DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites limitations “wherein a second memory cell of the at least some of the memory cells set to a lowest level of the m pre-programmed levels is programmed in a last one of the m periods when applying the single voltage pulse” on lines1-3. Claim 10 later recites “wherein the second memory cell is inhibited in rest of the m periods when applying the single voltage pulse” on lines 1-2. It is not clear to Examiner how the second memory cell is programmed in a last one of the m-periods and inhibited in rest of the m periods when applying the single voltage pulse.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 12,511,073 to Song et al. (hereafter Song) in view of US 11,756,612 to Xu (hereafter Xu) with support from US 7,508,715 to Lee (hereafter Lee).
Regarding independent claim 1, Song teaches a memory device, comprising:
an array of memory cells (FIG. 8: Plane A 32A and Plane B 32b), each memory cell being set to one of 2N final levels corresponding to a piece of N-bits data, where N is an integer greater than 2 (see 3:62-65);
word lines respectively coupled to rows of the memory cells (FIG. 6: select gate lines 24a); and
a peripheral circuit coupled to the array of memory cells through the word lines (see FIG. 8) and configured to:
program, in a first pass, a select row of the rows of the memory cells, such that the memory cells in the selected row are inherently set to k intermediate levels, where k is an integer not greater than 2N (FIGS. 11-12: coarse programming, see 8:28-59. Lee supports, in FIG. 14C, coarse programing of a memory cell from level E to a level 420, wherein number of level 420 is less than number of levels A, B, C);
after the first pass, apply voltage pulses to a select word line of the word lines coupled to the select row of the memory cells, wherein an amplitude of the voltage pulses changes over time (FIG. 12: medium programming); and
after applying the single voltage pulse, program, in a second pass, the select row of the memory cells, such that the memory cells in the selected row are inherently set to the 2N final levels (FIG. 12: fine programming, see 8:60-9:15. Lee supports, in FIG. 14C, fine programing of the memory cell to levels A, B and C).
Song teaches voltage pulses instead of single voltage pulse.
Xu teaches a method of programming multilevel memory cells with fewer program verify operation. The method comprises two pass coarse-fine programming algorithm (see 2:48-62), and applying a single voltage pulse to a select word line, wherein an amplitude of the single voltage pulse changes over time (see FIGS. 4A-4C and 3:17-47).
Since Song and Xu are both from the same field of endeavor, the purpose disclosed by Xu would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Song.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to perform the medium programming of Song with programming method of Xu in order to save programming time with fewer program verify operation (see FIGS. 4A-4C and 3:17-47).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Xu teaches wherein the amplitude of the single voltage pulse decreases over time (see FIG. 4B).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Xu teaches wherein at least some of the memory cells in the select row are set to m pre-programmed levels by applying the single voltage pulse, where m is an integer not greater than 2N-k (FIG. 4C: e.g. levels L15-L11 are programmed with single voltage pulse 410).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Xu does not explicitly teach wherein the m pre-programmed levels are determined based on a Gray code for programming the select row of the memory cells. However, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to apply Gray code in programming multilevel memory cells in order to minimizing errors in digital system with only one bit changing between consecutive numerical values.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Xu teaches wherein the amplitude of the single voltage pulse comprises m discrete values each lasting for a respective period (see FIG. 4B).
Regarding dependent claims 8-9, Song does not explicitly teach wherein a first memory cell of the at least some of the memory cells set to a highest/lowest level of the m pre-programmed levels is programmed in each of the m periods when applying the single voltage pulse. However, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to realize that medium programming of Song would have effect on any levels of the m pre-programmed levels including the highest and lowest ones.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Song teaches wherein the peripheral circuit is configured to program the select row of the memory cells, such that the memory cells in the selected row are set to the 2N final levels, immediately after applying the single voltage pulse without applying a verify voltage to the select word line there between (FIG. 12: middle programming is immediately followed with fine programing).
Regarding independent claim 12, Song teaches a method for operating a memory device comprising rows of memory cells (FIG. 8: Plane A 32A and Plane B 32b), each memory cell being set to one of 2N final levels corresponding to a piece of N-bits data, where N is an integer greater than 2 (see 3:62-65), the method comprising:
programming, in a first pass, a select row of the rows of the memory cells, such that the memory cells in the selected row are set to k intermediate levels, where k is an integer not greater than 2N (FIGS. 11-12: coarse programming, see 8:28-59. Lee supports, in FIG. 14C, coarse programing of a memory cell from level E to a level 420, wherein number of level 420 is less than number of levels A, B, C);
after the first pass, apply voltage pulses to a select word line coupled to the select row of the memory cells, wherein an amplitude of the voltage pulses changes over time (FIG. 12: medium programming); and
after applying the single voltage pulse, programming, in a second pass, the select row of the memory cells, such that the memory cells in the selected row are set to the 2N final levels (FIG. 12: fine programming, see 8:60-9:15. Lee supports, in FIG. 14C, fine programing of the memory cell to levels A, B and C).
Song teaches voltage pulses instead of single voltage pulse.
Xu teaches a method of programming multilevel memory cells with fewer program verify operation. The method comprises two pass coarse-fine programming algorithm (see 2:48-62), and applying a single voltage pulse to a select word line, wherein an amplitude of the single voltage pulse changes over time (see FIGS. 4A-4C and 3:17-47).
Since Song and Xu are both from the same field of endeavor, the purpose disclosed by Xu would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Song.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to perform the medium programming of Song with programming method of Xu in order to save programming time with fewer program verify operation (see FIGS. 4A-4C and 3:17-47).
Regarding dependent claims 13-19, see rejections applied to claims 2-4, 7-9 and 11.
Regarding independent claim 20, Song teaches a system, comprising:
a memory device configured to store data, the memory device comprising:
an array of memory cells (FIG. 8: Plane A 32A and Plane B 32b), each memory cell being set to one of 2N final levels corresponding to a piece of N-bits data, where N is an integer greater than 2 (see 3:62-65);
word lines respectively coupled to rows of the memory cells (FIG. 6: select gate lines 24a); and
a peripheral circuit coupled to the array of memory cells through the word lines (FIG. 8: elements 34, 36, 38, 40, 42 and 44) and configured to:
program, in a first pass, a select row of the rows of the memory cells, such that the memory cells in the selected row are set to k intermediate levels, where k is an integer not greater than 2N (FIGS. 11-12: coarse programming, see 8:28-59. Lee supports, in FIG. 14C, coarse programing of a memory cell from level E to a level 420, wherein number of level 420 is less than number of levels A, B, C);
after the first pass, apply voltage pulses to a select word line of the word lines coupled to the select row of the memory cells, wherein an amplitude of the voltage pulses changes over time (FIG. 12: medium programming); and
after applying the single voltage pulse, program, in a second pass, the select row of the memory cells, such that the memory cells in the selected row are set to the 2N final levels (FIG. 12: fine programming, see 8:60-9:15. Lee supports, in FIG. 14C, fine programing of the memory cell to levels A, B and C); and
a memory controller coupled to the memory device and configured to control the memory device (FIG. 8: control circuitry 46).
Song teaches voltage pulses instead of single voltage pulse.
Xu teaches a method of programming multilevel memory cells with fewer program verify operation. The method comprises two pass coarse-fine programming algorithm (see 2:48-62), and applying a single voltage pulse to a select word line, wherein an amplitude of the single voltage pulse changes over time (see FIGS. 4A-4C and 3:17-47).
Since Song and Xu are both from the same field of endeavor, the purpose disclosed by Xu would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Song.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to perform the medium programming of Song with programming method of Xu in order to save programming time with fewer program verify operation (see FIGS. 4A-4C and 3:17-47).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to dependent claim 5: wherein N equals 4, k equals 4, and the m pre-programmed levels comprise P6, P7, P8, P9, P10, P11, and P14.
With respect to dependent claim 6: wherein N equals 4, k equals 9, and the m pre-programmed levels comprise P3, P4, P6, P7, P9, P11, and P13.
Conclusion
February 6, 2026
/VANTHU T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824