DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the filing of this application on 23 July 2024. Claims 1-21 are pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 16, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Yoon, US 2025/0120280.
With respect to claim 1, Yoon discloses a light emitting display apparatus, shown in Fig. 9, comprising:
a pixel driving circuit layer GI disposed on a substrate SUB, see Fig. 9 and paragraph [0115]-[0119];
a planarization layer ILD disposed on the pixel driving circuit layer GI, see Fig. 9 and paragraphs [0115]-[0119];
an insulation layer VIA/BNK disposed on the planarization layer ILD, see Fig. 9 and paragraphs [0115]-[0124];
a nanoparticle layer CCP1/CCP2/CCP3 disposed in the insulation layer VIA/BNK (the first anode PE1, the second anode PE2 and the third anode PE3 contain quantum dots QD1, QD2, and QD3, respectively, see paragraph [0079]), as shown in Fig.9; and
a first anode PE1, a second anode PE2, and a third anode PE3 disposed on the insulation layer VIA/BNK,
wherein the nanoparticle layer CCP1/CCP2/CCP3 is disposed under at least one of the first anode PE1, the second anode PE2 and the third anode PE3, as shown in Fig. 9.
With respect to claim 2, in the light emitting display of Yoon, a first reflection electrode RMTL1 is disposed under the first anode PE1, a second reflection electrode RMTL2 is disposed under the second anode PE2, and a third reflection electrode RMTL3 is disposed under the third anode PE3, as shown in Fig. 9, and
wherein the nanoparticle layer CCP1/CCP2/CCP3 is disposed between the first anode PE1 and the first reflection electrode RMTL1, between the second anode PE2 and the second reflection electrode RMTL2, or between the third anode PE3 and the third reflection electrode RMTL3, as shown in Fig. 9, see paragraphs [0075]-[0076].
With respect to claim 16, in the light emitting display apparatus of Yoon, wherein the first anode PE1 is an anode in a red sub-pixel SPX1, the second anode PE2 is an anode in a green sub-pixel SPX2, and the third anode PE3 is an anode in a blue sub-pixel SPX3, see paragraph [0111].
With respect to claim 17, Yoon discloses a light emitting display apparatus, shown in Fig. 9, comprising:
a first sub-pixel SPX1, a second sub-pixel SPX2 and a third sub-pixel SPX3 disposed on a substrate SUB, as shown in Fig. 9,
the first, second and third sub-pixels SPX1/SPX2/SPX3 including first, second and third anodes PE1/PE2/PE3, respectively, see Fig. 9;
a first reflection electrode RMTL1 disposed under the first anode PE1 of the first sub-pixel SPX1, see Fig. 9 and paragraphs [0075]-[0076];
a second reflection electrode RMTL2 disposed under the second anode PE2 of the second sub-pixel SPX2, see Fig. 9 and paragraphs [0075]-[0076];
a third reflection electrode RMTL3 disposed under the third anode PE3 of the third sub-pixel SPX3, see Fig. 9 and paragraphs [0075]-[0076]; and
a nanoparticle layer CCP1/CCP2/CCP3 disposed between the first reflection electrode RMTL1 and the first anode PE1, between the second reflection electrode RMTL2 and the second anode PE2, or between the third reflection electrode RMTL3 and the third anode PE3, as shown in Fig. 9.
With respect to claim 21, in the light emitting display apparatus of Yoon, the nanoparticle layer CCP1/CCP2/CCP3 includes a first nanoparticle layer CCP1 including a first plurality of nanoparticles QD1, and a second nanoparticle layer CCP3 including a second plurality of nanoparticles QD3, and wherein at least one of the first, second and third reflection electrodes (the second reflection electrode RMTL2) is disposed between the first nanoparticle layer CCP1 and the second nanoparticle layer CCP3, as shown in Fig. 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon, US 2025/0120280, as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, in view of Yoon et al., US 2025/0351649.
Yoon is applied as above. Yoon lacks anticipation of a first diameter of a first nanoparticle QD1 under the first anode PE1, a second diameter of a second nanoparticle QD2 under the second anode PE2, and a third diameter of a third nanoparticle QD3 under the third anode PE3 are different from each other. In the same field of endeavor, Yoon et al. disclose a light emitting display apparatus, shown in Fig. 3,. in which the plurality of nanoparticles in the nanoparticle layer CCP1/CCP2/CCP3 have different diameters, see paragraphs [0019], [0053], and [0107]-[0111]. Yoon et al. further teach that by controlling the particle size of quantum dots, light of a desired or suitable color can be displayed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the nanoparticles in the nanoparticle layer of Yoon could have different diameters, since light of a desired or suitable color is displayed by controlling the diameter of the quantum dots in a nanoparticle layer.
With respect to claim 18, Yoon et al. disclose the quantum dots are indium or cadmium, see paragraph [0053]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the quantum dots in the nanoparticle layer CCP1/CCP2/CCP3 in the known display apparatus of Yoon could include a plurality of metal nanoparticles.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-14, 19, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record is Yoon. Although Yoon discloses a first reflection electrode RMTL1 is disposed under the first anode PE1, a second reflection electrode RMTL2 is disposed under the second anode PE2, and a third reflection electrode RMTL3 is disposed under the third anode PE3, and wherein the nanoparticle layer CCP1/CCP2/CCP3 is disposed between the first anode PE1 and the first reflection electrode RMTL1, between the second anode PE2 and the second reflection electrode RMTL2, or between the third anode PE3 and the third reflection electrode RMTL3, as shown in Fig. 9, Yoon fails to teach or suggest a distance between the first anode and the first reflection electrode, a distance between the second anode and the second reflection electrode, and a distance between the third anode and the third reflection electrode are different from each other, and wherein the nanoparticle layer is disposed on an upper surface of at least one of the first reflection electrode, the second reflection electrode, and the third reflection electrode, as required in dependent claim 3.
Claim 4 is objected to by virtue of its dependency from claim 3.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record is Yoon. Although Yoon discloses a first reflection electrode RMTL1 is disposed under the first anode PE1, a second reflection electrode RMTL2 is disposed under the second anode PE2, and a third reflection electrode RMTL3 is disposed under the third anode PE3, and wherein the nanoparticle layer CCP1/CCP2/CCP3 is disposed between the first anode PE1 and the first reflection electrode RMTL1, between the second anode PE2 and the second reflection electrode RMTL2, or between the third anode PE3 and the third reflection electrode RMTL3, as shown in Fig. 9, Yoon fails to teach or suggest a first distance between the first anode and the first reflection electrode, a second distance between the second anode and the second reflection electrode, and a third distance between the third anode and the third reflection electrode are different from each other, wherein the nanoparticle layer is provided on at least one of the first reflection electrode, the second reflection electrode, and the third reflection electrode, and wherein the nanoparticle layer is spaced apart from the first reflection electrode, the second reflection electrode, and the third reflection electrode, as required in dependent claim 5.
Claims 6-14 are objected to by virtue of their dependency from claim 5.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record is Yoon. Yoon discloses the nanoparticle layer CCP1/CCP2/CCP3 includes a first nanoparticle layer CCP1 and a second nanoparticle layer CCP2, as shown in Fig. 9. However, Yoon fails to teach or suggest the first nanoparticle layer is located at a first distance away from the substrate, and the second nanoparticle layer is located at a second distance away from the substrate, the second distance being different than the first distance, as required in dependent claim 19.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record is Yoon. Although Yoon discloses the nanoparticle layer CCP1/CCP2/CCP3 includes a first nanoparticle layer CCP3 including a first plurality of nanoparticles QD3 disposed between the third reflection electrode RMTL3 and the third anode PE3, and a second nanoparticle layer CCP2 including a second plurality of nanoparticles QD2 disposed between the second reflection electrode RMTL2 and the second anode PE2, as shown in Fig. 9, Yoon fails to teach or suggest , sizes of the first plurality of nanoparticles QD3 are greater than sizes of the second plurality of nanoparticles QD2, as required in dependent claim 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additionally cited references disclose different display apparatuses comprising a nanoparticle layer or corrugation layer..
MARY A. WILCZEWSKI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/MARY A WILCZEWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898