Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the predetermined transformation" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Antecedent basis is found in claim 14, from which claim 15 does not depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bodlovic et al. (2015/0364635).
Regarding claim 1, Bodlovic discloses an image capture apparatus comprising: an image capture element including an avalanche photodiode configured to photoelectrically convert an optical image (Bodlovic, SPAD 607, applications involving imaging discussed at [0080]) and; at least one processor (Bodlovic, controller 650); and a memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: generate an image signal based on an output signal from the image capture element; calculate, based on the image signal, a number of occurrences of avalanche amplification in the image capture element (Bodlovic, [0070]); store a cumulative value of the number of occurrences (id. “providing an output based on the count of avalanche events”); and control a parameter related to exposure when it is determined that a brightness of an image based on the image signal is out of a predetermined range (Bodlovic, [0072]), wherein the predetermined range is decided based on the cumulative value (id., “The controller 650 preferably adjusts the operating parameters of the photon counting apparatus 600 based on the count rate, […]”).
Regarding claim 2, Bodlovic further discloses the number of occurrences is calculated by performing a predetermined transformation on the image signal. (Bodlovic, [0070])
Regarding claim 13, Bodlovic discloses a method comprising: generating an image signal based on an output signal from an image capture element; calculating a number of occurrences of avalanche amplification in the image capture element based on the image signal; storing a cumulative value of the number of occurrences; and controlling a parameter related to exposure when it is determined that a brightness of an image based on the image signal is out of a predetermined range, wherein the predetermined range is decided based on the cumulative value. (Bodlovic, [0070]-[0072])
Regarding claim 20, Bodlovic discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions for causing a computer to execute a method comprising: generating an image signal based on an output signal from an image capture element; calculating a number of occurrences of avalanche amplification in the image capture element based on the image signal; storing a cumulative value of the number of occurrences; and controlling a parameter related to exposure when it is determined that a brightness of an image based on the image signal is out of a predetermined range, wherein the predetermined range is decided based on the cumulative value. (Bodlovic, [0070]-[0072])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-12 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bodlovic in view of Sfaradi et al. (2015/0373250)
Regarding claims 3-12 and 14-19, the particular methods of measuring scene brightness and the manner of exposure control (beyond diode bias voltage, temperature, and quenching period adjustment) are not discussed. Sfaradi teaches a robust exposure measurement and control system including region of interest identification, region specific exposure control, brightness measurement from either dedicated sensing pixels or selected portions of the scene, wavelength-selective brightness measurement, and responding exposure modification. (Sfaradi, throughout)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to use the exposure measurement and control operations of Sfaradi with the SPAD detector system of Bodlovic in order to implement Bodlovic’s directive to adjust the gain of the system (exposure) in response to the incident photon flux on the sensor.
Conclusion
/EDWIN C GUNBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884