Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/02/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pharand et al. (U.S. 2025/0118602 A1) in view of Kim (U.S. 2023/0230866 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pharand et al. disclose a method of monitoring a carrier within a station (carriers 121, 122 movable between stations in a loop, [0055]); supplying a first current to a first electromagnet of one or more first sensors of a first array of sensors disposed in a first axial direction above a membrane disposed within a station (plurality of electromagnetic coils 115 arranged in an array and individually energized, [0042]); moving the carrier levitated below the membrane to a second position along the first axial direction (carrier levitated and moved relative to the horizontal surface in multiple directions, [0054]); reducing the first current to first electromagnet (selective energization of coils wherein each coin produce first or second or nth current for position control, [0054]); and supplying a second current to a second electromagnet of one or more second sensors of a second array of sensors disposed in a second axial direction (array-based coil control across positions, [0042]); detecting, by use of a first sensor, a first magnetic field strength generated by the first electromagnet, wherein the first magnetic field strength varies as a size of a gap formed between the membrane and a carrier disposed in a first position underneath the membrane varies (see [0057]).
Pharand et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose detecting, by use of a second sensor, a second magnetic field strength generated by the second electromagnet, wherein the second magnetic field strength varies as a size of the gap formed between the membrane and the carrier disposed in the second position underneath the membrane varies.
Kim discloses a first sensor, a second magnetic field strength generated by the second electromagnet, wherein the second magnetic field strength varies as a size of the gap formed between the membrane and the carrier disposed in the second position underneath the membrane varies (see [0044], wherein detecting magnetic field variation using sensors (sensor unit 30 detects variation of magnetic field and position of the carrier based on magnetic interaction, see [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Pharand et al. to incorporate Kim’s magnetic-field-based sensing in order to provide position-dependent magnetic field monitoring of the carrier and improve accuracy and diagnostic capability in semiconductor transport systems (see Kim’s [0007] & [0059]).
Regarding claim 2, Pharand et al. & Kim disclose the method of claim 1, wherein Pharand et al. further disclose the first current is an alternating current (see [0043] wherein coin 115, each coin produce AC current, supplying current to electromagnetic coils to generate magnetic fields for levitation and movement, see [0042], coils 115 energized to generate magnetic fields, [0054]).
Regarding claim 3, Pharand et al. disclose detecting carrier position using sensors (Hall effect sensors 116 detect position relative to the horizontal surface, [0056]).
Pharand et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose detecting magnetic flux density using multiple sensor elements, generating a voltage signal, detecting peak-to-peak voltage, or outputting a gap indexed to the voltage signal.
Kim discloses a sensor unit including two Hall sensors detecting magnetic flux density and generating signals based on magnetic interaction (two Hall sensors detecting magnetic flux variation and producing signals, [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Pharand et al. to incorporate Kim’s Hall sensors detecting magnetic flux density in order to provide position-dependent magnetic field monitoring of the carrier and improve accuracy and diagnostic capability in semiconductor transport systems (see Kim’s [0007] & [0059]).
Regarding claim 4, Pharand et al. disclose selective energization of coils to control carrier movement (coil control for position adjustment, [0054]).
Pharand et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose stopping the current to turn-off the electromagnet.
Kim discloses stopping the current to turn-off the electromagnet (see [0052], wherein coil-based operation where magnetic interaction varies with activation and deactivation of coils (magnetic field variation detected as carrier passes coils, [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Pharand et al. to incorporate Kim’s stopping the current to turn-off the electromagnet in order to provide position-dependent magnetic field monitoring of the carrier and improve accuracy and diagnostic capability in semiconductor transport systems (see Kim’s [0007] & [0059]).
Regarding claim 5, Pharand et al. disclose adjusting vertical position of the carrier (movement in z-direction via coil control, [0054]).
Pharand et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose that the adjustment is based on detected magnetic field strength.
Kim discloses adjustment is based on detected magnetic field strength (see [0044} wherein detecting magnetic field variation corresponding to carrier position (magnetic field variation sensed by sensors, [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Pharand et al. to incorporate Kim’s adjustment is based on detected magnetic field strength in order to provide position-dependent magnetic field monitoring of the carrier and improve accuracy and diagnostic capability in semiconductor transport systems (see Kim’s [0007] & [0059]).
Regarding claim 6, Pharand et al. disclose moving the carrier to multiple positions along different directions (movement across stations in a loop, [0055]).
Regarding claim 7, Pharand et al. disclose independent energization of coils in an array (individual coil control, [0042]).
Pharand et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose turning-off one current while supplying another.
Kim discloses turning-off one current while supplying another (see [0044]; wherein position-dependent magnetic interaction across coils; carrier interacting with different coils as it moves, [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Pharand et al. to incorporate Kim’s stopping the current to turn-off the electromagnet in order to provide position-dependent magnetic field monitoring of the carrier and improve accuracy and diagnostic capability in semiconductor transport systems (see Kim’s [0007] & [0059]).
Regarding claim 8, Pharand et al. disclose independent control of multiple coils (array-based energization, [0042]).
Pharand et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose reducing one current while supplying another.
Kim discloses reducing one current while supplying another (see [0034]; variable magnetic interaction during movement (variation in magnetic field interaction across coils, [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Pharand et al. to incorporate Kim’s magnetic-field-based sensing in order to provide position-dependent magnetic field monitoring of the carrier and improve accuracy and diagnostic capability in semiconductor transport systems (see Kim’s [0007] & [0059]).
Regarding claim 9, Pharand et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose that the first current is an alternating current between about 1 kHz and 20 kHz.
Kim discloses first current is an alternating current between about 1 kHz and 20 kHz (via coil control using time-varying signals for motor operation; see Fig. 3, commutation-based coil control, [0033 & 0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Pharand et al. to incorporate Kim’s magnetic-field-based sensing in order to provide position-dependent magnetic field monitoring of the carrier and improve accuracy and diagnostic capability in semiconductor transport systems (see Kim’s [0007] & [0059]).
Regarding claim 10, Pharand et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose that the alternating current is between about 1 kHz and about 3 kHz.
Kim discloses the alternating current is between about 1 kHz and about 3 kHz (via coil control using time-varying signals for motor operation; see Fig. 3, commutation-based coil control, [0033 & 0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Pharand et al. to incorporate Kim’s magnetic-field-based sensing in order to provide position-dependent magnetic field monitoring of the carrier and improve accuracy and diagnostic capability in semiconductor transport systems (see Kim’s [0007] & [0059]).
Regarding claim 11, Pharand et al. disclose a method of controlling a carrier (controller 130 controlling movement of carriers, [0054]); actuating linear stators to levitate a carrier underneath a membrane and a sensor (electromagnetic coils 115 of stator 110 levitate carriers above the horizontal surface, [0054]); and determining a distance between the membrane and the carrier levitated below the membrane (Hall effect sensors 116 track position of the carrier relative to the horizontal surface, [0056]); the sensor including an electromagnet, a first sensor element (see [0057]).
Pharand et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose a second sensor element; and determining the distance by supplying a current to an electromagnet, detecting a component of magnetic flux density using the first sensor element and the second sensor element, generating a voltage signal based on the detected component, and outputting the distance indexed to the voltage signal.
Kim discloses a first sensor element, and a second sensor element; and determining the distance by supplying a current to an electromagnet, detecting a component of magnetic flux density using the first sensor element and the second sensor element, generating a voltage signal based on the detected component, and outputting the distance indexed to the voltage signal.(see [0036], a sensor unit including multiple sensor elements (Hall sensors) configured to detect magnetic flux density and generate signals representative of carrier position based on magnetic interaction (sensor unit 30 with Hall sensors detecting variation of magnetic field and generating signals for position detection, [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Pharand et al. to incorporate Kim’s dual-sensor magnetic flux detection in order to determine position or distance of the carrier based on sensed magnetic field characteristics and improve precision monitoring and control of carrier movement (see Kim’s [0007] & [0058]).
Regarding claim 12, Pharand et al. disclose changing a position of the carrier by adjusting an electromagnetic field (controller 130 adjusts coil energization, [0054]).
Regarding claim 13, Pharand et al. disclose determining carrier position using sensors (Hall sensors provide position information, [0056]).
Pharand et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose comparing to a stored value or threshold.
Kim discloses comparing to a stored value or threshold (see [0057] monitoring carrier condition and detecting abnormal states based on measured parameters, wherein threshold-based detection for carrier monitoring, [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Pharand et al. to incorporate Kim’s comparing to a stored value or threshold in order to provide position-dependent magnetic field monitoring of the carrier and improve accuracy and diagnostic capability in semiconductor transport systems (see Kim’s [0007] & [0059]).
Regarding claim 14, Pharand et al. disclose detecting signals corresponding to carrier position (sensor-based position detection, [0056]).
Pharand et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose peak-to-peak voltage processing.
Kim discloses peak-to-peak voltage processing (see [0051], signal-based detection of magnetic field variation (sensor signals generated from magnetic interaction, [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Pharand et al. to incorporate Kim’s peak-to-peak voltage processing in order to provide position-dependent magnetic field monitoring of the carrier and improve accuracy and diagnostic capability in semiconductor transport systems (see Kim’s [0007] & [0059]).
Regarding claim 15, Pharand et al. disclose detection of carrier position relative to magnetic field distribution (Hall sensors detecting position, [0056]).
Pharand et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose a horizontal component.
Kim discloses a horizontal component (see, [0039] sensing vector magnetic flux density (Hall sensor detecting magnetic flux density).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Pharand et al. to incorporate Kim’s a horizontal component in order to provide position-dependent magnetic field monitoring of the carrier and improve accuracy and diagnostic capability in semiconductor transport systems (see Kim’s [0007] & [0059]).
Regarding claim 16, Pharand et al. disclose adjusting coil energization to control magnetic field strength (coil control for carrier positioning, [0054]).
Pharand et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose maintaining a constant field strength.
Kim discloses maintaining a constant field strength (via controlled magnetic interaction for stable movement; see [0025] wherein controlled field interaction with movement of carrier, see [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Pharand et al. to incorporate Kim’s maintaining a constant field strength in order to provide position-dependent magnetic field monitoring of the carrier and improve accuracy and diagnostic capability in semiconductor transport systems (see Kim’s [0007] & [0059]).
Regarding claim 17, Pharand et al. disclose using sensor feedback to determine carrier position (Hall sensor feedback, [0056]).
Pharand et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose adjusting current based on flux component.
Kim discloses adjusting current based on flux component (via sensing magnetic field variation and using it for monitoring; wherein field variation detection, see claim 1 & [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Pharand et al. to incorporate Kim’s adjusting current based on flux component in order to provide position-dependent magnetic field monitoring of the carrier and improve accuracy and diagnostic capability in semiconductor transport systems (see Kim’s [0007] & [0059]).
Regarding claim 18, Pharand et al. disclose position-dependent coil energization (carrier movement controlled by coil activation, [0054]).
Pharand et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose reducing current when the carrier moves from a sensor.
Kim discloses reducing current when the carrier moves from a sensor (see [0034] magnetic field variation as the carrier moves relative to coils (movement-dependent field change, [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Pharand et al. to incorporate Kim’s reducing current when the carrier moves from a sensor in order to provide position-dependent magnetic field monitoring of the carrier and improve accuracy and diagnostic capability in semiconductor transport systems (see Kim’s [0007] & [0059]).
Regarding claim 19, Pharand et al. disclose selective energization of coils (coils energized or de-energized for control, [0054]).
Pharand et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose first current comprises stopping the supply of the first current to the electromagnet.
Kim discloses first current comprises stopping the supply of the first current to the electromagnet (see [0052], wherein magnetic interaction dependent on coil activation (field variation based on coil state, [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Pharand et al. to incorporate Kim’s first current comprises stopping the supply of the first current to the electromagnet in order to provide position-dependent magnetic field monitoring of the carrier and improve accuracy and diagnostic capability in semiconductor transport systems (see Kim’s [0007] & [0059]).
Regarding claim 20, Pharand et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose that the first current is an alternating current between about 1 kHz and 3 kHz.
Kim discloses the alternating current is between about 1 kHz and about 3 kHz (via coil control using time-varying signals for motor operation; see Fig. 3, commutation-based coil control, [0033 & 0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Pharand et al. to incorporate Kim’s magnetic-field-based sensing in order to provide position-dependent magnetic field monitoring of the carrier and improve accuracy and diagnostic capability in semiconductor transport systems (see Kim’s [0007] & [0059]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 2023/0333147 A1 to Messier et al. disclose a current sensor assembly can include: a coil structure having a first coil and a second coil connected in series, the coil structure configured to generate a differential magnetic field responsive to an electrical current passing through the first and second coils; a first magnetic field sensing element disposed proximate to the first coil and operable to generate a first signal responsive to the differential magnetic field passing through the first magnetic field sensing element in a first direction; a second magnetic field sensing element disposed proximate to the second coil and operable to generate a second signal responsive to the differential magnetic field passing through the second magnetic field sensing element in a second direction; and a circuit operable to subtract the first and second signals to generate a differential signal proportional to the electrical current.
U.S. 2022/0397617 A1 to Schaller et al. disclose a sensor device includes a current conductor designed to carry a measurement current, and a magnetic field sensor chip having a sensor element, wherein the magnetic field sensor chip is designed to detect a magnetic field at the location of the sensor element. The sensor device furthermore includes an encapsulation material, wherein the magnetic field sensor chip is encapsulated by the encapsulation material, and a soft magnet secured to the encapsulation material and designed to concentrate the magnetic field at the location of the sensor element. The magnetic field sensor chip and the soft magnet are galvanically isolated from one another by the encapsulation material.
U.S. 11,169,221 B2 to Eagen discloses a magnetic field sensor is provided, including a substrate, a first bridge circuit formed on the substrate, the first bridge circuit being arranged to generate a first signal indicative of a motion of a target, and a second bridge circuit formed on the substrate, the second bridge circuit being arranged to generate a second signal indicative of whether the magnetic field sensor is aligned with the target.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
April 16, 2026
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858