DETAILED ACTION
1. The Amendment filed 04/15/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 in the application remain pending. Claims 1-4 were amended. Claims 10-20 remain withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections
4. The claim rejections under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Han (CN 116833054 A) of claims 1-2 & 6 are withdrawn per amendments of claim 1.
5. The claim rejections under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Han (CN 116833054 A) and Li (CN 218517084 U) of claims 7-8 are withdrawn per amendments of claim 1.
6. The claim rejections under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Han (CN 116833054 A) of claim 9 are withdrawn per amendments of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (CN 116833054 A) hereinafter Han in view of Fujii (JP 2012-016656 A) hereinafter Fujii (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Han & Fujii are included between parentheses).
As regards to claim 1, Han discloses an apparatus for manufacturing an electrode of a secondary battery (abs; fig 1), comprising:
a storage unit (2) to store a slurry (abs; [0033]-[0034]; fig 1; clm 1);
a die coater (6) connected (see fig 1) to the storage unit (2), and configured to discharge the slurry onto a substrate (7) (abs; [0033]-[0034]; fig 1; clm 1);
a supply unit (3+4) connected (see fig 1) to the storage unit (2) and the die coater (6), and configured to supply the slurry from the storage unit (2) to the die coater (6) (abs; [0033]-[0034]; fig 1; clm 1);
a slurry measuring unit (5+9) configured to measure a density and a flow rate of the slurry supplied from the supply unit (3+4) (abs; [0008]-[0009]; [0026]; [0033]-[0034]; fig 1; clm 1); and
a controller (10) configured to control the supply unit (3+4) based on the density and the flow rate of the slurry transmitted from the slurry measuring unit (5+9) (abs; [0008]-[0009]; [0026]; [0033]-[0046]; fig 1; clm 1).
wherein the supply unit (3+4) comprises a pump (3) wherein the slurry measuring unit (5+9) is connected to the pump and measures the density and the flow rate of the slurry moving from the pump (3) (abs; [0033]-[0034]; fig 1; clm 1), however Han does not disclose a circulation control valve and wherein the slurry measuring unit (5+9) is connected between the pump and the circulation control valve.
Fujii discloses an apparatus for a manufacturing line (abs; fig 1), comprising a circulation control valve (13+14) connected to a pump (6/8), a supply control valve (9) and a storage unit (4) ([0004]-[0005]; [0014]; [0018]-[0020]; [0022]; fig 1). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a circulation control valve connected to a pump, a supply control valve and a storage unit in the apparatus of Han, because Fujii teaches the use of a circulation control valve (13+14) connected to a pump (6/8), a supply control valve (9) and a storage unit (4) to control and modify the flow and pressure of the slurry to the die coater during the coating process and to return the slurry inside the die head to the supply tank to circulate the slurry, thereby removing the precipitated particles ([0004]-[0005]; [0014]; [0018]-[0020]; [0022]; fig 1), however the combination of Han and Fujii does not disclose wherein the slurry measuring unit is connected between the pump and the circulation control valve.
Although the combination of Han and Fujii does not explicitly disclose the claimed slurry measuring unit connected between the pump and the circulation control valve configuration, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Han and Fujii to have the slurry measuring unit connected between the pump and the circulation control valve configuration recited in the claim and therefore is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way and would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to arrange the slurry measuring unit connected between the pump and the circulation control valve, since “the particular placement of structural components was held to be an obvious matter of design choice.” In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
As regards to claim 2, Han discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1), wherein the supply unit (3+4) comprises a pulsation dampener (4), wherein the controller (10) is configured to calculate a target flow rate based on a solid weight ratio of the slurry and the density of the slurry transmitted from the slurry measuring unit (5+9), and wherein the controller (10) is configured to control the pump (3) based on the target flow rate (abs; [0008]-[0024]; [0026]; [0033]-[0046]; fig 1; clm 1).
As regards to claim 3, Han discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1), the supply unit (3+4) connected (see fig 1) to the die coater (6), and the controller (10) ([0008]-[0009]; [0033]-[0034]; fig 1; clm 1), however Han does not disclose a supply control valve connected to the die coater (6), and wherein the controller (10) is configured to control an opening and a closing of the supply control valve.
Fujii discloses an apparatus for a manufacturing line (abs; fig 1), wherein the supply unit comprises a supply control valve (9) connected to the die coater (1), and wherein the controller (18) is configured to control an opening and a closing of the supply control valve (9) ([0004]-[0005]; [0014]; [0018]-[0020]; [0022]; fig 1). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a supply control valve connected to the die coater, and wherein the controller is configured to control an opening and a closing of the supply control valve in the apparatus of Han, because Fujii teaches the use of a supply control valve (9) connected to the die coater (1), and wherein the controller (18) is configured to control an opening and a closing of the supply control valve (9) to control and modify the flow and pressure of the slurry to the die coater during the coating process ([0004]-[0005]; [0014]; [0018]-[0020]; [0022]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 4, Han discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1), the supply unit (3+4) connected (see fig 1) to the die coater (6), the controller (10) and the storage unit (2) ([0008]-[0009]; [0033]-[0034]; fig 1; clm 1), however Han does not disclose a supply control valve connected to the die coater (6), and a circulation control valve connected to the storage unit (2) and between the supply control valve and the pump (3).
Fujii discloses an apparatus for a manufacturing line (abs; fig 1), wherein the supply unit comprises a supply control valve (9) connected to the die coater (1), and a circulation control valve (13+14) connected to the storage unit (4) and the pump (6/8) ([0004]-[0005]; [0014]; [0018]-[0020]; [0022]; fig 1). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a supply control valve connected to the die coater, and a circulation control valve connected to the supply control valve and the storage unit in the apparatus of Han, because Fujii teaches the use of a supply control valve (9) connected to the die coater (1), and a circulation control valve (13+14) connected to the supply control valve (9) and the storage unit (4) to control and modify the flow and pressure of the slurry to the die coater during the coating process and to return the slurry inside the die head to the supply tank to circulate the slurry, thereby removing the precipitated particles ([0004]-[0005]; [0014]; [0018]-[0020]; [0022]; fig 1), however the combination of Han and Fujii does not disclose between the supply control valve and the pump.
Although the combination of Han and Fujii does not explicitly disclose the claimed circulation control valve between the supply control valve and the pump configuration, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Han and Fujii to have the circulation control valve between the supply control valve and the pump configuration recited in the claim and therefore is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way and would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to arrange the circulation control valve between the supply control valve and the pump, since “the particular placement of structural components was held to be an obvious matter of design choice.” In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
As regards to claim 5, Han discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1), the controller (10) and the storage unit (2) ([0008]-[0009]; [0033]-[0034]; fig 1; clm 1), however Han does not disclose wherein the controller (10) is configured to control the circulation control valve to adjust an amount of the slurry returning to the storage unit (2).
Fujii discloses an apparatus for a manufacturing line (abs; fig 1), wherein the controller (18) is configured to control the circulation control valve (13+14) to adjust an amount of the slurry returning to the storage unit (4) ([0004]-[0005]; [0014]; [0018]-[0020]; [0022]; fig 1). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the controller configured to control the circulation control valve to adjust an amount of the slurry returning to the storage unit in the apparatus of Han, because Fujii teaches the use of the controller (18) is configured to control the circulation control valve (13+14) to adjust an amount of the slurry returning to the storage unit (4) to control and modify the flow and pressure of the slurry to the die coater during the coating process and to return the slurry inside the die head to the supply tank to circulate the slurry, thereby removing the precipitated particles ([0004]-[0005]; [0014]; [0018]-[0020]; [0022]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 6, Han discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1), further comprising a drying apparatus ([0009]; [0034]) configured to dry the slurry discharged onto the substrate (7) ([0008]-[0009]; [0033]-[0034]; fig 1; clm 1).
8. Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination of Han and Fujii as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li (CN 218517084 U) hereinafter Li (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Li are included between parentheses).
As regards to claim 7, Han discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1), however Han does not disclose a coating quality meter configured to measure a thickness and a density of the slurry discharged onto the substrate.
Li discloses an apparatus for manufacturing a battery current collector (abs; fig 1), comprising a coating quality meter (300) configured to measure a thickness and a density of the slurry discharged onto the substrate ([0040]-[0041]; [0043]; fig 3; clm 9-10). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a coating quality meter configured to measure a thickness and a density of the slurry discharged onto the substrate in the apparatus of Han, because Li teaches the use of a coating quality meter (300) configured to measure a thickness and a density of the slurry discharged onto the substrate to acquire the slurry thickness at the discharge end of the coating die or discharged onto the substrate and provide feedback to the control unit ([0040]-[0041]; [0043]; fig 3; clm 9-10).
As regards to claim 8, Han discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1), wherein the controller (10) is configured to control the supply unit (3+4) ([0008]-[0009]; [0033]-[0034]; fig 1; clm 1), however Han does not disclose based on the thickness and the density of the slurry measured by the coating quality meter.
Li discloses an apparatus for manufacturing a battery current collector (abs; fig 1), wherein the controller (310) is configured to control the supply unit (200) based on the thickness and the density of the slurry measured by the coating quality meter (300)
([0005]; [0007]; [0029]; [0040]-[0041]; [0043]; fig 3; clm 9-10). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include wherein the controller is configured to control the supply unit based on the thickness and the density of the slurry measured by the coating quality meter in the apparatus of Han, because Li teaches the use of the controller (310) is configured to control the supply unit (200) based on the thickness and the density of the slurry measured by the coating quality meter (300) to acquire the slurry thickness at the discharge end of the coating die or discharged onto the substrate and provide feedback to the control unit to adjust/modify the supply of slurry ([0040]-[0041]; [0043]; fig 3; clm 9-10).
9. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination of Han and Fujii as applied to claim 1 above.
As regards to claim 9, Han discloses an apparatus (abs; fig 1), wherein the slurry measuring unit (5+9) comprises a flow meter (5) and a density meter (9) (abs; [0008]-[0009]; [0026]; [0033]-[0034]; fig 1; clm 1), however Han does not disclose wherein the flow meter (5) comprises at least one of a Coriolis flowmeter, an ultrasonic flowmeter, or an electromagnetic flowmeter, and wherein the density meter (9) comprises at least one of a vibrational density meter or a capacitive density meter, however a Coriolis flowmeter, an ultrasonic flowmeter, or an electromagnetic flowmeter and a flow meter (5) are considered functionally equivalent a flow meters. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a Coriolis flowmeter, an ultrasonic flowmeter, or an electromagnetic flowmeter for the flow meter disclosed by Han since they are functionally equivalent and one of an obvious finite choice of flow meters; further a vibrational density meter or a capacitive density meter and a density meter (9) are considered functionally equivalent a density meters. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a vibrational density meter or a capacitive density meter for the density meter disclosed by Han since they are functionally equivalent and one of an obvious finite choice of density meters.
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s principal arguments are:
(a) Claim limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Applicant respectfully traverses the interpretations, noting that none of the claims utilize means-plus-function language.
(b) Applicant respectfully submits that the cited portions of Han do not appear to disclose or even suggest each and every feature recited in claim 1, and thus, do not appear to anticipate claim 1. As shown in FIG. 1 of Han, "The slurry stirring device stirs the coating slurry 2 evenly, and the online density meter 9 monitors the density of the coating slurry 2 in real time and feeds it back to the control system 10.". In other words, as best understood, the online density meter 9 appears to monitor the density of the coating slurry that is stirred in the coating slurry buffer 1, rather than measuring a density of the slurry supplied from the alleged supply unit 3+4. In other words, Applicant respectfully submits that the cited portions of Han do not appear to disclose or even suggest at least "a slurry measuring unit configured to measure a density and a flow rate of the slurry supplied from the supply unit," as recited in claim 1, and thus, do not appear to anticipate claim 1.
(c) Independent claim 1 has been amended to now recite, wherein the supply unit comprises a pump and a circulation control valve, and wherein the slurry measuring unit is connected between the pump and the circulation control valve to measure the density and the flow rate of the slurry moving from the pump to the circulation control valve. Applicant respectfully submits that the cited portions of Han do not appear to disclose or even suggest at least the above-recited features of amended claim 1. Indeed, as discussed above, the online density meter 9 appears to monitor the density of the slurry 2 in the coating slurry buffer 1, rather than measuring a density of the slurry supplied from the alleged supply unit 3+4, and in any event, further does not appear to be properly equated with a slurry measuring unit that is connected between the alleged pump 3 (e.g., see the rejection of claim 2) and a circulation control valve to measure the density and the flow rate of the slurry moving from the alleged pump 3 to a circulation control valve. Moreover, Applicant respectfully submits that the cited portions of Fujii and Li, which were further cited in the rejections of some of the dependent claims, do not appear to cure the above-discussed deficiencies of Han to properly reject claim 1, and there is no apparent reason why a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application would have combined/modified the art of record to arrive at the embodiment recited in claim 1.
(d) Applicant, therefore, respectfully requests that the rejection of claim 1 be withdrawn, and that claim 1 be allowed. Further, because claims 2-9 depend from claim 1, they incorporate all of the terms and features recited in claim 1, in addition to reciting other features that further patentably distinguish these claims from the art of record.
11. In response to applicant’s arguments, please consider the following comments.
(a) As discussed in detail in the 01/30/2026 Office Action, Examiner maintains the position that the limitations “storage unit” in claims 1 & 4-5; “supply unit” in claims 1-4 & 8; “slurry measuring unit” in claims 1-2 & 9; “drying apparatus” in claim 6, invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
(b) As already discussed above in detail in regards to claim 1, Han discloses a slurry measuring unit (5+9) configured to measure a density and a flow rate of the slurry supplied from the supply unit (3+4) (abs; [0008]-[0009]; [0026]; [0033]-[0034]; fig 1; clm 1). That is, the slurry supplied from the supply unit (3+4) has a density and a flow rate which is measured by the slurry measuring unit (5+9). Examiner respectfully contends the claim does not specify at what point in the apparatus the density of the slurry is measured (i.e. before or after leaving the storage unit (2)). Thus, the density is measured and then supplied from the supply unit (3+4) and then flowrate being measured after leaving the supply unit satisfies the limitation.
(c) As already discussed above in detail in regards to claim 1, the supply unit (3+4) comprises a pump (3) wherein the slurry measuring unit (5+9) is connected to the pump and measures the density and the flow rate of the slurry moving from the pump (3) (abs; [0033]-[0034]; fig 1; clm 1), however Han does not disclose a circulation control valve and wherein the slurry measuring unit (5+9) is connected between the pump and the circulation control valve.
Fujii discloses an apparatus for a manufacturing line (abs; fig 1), comprising a circulation control valve (13+14) connected to a pump (6/8), a supply control valve (9) and a storage unit (4) ([0004]-[0005]; [0014]; [0018]-[0020]; [0022]; fig 1). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a circulation control valve connected to a pump, a supply control valve and a storage unit in the apparatus of Han, because Fujii teaches the use of a circulation control valve (13+14) connected to a pump (6/8), a supply control valve (9) and a storage unit (4) to control and modify the flow and pressure of the slurry to the die coater during the coating process and to return the slurry inside the die head to the supply tank to circulate the slurry, thereby removing the precipitated particles ([0004]-[0005]; [0014]; [0018]-[0020]; [0022]; fig 1), however the combination of Han and Fujii does not disclose wherein the slurry measuring unit is connected between the pump and the circulation control valve.
Although the combination of Han and Fujii does not explicitly disclose the claimed slurry measuring unit connected between the pump and the circulation control valve configuration, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Han and Fujii to have the slurry measuring unit connected between the pump and the circulation control valve configuration recited in the claim and therefore is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way and would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to arrange the slurry measuring unit connected between the pump and the circulation control valve, since “the particular placement of structural components was held to be an obvious matter of design choice.” In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
(d) In view of the foregoing, Examiner respectfully contends the limitations of claim 1 are indeed satisfied. Claims 2-9 are rejected at least based on their dependency from claim 1, as well as for their own rejections on the merits, respectively.
Conclusion
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jethro M. Pence/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717