DETAILED ACTION
This non-final action is responsive to the communications: application field on 07/23/2024. IDS filed on 07/30/2024 has been considered.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are independent.
Examiner Notes
A) MPEP 2163 guidelines teach that drawing and specification must be examined to assess whether an originally-filed claim has adequate support in the written disclosure and/or the drawings. Possession may be shown by a clear depiction of the invention in detailed drawings. B) Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification. C) Per MPEP 2173.04 “If the claim is too broad because it reads on the prior art, a rejection under either 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 would be appropriate”. D) Examiner cites particular paragraphs or columns and lines in the references as applied to Applicant's claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Other passages and figures may apply as well. Per MPEP 2141.02 VI prior art must be considered in its entirety. E) Per MPEP 2112 and 2112 V, express, implicit, and inherent disclosures of a prior art reference may be relied upon in the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103.
Domestic Priority
4. See ADS for domestic CON priority details.
Applicant is requested to check other claim informality, language issues (e.g. antecedent issues, redundant limitation issues, grammar issues) for all claims to expedite prosecution since informality scrutiny in this office action is not exhaustive and applicant’s co-operation is sought in this regard.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Merry et al. (US 2008/0189452 A1), in view of Zheng et al. (US 2015/0363272 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Merry teaches a method (para [0006], Abstract: method of employing “variable-size write buffer”) comprising:
configuring a size of a write buffer (Fig. 1: 135 “write buffer”. See Abstract: “variable-size write buffer”) as a first amount of volatile memory (para [0006], para [0020]: e.g. write buffer maximum size),
wherein the write buffer stores data to be written to non-volatile memory (para [0006], Abstract);
detecting a first trigger to update the size of the write buffer (para [0042], para [0022], para [0023]: e.g. monitored operating condition are used to update size of write buffer. See also para [0039], para [0044]),
wherein the first trigger includes measuring an amount of data that can be written from the write buffer to the non-volatile memory in a power loss based upon current capacitor performance (this clause is interpreted in light of Specification para [0035], indicating the capacitor’s performance is measured and that is used to determine whether to resize the buffer; here, Merry has measured the battery as explained in para [0006] and para [0042]: degradation status or charge status of “backup power source” is below “…threshold…” which is indicative of data written to non-volatile memory following a power loss event i.e. Merry determines based upon the backup power source “performance” the amount of data that can be written is less than the current size of buffer. See also Fig. 1 and Fig. 2) and
determining the amount of data is less than a current size of the write buffer (para [0006], para [0035], para [0042]); and
in response to detecting the first trigger, reducing the size of the write buffer to a second amount of volatile memory (see para [0042], para [0006]: Merry’s controller will update the size of the write buffer based upon the charge level on the battery i.e. “capacitor performance”. When performing such update to the size of the buffer, the controller knows the amount of data to be written based upon the current battery charge level would be less than the current write buffer size, which is why will reduce the write buffer size when batter’s charge level is less than a threshold, as explained in para [0042] so that the risk of data loss can be reduced as explained in para [0006]. When charge level is less than threshold, meaning less can be written than would be expected based on that battery’s threshold amount, then write buffer size is reduced. Threshold amount, which represents the amount of data that is expected to be written to the device in a power loss).
Merry is silent with respect to using “capacitor” in data back-up scheme during power loss and silent with respect to using the back-up “capacitor” degradation performance in the method and apparatus.
Zheng teaches detecting a first trigger to update the size of the write buffer (detecting power-loss interruption requiring data back-up. para [0127]-para [0131),
wherein the first trigger includes measuring an amount of data that can be written from the write buffer to the non-volatile memory in a power loss based upon current capacitor performance (para [0038]: “capacitor” used in reserve power source. See also para [0127]-para [0131])
Merry and Zheng are in the same field of endeavor since Zheng teaches a system (Fig. 2: 200 computing system with “adaptive back-up mechanism”. See Fig. 7 adaptive back-up operation and Fig. 6 illustrated components and functionality) comprising: a plurality of memory devices (Fig. 2: 206, 204); and a processing device (Fig. 2: 208 local memory controller), operatively coupled with the plurality of memory devices (See Fig. 2), to: allot a first amount of volatile memory to a write buffer (para [0130]: “write buffer entry size 782” when normal calculated volatile memory utility is used, see Fig. 7:702. See also para [0104], para [0093]-para [0094]), wherein the write buffer stores batches of data to be written to non-volatile memory (“write buffer entries” or “write entry”, see e.g. para [0102] and para [0103]. Data back-up during “…normal operation or without detecting the power failure…”); detect a trigger (Fig. 7: 710 “detect change”) to update the allotment of volatile memory to the write buffer (Fig. 7: 710 in context of para [0106]: “…detect change module … monitors or detects conditions that can affect backing up the data from the volatile memory…to the nonvolatile memory. para [0080]: “…adaptive back-up system … provides modification to the transfer mechanism for the volatile memory …for backing up data when the power failure … detected…”); and in response to the trigger (e.g. “power failure” Fig. 7: 710, 706, 708, 710, 712), reduce the volatile memory allotted (para [0130]: “write buffer entry size 782”) to the write buffer to a second amount (Equation 1 and equation 2 in context of para [0128]-para [0131]: “write entry size” is reduced to maximize “write entries commit” within calculated available backup time. See also “…The calculate buffer size module … determines the amount of data in the volatile memory… to be backed up….”). Thus, Merry and Zheng are in analogous field of art.
Employing Zheng ‘s capacitor with calculation module and dynamic reliability checking enables precise calculation of buffer size and at the same time maximizes data throughput/ increases data transmission speed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Zheng into the teachings of Merry such that backup capacitors for power-loss can be employed in the method and apparatus in order reduce risk of data loss and increase operational speed.
Regarding claim 2, Merry and Zheng teach the method of claim 1. Merry teaches further comprising: detecting a second trigger to update the size of the write buffer (see in context of para [0023], para [0039], para [0044]: multiple monitoring parameters are discussed); and in response to the second trigger, reducing the size of the write buffer from the second amount to a third amount (see para [0021], Fig. 1: various buffer size and combinations).
Merry is silent with respect to remaining provisions of this claim as it pertains to serially utilizing two triggers to adjust buffer size.
Zheng teaches wherein the processing device is further to: detect a second trigger to update the size of the write buffer (Zheng Fig. 7 loop algorithm teaches multiple triggers can be used sequentially to configure buffer size); and
in response to detecting the second trigger, reduce the size of the write buffer from the second amount to a third amount (see Fig. 7 loop in context of equation 1, equation 2: multiple triggers can be input together in equation to calculate optimal size of buffer).
Zheng and Merry are in analogous field of art.
Employing Zheng’s algorithmic method enables precise calculation of buffer size and at the same time maximizes data throughput/ increases data transmission speed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Zheng into the teachings of Merry such that a robust method with additional software algorithm for controlling the write buffer size can be employed in order to in order reduce risk of data loss and increase operational speed.
Regarding claim 3, Merry and Zheng teach the method of claim 2. Merry teaches wherein the second trigger includes receiving an input (monitored parameters, see e.g. para [0039]) to update the size of the write buffer (see details in para [0039]. See also para [0022], para [0023], para [0044]. See Abstract “…adjusting the size of the write buffer based on monitored operating conditions, such as the temperature, the stability/consistency of a power signal received from the host system, and/or the elapsed time since the storage subsystem was last powered up….”. Monitored params are used to reduce or adjust size of write buffer).
Regarding claim 4, Merry and Zheng teach the method of claim 2. Merry teaches wherein the second trigger includes detecting an amount of time passed following the configuring of the write buffer satisfies a time threshold (See in context of para [0039], (b-i) in combination: e.g. “…length of time since the last power signal anomaly was detected…” satisfies this limitation).
Regarding claim 5, Merry and Zheng teach the method of claim 1. Merry teaches wherein the power loss is a simulated (simulate taken as calculation or estimation) power loss event (para [0044]: “…calculate a probability of power loss, and may then use this probability value to select an appropriate buffer size…”).
Regarding claim 6, Merry and Zheng teach the method of claim 1. Merry teaches further comprising:
receiving a write command from a host system (para [0031], para [0033]-para [0034]),
the write command including data (Fig. 2, para [0020], para [0033]-para [0034]);
writing the data to the write buffer (Fig. 1, Fig. 2 and para [0006], para [0019], para [0020]); and
writing data from the write buffer to the non-volatile memory (Fig. 1, Fig. 2 and para [0006], para [0019], para [0020]).
Regarding claim 7, Merry and Zheng teach the method of claim 1. Merry teaches wherein the second amount corresponds to an estimated degraded capacitor performance (para [0042]: based on “back-up power source” degradation and remaining capability, buffer size is reduced adjusted. See para [0021]-para [0023], para [0006], para [0042], para [0044]: reduced buffer size. para [0042]: back-up power source).
Regarding independent claim 8, Merry teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to (Non transitory computer-readable medium is conventional item used conventionally to store computer programs to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry):
configure a size of a write buffer (Fig. 1: 135 “write buffer”. See Abstract: “variable-size write buffer”) as a first amount of volatile memory (para [0006], para [0020]: e.g. write buffer maximum size),
wherein the write buffer stores data to be written to non-volatile memory (para [0006], Abstract);
detect a first trigger to update the size of the write buffer (para [0042], para [0022], para [0023]: e.g. monitored operating condition are used to update size of write buffer. See also para [0039], para [0044]),
wherein the first trigger includes measuring an amount of data that can be written from the write buffer to the non-volatile memory in a power loss based upon current capacitor performance (This clause is interpreted in light of Specification para [0035], indicating the capacitor’s performance is measured and that is used to determine whether to resize the buffer; here, Merry has measured the battery as explained in para [0006] and para [0042]: degradation status or charge status of “backup power source” is below “…threshold…” which is indicative of data written to non-volatile memory following a power loss event i.e. Merry determines based upon the backup power source “performance” the amount of data that can be written is less than the current size of buffer. See also Fig. 1 and Fig. 2) and
determining the amount of data is less than a current size of the write buffer (para [0006], para [0035], para [0042]); and
in response to detecting the first trigger, reduce the size of the write buffer to a second amount of volatile memory (see para [0042], para [0006]: Merry’s controller will update the size of the write buffer based upon the charge level on the battery i.e. “capacitor performance”. When performing such update to the size of the buffer, the controller knows the amount of data to be written based upon the current charge level would be less than the current write buffer size, which is why will reduce the write buffer size when batter’s charge level is less than a threshold, as explained in para [0042] so that the risk of data loss can be reduced as explained in para [0006]. When charge level is less than threshold, meaning less can be written than would be expected based on that battery’s threshold amount, then write buffer size is reduced. Threshold amount, which represents the amount of data that is expected to be written to the device in a power loss).
Merry is silent with respect to using “capacitor” in data back-up scheme during power loss and silent with respect to using the back-up capacitor degradation performance in the method and apparatus.
Zheng teaches detecting a first trigger to update the size of the write buffer (detecting power-loss interruption requiring data back-up. para [0127]-para [0131),
wherein the first trigger includes measuring an amount of data that can be written from the write buffer to the non-volatile memory in a power loss based upon current capacitor performance (para [0038]: “capacitor” used in reserve power source. See also para [0127]-para [0131])
Merry and Zheng are in the same field of endeavor since Zheng teaches a system (Fig. 2: 200 computing system with “adaptive back-up mechanism”. See Fig. 7 adaptive back-up operation and Fig. 6 illustrated components and functionality) comprising: a plurality of memory devices (Fig. 2: 206, 204); and a processing device (Fig. 2: 208 local memory controller), operatively coupled with the plurality of memory devices (See Fig. 2), to: allot a first amount of volatile memory to a write buffer (para [0130]: “write buffer entry size 782” when normal calculated volatile memory utility is used, see Fig. 7:702. See also para [0104], para [0093]-para [0094]), wherein the write buffer stores batches of data to be written to non-volatile memory (“write buffer entries” or “write entry”, see e.g. para [0102] and para [0103]. Data back-up during “…normal operation or without detecting the power failure…”); detect a trigger (Fig. 7: 710 “detect change”) to update the allotment of volatile memory to the write buffer (Fig. 7: 710 in context of para [0106]: “…detect change module … monitors or detects conditions that can affect backing up the data from the volatile memory…to the nonvolatile memory. para [0080]: “…adaptive back-up system … provides modification to the transfer mechanism for the volatile memory …for backing up data when the power failure … detected…”); and in response to the trigger (e.g. “power failure” Fig. 7: 710, 706, 708, 710, 712), reduce the volatile memory allotted (para [0130]: “write buffer entry size 782”) to the write buffer to a second amount (Equation 1 and equation 2 in context of para [0128]-para [0131]: “write entry size” is reduced to maximize “write entries commit” within calculated available backup time. See also “…The calculate buffer size module … determines the amount of data in the volatile memory… to be backed up….”). Thus, Merry and Zheng are in analogous field of art.
Employing Zheng ‘s capacitor with calculation module and dynamic reliability checking enables precise calculation of buffer size and at the same time maximizes data throughput/ increases data transmission speed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Zheng into the teachings of Merry such that backup capacitors for power-loss can be employed in the method and apparatus in order reduce risk of data loss and increase operational speed.
Regarding claim 9, Merry and Zheng teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein the processing device is further to: detect a second trigger to update the write buffer configuration; and in response to the second trigger, reduce the size of the write buffer from the second amount to a third amount. (this claim is drafted as in non-transitory computer-readable medium format, substantially identical to the method recited in claim 2, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as claim 2).
Regarding claim 10, Merry and Zheng teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 9, wherein the second trigger includes receiving an input to update the size of the write buffer. (this claim is drafted as in non-transitory CRM format, substantially identical to the method recited in claim 3, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as claim 3)
Regarding claim 11, Merry and Zheng teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 9, wherein the second trigger includes detecting an amount of time passed following the configuring of the write buffer satisfies a time threshold. (this claim is drafted as in non-transitory CRM format, substantially identical to the method recited in claim 4, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as claim 4)
Regarding claim 12, Merry and Zheng teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein the power loss is a simulated power loss event. (this claim is drafted as in non-transitory CRM format, substantially identical to the method recited in claim 5, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as claim 5)
Regarding claim 13, Merry and Zheng teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein the processing device is further to: receive a write command from a host system, the write command including data; write the data to the write buffer; and write data from the write buffer to the non-volatile memory. (this claim is drafted as in non-transitory CRM format, substantially identical to the method recited in claim 6, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as claim 6)
Regarding claim 14, Merry and Zheng teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein the second amount corresponds to an estimated degraded capacitor performance. (this claim is drafted as in non-transitory CRM format, substantially identical to the method recited in claim 5, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons as claim 5)
Regarding independent claim 15, Merry teaches a system (Fig. 1 storage system) comprising:
a plurality of memory devices (Fig. 1: 116, para [0047]: “…nonvolatile storage 116 may comprise a plurality of solid-state storage devices coupled to the controller...”); and
a processing device (Fig. 1: 110, 114), operatively coupled with the plurality of memory devices (Fig. 1: 116), to:
configure a size of a write buffer (Fig. 1: 135 “write buffer”. See Abstract: “variable-size write buffer”) as a first amount of volatile memory (para [0006], para [0020]: e.g. write buffer maximum size),
wherein the write buffer stores data to be written to non-volatile memory (para [0006]);
detect a first trigger to update the size of the write buffer (para [0042], para [0022], para [0023]: e.g. monitored operating condition are used to update size of write buffer. See also para [0039], para [0044]),
wherein the first trigger includes measuring an amount of data that can be written from the write buffer to the non-volatile memory in a power loss based upon current capacitor performance (this clause is interpreted in light of Specification para [0035], indicating the capacitor’s performance is measured and that is used to determine whether to resize the buffer; here, Merry has measured the battery as explained in para [0006] and para [0042]: degradation status or charge status of “backup power source” is below “…threshold…” which is indicative of data written to non-volatile memory following a power loss event i.e. Merry determines based upon the backup power source “performance” the amount of data that can be written is less than the current size of buffer. See also Fig. 1 and Fig. 2) and
determining the amount of data is less than a current size of the write buffer (para [0006], para [0035], para [0042]); and
in response to detecting the first trigger, reduce the size of the write buffer to a second amount of volatile memory (see para [0042], para [0006]: Merry’s controller will update the size of the write buffer based upon the charge level on the battery i.e. “capacitor performance”. When performing such update to the size of the buffer, the controller knows the amount of data to be written based upon the current charge level would be less than the current write buffer size, which is why will reduce the write buffer size when batter’s charge level is less than a threshold, as explained in para [0042] so that the risk of data loss can be reduced as explained in para [0006]. When charge level is less than threshold, meaning less can be written than would be expected based on that battery’s threshold amount, then write buffer size is reduced. Threshold amount, which represents the amount of data that is expected to be written to the device in a power loss),
wherein the second amount corresponds to an estimated degraded capacitor performance (para [0042]: based on “back-up power source” degradation and remaining capability, buffer size is reduced adjusted. See para [0021]-para [0023], para [0006], para [0042], para [0044]: reduced buffer size. para [0042]: back-up power source).
Merry is silent with respect to using “capacitor” in data back-up scheme during power loss and silent with respect to using the back-up capacitor degradation performance in the method and apparatus.
Zheng teaches wherein second amount corresponds to an estimated degraded performance of capacitors (para [0038]: “capacitor” used as reserve power source) that allow for completion of writing of the data to be written to the non-volatile memory from the write buffer during a power loss (para [0038], para [0127]-para [0131]).
Merry and Zheng are in the same field of endeavor since Zheng teaches a system (Fig. 2: 200 computing system with “adaptive back-up mechanism”. See Fig. 7 adaptive back-up operation and Fig. 6 illustrated components and functionality) comprising: a plurality of memory devices (Fig. 2: 206, 204); and a processing device (Fig. 2: 208 local memory controller), operatively coupled with the plurality of memory devices (See Fig. 2), to: allot a first amount of volatile memory to a write buffer (para [0130]: “write buffer entry size 782” when normal calculated volatile memory utility is used, see Fig. 7:702. See also para [0104], para [0093]-para [0094]), wherein the write buffer stores batches of data to be written to non-volatile memory (“write buffer entries” or “write entry”, see e.g. para [0102] and para [0103]. Data back-up during “…normal operation or without detecting the power failure…”); detect a trigger (Fig. 7: 710 “detect change”) to update the allotment of volatile memory to the write buffer (Fig. 7: 710 in context of para [0106]: “…detect change module … monitors or detects conditions that can affect backing up the data from the volatile memory…to the nonvolatile memory. para [0080]: “…adaptive back-up system … provides modification to the transfer mechanism for the volatile memory …for backing up data when the power failure … detected…”); and in response to the trigger (e.g. “power failure” Fig. 7: 710, 706, 708, 710, 712), reduce the volatile memory allotted (para [0130]: “write buffer entry size 782”) to the write buffer to a second amount (Equation 1 and equation 2 in context of para [0128]-para [0131]: “write entry size” is reduced to maximize “write entries commit” within calculated available backup time. See also “…The calculate buffer size module … determines the amount of data in the volatile memory… to be backed up….”). Thus, Merry and Zheng are in analogous field of art.
Employing Zheng’s “capacitor” with associated modules for buffer size calculation and dynamic reliability tracking enables precise calculation of optimal buffer size with maximized data throughput rate i.e. improves data transmission speed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Zheng into the teachings of Merry such that capacitors as back-up power source can be employed in the apparatus in order to increase operational speed.
Regarding claim 16, Merry and Zheng teach the system of claim 15. Merry teaches wherein the processing device is further to:
detect a second trigger to update the write buffer configuration (see in context of para [0023], para [0039], para [0044]: multiple monitoring parameters are discussed); and
in response to the second trigger, reduce the size of the write buffer from the second amount to a third amount (see para [0021], Fig. 1: various buffer size and combinations).
Merry is silent with respect to remaining provisions of this claim as it pertains to serially utilizing two triggers to adjust buffer size.
Zheng teaches wherein the processing device is further to: detect a second trigger to update the size of the write buffer (Zheng Fig. 7 loop algorithm teaches multiple triggers can be used sequentially); and
in response to detecting the second trigger, reduce the size of the write buffer from the second amount to a third amount (see Fig. 7 loop and equation 1, equation 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Zheng into the teachings of Merry such that a robust method for controlling the write buffer size can be employed in order to control reliability of the device and improve operational speed.
Regarding claim 17, Merry and Zheng teach the system of claim 16. Merry teaches wherein the second trigger includes receiving an input (para [0039]: monitored parameters) to update the size of the write buffer (see details in para [0039]. See Abstract “…adjusting the size of the write buffer based on monitored operating conditions, such as the temperature, the stability/consistency of a power signal received from the host system, and/or the elapsed time since the storage subsystem was last powered up….”. Monitored params are used to reduce or adjust size of write buffer. See also para [0022], para [0023], para [0044]).
Regarding claim 18, Merry and Zheng teach the system of claim 16. Merry teaches wherein the second trigger includes detecting an amount of time passed following the configuring of the write buffer satisfies a time threshold (See in context of para [0039], (b-i) in combination encompasses the limitation. For example, “…length of time since the last power signal anomaly was detected…” satisfies this limitation).
Regarding claim 19, Merry and Zheng teach the system of claim 15. Merry teaches wherein the power loss is a simulated (simulate taken as calculation or estimation) power loss event (para [0044]: “…calculate a probability of power loss, and may then use this probability value to select an appropriate buffer size…”)
Regarding claim 20, Merry and Zheng teach the system of claim 15. Merry teaches wherein the processing device is further to:
receive a write command from a host system (para [0031], para [0033]-para [0034]),
the write command including data (Fig. 2, para [0020], para [0033]-para [0034]);
write the data to the write buffer (Fig. 1, Fig. 2 and para [0006], para [0019], para [0020]); and
write data from the write buffer to the non-volatile memory (Fig. 1, Fig. 2 and para [0006], para [0019], para [0020]).
Double Patenting
10a. Claims 1, 8, and 15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12073873 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other: see analysis in the following:
Regarding independent claim 1, US 12073873 B2 teaches a method comprising (see US 12073873 B2: claims 1-7):
configuring a size of a write buffer as a first amount of volatile memory, wherein the write buffer stores data to be written to non-volatile memory (see US 12073873 B2: claim 1, lines 6-9);
detecting a first trigger to update the size of the write buffer, wherein the first trigger includes measuring an amount of data that can be written from the write buffer to the non-volatile memory in a power loss based upon current capacitor performance and determining the amount of data is less than a current size of the write buffer (see US 12073873 B2: claim 1, lines 3-5, 10-11 and claim 7. See in context of claims 2-7 functions); and
in response to detecting the first trigger, reducing the size of the write buffer to a second amount of volatile memory (see US 12073873 B2: claim 1, lines 12-13).
Regarding independent claim 8, US 12073873 B2 teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by a processing device (see US 12073873 B2: claims 8-14), cause the processing device to:
configure a size of a write buffer as a first amount of volatile memory, wherein the write buffer stores data to be written to non-volatile memory (see US 12073873 B2: claim 8, lines 8-11);
detect a first trigger to update the size of the write buffer (see US 12073873 B2: claim 8, line 12),
wherein the first trigger includes measuring an amount of data that can be written from the write buffer to the non-volatile memory in a power loss based upon current capacitor performance and determining the amount of data is less than a current size of the write buffer (see US 12073873 B2: claim 8, lines 5-7. See in context of claims 9-14 functions); and
in response to detecting the first trigger, reduce the size of the write buffer to a second amount of volatile memory (see US 12073873 B2: claim 8, lines 13-14).
Regarding independent claim 15, US 12073873 B2 teaches a system comprising (see US 12073873 B2: claims 15-20):
a plurality of memory devices; and a processing device, operatively coupled with the plurality of memory devices (see US 12073873 B2: claim 15, lines 1-4), to:
configure a size of a write buffer as a first amount of volatile memory, wherein the write buffer stores data to be written to non-volatile memory (see US 12073873 B2: claim 15, lines 9-12);
a first trigger to update the size of the write buffer (see US 12073873 B2: claim 15, line 13),
wherein the first trigger includes measuring an amount of data that can be written from the write buffer to the non-volatile memory in a power loss based upon current capacitor performance and determining the amount of data is less than a current size of the write buffer (see US 12073873 B2: claim 15, lines 14-17. See in context of functions of claims 16-20); and
in response to detecting the first trigger, reduce the size of the write buffer to a second amount of volatile memory, wherein the second amount corresponds to an estimated degraded capacitor performance (see US 12073873 B2: claim 15, lines 18-20. See in context of functions of claims 16-20).
10b. Dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12073873 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other: similar analysis can be done as section 10a to show this.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon (MPEP § 707.05) is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Bianco (US 20210191646 A1): Fig. 1-Fig. 5 disclosure applicable
Boyd (US 2021/0089225 A1): Fig. 1-Fig. 9 disclosure applicable.
SHIN (US 2022/0269434 A1): Fig. 1-Fig. 10 disclosure applicable.
It is suggested that applicant consider all prior arts made of record.
Conclusion
/MUSHFIQUE SIDDIQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825