DETAILED ACTION
Elections/Restrictions
1. This office action is a response to Applicant's election filed on 10/03/2025 without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 for further examination. Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/23/2024 & 06/12/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “storage unit” in claims 1 & 4-5; “supply unit” in claims 1-4 & 8; “slurry measuring unit” in claims 1-2 & 9; “drying apparatus” in claim 6.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner' s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-2 & 6 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han (CN 116833054 A) hereinafter Han (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Han are included between parentheses).
As regards to claim 1, Han discloses an apparatus for manufacturing an electrode of a secondary battery (abs; fig 1), comprising:
a storage unit (2) to store a slurry (abs; [0033]-[0034]; fig 1; clm 1);
a die coater (6) connected (see fig 1) to the storage unit (2), and configured to discharge the slurry onto a substrate (7) (abs; [0033]-[0034]; fig 1; clm 1);
a supply unit (3+4) connected (see fig 1) to the storage unit (2) and the die coater (6), and configured to supply the slurry from the storage unit (2) to the die coater (6) (abs; [0033]-[0034]; fig 1; clm 1);
a slurry measuring unit (5+9) configured to measure a density and a flow rate of the slurry supplied from the supply unit (3+4) (abs; [0008]-[0009]; [0026]; [0033]-[0034]; fig 1; clm 1); and
a controller (10) configured to control the supply unit (3+4) based on the density and the flow rate of the slurry transmitted from the slurry measuring unit (5+9) (abs; [0008]-[0009]; [0026]; [0033]-[0046]; fig 1; clm 1).
As regards to claim 2, Han discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1), wherein the supply unit (3+4) comprises a pump (3) and a pulsation dampener (4), wherein the controller (10) is configured to calculate a target flow rate based on a solid weight ratio of the slurry and the density of the slurry transmitted from the slurry measuring unit (5+9), and wherein the controller (10) is configured to control the pump (3) based on the target flow rate (abs; [0008]-[0024]; [0026]; [0033]-[0046]; fig 1; clm 1).
As regards to claim 6, Han discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1), further comprising a drying apparatus ([0009]; [0034]) configured to dry the slurry discharged onto the substrate (7) ([0008]-[0009]; [0033]-[0034]; fig 1; clm 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fujii (JP 2012-016656 A) hereinafter Fujii (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Fujii are included between parentheses).
As regards to claim 3, Han discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1), the supply unit (3+4) connected (see fig 1) to the die coater (6), and the controller (10) ([0008]-[0009]; [0033]-[0034]; fig 1; clm 1), however Han does not disclose a supply control valve connected to the die coater (6), and wherein the controller (10) is configured to control an opening and a closing of the supply control valve.
Fujii discloses an apparatus for a manufacturing line (abs; fig 1), wherein the supply unit comprises a supply control valve (9) connected to the die coater (1), and wherein the controller (18) is configured to control an opening and a closing of the supply control valve (9) ([0004]-[0005]; [0014]; [0018]-[0020]; [0022]; fig 1). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a supply control valve connected to the die coater, and wherein the controller is configured to control an opening and a closing of the supply control valve in the apparatus of Han, because Fujii teaches the use of a supply control valve (9) connected to the die coater (1), and wherein the controller (18) is configured to control an opening and a closing of the supply control valve (9) to control and modify the flow and pressure of the slurry to the die coater during the coating process ([0004]-[0005]; [0014]; [0018]-[0020]; [0022]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 4, Han discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1), the supply unit (3+4) connected (see fig 1) to the die coater (6), the controller (10) and the storage unit (2) ([0008]-[0009]; [0033]-[0034]; fig 1; clm 1), however Han does not disclose a supply control valve connected to the die coater (6), and a circulation control valve connected to the supply control valve and the storage unit (2).
Fujii discloses an apparatus for a manufacturing line (abs; fig 1), wherein the supply unit comprises a supply control valve (9) connected to the die coater (1), and a circulation control valve (13+14) connected to the supply control valve (9) and the storage unit (4) ([0004]-[0005]; [0014]; [0018]-[0020]; [0022]; fig 1). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a supply control valve connected to the die coater, and a circulation control valve connected to the supply control valve and the storage unit in the apparatus of Han, because Fujii teaches the use of a supply control valve (9) connected to the die coater (1), and a circulation control valve (13+14) connected to the supply control valve (9) and the storage unit (4) to control and modify the flow and pressure of the slurry to the die coater during the coating process and to return the slurry inside the die head to the supply tank to circulate the slurry, thereby removing the precipitated particles ([0004]-[0005]; [0014]; [0018]-[0020]; [0022]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 5, Han discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1), the controller (10) and the storage unit (2) ([0008]-[0009]; [0033]-[0034]; fig 1; clm 1), however Han does not disclose wherein the controller (10) is configured to control the circulation control valve to adjust an amount of the slurry returning to the storage unit (2).
Fujii discloses an apparatus for a manufacturing line (abs; fig 1), wherein the controller (18) is configured to control the circulation control valve (13+14) to adjust an amount of the slurry returning to the storage unit (4) ([0004]-[0005]; [0014]; [0018]-[0020]; [0022]; fig 1). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the controller configured to control the circulation control valve to adjust an amount of the slurry returning to the storage unit in the apparatus of Han, because Fujii teaches the use of the controller (18) is configured to control the circulation control valve (13+14) to adjust an amount of the slurry returning to the storage unit (4) to control and modify the flow and pressure of the slurry to the die coater during the coating process and to return the slurry inside the die head to the supply tank to circulate the slurry, thereby removing the precipitated particles ([0004]-[0005]; [0014]; [0018]-[0020]; [0022]; fig 1).
13. Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li (CN 218517084 U) hereinafter Li (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Li are included between parentheses).
As regards to claim 7, Han discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1), however Han does not disclose a coating quality meter configured to measure a thickness and a density of the slurry discharged onto the substrate.
Li discloses an apparatus for manufacturing a battery current collector (abs; fig 1), comprising a coating quality meter (300) configured to measure a thickness and a density of the slurry discharged onto the substrate ([0040]-[0041]; [0043]; fig 3; clm 9-10). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a coating quality meter configured to measure a thickness and a density of the slurry discharged onto the substrate in the apparatus of Han, because Li teaches the use of a coating quality meter (300) configured to measure a thickness and a density of the slurry discharged onto the substrate to acquire the slurry thickness at the discharge end of the coating die or discharged onto the substrate and provide feedback to the control unit ([0040]-[0041]; [0043]; fig 3; clm 9-10).
As regards to claim 8, Han discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1), wherein the controller (10) is configured to control the supply unit (3+4) ([0008]-[0009]; [0033]-[0034]; fig 1; clm 1), however Han does not disclose based on the thickness and the density of the slurry measured by the coating quality meter.
Li discloses an apparatus for manufacturing a battery current collector (abs; fig 1), wherein the controller (310) is configured to control the supply unit (200) based on the thickness and the density of the slurry measured by the coating quality meter (300)
([0005]; [0007]; [0029]; [0040]-[0041]; [0043]; fig 3; clm 9-10). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include wherein the controller is configured to control the supply unit based on the thickness and the density of the slurry measured by the coating quality meter in the apparatus of Han, because Li teaches the use of the controller (310) is configured to control the supply unit (200) based on the thickness and the density of the slurry measured by the coating quality meter (300) to acquire the slurry thickness at the discharge end of the coating die or discharged onto the substrate and provide feedback to the control unit to adjust/modify the supply of slurry ([0040]-[0041]; [0043]; fig 3; clm 9-10).
14. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han as applied to claim 1 above.
As regards to claim 9, Han discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1), wherein the slurry measuring unit (5+9) comprises a flow meter (5) and a density meter (9) (abs; [0008]-[0009]; [0026]; [0033]-[0034]; fig 1; clm 1), however Han does not disclose wherein the flow meter (5) comprises at least one of a Coriolis flowmeter, an ultrasonic flowmeter, or an electromagnetic flowmeter, and wherein the density meter (9) comprises at least one of a vibrational density meter or a capacitive density meter, however a Coriolis flowmeter, an ultrasonic flowmeter, or an electromagnetic flowmeter and a flow meter (5) are considered functionally equivalent a flow meters. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a Coriolis flowmeter, an ultrasonic flowmeter, or an electromagnetic flowmeter for the flow meter disclosed by Han since they are functionally equivalent and one of an obvious finite choice of flow meters; further a vibrational density meter or a capacitive density meter and a density meter (9) are considered functionally equivalent a density meters. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a vibrational density meter or a capacitive density meter for the density meter disclosed by Han since they are functionally equivalent and one of an obvious finite choice of density meters.
Conclusion
15. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: all references cited on the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited excluding the above relied upon references.
/Jethro M. Pence/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717