sudden start and steep turn of the electric vehicle 204 may be acquired as the use history. use history may also include information on various use states such as charge timings, the amount of charge on a single charge, and the temperature of the location of the electronic equipment 210) of the battery (battery 300; fig. 10) associated with the log data;
extracting specific log data associated with each of the use fields from the log data (138; para. 49 - degrading behavior specifying unit 138 specifies usage that accelerates degradation of a secondary battery; fig. 7);
estimating a degradation degree of the battery caused by use of the battery in each of the use fields based on the specific log data associated with each of the use fields (130,136; para. 49 - degradation measuring unit 130 calculates the degradation level of a secondary battery; para. 50 - estimation unit 136 performs various forecasting calculations on the basis of the degradation level of a secondary battery; fig. 4); and
outputting the degradation degree of the battery associated with each of the use fields (122/110; para. 47 - degradation estimation notifying unit 122 notifies the electronic equipment 210 of degradation estimation; figs. 8,12).
MATSUMURA does not teach explicitly estimating, independently of each of the use fields, a degradation degree of the battery; outputting each of the use fields.
However, HOSAKA teaches in figure(s) 1-17 estimating, independently of each of the use fields, a degradation degree of the battery (cycle degradation degree @123, storage degradation degree @132, total degradation degree @140; fig. 1); outputting each of the use fields (cycle degradation degree output and storage degradation degree output and total degradation degree output in figs. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of MATSUMURA by having estimating, independently of each of the use fields, a degradation degree of the battery; outputting each of the use fields as taught by HOSAKA in order to provide use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way as evidenced by "a cycle degradation estimation unit configured to estimate a future cycle degradation degree due to charge/discharge of the battery, a storage degradation estimation unit configured to estimate a future storage degradation degree over time inside the battery, and a battery degradation estimation unit configured to estimate a future battery degradation degree on the basis of the present total degradation degree, the future cycle degradation degree and the future storage degradation degree" (abstract).
Regarding claim 10, MATSUMURA teaches in figure(s) 1-12 An information processing apparatus for outputting a degradation degree (abs. measuring degradation level) of a chargeable and dischargeable battery, the information processing system comprising:
a processor (104; fig. 3); and
a memory (106) including a program that, when executed by the processor, causes the processor
to:
acquire (108; fig. 3) log data indicative of a state history (performance information acquiring unit 112 fig. 3; para. 43 - information indicating the performance of a secondary battery such as nominal voltage, internal resistance, capacity, the number of charging times, charging rate, and the type of the secondary battery) of the battery and information indicative of a plurality of use fields (use history acquiring unit 114; para. 43 - information indicating driving history such as sudden start and steep turn of the electric vehicle 204 may be acquired as the use history. use history may also include information on various use states such as charge timings, the amount of charge on a single charge, and the temperature of the location of the electronic equipment 210) of the battery (battery 300; fig. 10) associated with the log data;
extract (138) specific log data associated with each of the use fields from the log data (138; para. 49 - degrading behavior specifying unit 138 specifies usage that accelerates degradation of a secondary battery; fig. 7);
estimate (130) a degradation degree of the battery caused by use of the battery in each of the use fields on the basis of the specific log data associated with each of the use fields (130,136; para. 49 - degradation measuring unit 130 calculates the degradation level of a secondary battery; para. 50 - estimation unit 136 performs various forecasting calculations on the basis of the degradation level of a secondary battery; fig. 4); and
output (122) the degradation degree of the battery associated with each of the use fields (122/110; para. 47 - degradation estimation notifying unit 122 notifies the electronic equipment 210 of degradation estimation; figs. 8,12).
MATSUMURA does not teach explicitly estimate, independently of each of the use fields, a degradation degree of the battery; output each of the use fields.
However, HOSAKA teaches in figure(s) 1-17 estimate, independently of each of the use fields, a degradation degree of the battery (cycle degradation degree @123, storage degradation degree @132, total degradation degree @140; fig. 1); output each of the use fields (cycle degradation degree output and storage degradation degree output and total degradation degree output in figs. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of MATSUMURA by having estimating, independently of each of the use fields, a degradation degree of the battery; outputting each of the use fields as taught by HOSAKA in order to provide use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way as evidenced by "a cycle degradation estimation unit configured to estimate a future cycle degradation degree due to charge/discharge of the battery, a storage degradation estimation unit configured to estimate a future storage degradation degree over time inside the battery, and a battery degradation estimation unit configured to estimate a future battery degradation degree on the basis of the present total degradation degree, the future cycle degradation degree and the future storage degradation degree" (abstract).
Regarding claim 11, MATSUMURA teaches in figure(s) 1-12 a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (106; fig. 3; para. 152 - A secondary battery management program causing a computer to implement) storing a control program for an information processing apparatus for outputting a degradation degree (abs. measuring degradation level) of a chargeable and dischargeable battery, the control program causing a computer included in the information processing apparatus to serve as:
acquire (108; fig. 3) log data indicative of a state history (performance information acquiring unit 112 fig. 3; para. 43 - information indicating the performance of a secondary battery such as nominal voltage, internal resistance, capacity, the number of charging times, charging rate, and the type of the secondary battery) of the battery and information indicative of a plurality of use fields (use history acquiring unit 114; para. 43 - information indicating driving history such as sudden start and steep turn of the electric vehicle 204 may be acquired as the use history. use history may also include information on various use states such as charge timings, the amount of charge on a single charge, and the temperature of the location of the electronic equipment 210) of the battery (battery 300; fig. 10) associated with the log data;
extract (138) specific log data associated with each of the use fields from the log data (138; para. 49 - degrading behavior specifying unit 138 specifies usage that accelerates degradation of a secondary battery; fig. 7);
estimate (130) a degradation degree of the battery caused by use of the battery in each of the use fields on the basis of the specific log data associated with each of the use fields (130,136; para. 49 - degradation measuring unit 130 calculates the degradation level of a secondary battery; para. 50 - estimation unit 136 performs various forecasting calculations on the basis of the degradation level of a secondary battery; fig. 4); and
output (122) each of the use fields and the degradation degree of the battery associated with each of the use fields (122/110; para. 47 - degradation estimation notifying unit 122 notifies the electronic equipment 210 of degradation estimation; figs. 8,12).
MATSUMURA does not teach explicitly estimate, independently of each of the use fields, a degradation degree of the battery; output each of the use fields.
However, HOSAKA teaches in figure(s) 1-17 estimate, independently of each of the use fields, a degradation degree of the battery (cycle degradation degree @123, storage degradation degree @132, total degradation degree @140; fig. 1); output each of the use fields (cycle degradation degree output and storage degradation degree output and total degradation degree output in figs. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of MATSUMURA by having estimating, independently of each of the use fields, a degradation degree of the battery; outputting each of the use fields as taught by HOSAKA in order to provide use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way as evidenced by "a cycle degradation estimation unit configured to estimate a future cycle degradation degree due to charge/discharge of the battery, a storage degradation estimation unit configured to estimate a future storage degradation degree over time inside the battery, and a battery degradation estimation unit configured to estimate a future battery degradation degree on the basis of the present total degradation degree, the future cycle degradation degree and the future storage degradation degree" (abstract).
Regarding claim 12, MATSUMURA teaches in figure(s) 1-12 An information processing method for outputting a degradation degree of a chargeable and dischargeable battery (abs. measuring degradation level), by a computer (para. 152 - A secondary battery management program causing a computer to implement), the information processing method comprising:
acquiring log data (@108; fig. 3) indicative of a state history (performance information acquiring unit 112 fig. 3; para. 43 - information indicating the performance of a secondary battery such as nominal voltage, internal resistance, capacity, the number of charging times, charging rate, and the type of the secondary battery) of the battery and information indicative of a plurality of use fields (use history acquiring unit 114; para. 43 - information indicating driving history such as sudden start and steep turn of the electric vehicle 204 may be acquired as the use history. use history may also include information on various use states such as charge timings, the amount of charge on a single charge, and the temperature of the location of the electronic equipment 210) of the battery (battery 300; fig. 10) associated with the log data;
extracting specific log data associated with each of the use fields from the log data (138; para. 49 - degrading behavior specifying unit 138 specifies usage that accelerates degradation of a secondary battery; fig. 7);
acquiring a degradation characteristic of the battery in repeated use of the battery under each of a plurality of use conditions, and estimating a degradation degree of the battery caused by use of the battery in each of the use fields based on the deterioration characteristic of the battery associated with a use condition corresponding to a state of the battery indicated by the specific log data (degradation behavior data for different use conditions at repeated periods in fig. 7), and
outputting the degradation degree of the battery associated with each of the use fields (122/110; para. 47 - degradation estimation notifying unit 122 notifies the electronic equipment 210 of degradation estimation; figs. 8,12).
MATSUMURA does not teach explicitly outputting each of the use fields degradation degree.
However, HOSAKA teaches in figure(s) 1-17 outputting each of the use fields degradation degree (cycle degradation degree output and storage degradation degree output and total degradation degree output in figs. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of MATSUMURA by having outputting each of the use fields degradation degree as taught by HOSAKA in order to provide use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way as evidenced by "a cycle degradation estimation unit configured to estimate a future cycle degradation degree due to charge/discharge of the battery, a storage degradation estimation unit configured to estimate a future storage degradation degree over time inside the battery, and a battery degradation estimation unit configured to estimate a future battery degradation degree on the basis of the present total degradation degree, the future cycle degradation degree and the future storage degradation degree" (abstract).
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 9217779; hereinafter Xu) in view of HOSAKA.
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches in figure(s) 1-15 An information processing method for outputting a degradation degree (62, 64 fig. 6; col. 7 lns.50-55 – degradation model of an EV battery) of a chargeable and dischargeable battery (66, battery in figs. 6-7), by a computer (degradation subsystem 62-65; fig. 6), comprising:
acquiring log data indicative of a state history of the battery and information indicative of a plurality of use fields of the battery associated with the log data (col. 7 ln.63 - col. 8 ln 45 –"battery degradation model"; "record parameters for respective degradation factors, and determine degradation based on these parameters. The parameters may include battery attribute parameter, charge-discharge related parameter, usage environment parameter”);
extracting specific log data associated with each of the use fields from the log data (col. 8 ln 10-35 - "collect current degradation-related parameters, but also maintain history-related parameters, and thus form a degradation-related parameter log, or DCL, for a given battery.", and equations (2),(3));
estimating a degradation degree of the battery caused by use of the battery in each of the use fields on the basis of the specific log data associated with each of the use fields (col. 8 ln. 30-55 - equation (3), "Parameters related to a battery can be divided into battery attribute, operation parameter, environment parameter, vehicle parameter, operation mode, user information ... The operation parameter may include the parameters such as how many times the battery is charged, battery data collected periodically, ... measured history data and the like"); and
outputting degradation degree of the battery associated with each of the use fields (col. 9 lns. 1-6 - "The above are examples of the parameters that are available for collection"; and table in col. 9; fig. 4).
Xu does not teach explicitly estimating, independently of each of the use fields, a degradation degree of the battery; outputting each of the use fields.
However, HOSAKA teaches in figure(s) 1-17 estimating, independently of each of the use fields, a degradation degree of the battery (cycle degradation degree @123, storage degradation degree @132, total degradation degree @140; fig. 1); outputting each of the use fields (cycle degradation degree output and storage degradation degree output and total degradation degree output in figs. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xu by having estimating, independently of each of the use fields, a degradation degree of the battery; outputting each of the use fields as taught by HOSAKA in order to provide use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way as evidenced by "a cycle degradation estimation unit configured to estimate a future cycle degradation degree due to charge/discharge of the battery, a storage degradation estimation unit configured to estimate a future storage degradation degree over time inside the battery, and a battery degradation estimation unit configured to estimate a future battery degradation degree on the basis of the present total degradation degree, the future cycle degradation degree and the future storage degradation degree" (abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Xu teaches in figure(s) 1-15 the information processing method according to claim 1, wherein the battery is installed in a vehicle ("EV/HEV/PHEV" in 66; and "battery charging station", "household charging station" in 67) and is chargeable and dischargeable by a charge and discharge device outside the vehicle, and the use fields include use in the vehicle and use with the charge and discharge device (col. 11 table 3 - "array of discharge information", "array of charge information"; and col. 14 lns. 1-19 - "traveled road condition parameters").
Regarding claim 4, Xu teaches in figure(s) 1-15 the information processing method according to claim 3, wherein the use in the vehicle is classified into use during running of the vehicle (col. 14 lns. 1-19, col. 8 lns. 1-27 :- "traveled road condition parameters") and use during stopping of the vehicle vehicle (col. 19 lns. 24-36, col. 20 lns.13-20 wrt "battery discharging and connection schemes","charge station at home"), the information processing method further comprising: outputting respective ratios of degradation degrees of the battery associated with the use during running of the vehicle and the use during stopping of the vehicle to the degradation degree of the battery associated with the use in the vehicle (col. 20 lns. 50-64 - "relationship between charging current, duration and depth and battery degradation rate may be obtained based on the analysis of history DCL data").
Regarding claim 5, Xu teaches in figure(s) 1-15 the information processing method according to claim 3, wherein the use with the charge and discharge device is classified into charging use and discharging use ((col. 13 lns. 1-21 wrt charge/replace station"; and col. 17 lns. 48-60 wrt "charge and discharge in a test condition"), the information processing method further comprising: outputting respective ratios of degradation degrees of the battery associated with the charging use and the discharging use to the degradation degree of the battery associated with the use with the charge and discharge device (col. 23 ln. 60 - col. 24 ln 14 wrt "With a large amount of DCL information, and based on the degradation index obtained from the information, initial and updated degradation models, it is possible to easily obtain a relationship between the battery's degradation rate and various critical parameters. ...The data collected upon a trigger may include... pre-charge SOH, post-charge SOH, ... re-discharge SOH, post-discharge SOH, discharging power amount").
Regarding claim 6, Xu teaches in figure(s) 1-15 the information processing method according to claim 3 further comprising: acquiring at least one of first information on a state of the battery during discharge and second information on a state of the battery during charge from the specific log data; and outputting the at least one information ((col. 24 lns. 15-25; figs. 13-14).
Regarding claim 9, Xu teaches in figure(s) 1-15 the information processing method according to claim 1, wherein the degradation degree of the battery is a variation from an initial value of an SOH of the battery (claims 1,2 and col. 14 lns. 15-67 wrt "initial degradation model", and "update" the "initial deqradation model").
Regarding claim 10, Xu teaches in figure(s) 1-15 An information processing apparatus for outputting a degradation degree (col. 7 lns.50-55) of a chargeable and dischargeable battery (66, battery in figs. 6-7) comprising:
a processor (61-67; fig. 6); and
a memory (storage @61) including a program that, when executed by the processor, causes the processor
to:
acquire log data indicative of a state history of the battery and information indicative of a plurality of use fields of the battery associated with the log data (col. 7 ln.63 - col. 8 ln 45 –"battery degradation model"; "record parameters for respective degradation factors, and determine degradation based on these parameters. The parameters may include battery attribute parameter, charge-discharge related parameter, usage environment parameter”);
extract specific log data associated with each of the use fields from the log data (col. 8 ln 10-35 - "collect current degradation-related parameters, but also maintain history-related parameters, and thus form a degradation-related parameter log, or DCL, for a given battery.", and equations (2),(3));
estimate a degradation degree of the battery caused by use of the battery in each of the use fields on the basis of the specific log data associated with each of the use fields (col. 8 ln. 30-55 - equation (3), "Parameters related to a battery can be divided into battery attribute, operation parameter, environment parameter, vehicle parameter, operation mode, user information ... The operation parameter may include the parameters such as how many times the battery is charged, battery data collected periodically, ... measured history data and the like"); and
output the degradation degree of the battery associated with each of the use fields (col. 9 lns. 1-6 - "The above are examples of the parameters that are available for collection"; and table in col. 9; fig. 4).
Xu does not teach explicitly estimate, independently of each of the use fields, a degradation degree of the battery; output each of the use fields.
However, HOSAKA teaches in figure(s) 1-17 estimate, independently of each of the use fields, a degradation degree of the battery (cycle degradation degree @123, storage degradation degree @132, total degradation degree @140; fig. 1); output each of the use fields (cycle degradation degree output and storage degradation degree output and total degradation degree output in figs. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xu by having estimating, independently of each of the use fields, a degradation degree of the battery; outputting each of the use fields as taught by HOSAKA in order to provide use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way as evidenced by "a cycle degradation estimation unit configured to estimate a future cycle degradation degree due to charge/discharge of the battery, a storage degradation estimation unit configured to estimate a future storage degradation degree over time inside the battery, and a battery degradation estimation unit configured to estimate a future battery degradation degree on the basis of the present total degradation degree, the future cycle degradation degree and the future storage degradation degree" (abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Xu teaches in figure(s) 1-15 a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a control program for an information processing apparatus for outputting a degradation degree (col. 7 lns.50-55) of a chargeable and dischargeable battery (66, battery in figs. 6-7), the control program causing a computer included in the information processing apparatus to serve as:
acquire log data indicative of a state history of the battery and information indicative of a plurality of use fields of the battery associated with the log data (col. 7 ln.63 - col. 8 ln 45 –"battery degradation model"; "record parameters for respective degradation factors, and determine degradation based on these parameters. The parameters may include battery attribute parameter, charge-discharge related parameter, usage environment parameter”);
extract specific log data associated with each of the use fields from the log data (col. 8 ln 10-35 - "collect current degradation-related parameters, but also maintain history-related parameters, and thus form a degradation-related parameter log, or DCL, for a given battery.", and equations (2),(3));
estimate a degradation degree of the battery caused by use of the battery in each of the use fields on the basis of the specific log data associated with each of the use fields (col. 8 ln. 30-55 - equation (3), "Parameters related to a battery can be divided into battery attribute, operation parameter, environment parameter, vehicle parameter, operation mode, user information ... The operation parameter may include the parameters such as how many times the battery is charged, battery data collected periodically, ... measured history data and the like"); and
output the degradation degree of the battery associated with each of the use fields (col. 9 lns. 1-6 - "The above are examples of the parameters that are available for collection"; and table in col. 9).
Xu does not teach explicitly estimate, independently of each of the use fields, a degradation degree of the battery; output each of the use fields.
However, HOSAKA teaches in figure(s) 1-17 estimate, independently of each of the use fields, a degradation degree of the battery (cycle degradation degree @123, storage degradation degree @132, total degradation degree @140; fig. 1); output each of the use fields (cycle degradation degree output and storage degradation degree output and total degradation degree output in figs. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xu by having estimating, independently of each of the use fields, a degradation degree of the battery; outputting each of the use fields as taught by HOSAKA in order to provide use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way as evidenced by "a cycle degradation estimation unit configured to estimate a future cycle degradation degree due to charge/discharge of the battery, a storage degradation estimation unit configured to estimate a future storage degradation degree over time inside the battery, and a battery degradation estimation unit configured to estimate a future battery degradation degree on the basis of the present total degradation degree, the future cycle degradation degree and the future storage degradation degree" (abstract).
Claim(s) 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUMURA et al. in view of HOSAKA, and further in view of HOLME et al. (US 20200164763).
Regarding claim 2, MATSUMURA in view of HOSAKA teaches the information processing method according to claim 1,
MATSUMURA does not teach explicitly wherein, in the estimation, the degradation degree of the battery caused by the use of the battery in each of the use fields is estimated by inputting the specific log data to a trained model that has learned a relationship between the state history of the battery and the degradation degree of the battery.
However, HOLME teaches in figure(s) 1-6 wherein, in the estimation, the degradation degree of the battery caused by the use of the battery in each of the use fields is estimated by inputting the specific log data to a trained model (para. 34 - training and re-training a battery model, and using the trained battery model to predict a battery state; fig. 1) that has learned a relationship between the state history of the battery and the degradation degree of the battery (paras. 124-129).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of MATSUMURA by having T as taught by HOLME in order to provide feature within the scope of the customary practice followed by persons skilled in the art as evidenced by "A battery management system (BMS) for a vehicle includes a module for estimating the state of a rechargeable battery, such as its state of charge, in real time. The module includes a learning model for predicting the state of a battery based on the vehicle's usage and related factors unique to the vehicle, in addition to a sensed voltage, current and temperature of a battery" (abstract of HOLME).
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of HOSAKA, and further in view of HYUN et al. (KR 20210149626).
Regarding claim 7, Xu in view of HOSAKA teaches the information processing method according to claim 6,
Xu does not teach explicitly wherein the first information includes a histogram indicative of a relationship between a discharge rate indicative of a discharge amount per a unit time from the battery and a total time during which the battery is discharged at the discharge rate, and the second information includes a histogram indicative of a relationship between a charge rate indicative of a charge amount per a unit time for the battery and a total time during which the battery is charged at the charge rate.
However, HYUN teaches in figure(s) 1-10 wherein the first information includes a histogram indicative of a relationship between a discharge rate indicative of a discharge amount per a unit time from the battery and a total time during which the battery is discharged at the discharge rate, and the second information includes a histogram indicative of a relationship between a charge rate indicative of a charge amount per a unit time for the battery and a total time during which the battery is charged at the charge rate (paras. 103,116,160 - "accumulated time values", "accumulated time values are preferably normalized as a ratio based on the total usable time", "weiqhted averaqe of the deqree of deqradation"; figs. 1,3-10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xu by having wherein the first information includes a histogram indicative of a relationship between a discharge rate indicative of a discharge amount per a unit time from the battery and a total time during which the battery is discharged at the discharge rate, and the second information includes a histogram indicative of a relationship between a charge rate indicative of a charge amount per a unit time for the battery and a total time during which the battery is charged at the charge rate as taught by HYUN in order to provide "determine the deterioration degree of the battery from the data of diagnosis and analysis, to generate the update information of the charging and discharging control logic of the battery depending on the determined deterioration degree and to provide the same to the electric vehicle control device …for providing a battery service and a method thereof, wherein various additional services about a battery can be provided based on big data" (abstract).
Regarding claim 8, Xu teaches in figure(s) 1-15 the information processing method according to claim 3,
Xu does not teach explicitly outputting a histogram indicative of a relationship between a depth of discharge in a discharge of the battery immediately before a start of a charge of the battery and a number of times of chargings of the battery having the depth of discharge on the basis of the specific log data.
However, HYUN teaches in figure(s) 1-10 further comprising: outputting a histogram indicative of a relationship between a depth of discharge in a discharge of the battery immediately before a start of a charge of the battery and a number of times of chargings of the battery having the depth of discharge on the basis of the specific log data (paras. 103,116,160 in particular wrt "accumulated time values", "accumulated time values are preferably normalized as a ration based on the total usable time", "weiqhted averaqe of the deqree of deqradation"; figs. 1,3-10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Xu by having ; figs. 1,3-10 as taught by HYUN in order to provide "determine the deterioration degree of the battery from the data of diagnosis and analysis, to generate the update information of the charging and discharging control logic of the battery depending on the determined deterioration degree and to provide the same to the electric vehicle control device …for providing a battery service and a method thereof, wherein various additional services about a battery can be provided based on big data" (abstract).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AKM ZAKARIA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858