Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bodlovic in view of Seets et al. (11,539,895)
Regarding claim 1, Bodlovic teaches an image capture apparatus comprising: an image capture element including an avalanche photodiode configured to photoelectrically convert an optical image (Bodlovic, SPAD 607, applications involving imaging discussed at [0080]) and; at least one processor (Bodlovic, controller 650); and a memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: generate an image signal based on an output signal from the image capture element; calculate, based on the image signal, a number of occurrences of avalanche amplification in the image capture element (Bodlovic, [0070]); store a cumulative value of the number of occurrences (id. “providing an output based on the count of avalanche events”); and control a parameter related to exposure when it is determined that a brightness of an image based on the image signal is out of a predetermined range (Bodlovic, [0072]), wherein the predetermined range is decided based on the cumulative value (id., “The controller 650 preferably adjusts the operating parameters of the photon counting apparatus 600 based on the count rate, […]”).
Bodlovic lacks explicit teaching of a cumulative captured count value used for brightness parameter control.
Seets teaches a cumulative captured count value used for brightness parameter control. (Seets, Col. 8, Lines 8-23; Col. 11, Lines 11-22)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the chargepoint identification techniques of Seets into the detector of Bodlovic in order to improve brightness corrections for the SPAD array.
Regarding claim 2, Bodlovic further discloses the number of occurrences is calculated by performing a predetermined transformation on the image signal. (Bodlovic, [0070])
Regarding claim 13, Bodlovic discloses a method comprising: generating an image signal based on an output signal from an image capture element; calculating a number of occurrences of avalanche amplification in the image capture element based on the image signal; storing a cumulative value of the number of occurrences; and controlling a parameter related to exposure when it is determined that a brightness of an image based on the image signal is out of a predetermined range, wherein the predetermined range is decided based on the cumulative value. (Bodlovic, [0070]-[0072])
Regarding claim 20, Bodlovic discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions for causing a computer to execute a method comprising: generating an image signal based on an output signal from an image capture element; calculating a number of occurrences of avalanche amplification in the image capture element based on the image signal; storing a cumulative value of the number of occurrences; and controlling a parameter related to exposure when it is determined that a brightness of an image based on the image signal is out of a predetermined range, wherein the predetermined range is decided based on the cumulative value. (Bodlovic, [0070]-[0072])
Bodlovic lacks explicit teaching of a cumulative captured count value used for brightness parameter control.
Seets teaches a cumulative captured count value used for brightness parameter control. (Seets, Col. 8, Lines 8-23; Col. 11, Lines 11-22)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the chargepoint identification techniques of Seets into the detector of Bodlovic in order to improve brightness corrections for the SPAD array.
Claims 3-4, 6-10, 12, 14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bodlovic in view of Seets and Sfaradi et al. (2015/0373250)
Regarding claims 3-4, 6-10, 12, 14, and 16-19, the particular methods of measuring scene brightness and the manner of exposure control (beyond diode bias voltage, temperature, and quenching period adjustment) are not discussed. Sfaradi teaches a robust exposure measurement and control system including region of interest identification, region specific exposure control, brightness measurement from either dedicated sensing pixels or selected portions of the scene, wavelength-selective brightness measurement, and responding exposure modification. (Sfaradi, throughout)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to use the exposure measurement and control operations of Sfaradi with the SPAD detector system of Bodlovic in order to implement Bodlovic’s directive to adjust the gain of the system (exposure) in response to the incident photon flux on the sensor.
Claims 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bodlovic in view of Seets and Azuma (2020/0044109)
Regarding claims 21-24, the combination of Bodlovic and Seets lacks explicit teaching of a degradation estimation function and exposure adjustment based on that degradation estimation.
Azuma teaches the estimation of the degradation properties of the SPAD cells in the SPAD array and adjustment of brightness thresholds in response to that estimation. (Azuma, [0104]-[0106])
It would have been obvious to include the degradation calculation of Azuma in the device of Bodlovic and Seets in order to further improve sensor performance by identifying degraded sensors.
Response to Arguments
Applicants amendments are sufficient to overcome the prior rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102. New rejections are presented herein under 35 U.S.C. 103. Applicants arguments with respect to the prior rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 are therefore moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWIN C GUNBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884