DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This action is in response to the amendments received on 5/14/26. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Applicants' arguments have been carefully and respectfully considered.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-9, 14-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arye et al. (US 2021/0034598), and further in view of James (US 2015/0120745).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 10, 11, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arye in view of James, and further in view of Poon et al. (US 2015/0220327).
Claims 5, 6, 12, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arye in view of James, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 11,262,728).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-9, 14-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arye et al. (US 2021/0034598), and further in view of James (US 2015/0120745).
With respect to claim 1, Arye teaches a method comprising:
accessing a resource management database (Arye, pa 0098, the conversion engine 250 converts data from this first representation to the second representation when a function, procedure, command, or component is executed on the database system)
determining that an attribute value corresponding to an attribute of a resource instance is in a format of an object array, wherein the object array comprises a plurality of array features (Arye, pa 0108, the database system includes sixteen EAV rows are as follows (the first representation): “[ " 2019-01-01 00:00:00.00-05"; "DbAq75B", "temperature", 72] [ " 2019-01-01 00:00:00.00-05"; "DbAq75B", "location", 14] [ " 20 19-01-01 00:00:00.00-05"; "AB7d89bz" , "temperature" , 68 ]” etc., the first representation, “temperature” and “location” for example) and a corresponding plurality of feature values (Arye, pa 0108, the database system includes sixteen EAV rows are as follows (the first representation): “[ " 2019-01-01 00:00:00.00-05"; "DbAq75B", "temperature", 72] [ " 2019-01-01 00:00:00.00-05"; "DbAq75B", "location", 14] [ " 20 19-01-01 00:00:00.00-05"; "AB7d89bz" , "temperature" , 68 ]” etc., the first representation, timestamp, temperature values);
converting the plurality of array features of the object array to a plurality of converted attributes (Arye, pa 0108, When converting such schemas into the second representation, according to an embodiment, the conversion engine reads some number of EAV rows, then converts them into a wide row in which like fields are accumulated into a set, such that multiple sets of attributes are stored in each row in the second representation);
converting the corresponding plurality of feature values to a plurality of converted attribute values corresponding to the plurality of converted attributes (Arye, pa 0111, Values of timestamp, device ID, temperature and location are broken apart from first representation and grouped according to temperature and location);
updating an attribute table by replacing the attribute of the resource instance with the plurality of converted attributes for the resource instance (Arye, pa 0108, When converting such schemas into the second representation, according to an embodiment, the conversion engine reads some number of EAV rows, then converts them into a wide row in which like fields are accumulated into a set, such that multiple sets of attributes are stored in each row in the second representation);
updating a value table to include the plurality of converted attribute values corresponding to the plurality of converted attributes (Arye, pa 0111, like fields are accumulated into a set, such that only one attribute is stored in each row in the second representation.);
adding a group identification column to the value table, comprising grouping the plurality of converted attribute values corresponding to the plurality of converted attributes for the resource instance based on the object array to obtain one or more groups of attribute values; and adding one or more group identifications for the one or more groups of attribute values in the group identification column.
Arye doesn't expressly discuss adding a group identification column to the value table, comprising grouping the plurality of converted attribute values corresponding to the plurality of converted attributes for the resource instance based on the object array to obtain one or more groups of attribute values; and adding one or more group identifications for the one or more groups of attribute values in the group identification column.
James teaches adding a group identification column to the value table, comprising grouping the plurality of converted attribute values corresponding to the plurality of converted attributes for the resource instance based on the object array to obtain one or more groups of attribute values; and adding one or more group identifications for the one or more groups of attribute values in the group identification column (James, pa 0034, a number of queries for a particular attribute may be measured over a set time period and when that number exceeds a threshold number, then that particular attribute may be identified to become its own column. Attributes may be identified for a separate/dynamic column based on measuring query traffic over time, such as with the application of statistics (e.g. a histogram) of relative frequency of searching or query requests. That information may then be fed back to the indexer to identify the more popular attributes to be dynamically moved or copied to a separate column. The separate column can be indexed for quicker searching and retrieval of values related to that attribute).
It would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Arye with the teachings of James because it provides quicker search and retrieval of values (James, pa 0034).
With respect to claim 2, Arye in view of James teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
querying the resource instance based on a converted attribute and a corresponding attribute value (Arye, pa 0128, The database system 110 enables data to be queried from this second representation.).
With respect to claim 7, Arye in view of James teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining a second attribute of the resource instance is not included in the attribute table (Verma, pa 0027, at step 302, the raw data set received from the plurality of sources may be validated to generate a validated dataset. In order to validate the raw dataset, one or more erroneous data records may be filtered out form the raw dataset. Moreover, the raw dataset may be validated based on a set of predefined rules.); adding the second attribute of the resource instance to the attribute table; and adding a second attribute value corresponding to the second attribute of the resource instance to the value table (Verma, pa 0026, in order to generate the set of general attributes and the set of specific attributes, at step 208, each of a set of configuration items (Cis) corresponding to each of the plurality of RUs may be identified from a plurality of configuration items (Cis) stored in configuration management database (CMDB).).
With respect to claims 8, 9, and 14, the limitations are essentially the same as claims 1, 2, and 7, and are rejected for the same reasons.
With respect to claims 15, 16, and 20, the limitations are essentially the same as claims 1, 2, and 7, and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 10, 11, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arye in view of James, and further in view of Poon et al. (US 2015/0220327).
With respect to claim 3, Arye in view of James teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the resource management database comprises an instance table (Verma, Fig 5a), the attribute table (Verma, Fig 6a), and the value table (Arye, pa 0111, the second representation.), wherein the instance table is configured to store one or more resource instances corresponding to the one or more resource types (Verma, Fig 5a, dataset 502 column showing types), wherein the attribute table is configured to store one or more attributes for the one or more resource instances (Verma, Fig 6a, column description for data about resources), and wherein the value table is configured to store one or more values corresponding to the one or more attributes for the one or more resource instances (Arye, pa 0111, the second representation having values for entries).
Arye in view of James doesn't expressly discuss wherein the resource management database comprises a resource table, wherein the resource table is configured to record one or more resource types.
Poon teaches wherein the resource management database comprises a resource table (Fig. 12, resource table), wherein the resource table is configured to record one or more resource types (Fig. 12, resource table with resource type).
It would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Arye in view of James with the teachings of Poon because it enables applications to handle new devices (Poon, pa 0021).
With respect to claim 4, Arye in view of James and Poon teaches the method of claim 3, further comprising:
determining a resource type associated with the resource instance is not included in the resource table (Poon, pa 0155, runtime injection of resource types is supported by data layer architecture 1100… The current disclosure also handles both compatible and incompatible schema changes with minimal impact to the runtime. Examples of compatible changes are: additive changes like new attributes, new types); and adding the resource type associated with the resource instance to the resource table (Poon, pa 0158, The relation records if three new records are added to resource relation table 116 are then generated by using the appropriate relation types, and specific resource records are linked.), the instance table, the attribute table (Arye, pa 0063, A determination is made whether an input record should be stored in a new chunk or an existing chunk. For each new chunk being created, sets of values corresponding to each dimension attribute are determined and the new chunk is created for storing the input record. The hypertable is updated by storing the input record in the new chunk), and the value table.
With respect to claims 10 and 11, the limitations are essentially the same as claims 3 and 4, and are rejected for the same reasons.
With respect to claims 17 and 18, the limitations are essentially the same as claims 3 and 4, and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 5, 6, 12, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arye in view of James, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 11,262,728).
With respect to claim 5, Arye in view of James teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the attribute of the resource instance is an address attribute for a MYSQL database instance (Arye, pa 0055, One such example of out-of-line storage is TOAST storage in the PostgreSQL database system and Antelope and Barracuda storage in the InnoDB database storage engine for the MySQL database system. & pa 0187, the chunk selection module 445 also identifies the location of the existing chunk, for example, whether the existing chunk is local (i.e., on the current database system node) or remote (i.e., on another database system node). This location can specify a location explicitly or implicitly, including specifying a name of a local database table, the name of a remote database table, the name or network address or a remote server, and so on).
Arye in view of James doesn't expressly discuss wherein the attribute value corresponding to the address attribute comprises the object array comprising multiple sets of addresses, wherein the multiple sets of addresses comprise an address type feature and a corresponding address feature, wherein the plurality of converted attributes to an address type attribute and an address attribute.
Zhang teaches wherein the attribute value corresponding to the address attribute comprises the object array comprising multiple sets of addresses, wherein the multiple sets of addresses comprise an address type feature and a corresponding address feature, wherein the plurality of converted attributes to an address type attribute and an address attribute (Zhang, Col 10 Li. 45-64, the data array is acquired in the form of Table 2. … Table 2 shows an arranged time sequence data array. Of course, data acquired from the PLC may not be arranged in order. In this case, data is organized according to the addresses, and the data each address corresponds to is sorted according to the storage time. c) For each address, extract the actual attribute value of the actual status value stored in the address. In Table 2, actual status values are already sorted by address and time.).
It would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Arye in view of James with the teachings of Zhang because it identifies device parameters in a large amount of industrial device data (Zhang, Col. 2 Li. 14-39).
With respect to claim 6, Arye in view of James and Zhang teaches the method of claim 5, wherein attribute values for the address type attribute comprise an external address type value and an internal address type value, attribute values for the address attribute comprise an external address value corresponding to the external address type value and an internal address value corresponding to the internal address type value, wherein the external address type value and the external address value are grouped with a first group identification and the internal address type value and the internal address value are group with a second group identification (Zhang, Col. 56-67, Although the internal controller of industrial devices is not shown in FIG. 8, the internal controller of industrial devices and the controller of the cloud platform simultaneously exist and are applied to different industrial devices in one illustrative embodiment of the present invention. In this case, the address identification apparatus 100 according to the present invention acquires data from the internal controller of industrial devices or the controller of the cloud platform, as required.).
With respect to claims 12 and 13, the limitations are essentially the same as claims 5 and 6, and are rejected for the same reasons.
With respect to claim 19, Arye in view of James teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the attribute of the resource instance is an address attribute for a MYSQL database instance (Arye, pa 0055, One such example of out-of-line storage is TOAST storage in the PostgreSQL database system and Antelope and Barracuda storage in the InnoDB database storage engine for the MySQL database system. & pa 0187, the chunk selection module 445 also identifies the location of the existing chunk, for example, whether the existing chunk is local (i.e., on the current database system node) or remote (i.e., on another database system node). This location can specify a location explicitly or implicitly, including specifying a name of a local database table, the name of a remote database table, the name or network address or a remote server, and so on).
Arye in view of James doesn't expressly discuss wherein the attribute value corresponding to the address attribute comprises the object array comprising multiple sets of addresses, wherein the multiple sets of addresses comprise an address type feature and a corresponding address feature, wherein the plurality of converted attributes to an address type attribute and an address attribute, wherein the attribute value corresponding to the address attribute comprises the object array comprising multiple sets of addresses, wherein the multiple sets of addresses comprise an address type feature and a corresponding address feature, wherein the plurality of converted attributes to an address type attribute and an address attribute.
Zhang teaches wherein the attribute value corresponding to the address attribute comprises the object array comprising multiple sets of addresses, wherein the multiple sets of addresses comprise an address type feature and a corresponding address feature, wherein the plurality of converted attributes to an address type attribute and an address attribute (Zhang, Col 10 Li. 45-64, the data array is acquired in the form of Table 2. … Table 2 shows an arranged time sequence data array. Of course, data acquired from the PLC may not be arranged in order. In this case, data is organized according to the addresses, and the data each address corresponds to is sorted according to the storage time. c) For each address, extract the actual attribute value of the actual status value stored in the address. In Table 2, actual status values are already sorted by address and time.), wherein attribute values for the address type attribute comprise an external address type value and an internal address type value, attribute values for the address attribute comprise an external address value corresponding to the external address type value and an internal address value corresponding to the internal address type value, wherein the external address type value and the external address value are grouped with a first group identification and the internal address type value and the internal address value are group with a second group identification (Zhang, Col. 56-67, Although the internal controller of industrial devices is not shown in FIG. 8, the internal controller of industrial devices and the controller of the cloud platform simultaneously exist and are applied to different industrial devices in one illustrative embodiment of the present invention. In this case, the address identification apparatus 100 according to the present invention acquires data from the internal controller of industrial devices or the controller of the cloud platform, as required.).
It would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Arye in view of James with the teachings of Zhang because it identifies device parameters in a large amount of industrial device data (Zhang, Col. 2 Li. 14-39).
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. 103 rejection
Applicant argues that Ayre does not disclose “an attribute … in a format of an object array” which includes “a plurality of array features and corresponding feature values” because the values shown in paragraph 0107 of Ayre are not an object array. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim limitation at question requires “determining that an attribute value corresponding to an attribute of a resource instance is in a format of an object array, wherein the object array comprises a plurality of array features and a corresponding plurality of feature values.” Ayre discusses such a determination by analyzing the EAV rows to determine that attribute values of a resource are represented by an object array for that particular resource. The structure in paragraph 0108 represents an object array including several array features (temperature, location) and feature values (timestamp value, device ID value, temperature/location value) represented within the object array. While Applicant’s table 405 is different from Ayre’s teachings, the claims do not require every detail of table 405.
Due to the amendment, Applicant’s amendment has rendered the previous rejection moot. Upon further consideration of the amendment, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of James (US 2015/0120745).
Conclusion
/BRITTANY N ALLEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2169