DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Canelas et al. (US 2007/0082203 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Canelas”).
With respect to claim 1, Canelas discloses, in Figs.1-2, An underfill material comprising: (A) at least one epoxy resin having two or more epoxy groups per one molecule thereof, (B) at least one compound having a functional group that is capable of reacting with the epoxy group of the component (A) and an ethylenic unsaturated group, and (C) at least one inorganic filler (see Par.[0030] wherein the solids underfill composition essentially includes a photocurable acrylate component comprising a monofunctional ethylenic unsaturated monomer and/or oligomers, polyfunctional epoxy resin, photoinitiator, latent epoxy thermal initiator, and an inorganic CTE-reducing filler; the underfills are not alkali-soluble in the solid state, and contain no acidic groups in the liquid photocurable unsaturated monomers, -oligomers and/or polymers, such as free carboxylic, phosphate, or sulfonate groups; see Par.[0047] wherein the thermosetting polyfunctional epoxy resin component of the underfill contains at least one liquid resin that contains at least two epoxy groups, a viscosity of less than about 10,000 poises at 25.degree. C., an average weight per epoxide (WPE) in the range of about 100 to about 1000 and an average molecular weight within the range of about 500 to about 3500; see Par.[0056] wherein the CTE of the underfill in the thermoset state is in a range of from 15 to 50 ppm/.degree. C. and requires a non-conductive filler level, preferably spherical fused silica particles employed in a range amount of from 40 wt. % to 70 wt. %, preferably 45 to 60 wt. %).
With respect to claim 2, Canelas discloses, in Figs.1-2, the underfill material, further comprising (D) at least one compound having an ethylenic unsaturated group not containing a functional group/(adhesion improver)/(ethylenic unsaturated oligomers) capable of reacting with the component (A) (see Par.[0057] wherein the underfill can contain an adhesion improver; a typical useful amount is 3 to 8 wt. %; adhesion improvers are known and include organosilanes, organopolysiloxanes, organohydrogenpolysiloxanes, prehydrolyzed organosilanes, siloxanes, and silsequioxanes; exemplary organosilanes contain epoxy functional groups, such as mono(epoxyhydrocarbyl)trialkoxysilanes like .gamma glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane, .gamma.-glycidoxypropylmethyldiethoxysilane and .beta.-(3,4-epoxycyclohexyl)ethyltrimethoxysilane; or ethylenic unsaturated groups are preferred).
With respect to claim 3, Canelas discloses, in Figs.1-2, the underfill material, wherein a content of the component (D) is 10% by mass or more to 70% by mass or less relative to 100% by mass of resin components in the underfill material (see Par.[0057] wherein the underfill can contain an adhesion improver; a typical useful amount is 3 to 8 wt. %; adhesion improvers are known and include organosilanes, organopolysiloxanes, organohydrogenpolysiloxanes, prehydrolyzed organosilanes, siloxanes, and silsequioxanes; exemplary organosilanes contain epoxy functional groups, such as mono(epoxyhydrocarbyl)trialkoxysilanes like .gamma glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane, .gamma.-glycidoxypropylmethyldiethoxysilane and .beta.-(3,4-epoxycyclohexyl)ethyltrimethoxysilane; or ethylenic unsaturated groups are preferred).
With respect to claim 4, Canelas discloses, in Figs.1-2, the underfill material, wherein a content of the component (C) is 60% by mass or more relative to 100% by mass of components in the underfill material (see Par.[0056] wherein the CTE of the underfill in the thermoset state is in a range of from 15 to 50 ppm/.degree. C. and requires a non-conductive filler level, preferably spherical fused silica particles employed in a range amount of from 40 wt. % to 70 wt. %, preferably 45 to 60 wt. %; more preferably, the inorganic, low CTE filler is used in amount from 45 to 55 wt. %. The preferred low CTE inorganic filler has an average particle size of at least 10 .mu.m and an average size of not larger than about 75 .mu.m).
With respect to claim 5, Canelas discloses, in Figs.1-2, the underfill material, wherein a viscosity of the underfill material at 40°C is 2000 mPa∙s or less (see Par.[0047] wherein the thermosetting polyfunctional epoxy resin component of the underfill contains at least one liquid resin that contains at least two epoxy groups, a viscosity of less than about 10,000 poises at 25.degree. C., an average weight per epoxide (WPE) in the range of about 100 to about 1000 and an average molecular weight within the range of about 500 to about 3500).
With respect to claim 7, Canelas discloses, in Figs.1-2, the underfill material, wherein the functional group of the component (B) that is capable of reacting with the epoxy group of the component (A) is one or more groups selected from an epoxy group, an acid anhydride group, and a carboxyl group (see Par.[0007] wherein the underfill comprises epoxy resin and/or a mixture of epoxy resins, an organic carboxylic acid anhydride hardener, a curing accelerator, a self-fluxing agent, a viscosity-controlling agent, a coupling agent, and a surfactant; see Par.[0037]-[0040] wherein monofunctional acrylates are tetrahydrofurfuryl acrylate, tetrahydrofurfuryl methacrylate, pentaerythritol monomethacrylate and an anhydride, such as monomethacryloyloxyethyl phthalate; see Par.[0037], [0059] wherein the acetal acrylates are derived from polyols such as trimethylolpropane, trimethylolethane, glycerin, 1,2,4-butanetriol, 1,2,5-pentanetriol, and 1,2,6-hexanetriol, in a reaction with an aldehyde, and transesterification with an .alpha.,.beta.-unsaturated carboxylate, such as acrylic acid, or ester).
With respect to claim 8, Canelas discloses, in Figs.1-2, the underfill material, wherein the component (B) comprises a compound having one or more epoxy groups and one or more ethylenic unsaturated groups in one molecule thereof (see Par.[0041] wherein Ethylenic unsaturated monomers containing epoxy-reactive groups, e.g., active hydrogen-containing groups are not employed in the photocurable component).
With respect to claim 9, Canelas discloses, in Figs.1-2, the underfill material, wherein the component (B) comprises a glycidyl (meth)acrylate (see Par.[0047] wherein the thermosetting polyfunctional epoxy resin component of the underfill contains at least one liquid resin that contains at least two epoxy groups, a viscosity of less than about 10,000 poises at 25.degree. C., an average weight per epoxide (WPE) in the range of about 100 to about 1000 and an average molecular weight within the range of about 500 to about 3500; readily usable epoxies are known and include a diglycidal ether of bisphenol A, 2,2-bis4-(2,3-epoxypropoxy)-phenyl)propane; a combination of three epoxy resins is employed which is a mixture of a biphenyl epoxy resin with a WPE of about 192 g/eq., a diglycidal ether of bisphenol F having a WPE of about 172 g/eq., and a triglycidal ether of p-aminophenol having an WPE of about 101 g/eq).
With respect to claim 10, Canelas discloses, in Figs.1-2, the underfill material, wherein the underfill material further comprises (E) at least one radical polymerization catalyst (see Par.[0010] wherein the polymerizable coating system is a one component system comprising at least one alkoxysilyl-urethane-acrylate or methacrylate, an acrylate or methacrylate or vinyl ether diluent, a polymerization initiator of the cationic or free radical photoinitiator type, and a metal catalyst).
With respect to claim 11, Canelas discloses, in Figs.1-2, the underfill material, wherein the underfill material further comprises (F) at least one organic base (see Par.[0027] wherein elimination of volatile organic components prevents unacceptable shrinkage and stress, and off-gassing during the solder reflow step, preventing voids from forming between the wafer or section and the PCB; see Par.[0057] wherein the underfill can contain an adhesion improver; a typical useful amount is 3 to 8 wt. %. Adhesion improvers are known and include organosilanes, organopolysiloxanes, organohydrogenpolysiloxanes, prehydrolyzed organosilanes, siloxanes, and silsequioxanes. Exemplary organosilanes contain epoxy functional groups, such as mono(epoxyhydrocarbyl)trialkoxysilanes like .gamma.-glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane, .gamma.-glycidoxypropylmethyldiethoxysilane and .beta.-(3,4-epoxycyclohexyl)ethyltrimethoxysilane; or ethylenic unsaturated groups are preferred).
With respect to claim 12, Canelas discloses, in Figs.1-2, the underfill material, wherein the underfill material further comprises (G) at least one organic filler (see Par.[0027] wherein elimination of volatile organic components prevents unacceptable shrinkage and stress, and off-gassing during the solder reflow step, preventing voids from forming between the wafer or section and the PCB; see Par.[0057] wherein the underfill can contain an adhesion improver; a typical useful amount is 3 to 8 wt. %. Adhesion improvers are known and include organosilanes, organopolysiloxanes, organohydrogenpolysiloxanes, prehydrolyzed organosilanes, siloxanes, and silsequioxanes. Exemplary organosilanes contain epoxy functional groups, such as mono(epoxyhydrocarbyl)trialkoxysilanes like .gamma.-glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane, .gamma.-glycidoxypropylmethyldiethoxysilane and .beta.-(3,4-epoxycyclohexyl)ethyltrimethoxysilane; or ethylenic unsaturated groups are preferred).
With respect to claim 13, Canelas discloses, in Figs.1-2, the underfill material, wherein an average particle diameter of the component (C) is 15 μm or less (see Par.[0056] wherein the preferred low CTE inorganic filler has an average particle size of at least 10 .mu.m and an average size of not larger than about 75 .mu.m).
With respect to claim 14, Canelas discloses, in Figs.1-2, the underfill material, wherein an elastic modulus at 250°C of a cured product obtained by curing the underfill material is 1.0 GPa or more (see Par.[0011] wherein the brittleness of protective epoxy coatings for the circuitry on the circuitized surfaces of chip carriers, with moduli of elasticity greater than about 10,000 psi (69 MPa); a coating comprising acrylated urethane oligomer, acrylated monomer and photoinitiator to provide coatings having moduli of elasticity equal to or less than about 10,000 p.s.i.; see Par.[0007] wherein The underfill taught comprises epoxy resin and/or a mixture of epoxy resins, an organic carboxylic acid anhydride hardener, a curing accelerator, a self-fluxing agent, a viscosity-controlling agent, a coupling agent, and a surfactant. The underfill formulations exhibit a curing peak temperature ranging from 180 to 240.degree. C; see Par.[0026], [0028] wherein the thermoset cured underfill exhibits a range of flexural modulus of from 1000 to 5000 MPa at 25.degree. C., and a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) below the glass transition temperature in the range of 15 to about 60 ppm/.degree. C., more typically around 25 (+/-10) ppm/.degree. C).
With respect to claim 15, Canelas discloses, in Figs.1-2, the underfill material, wherein a cure shrinkage of a cured product obtained by curing the underfill material is 1% or more (see Par.[0030] wherein the weight percent of the components utilized in the wafer composition are combined to total 100% by weight and are as follows: TABLE-US-00001 Component Weight % photocurable acrylate component 5-30% liquid polyfunctional epoxy resin 10-45% photoinitiator 0.3-3% low CTE filler 40-70% latent cure accelerator 1-3%; see Par.[0032], [0082] wherein the photocurable component of the underfill composition comprises ethylenic unsaturated monomer or mixture of monomers having at least 6 carbon atoms in their structure; incorporation of monomers with fewer than 6 carbon atoms result in problems in photocuring to a solid state from unacceptable volatility, and shrinkage in conversion to the photo-cured heat-liquefiable, solid state that tends to add stresses to the chip which is adhered thereto; see Par.[0034] wherein when the wafer applied underfill containing the photocurable acrylate component polymerizes under the influence of UV radiation, the underfill is converted from a liquid at ambient temperatures to a solid state; the solid remains as a thermoplastic, meaning, it remains in a heat-liquefiable state until thermally cured; the specified amount of photocurable component is from 5-30 wt % of the total underfill weight).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canelas.
With respect to claim 6, Canelas discloses, in Figs.1-2, the underfill material, wherein a molar ratio of all epoxy groups in the component (A) to all functional groups in the component (B) (all epoxy groups in the component (A): all functional groups in the component (B)) is in the range (see Par.[0044], [0047] wherein Examples of commercially available acrylated urethanes include those known by the trade designations PHOTOMER (e.g., PHOTOMER 6010) from Henkel Corp. Hoboken, N.J.; EBECRYL 220 (hexafunctional aromatic urethane acrylate of molecular weight 1000), EBECRYL 284 (aliphatic urethane diacrylate of 1200 molecular weight diluted with 1,6-hexanediol diacrylate), EBECRYL 4827 (aromatic urethane diacrylate of 1600 molecular weight), EBECRYL 4830 (aliphatic urethane diacrylate of 1200 molecular weight diluted with tetraethylene glycol diacrylate), EBECRYL 6602 (trifunctional aromatic urethane acrylate of 1300 molecular weight diluted with trimethylolpropane ethoxy triacrylate), and EBECRYL 840 (aliphayic urethane diacrylate of 1000 molecular weight) from UCB Radcure Inc; see Par.[0047] wherein the thermosetting polyfunctional epoxy resin component of the underfill contains at least one liquid resin that contains at least two epoxy groups, a viscosity of less than about 10,000 poises at 25.degree. C., an average weight per epoxide (WPE) in the range of about 100 to about 1000 and an average molecular weight within the range of about 500 to about 3500).
Even though Canelas does not disclose all functional groups in the component (B)) is in the range of 30:70 to 80:20, the said range is predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical, such as, optimizing the accurate flow of underfill. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Claims 1, 16-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2023/0363182 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Lin”) in view of Canelas.
With respect to claim 1, Lin discloses, in Figs.1A-38, an underfill material (92, 522) comprising: (A) at least one epoxy resin having two or more epoxy groups per one molecule thereof, and (C) at least one inorganic filler (see Par.[0428] wherein an underfill 522, such as polymer; see Par.[0390] wherein the first type of chip package may further include (1) a polymer layer 92, i.e., insulating dielectric layer, made of molding compound, epoxy-based material, polyimide or silicon oxide; see Par.[0392] wherein polymer layers may be a layer of polyimide, benzocyclobutene (BCB), parylene, epoxy-based material or compound, photo epoxy SU-8, elastomer or silicone, having a thickness between; see Par.[0415], [0417] wherein a polymer layer, i.e., insulating dielectric layer, made of molding compound, epoxy-based material, polyimide or silicon oxide for example). However, Lin does not explicitly disclose an underfill material comprising: (B) at least one compound having a functional group that is capable of reacting with the epoxy group of the component (A) and an ethylenic unsaturated group.
Canelas discloses, in Figs.1-2, An underfill material comprising: (A) at least one epoxy resin having two or more epoxy groups per one molecule thereof, (B) at least one compound having a functional group that is capable of reacting with the epoxy group of the component (A) and an ethylenic unsaturated group, and (C) at least one inorganic filler (see Par.[0030] wherein the solids underfill composition essentially includes a photocurable acrylate component comprising a monofunctional ethylenic unsaturated monomer and/or oligomers, polyfunctional epoxy resin, photoinitiator, latent epoxy thermal initiator, and an inorganic CTE-reducing filler; the underfills are not alkali-soluble in the solid state, and contain no acidic groups in the liquid photocurable unsaturated monomers, -oligomers and/or polymers, such as free carboxylic, phosphate, or sulfonate groups; see Par.[0047] wherein the thermosetting polyfunctional epoxy resin component of the underfill contains at least one liquid resin that contains at least two epoxy groups, a viscosity of less than about 10,000 poises at 25.degree. C., an average weight per epoxide (WPE) in the range of about 100 to about 1000 and an average molecular weight within the range of about 500 to about 3500; see Par.[0056] wherein the CTE of the underfill in the thermoset state is in a range of from 15 to 50 ppm/.degree. C. and requires a non-conductive filler level, preferably spherical fused silica particles employed in a range amount of from 40 wt. % to 70 wt. %, preferably 45 to 60 wt. %).
Lin and Canelas are analogous art because they are all directed to a underfill material used in semiconductor package, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success by modifying Lin to include Canelas because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify underfill composition in Lin by including ethylenic unsaturated group within underfill as taught by Canelas in order to utilize photo curability property offered by ethylenic unsaturated group thereby having the underfill with qualities such as: optical transparency (i.e.; minimal absorption or scattering of light, preserving coupling efficiency), mechanical protection (i.e.; fills microscopic gaps, reducing stress on solder joints and improving resistance to shock, vibration, and thermal cycling), environmental sealing (i.e.; acts as a barrier against moisture and contaminants) and process control (i.e.; UV curing allows precise timing and location of curing, enabling complex package geometries).
With respect to claim 16, Lin discloses, in Figs.1A-38, the underfill material, wherein the underfill material (92, 522) is used to fill a gap between a circuit board (530) and a semiconductor chip (350) (see Par.[0428] wherein referring to FIG. 36A, the eighth type of chip package 307 may be a package-on-package (POP) assembly, including (1) a circuit board 530, (2) multiple tin-containing solder bumps or balls 523 in an array at a bottom of its circuit board 530, (3) a lower chip package 317, which may have the specification for the first type of chip package 301 as seen in FIG. 28, provided with the metal bumps, pillars or pads 570 each attached to its circuit board 530, wherein for easy description only one of the field-programmable-gate-array (FPGA) integrated-circuit (IC) chips or chiplets 200 of its lower chip package 317 is shown in FIGS. 36A, 36B and 36C, (4) an underfill 522, such as polymer, between its lower chip package 317 and circuit board 530, enclosing the metal bumps, pillars or pads 570 of its lower chip package 317, (5) an upper chip package 510 provided with multiple tin-containing solder bumps 516 at a bottom of its upper chip package 510, each bonded to one of the metal pads 583 of its lower chip package 317, and (6) an underfill 517, such as polymer, formed between its lower and upper chip packages 317 and 510, enclosing the tin-containing solder bumps 516 of its upper chip package 510; the upper chip package 510 of the eighth type of chip package 307 may include (1) two memory IC chips 350, each of which may be a non-volatile memory (NVM) integrated-circuit (IC) chip, such as NAND flash chip, NOR flash chip, magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) IC chip, resistive random access memory (RRAM) IC chip or ferroelectric random access memory (FRAM) IC chip, or a volatile memory integrated-circuit (IC) chip, such as dynamic-random-access-memory (DRAM) IC chip or static-random-access-memory (SRAM) IC chip, stacked with each other and mounted to each other via its adhesive layer 511 such as silver paste or a heat conductive paste, wherein an upper one of its memory IC chips 350 may overhang from an edge of a lower one of its memory IC chips 350, (2) a circuit board 513, such as ball-grid-array (BGA) substrate, under its memory IC chips 350 to have the lower one of its memory IC chips 350 to be attached to a top surface of its circuit board 513 via its adhesive layer 524 such as silver paste or a heat conductive paste, (3) multiple wirebonded wires 514 each coupling one of its memory IC chips 350 to its circuit board 513 and (4) a molded polymer 515 over its circuit board 513, encapsulating its memory IC chips 350 and wirebonded wires 514).
With respect to claim 17, Lin discloses, in Figs.1A-38, the underfill material, wherein the underfill material (92) is used to fill a gap between a semiconductor chip (350) and a rewiring layer (101) (see Par.[390] wherein a frontside interconnection scheme for a logic drive or device (FISD) 101 under its semiconductor integrated-circuit (IC) chips 100 and its third type of field programmable chip-on-chip modules 400 in case of replacing its standard commodity field programmable integrated-circuit (FPIC) chips or chiplets).
With respect to claim 18, Lin discloses, in Figs.1A-38, the underfill material, wherein the underfill material (522) is used to fill a gap between a circuit board (530) and a rewiring layer (101) (see Fig.36A).
With respect to claim 19, Lin discloses, in Figs.1A-38, the underfill material, wherein the rewiring layer (101) comprises at least one polyimide (42) (see Par.[0391] wherein the topmost one of the polymer layers 42 of its FISD 101 may be between the topmost one of the interconnection metal layers 27 of its FISD 101 and its polymer layer 92 and between the topmost one of the interconnection metal layers 27 of its FISD 101 and the frontside of each of its semiconductor integrated-circuit (IC) chips).
With respect to claim 20, Lin discloses, in Figs.1A-38, the underfill material, wherein the underfill material (92, 522) is for a semiconductor device of a multiple die (350) package (see Fig.36A).
With respect to claim 21, Lin discloses, in Figs.1A-38, the underfill material, wherein the underfill material is for a semiconductor device of a semiconductor chip package having an area of 900 mm2 or more (see Par.[0238] wherein the first type of standard commodity field programmable integrated-circuit (FPIC) chip or chiplet 200 may have an area between 100 mm.sup.2 and 9 mm.sup.2, 75 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2, 50 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2, or 25 mm.sup.2 and 9 mm.sup.2.; see Par.[0256] wherein the second type of standard commodity field programmable integrated-circuit (FPIC) chip or chiplet 200 may have an area between 400 mm.sup.2 and 9 mm.sup.2, 225 mm.sup.2 and 9 mm.sup.2, 144 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2, 100 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2, 75 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2, or 50 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2.).
With respect to claim 22, Lin discloses, in Figs.1A-38, the underfill material, wherein the underfill material is for a semiconductor device comprising a fan-out type package (see Par.[0389] wherein First Type of Chip Package for Fan-Out Interconnection Technology (FOIT)).
With respect to claim 23, Lin discloses, in Figs.1A-38, the underfill material, wherein the underfill material is for a semiconductor device comprising a semiconductor package comprising a silicon interposer (551) (see Par.[0074] wherein device or logic drive in the 2D or 3D multichip package comprising multichip packages (a CPU multichip package, a CPU multichip package, and a FPIC multichip package) on the silicon interposer (similar to Chip-On-InterPoser), wherein the CPU and GPU/DPU multichip packages comprising the CPU and GPU/DPU IC chips respectively are the same as the 2D or 3D multichip package for the FPGA chip, as described and specified above, just having the CPU and GPU/DPU IC chips therein respectively instead of having the FPGA chip; see Par.[0398] wherein the interposer 551 of the second type of chip package 302 may include (1) a silicon substrate 552, (2) multiple through silicon vias 558 extending vertically through its silicon substrate 552; see Par.[0399]-[0401] wherein Referring to FIG. 29, each of the through silicon vias 558 of the interposer 551 of the second type of chip package 302 may include (1) a copper layer 557 extending vertically through the silicon substrate 552 of the interposer 551, (2) an insulating dielectric layer 555 around a sidewall of its copper layer 557 and in the silicon substrate 552 of the interposer 551, (3) an adhesion layer 556 around the sidewall of its copper layer 557 and between its copper layer 557 and insulating dielectric layer 555 and (4) a seed layer 559 around the sidewall of its copper layer 557 and between its copper layer 557 and adhesion layer 556).
With respect to claim 24, Lin discloses, in Figs.1A-38, the underfill material, wherein the underfill material is for a semiconductor device (350, 200 or 400) comprising a laminate having two or more semiconductor chips laminated in a vertical direction through a through silicon via (see Par.[0398] wherein the interposer 551 of the second type of chip package 302 may include (1) a silicon substrate 552, (2) multiple through silicon vias 558 extending vertically through its silicon substrate 552; see Par.[0399]-[0401] wherein Referring to FIG. 29, each of the through silicon vias 558 of the interposer 551 of the second type of chip package 302 may include (1) a copper layer 557 extending vertically through the silicon substrate 552 of the interposer 551, (2) an insulating dielectric layer 555 around a sidewall of its copper layer 557 and in the silicon substrate 552 of the interposer 551, (3) an adhesion layer 556 around the sidewall of its copper layer 557 and between its copper layer 557 and insulating dielectric layer 555 and (4) a seed layer 559 around the sidewall of its copper layer 557 and between its copper layer 557 and adhesion layer 556).
With respect to claim 25, Lin discloses, in Figs.1A-38, the underfill material, wherein the gap.
Even though the combination of Lin and Canelas does not disclose the gap is 200 μm or less, the said range is predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical, such as, optimizing the accurate flow of underfill. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
With respect to claim 26, Lin discloses, in Figs.1A-38, the underfill material, wherein the gap.
Even though the combination of Lin and Canelas does not disclose the gap is 100 μm or less, the said range is predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical, such as, optimizing the accurate flow of underfill. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
With respect to claim 27, Canelas discloses, in Figs.1-2, the underfill material, wherein the underfill material comprises at least one or more of the component (D) having a viscosity of 50 mPa∙s or less at 25°C (see Par.[0047] wherein the thermosetting polyfunctional epoxy resin component of the underfill contains at least one liquid resin that contains at least two epoxy groups, a viscosity of less than about 10,000 poises at 25.degree. C., an average weight per epoxide (WPE) in the range of about 100 to about 1000 and an average molecular weight within the range of about 500 to about 3500).
With respect to claim 28, Canelas discloses, in Figs.1-2, the underfill material, wherein the underfill material comprises at least one or more of the component (B) having a viscosity of 50 mPa∙s or less at 25°C (see Par.[0047] wherein the thermosetting polyfunctional epoxy resin component of the underfill contains at least one liquid resin that contains at least two epoxy groups, a viscosity of less than about 10,000 poises at 25.degree. C., an average weight per epoxide (WPE) in the range of about 100 to about 1000 and an average molecular weight within the range of about 500 to about 3500).
With respect to claim 29, Canelas discloses, in Figs.1-2, the underfill material, wherein the underfill material is used in a post-application method (see Par.[0025], [0028]-[0029], [0031] wherein the rheology of the liquid underfill material is readily adaptable for the selected coating application method; the invention includes applying a liquid underfill adhesive to a integrated circuit wafer, application of a controlled dosage of photonic energy (ultraviolet, visible, infrared, etc.), solidification of the underfill to heat-liquefiable or melt-flowable state, optionally singluating the wafer by dicing or sawing, and storage of the coated wafer or dice during the delay period; the underfill composition in the solid, heat-liquefiable state, prior to converting to the thermoset state is self-supporting, shelf-stable, and maintains adhesion to the active side of the wafer or section for long delay periods at ambient temperature, enabling decoupling of underfill application and solder-reflow chip installation steps).
With respect to claim 30, Canelas discloses, in Figs.1-2, a semiconductor chip package comprising a cured product of the underfill material (see Par.[0032], [0034] wherein the photocurable component of the underfill composition comprises ethylenic unsaturated monomer or mixture of monomers having at least 6 carbon atoms in their structure; incorporation of monomers with fewer than 6 carbon atoms result in problems in photocuring to a solid state from unacceptable volatility, and shrinkage in conversion to the photo-cured heat-liquefiable, solid state that tends to add stresses to the chip which is adhered thereto; the wafer applied underfill containing the photocurable acrylate component polymerizes under the influence of UV radiation, the underfill is converted from a liquid at ambient temperatures to a solid state; the solid remains as a thermoplastic, meaning, it remains in a heat-liquefiable state until thermally cured).
With respect to claim 31, the combination of Lin and Canelas discloses, a semiconductor chip package comprising a circuit board, a semiconductor chip that is bonded and mounted to the circuit board (see Lin in Fig.36A), and a cured product of the underfill material (see Canelas Par. [0032], [0034]) that fills a gap between the circuit board and the semiconductor chip.
With respect to claim 32, the combination of Lin and Canelas discloses, the semiconductor chip package, wherein (S2/S1) × 100 is 120% or less, provided that S1 represents a projected area of a surface of a semiconductor chip and S2 represents a projected area of the cured product of the underfill material (see Lin in Par.[0238] wherein the first type of standard commodity field programmable integrated-circuit (FPIC) chip or chiplet 200 may have an area between 100 mm.sup.2 and 9 mm.sup.2, 75 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2, 50 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2, or 25 mm.sup.2 and 9 mm.sup.2.; see Par.[0256] wherein the second type of standard commodity field programmable integrated-circuit (FPIC) chip or chiplet 200 may have an area between 400 mm.sup.2 and 9 mm.sup.2, 225 mm.sup.2 and 9 mm.sup.2, 144 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2, 100 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2, 75 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2, or 50 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2; see Canelas in Par.[0032], [0034] wherein the photocurable component of the underfill composition comprises ethylenic unsaturated monomer or mixture of monomers having at least 6 carbon atoms in their structure; incorporation of monomers with fewer than 6 carbon atoms result in problems in photocuring to a solid state from unacceptable volatility, and shrinkage in conversion to the photo-cured heat-liquefiable, solid state that tends to add stresses to the chip which is adhered thereto; the wafer applied underfill containing the photocurable acrylate component polymerizes under the influence of UV radiation, the underfill is converted from a liquid at ambient temperatures to a solid state; the solid remains as a thermoplastic, meaning, it remains in a heat-liquefiable state until thermally cured).
With respect to claim 33, the combination of Lin and Canelas discloses, the semiconductor chip package according to claim 30, wherein (S2/S1) × 100 is 110% or less, provided that S1 represents a projected area of a surface of a semiconductor chip and S2 represents a projected area of the cured product of the underfill material (see Lin in Par.[0238] wherein the first type of standard commodity field programmable integrated-circuit (FPIC) chip or chiplet 200 may have an area between 100 mm.sup.2 and 9 mm.sup.2, 75 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2, 50 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2, or 25 mm.sup.2 and 9 mm.sup.2.; see Par.[0256] wherein the second type of standard commodity field programmable integrated-circuit (FPIC) chip or chiplet 200 may have an area between 400 mm.sup.2 and 9 mm.sup.2, 225 mm.sup.2 and 9 mm.sup.2, 144 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2, 100 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2, 75 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2, or 50 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2; see Canelas in Par.[0032], [0034] wherein the photocurable component of the underfill composition comprises ethylenic unsaturated monomer or mixture of monomers having at least 6 carbon atoms in their structure; incorporation of monomers with fewer than 6 carbon atoms result in problems in photocuring to a solid state from unacceptable volatility, and shrinkage in conversion to the photo-cured heat-liquefiable, solid state that tends to add stresses to the chip which is adhered thereto; the wafer applied underfill containing the photocurable acrylate component polymerizes under the influence of UV radiation, the underfill is converted from a liquid at ambient temperatures to a solid state; the solid remains as a thermoplastic, meaning, it remains in a heat-liquefiable state until thermally cured).
With respect to claim 34, the combination of Lin and Canelas discloses, the semiconductor chip package according to claim 30, wherein (S2/S1) × 100 is 105% or less, provided that S1 represents a projected area of a surface of a semiconductor chip and S2 represents a projected area of the cured product of the underfill material (see Lin in Par.[0238] wherein the first type of standard commodity field programmable integrated-circuit (FPIC) chip or chiplet 200 may have an area between 100 mm.sup.2 and 9 mm.sup.2, 75 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2, 50 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2, or 25 mm.sup.2 and 9 mm.sup.2.; see Par.[0256] wherein the second type of standard commodity field programmable integrated-circuit (FPIC) chip or chiplet 200 may have an area between 400 mm.sup.2 and 9 mm.sup.2, 225 mm.sup.2 and 9 mm.sup.2, 144 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2, 100 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2, 75 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2, or 50 mm.sup.2 and 16 mm.sup.2; see Canelas in Par.[0032], [0034] wherein the photocurable component of the underfill composition comprises ethylenic unsaturated monomer or mixture of monomers having at least 6 carbon atoms in their structure; incorporation of monomers with fewer than 6 carbon atoms result in problems in photocuring to a solid state from unacceptable volatility, and shrinkage in conversion to the photo-cured heat-liquefiable, solid state that tends to add stresses to the chip which is adhered thereto; the wafer applied underfill containing the photocurable acrylate component polymerizes under the influence of UV radiation, the underfill is converted from a liquid at ambient temperatures to a solid state; the solid remains as a thermoplastic, meaning, it remains in a heat-liquefiable state until thermally cured).
With respect to claim 35, Lin discloses, in Figs.1A-38, the semiconductor chip package, wherein a cross-sectional shape of the cured product of the underfill material becomes smaller from a semiconductor chip toward a center of the cured product and larger from the center of the cured product toward the circuit board (see Fig.36A).
With respect to claim 36, Lin discloses, in Figs.1A-38, a method for producing a semiconductor chip package, the method comprising a step of filling a gap between a circuit board and a semiconductor chip or an interposer with the underfill material, wherein an area of the semiconductor chip package or of the interposer is givenmm2 or more, the gap is given μm or less, and a filling completion time.
Even though the combination of Lin and Canelas does not disclose the semiconductor chip package or of the interposer is 900 mm2 or more, the gap is 600 μm or less, and a filling completion time of the underfill material is less than 120 minutes, the said ranges are predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical, such as, optimizing the accurate flow of underfill. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
With respect to claim 37, Lin discloses, in Figs.1A-38, a semiconductor device comprising the semiconductor chip package (see Par.[0428] wherein in FIGS. 36A, 36B and 36C chip package is shown).
With respect to claim 38, Canelas discloses, in Figs.1-2, A cured product of the underfill material (see Par.[0032], [0034] wherein the photocurable component of the underfill composition comprises ethylenic unsaturated monomer or mixture of monomers having at least 6 carbon atoms in their structure; incorporation of monomers with fewer than 6 carbon atoms result in problems in photocuring to a solid state from unacceptable volatility, and shrinkage in conversion to the photo-cured heat-liquefiable, solid state that tends to add stresses to the chip which is adhered thereto; the wafer applied underfill containing the photocurable acrylate component polymerizes under the influence of UV radiation, the underfill is converted from a liquid at ambient temperatures to a solid state; the solid remains as a thermoplastic, meaning, it remains in a heat-liquefiable state until thermally cured).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record (e.g.; see PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Examiner’s Telephone/Fax Contacts
/Mouloucoulaye Inoussa/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818