CTNF 18/783,014 CTNF 97059 DETAILED ACTION This communication is responsive to Application #18783014 filed 07/24/2024. Claim(s) 2-7, 9-13, and 15-20 amended; No Claim(s) canceled. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are subject to examination. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-2, 7-10, 13-15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIM et al. (US 20240430759 A1), here by referred to as KIM . Claim 1: KIM teaches an apparatus comprising at least one processing core and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processing core (KIM: FIG. 15 item 1502 (“Wireless Device”)) , cause the apparatus at least to: - determine a radio link failure with a main cell group while operating in dual connectivity with selective activation of primary secondary cell change, SAPC, configurations stored for a set of secondary cells (KIM: FIG. 21-22 dual connectivity with SAPC and para 421 (“The wireless device may detect a radio link failure in the MCG (e.g., PCell)…”)) ; - determine a new secondary node encryption key based at least in part on a master node key received from a master node during a connection re-establishment of a connection with the master node after the radio link failure to the main cell group comprising the master node has occurred (KIM: para 421 (“The wireless device may detect a radio link failure in the MCG…Based on detecting the radio link failure…the MCG may send an RRC reconfiguration message…”) and para 423 (“…the MN may generate a security key for the SN (e.g., KSN)…may send a value of the SN counter to the wireless device over the RRC reconfiguration message when it is required to generate a new security key for the SN…”) wherein a new security key/secondary node encryption key is based on connection re-establishment ) , and - after the radio link failure, identify a secondary cell using the SAPC configurations stored before the radio link failure (KIM: FIG. 23 wherein cell search is performed on current configurations/before updating configurations ) , and connect to the identified secondary cell based at least in part on the new secondary node encryption key (KIM: FIG. 24 wherein the wireless device connects to new secondary cell with new secondary node encryption key ) . Claim 2: KIM teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, further configured to; receive, from the network, an instruction to maintain SAPC configurations in case of radio link failure with a main cell group (KIM: para 459 (“A base station…may transmit to the wireless device additional counter associated with a secondary key for SN. The additional counter may be for next communication…with the SN. Based on the additional counter…the wireless device may determine to keep configuration parameter and/or reuse the configuration parameter…”) wherein the configured additional counter is the instruction for maintaining configurations ) . Claim 7: KIM teaches the apparatus of claim 1, configured to: determine the new secondary node encryption key based at least in part on a secondary node, SN, counter list (KIM: FIG. 22 and para 460 (“…a base station may transmit to a wireless device a message…comprising a first counter and a second counter…”) wherein the new secondary node encryption key is based on the list of counters provided ) , and wherein the apparatus is configured to: receive instructions to maintain the SN counter list provided before the radio link failure; or receive the SN counter list to be used in key generation (KIM: para 459 (“A base station…may transmit to the wireless device additional counter associated with a secondary key for SN. The additional counter may be for next communication…with the SN. Based on the additional counter…the wireless device may determine to keep configuration parameter and/or reuse the configuration parameter…”) wherein the configured additional counter is the instruction for maintaining configurations ) . Claim 8: KIM teaches an apparatus comprising at least one processing core and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processing core (KIM: FIG. 15 item 1504 (“Base Station”)) , cause the apparatus at least to: - provide to a user equipment selective activation of primary secondary cell change, SAPC, configurations for a set of secondary cells while operating as a master node in dual connectivity session of the user equipment (KIM: FIG. 21-22 dual connectivity with SAPC and para 415 (“…the MN may send to the wireless device an RRC reconfiguration message including the CPC configuration…”) wherein the CPC configuration is the SAPC configuration ) ; - determine a new secondary node encryption key based at least in part on a master node key determined by the apparatus as a response to receiving a connection re- establishment request or a reconfiguration complete message from the user equipment after a radio link failure has occurred (KIM: para 421 (“The wireless device may detect a radio link failure in the MCG…Based on detecting the radio link failure…the MCG may send an RRC reconfiguration message…”), para 423 (“…the MN may generate a security key for the SN (e.g., KSN)…may send a value of the SN counter to the wireless device over the RRC reconfiguration message when it is required to generate a new security key for the SN…”), and para 468 (“The RRC reconfiguration complete message may indicate that the wireless device successfully applied the configuration parameter…Based on determining which configuration parameter…the wireless device successfully applied, the base station may transmit a first additional secondary key…”) wherein a key is determined after reconfiguration complete message ) , and - update, after the radio link failure, the set of secondary cells with the new secondary node encryption key without providing to the set of secondary cells a user equipment context (KIM: FIG. 31 wherein master node updates sn with the new key ) . Claim 9: KIM teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, configured to: provide to the set of secondary nodes the user equipment context before the radio link failure (KIM: FIG. 22 para 404 (“A SN addition procedure may be initiated by the MN and be used to establish a UE context at the SN to provide resources…”)) . Claim 10: KIM teaches the apparatus cording to claim 8, further configured to: provide to the user equipment an instruction to maintain SAPC configurations in case of radio link failure with a main cell group (KIM: para 459 (“A base station…may transmit to the wireless device additional counter associated with a secondary key for SN. The additional counter may be for next communication…with the SN. Based on the additional counter…the wireless device may determine to keep configuration parameter and/or reuse the configuration parameter…”) wherein the configured additional counter is the instruction for maintaining configurations ) . Claim 13: KIM-TS37.340 teaches the apparatus of claim 8, configured to: determine the new secondary node encryption key based at least in part on a secondary node, SN, counter list (KIM: FIG. 22 and para 460 (“…a base station may transmit to a wireless device a message…comprising a first counter and a second counter…”) wherein the new secondary node encryption key is based on the list of counters provided ) , and wherein the apparatus is further configured to: transmit, to the user equipment, an instruction to maintain the SN counter list provided before the radio link failure; or transmit, to the user equipment, the SN counter list to be used in key generation (KIM: para 459 (“A base station…may transmit to the wireless device additional counter associated with a secondary key for SN. The additional counter may be for next communication…with the SN. Based on the additional counter…the wireless device may determine to keep configuration parameter and/or reuse the configuration parameter…”) wherein the configured additional counter is the instruction for maintaining configurations ) . Claim 14: KIM teaches a method. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 1. Claim 15: KIM teaches the method according to claim 14. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 2 above. Claim 20: KIM teaches the method according to claim 14. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 7 above . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM in view of JIN et al. (US 20240340751 A1), hereby referred to as JIN . Claim 3: KIM teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, further configured to: of using, after the radio link failure with the main cell group, the SAPC configurations stored in the apparatus before the radio link failure with the main cell group (KIM: para 459 (“A base station…may transmit to the wireless device additional counter associated with a secondary key for SN. The additional counter may be for next communication…with the SN. Based on the additional counter…the wireless device may determine to keep configuration parameter and/or reuse the configuration parameter…”) wherein the configured additional counter is the instruction for maintaining configurations ) . However, KIM does not explicitly disclose transmit, to the network, an indication that the apparatus is capable. JIN, in the same field of endeavor, teaches transmit, to the network, an indication that the apparatus is capable (JIN: para 174 (“…the terminal 701 and the MN base station 702 may identify capability of the terminal via a procedure of requesting and transferring UE capability…indicating whether a continuous CPAC is supported…”)) . It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the capability of apparatus of KIM with the capability notification of JIN for the benefit of improving existing SAPC configurations and reduce signaling (JIN: para 54-55) . Claim 16: KIM teaches the method according to claim 15. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 3 above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4-6, 11-12, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM in view of “3 rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access (E-UTRA) and NR; Multi-connectivity; Stage 2 (Release 17)”, 3GPP TS 37.340, V17.5.0, June 2023, pp. 1-120 (see IDS 07/24/2024), hereby referred to as TS37.340 . Claim 4: KIM teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, and evaluating based on the SAPC configuration after the radio link failure with the main cell group (KIM: FIG. 20 wherein cell reselection is an evaluation of which cells to choose based on the SAPC configuration ) , but does not explicitly disclose at least one condition and one of: before transmitting a connection re-establishment request to the master node or; before transmitting a reconfiguration complete message to the master node. TS37.340, in the same field of endeavor, teaches, in the same field of endeavor, teaches at least one condition and one of: before transmitting a connection re-establishment request to the master node or; before transmitting a reconfiguration complete message to the master node (TS37.340 pg 34 para 6 (“The UE starts evaluating the execution conditions. If the execution condition of one candidate PSCell is satisfied, the UE applies…to the selected candidate PSCell, and sends an RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete* message and information enabling the MN to identify the SN of the selected candidate PSCell…”) wherein the condition is the execution condition which is evaluated after the UE determines failure ) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date, to combine KIM with TS37.340, the combination hereby referred to as KIM-TS37.340 for the benefit of enabling the master node to identify the secondary node in a case of conditional PSCell change/addition (TS37.340 pg 30-34) . Claim 5: KIM-TS37.340 teaches The apparatus of claim 4, wherein the apparatus is configured to: identify the secondary cell based on the evaluation of the at least one condition, wherein the identified secondary cell fulfills the at least one condition, and the apparatus is further configured to: indicate the identified secondary cell to the master node in the connection re- establishment request or in the reconfiguration complete message (TS37.340 pg 34 para 6 (“The UE starts evaluating the execution conditions. If the execution condition of one candidate PSCell is satisfied, the UE applies…to the selected candidate PSCell, and sends an RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete* message and information enabling the MN to identify the SN of the selected candidate PSCell…”) wherein the condition is the execution condition which is evaluated after the UE determines failure ) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date, to combine KIM with TS37.340, the combination hereby referred to as KIM-TS37.340 for the benefit of enabling the master node to identify the secondary node in a case of conditional PSCell change/addition (TS37.340 pg 30-34) . Claim 6: KIM-TS37.340 teaches The apparatus of claim 4, wherein the apparatus is configured to: identify the secondary cell based on the evaluation of the at least one condition, wherein the identified secondary cell fulfills the at least one condition, and the apparatus is further configured to: indicate the identified secondary cell to the master node in the connection re- establishment request or in the reconfiguration complete message (TS37.340 pg 34 para 6 (“The UE starts evaluating the execution conditions. If the execution condition of one candidate PSCell is satisfied, the UE applies…to the selected candidate PSCell, and sends an RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete* message and information enabling the MN to identify the SN of the selected candidate PSCell…”) wherein the condition is the execution condition which is evaluated after the UE determines failure ) ; and receive a configuration to start dual connectivity with the identified secondary cell (KIM: FIG. 20 item (“Random Access Procedure”)) (TS37.340 pg 33 FIG. 10.2.1-2 item 6) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date, to combine KIM with TS37.340, the combination hereby referred to as KIM-TS37.340 for the benefit of enabling the master node to identify the secondary node in a case of conditional PSCell change/addition (TS37.340 pg 30-34) . Claim 11: KIM teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose further configured to: receive, from the user equipment, the connection re-establishment request or the reconfiguration complete message identifying a secondary cell fulfilling at least one condition comprised in the SAPC configurations. TS37.340, in the same field of endeavor, teaches receive, from the user equipment, the connection re-establishment request or the reconfiguration complete message identifying a secondary cell fulfilling at least one condition comprised in the SAPC configurations (TS37.340 pg 34 para 6 (“The UE starts evaluating the execution conditions. If the execution condition of one candidate PSCell is satisfied, the UE applies…to the selected candidate PSCell, and sends an RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete* message and information enabling the MN to identify the SN of the selected candidate PSCell…”) wherein the condition is the execution condition which is evaluated after the UE determines failure ) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date, to combine KIM with TS37.340, the combination hereby referred to as KIM-TS37.340 for the benefit of enabling the master node to identify the secondary node in a case of conditional PSCell change/addition (TS37.340 pg 30-34) . Claim 12: KIM-TS37.340, teaches the apparatus according to claim 11, further configured to; transmit a configuration to start dual connectivity with the identified secondary cell (KIM: FIG. 20 item (“Random Access Procedure”)) (TS37.340 pg 33 FIG. 10.2.1-2 item 6) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date, to combine KIM with TS37.340, the combination hereby referred to as KIM-TS37.340 for the benefit of enabling the master node to identify the secondary node in a case of conditional PSCell change/addition (TS37.340 pg 30-34) . Claim 17: KIM teaches the method according to claim 14. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 4 above. Claim 18: KIM-TS37.340 teaches the method according to claim 17. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 5 above. Claim 19: KIM-TS37.340 teaches the method according to claim 18. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 6 above . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. VENKATA et al. (US 20250330891 A1). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANGELIE T NGO whose telephone number is (571)272-0180. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Thur: 8am - 5pm; 2nd Fri: 8am - 3pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Noel Beharry can be reached at (571) 270-5630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /A.T.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2416 /NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/783,014 Page 2 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/783,014 Page 3 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/783,014 Page 4 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/783,014 Page 5 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/783,014 Page 6 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/783,014 Page 7 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/783,014 Page 8 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/783,014 Page 9 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/783,014 Page 10 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/783,014 Page 11 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/783,014 Page 12 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/783,014 Page 13 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/783,014 Page 14 Art Unit: 2416