DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/24/2024, 2/10/2025, and 6/4/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Publication No. 2024/0072202) in view of Endo et al. (US Publication No. 2008/0203402), and further in view of Hotta (US Publication No. 2022/0165619).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a method for forming a wet oxidation aperture shape of a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL) device, comprising the following steps:
placing a VCSEL wafer into a wet oxidation furnace, the VCSEL wafer having a circular VCSEL mesa with a diameter of 25um-30um (paragraph 87)
ramping up a temperature of the wet oxidation furnace to 250-350°C and maintaining for a first period, and introducing N2 gas and H2O gas into the wet oxidation furnace during the first period (paragraph 110)
maintaining the wet oxidation furnace at 400-450°C to initiate oxidation of the VCSEL wafer (paragraph 110)
Li does not disclose continuously introducing the N2 gas and the H2O gas into the wet oxidation furnace, while ramping up the temperature of the wet oxidation furnace to 350-450°C and maintaining for a second period continuously introducing the N2 gas and the H2O gas into the wet oxidation furnace, while ramping up the temperature of the wet oxidation furnace to 400-450°C and maintaining for a third period, after the oxidation of the VCSEL wafer is completed, introducing the N2 gas into the wet oxidation furnace to cool the wet oxidation furnace down to 150°C, and after cooling to 150°C, taking the VCSEL wafer out of the wet oxidation furnace (paragraph 247). However, Endo discloses multiple temperature increases at a rate of 10 degrees C/minute (paragraph 145). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective to have modified the method of Li to include the temping up steps, as taught by Endo, since it can improve carrier mobility, thereby increasing light extraction efficiency of the device (paragraph 249).
Li does not teach vacuumizing the wet oxidation furnace. However, Hotta discloses vacuumizing a wet oxidation furnace (paragraphs 414-415). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of Li to include a vacuumizing step as taught by Hotta since it can improve bonding of the layers prior to subsequent wet oxidation processing steps (paragraph 87).
Regarding claim 2, Endo discloses before placing the VCSEL wafer into the wet oxidation furnace, the method further comprises the following steps: when a wet oxidation process machine is in a standby state, introducing the N2 gas and the H2O gas into the wet oxidation furnace to confirm whether a flow rate of the N2 gas and a flow rate of the H2O gas are normal; and after confirming that the flow rate of the N2 gas and the flow rate of the H2O gas are normal, placing the VCSEL wafer into the wet oxidation furnace (paragraph 145). As discussed above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Li in view of Endo, and further in view of Hotta.
Regarding claim 3, Li/Endo discloses the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Li/Endo is silent regarding the N2 gas is introduced into the wet oxidation furnace at 10 liters/minute (L/min). However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the N2 gas flow to be 10 liters/minute, to optimize the depth and diameter parameters of the oxidation, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 4, Li/Endo discloses the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Li/Endo is silent regarding the H2O gas is introduced into the wet oxidation furnace at 2 grams/hour. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the H2O gas flow to be 2 grams/hour, to optimize the depth and diameter parameters of the oxidation, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 5, Li/Endo discloses the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Li/Endo does not disclose the temperature of the wet oxidation furnace is ramped up to 250-350°C at a rate of 10-40°C/min. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the wet oxidation to be ramped up to a temperature within this range at a rate within this range to optimize the depth and diameter parameters of the oxidation, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 6, Li/Endo discloses the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Li/Endo does not disclose the first period is 6-8 minutes. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the wet oxidation first period to be within this time range to optimize the depth and diameter parameters of the oxidation, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 7, Li/Endo discloses the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Li/Endo does not disclose the temperature of the wet oxidation furnace is ramped up to 350-450°C at a rate of 10-30°C/min. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the wet oxidation to be ramped up to a temperature within this range at a rate within this range to optimize the depth and diameter parameters of the oxidation, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 8, Li/Endo discloses the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Li/Endo does not disclose the second period is 1-2 minutes. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the wet oxidation first period to be within this time range to optimize the depth and diameter parameters of the oxidation, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 9, Li/Endo discloses the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Li/Endo does not disclose the temperature of the wet oxidation furnace is ramped up to 400-450°C at a rate of 10-25°C/min. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the wet oxidation to be ramped up to a temperature within this range at a rate within this range to optimize the depth and diameter parameters of the oxidation, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 10, Li/Endo discloses the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Li/Endo does not disclose the third period is 1-2 minutes. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the wet oxidation first period to be within this time range to optimize the depth and diameter parameters of the oxidation, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 11, Endo discloses taking the VCSEL wafer out of the wet oxidation furnace and allowing the VCSEL wafer to cool naturally at room temperature (paragraph 247). As discussed above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Li in view of Endo, and further in view of Hotta.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee et al. (US Publication No. 2021/0143608) discloses a wet oxidation in a nitrogen atmosphere for a VCSEL with multiple anneals at different temperature ranges (paragraphs 190-191).
/N.R.P/ 7/31/2026 Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897