DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 8 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by KU et al. US 2012/0018347 (hereinafter KU).
Regarding claim 1, KU teaches: a storage environment monitoring device, comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1, Fig. 2);
a plurality of ports, through the housing, configured to expose an internal space in the housing to an environment of a storage area ([0023] - - a purge valve and an exhausting valve are ports; when the valve is open, internal space is exposed); and
a control system, comprising:
a plurality of sensors configured to:
perform one or more measurements associated with the environment of the storage area ([0024] - - pressure sensor; [0027] - - temperature and humidity sensor), and
generate environmental measurement data based on results of the one or more measurements ([0024] - - measure pressure; [0027] - - measure temperature and humidity), and
a communication interface configured to transmit the environmental measurement data to an environmental monitoring platform ([0027] - - wireless transfer the measured data).
Regarding claim 2, KU teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
KU further teaches: the housing comprises:
an upper shell ([0022] - - upper cover);
a lower shell ([0022] - - lower cover);
wherein the upper shell and the lower shell are configured to form the internal space when the upper shell and the lower shell are coupled (Fig. 1); and
an overhead hoist transport (OHT) head, on the upper shell, configured to permit the storage environment monitoring device to be transported by an OHT vehicle ([0022] - - handle 13 and flanges 15 are disposed on the upper cover to facilitate picking up by an robot).
Regarding claim 3, KU teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
KU further teaches: one or more dimensions of the housing satisfy one or more parameters of a reticle carrier specification (Fig. 1, [0022] - - reticle pod).
Regarding claim 4, KU teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
KU further teaches: the plurality of sensors comprise at least one of:
a temperature sensor configured to perform temperature measurements associated with the environment of the storage area ([0027] - - temperature sensor),
a pressure sensor configured to perform pressure measurements associated with the environment of the storage area ([0024] - - pressure sensor),
a humidity sensor configured to perform humidity measurements associated with the environment of the storage area ([0027] - - humidity sensor), or
an airflow sensor configured to perform airflow measurements associated with the environment of the storage area.
Regarding claim 8, KU teaches: a storage environment monitoring device, comprising:
a control system, comprising:
a plurality of sensors configured to:
perform one or more measurements associated with an environment of a storage area in a storage system that includes a plurality of storage areas ([0024] - - pressure sensor; [0027] - - temperature and humidity sensor), and
generate environmental measurement data based on results of the one or more measurements ([0024] - - measure pressure; [0027] - - measure temperature and humidity), and
a communication interface configured to transmit the environmental measurement data to an environmental monitoring platform ([0027] - - wireless transfer the measured data).
Regarding claim 9, KU teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
KU further teaches: a housing,
wherein the control system is located within the housing; and
wherein the housing comprises:
an upper shell ([0022] - - upper cover);
a lower shell ([0022] - - lower cover);
wherein the upper shell and the lower shell are configured to form an internal space when the upper shell and the lower shell are coupled (Fig. 1); and
an overhead hoist transport (OHT) head, on the upper shell, configured to permit the storage environment monitoring device to be transported by an OHT vehicle ([0022] - - handle 13 and flanges 15 are disposed on the upper cover to facilitate picking up by an robot).
Regarding claim 10, KU teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
KU further teaches: the storage environment monitoring device is removably secured to a reticle carrier (Fig. 1, [0022] - - reticle pod is a reticle carrier).
Regarding claim 11, KU teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
KU further teaches: the storage environment monitoring device is located within a reticle carrier (Fig. 1, [0022] - - reticle pod is a reticle carrier).
Regarding claim 12, KU teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
KU further teaches: the plurality of sensors comprise at least one of:
a temperature sensor configured to perform temperature measurements associated with the environment of the storage area ([0027] - - temperature sensor),
a pressure sensor configured to perform pressure measurements associated with the environment of the storage area ([0024] - - pressure sensor),
a humidity sensor configured to perform humidity measurements associated with the environment of the storage area ([0027] - - humidity sensor), or
an airflow sensor configured to perform airflow measurements associated with the environment of the storage area.
Claims 15 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by SHANG et al. US 2019/0163070 (hereinafter SHANG).
Regarding claim 15, SHANG teaches: a method, comprising:
performing, by a plurality of sensors included in a control system of a storage environment monitoring device, one or more first measurements associated with an environment in a first storage area of a storage system that includes a plurality of storage areas ([0059] - - measure environmental condition while the reticle is stored in the stocker);
wherein the storage environment monitoring device is located within the first storage area when performing the one or more first measurements ([0059] - - measure environmental condition while the reticle is stored in the stocker);
generating, by the plurality of sensors, first environmental measurement data based on results of the one or more first measurements ([0059] - - metrology tool measure environmental condition while the reticle is stored in the stocker);
transmitting, by a communication interface of the control system, the first environmental measurement data to an environmental monitoring platform (Fig. 1, metrology tool communicates with control system through network 20);
performing, by the plurality of sensors, one or more second measurements associated with an environment in a second storage area of the storage system ([0062] - - metrology tool is used to detect environmental conditions in the lithography exposure apparatus);
wherein the storage environment monitoring device is located within the second storage area when performing the one or more second measurements ([0062] - - metrology tool is used to detect environmental conditions in the lithography exposure apparatus);
generating, by the plurality of sensors, second environmental measurement data based on results of the second one or more measurements ([0062] - - metrology tool is used to detect environmental conditions in the lithography exposure apparatus); and
transmitting, by the communication interface of the control system, the second environmental measurement data to the environmental monitoring platform (Fig. 1, metrology tool communicates with control system through network 20).
Regarding claim 16, SHANG teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
SHANG further teaches:
determining, by a processor of the control system and based on the results of the one or more first measurements, that one or more parameters of the environment of the first storage area satisfy one or more thresholds ([0067], [0068] - - if the measured environmental conditions exceed an acceptable range, triggers an alarm); and
generating, by the processor and based on determining that the one or more parameters of the environment of the first storage area satisfy the one or more thresholds, one or more alerts associated with the first storage area ([0067], [0068] - - if the measured environmental conditions exceed an acceptable range, triggers an alarm); and
transmitting, by the communication interface, an indication of the one or more alerts to the environmental monitoring platform ([0069] - - notifies the control system about the alarm).
Regarding claim 17, SHANG teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
SHANG further teaches:
the one or more alerts comprise:
an indication that the one or more thresholds are satisfied ([0067], [0068] - - if the measured environmental conditions exceed an acceptable range, triggers an alarm);
Regarding claim 18, SHANG teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
SHANG further teaches:
the one or more alerts comprise:
an indication that abnormal storage environment conditions are present in the first storage area ([0067], [0068] - - if the measured environmental conditions exceed an acceptable range, triggers an alarm);
Regarding claim 19, SHANG teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
SHANG further teaches:
the one or more alerts comprise:
an indication of one or more proposed actions that may be performed to rectify abnormal storage environment conditions are present in the first storage area ([0093] - - triggers an alarm and notifies the control system to move the inner pod to maintenance station).
Regarding claim 20, SHANG teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
SHANG further teaches:
one or more humidity measurements ([0035] - - humidity),
one or more airflow measurements,
one or more pressure measurements ([0035] - - gas pressure), or
one or more temperature measurements ([0035] - - temperature).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KU et al. US 2012/0018347 (hereinafter KU) in view of SHANG et al. US 2019/0163070 (hereinafter SHANG).
Regarding claim 5, KU teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But KU does not explicitly teach:
a battery configured to power the control system; and
a charging device configured to charge the battery when the storage environment monitoring device is placed on a charging station.
However, SHANG teaches:
a battery configured to power the control system ([0045] - - the reticle carrier uses chargeable battery); and
a charging device configured to charge the battery when the storage environment monitoring device is placed on a charging station ([0069] - - any issues with the reticle carrier may be remedied at the maintenance station; thus one of ordinary skill in the art would know to charge the reticle carrier at the maintenance station).
KU and SHANG are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to reticle carrier.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above device, as taught by KU, and incorporating using a battery, as taught by SHANG.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide power, as suggested by SHANG ([0045]).
Regarding claim 7, KU teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But KU does not explicitly teach:
determine, based on the results of the one or more measurements, that one or more parameters of the environment of the storage area satisfy one or more thresholds; and
generate, based on determining that the one or more parameters of the environment of the storage area satisfy the one or more thresholds, one or more alerts associated with the storage area; and
wherein the communication interface is further configured to:
transmit an indication of the one or more alerts to the environmental monitoring platform.
However, SHANG teaches:
determine, based on the results of the one or more measurements, that one or more parameters of the environment of the storage area satisfy one or more thresholds ([0067], [0068] - - if the measured environmental conditions exceed an acceptable range, triggers an alarm); and
generate, based on determining that the one or more parameters of the environment of the storage area satisfy the one or more thresholds, one or more alerts associated with the storage area ([0067], [0068] - - if the measured environmental conditions exceed an acceptable range, triggers an alarm); and
wherein the communication interface is further configured to:
transmit an indication of the one or more alerts to the environmental monitoring platform ([0069] - - notifies the control system about the alarm).
KU and SHANG are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to reticle carrier.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above device, as taught by KU, and incorporating transmit an alert, as taught by SHANG.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to avoid scrapping wafer due to improper storage conditions, as suggested by SHANG ([0005]).
Regarding claim 13, KU teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But KU does not explicitly teach:
a battery configured to power the control system; and
a charging device configured to charge the battery when the storage environment monitoring device is placed on a charging station.
However, SHANG teaches:
a battery configured to power the control system ([0045] - - the reticle carrier uses chargeable battery); and
a charging device configured to charge the battery when the storage environment monitoring device is placed on a charging station ([0069] - - any issues with the reticle carrier may be remedied at the maintenance station; thus one of ordinary skill in the art would know to charge the reticle carrier at the maintenance station).
KU and SHANG are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to reticle carrier.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above device, as taught by KU, and incorporating using a battery, as taught by SHANG.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide power, as suggested by SHANG ([0045]).
Claims 6, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KU et al. US 2012/0018347 (hereinafter KU) in view of SHANG et al. US 2019/0163070 (hereinafter SHANG) and further in view of Nishi et al. US 2003/0164934 (hereinafter Nishi).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of KU and SHANG teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But the combination of KU and SHANG does not explicitly teach:
transmit an indication of a remaining battery life of the battery to the environmental monitoring platform.
However, Nishi teaches:
transmit an indication of a remaining battery life of the battery to the environmental monitoring platform ([0078] - - the minicomputer reads charging status of the battery via a wireless system).
KU, SHANG and Nishi are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to semiconductor process system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above device, as taught by the combination of KU and SHANG, and incorporating monitoring battery life, as taught by Nishi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to ensure enough power in the carrier, as suggested by Nishi ([0078]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of KU and SHANG teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But the combination of KU and SHANG does not explicitly teach:
transmit an indication of a remaining battery life of the battery to the environmental monitoring platform.
However, Nishi teaches:
transmit an indication of a remaining battery life of the battery to the environmental monitoring platform ([0078] - - the minicomputer reads charging status of the battery via a wireless system).
KU, SHANG and Nishi are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to semiconductor process system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above device, as taught by the combination of KU and SHANG, and incorporating monitoring battery life, as taught by Nishi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to ensure enough power in the carrier, as suggested by Nishi ([0078]).
Conclusion
/YUHUI R PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116