DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8 and 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Popp et al (U.S. Patent Pub. # US 2023/0345446 A1) in view of Saha et al (U.S. Patent # US 11,096,100 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Popp et al discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (figure2, a user equipment 10), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (figure 2, a memory 14 and processor 12; paragraph 0030), the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to: transmit, to a network node (figure 5, step 130; paragraph 0051, “…the user equipment 10 transmits an indication of its capabilities, including whether it is capable of performing transmission diversity, to the base station 104”), capability information indicating a set of uplink transmission capabilities (paragraph 0051); transmit, to the network node, an indication of a power class switch from a first power class associated with a first uplink transmission power to a second power class associated with a second uplink transmission power (figure 5, step 132; paragraph 0052); transmit, to the network node, an indication of a power class switching mode associated with the power class switch (figure 5, step 136; paragraph 0053), transmit, to the network node, an uplink transmission based at least in part on one or more revised uplink transmission capabilities, from the set of uplink transmission capabilities, associated with the power class switching mode (paragraphs 0052-0053)..
Popp et al does not disclose an uplink transmission based at least in part on one or more revised uplink transmission capabilities.
Saha et al discloses transmit, to the network node, a transmission based at least in part on one or more revised transmission capabilities (column 18, lines 32-39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Saha et al in to the apparatus of Popp et al, such that ), the UE could be transmitted to the network node, an uplink transmission based at least in part on one or more revised uplink transmission capabilities, from the set of uplink transmission capabilities, associated with the power class switching mode in order to provide the UE with increased peak data rate and improved quality of communications as taught by Saha et al (column 4, lines 53-58).
Regarding claim 2, Popp et al in view of Saha et al discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Popp et al discloses wherein the indication of the power class switching mode indicates whether a maximum transmission power is reduced across all of a set of power amplifiers of the UE(paragraph 0041).
Regarding claim 3, Popp et al in view of Saha et al discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Popp et al discloses wherein the power class switching mode is one of: a first power class fallback mode associated with reducing a maximum transmission power across all of a set of power amplifiers of the UE, a second power class fallback mode associated with deactivating a subset of the set of power amplifiers of the UE, or a third power class fallback mode associated with applying a reduced sum-power constraint across the set of power amplifiers of the UE (paragraphs 0041-0043 and 0048, “… the user equipment 10 to indicate that, when falling back to the lower power class, it may perform single transmission instead of transmission diversity.”).
Regarding claim 5, Popp et al in view of Saha et al discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Popp et al discloses wherein the indication of the power class switching mode is included in a same transmission as the indication of the power class switch (paragraph 0053).
Regarding claim 6, Popp et al in view of Saha et al discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Popp et al discloses wherein the indication of the power class switch and the indication of the power class switching mode are included in a power headroom report (PHR) (paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 7, Popp et al in view of Saha et al discloses the apparatus of claim 1. As indicated above, Popp et al discloses wherein the one or more uplink transmission capabilities associated with the power class switching mode are indicated in the capability information (paragraphs 0052-0053), except for revised uplink transmission.
Saha et al discloses revised transmission (column 18, lines 32-39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Saha et al in to the apparatus of Popp et al, such that ), the one or more revised uplink transmission capabilities associated with the power class switching mode could be indicated in the capability information in order to provide the UE with increased peak data rate and improved quality of communications as taught by Saha et al (column 4, lines 53-58).
Regarding claim 8, Popp et al in view of Saha et al discloses the apparatus of claim 1. As indicated above, Popp et al discloses wherein an indication of the one or more uplink transmission capabilities is included in a same communication as the indication of the power class switch (paragraph 0053) except for revised uplink transmission.
Saha et al discloses revised transmission (column 18, lines 32-39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Saha et al in to the apparatus of Popp et al, such that an indication of the one or more uplink revised transmission capabilities could be included in a same communication as the indication of the power class switch in order to provide the UE with increased peak data rate and improved quality of communications as taught by Saha et al (column 4, lines 53-58).
Regarding claim10, Popp et al in view of Saha et al discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Popp et al discloses wherein the second uplink transmission power is lower than the first uplink transmission power, and wherein the power class switch is a power class fallback from the first power class to the second power class (paragraphs 0052-0053).
Regarding claim 11, Popp et al in view of Saha et al discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Popp et al disclose Popp et al discloses wherein the first power class is a power class 2 (PC2) and the second power class is a power class 3 (PC3) (paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 12, Popp et al discloses a network node for wireless communication (figures 4-5, a base station 104), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (paragraph 0035), the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to: receive, from a user equipment (UE), capability information indicating a set of uplink transmission capabilities (figure 5, step 134; paragraph 0052); receive, from the UE, an indication of a power class switch from a first power class associated with a first uplink transmission power to a second power class associated with a second uplink transmission power (figure 5, steps 134 and 138; paragraphs 0052-0053); receive, from the UE, an indication of a power class switching mode associated with the power class switch (paragraphs 0052-0053); and receive, from the UE, an uplink transmission based at least in part on one or more uplink transmission capabilities, from the set of uplink transmission capabilities, associated with the power class switching mode (paragraphs 0052-0053)..
Popp et al does not disclose an uplink transmission based at least in part on one or more revised uplink transmission capabilities.
Saha et al discloses transmit, to the network node, a transmission based at least in part on one or more revised transmission capabilities (column 18, lines 32-39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Saha et al in to the apparatus of Popp et al, such that , the base station could be received from the UE, an uplink transmission based at least in part on one or more revised uplink transmission capabilities, from the set of uplink transmission capabilities, associated with the power class switching mode in order to provide the UE with increased peak data rate and improved quality of communications as taught by Saha et al (column 4, lines 53-58).
Regarding claim 13, and as applied to the claim 12, claim 13 is similar in scope to the claim 2 and thus the rejection to claim 2 hereinabove is also applicable to claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, and as applied to the claim 12, claim 14 is similar in scope to the claim 3 and thus the rejection to claim 3 hereinabove is also applicable to claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, and as applied to the claim 12, claim 15 is similar in scope to the claim 5 and thus the rejection to claim 5 hereinabove is also applicable to claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, and as applied to the claim 12, claim 16 is similar in scope to the claim 6 and thus the rejection to claim 6 hereinabove is also applicable to claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is similar in scope to the claim 1 except in method form and thus the rejection to claim 1 hereinabove is also applicable to claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, and as applied to the claim 17, claim 18 is similar in scope to the claim 2 except in method form and thus the rejection to claim 2 hereinabove is also applicable to claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, and as applied to the claim 17, claim 19 is similar in scope to the claim 3 except in method form and thus the rejection to claim 3 hereinabove is also applicable to claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, and as applied to the claim 17, claim 20 is similar in scope to the claim 5 except in method form and thus the rejection to claim 5 hereinabove is also applicable to claim 20.
2. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Popp et al (U.S. Patent Pub. # US 2023/0345446 A1) in view of Saha et al (U.S. Patent # US 11,096,100 B1) further in view of Kim et al (U.S. Patent Pub. # US 2018/0098234 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Popp et al in view of Saha et al discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Popp et al in view of Saha et al does not disclose wherein the one or more revised uplink transmission capabilities include at least one of: a full power transmission capability, a multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) coherence capability, a supported number of MIMO layers in codebook-based uplink transmission, or a supported number of MIMO layers in non-codebook-based uplink transmission.
Kim et al discloses a multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) coherence capability (paragraph 0122), a revised uplink transmission capabilities include a supported number of MIMO layers in codebook-based uplink transmission (paragraphs 0170 and 0177.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim et al in to the apparatus of Popp et al in view of Saha et al, such that the revised uplink transmission capabilities could be included a supported number of MIMO layers in codebook-based uplink transmission in order to eliminate an interference with other UEs
as taught by Kim et al (paragraph 0122).
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/FATUMA G SHERIF/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649