DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bedell et al. (US pub 20050130424) in combination with Ohtani et al. (US pat 6326248).
With respect to claim 1, Bedell et al. teach a device, comprising (see figs. 1-5, particularly figs. 1A-1C and associated text):
a first crystalline material (Si) 10;
a second material 19 in a substantially crystalline form;
a blocking material 12 between the first crystalline material and the second material; and
a third material (Si) 14 in a substantially crystalline form and adjacent the second material, a crystallization temperature of the third material inherently (since 19 portion of 14 has been implanted, its chemical composition must be different from 14) being different from a crystallization temperature of the second material.
Bedell et al. fails to teach the second crystalline material is free of a grain boundary.
Ohtani et al. teach forming a crystalline material is free of a grain boundary. See col. 20, lines 20-30.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to incorporate the teaching of Ohtani et al. into the device of Bedell et al. to achieve a device having uniform characteristics. See col. 20, lines 20-30.
With respect to claim 2, Bedell et al. teach the third material and the second material together define a substantially continuous crystalline structure. See figs. 1A-1C and associated text.
With respect to claim 5, Bedell et al. teach the third material has a different chemical composition than a chemical composition of the second material (since 19 portion of 14 has been implanted, its chemical composition must be different from 14). See figs. 1A-1C and associated text.
With respect to claim 6, Bedell et al. teach the third material (Si) has the same chemical composition as a chemical composition of the first crystalline material (Si). See figs. 1A-1C and associated text.
With respect to claim 7, Bedell et al. teach at least one of the first crystalline material, the second material, and the third material comprises a dopant. See figs. 1A-1C and associated text and para 0054.
With respect to claim 8, Bedell et al. fail to teach the range for the combined thickness of the second and third materials.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to determine the workable or optimal value or range for the combined thickness of the second and third materials through routine experimentation and optimization to obtain optimal or desired device performance because there is no evidence indicating that the claimed range is critical or produces any unexpected results and it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 9, 10, 11, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bedell et al. (US pub 20050130424) in combination with Ohtani et al. (US pat 6326248).
With respect to claim 9, Bedell et al. teach a device, (see figs. 1-5, particularly figs. 1A-1C and associated text):
including: one or more transistors comprising:
a first crystalline material (Si) 10;
a substantially continuous crystalline structure comprising a second crystalline material 19 and a third crystalline material (Si) 14 having a different crystallization temperature than the second crystalline material (since 19 portion of 14 has been implanted, its chemical composition must be different from 14); and
a blocking material 12 between the first crystalline material and the substantially continuous crystalline structure.
Bedell et al. fails to teach the the crystalline structure or the second crystalline material is free of a grain boundary.
Ohtani et al. teach forming a crystalline material is free of a grain boundary. See col. 20, lines 20-30.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to incorporate the teaching of Ohtani et al. into the device of Bedell et al. to achieve a device having uniform characteristics. See col. 20, lines 20-30.
With respect to claim 10, Bedell et al. teach the third crystalline material is distal to the blocking material and the second crystalline material is proximal to the blocking material. See figs. 1A-1C and associated text.
With respect to claim 11, Bedell et al. teach the second crystalline material is distal to the blocking material and the third crystalline material is proximal to the blocking material (since 14 can be interpreted as the second material and 19 is interpreted as the third material). See figs. 1A-1C and associated text.
With respect to claim 12, Bedell et al. teach at least one of the first crystalline material, the second crystalline material, and the third crystalline material of the one or more transistors comprises silicon, germanium, or both. See figs. 1A-1C and associated text.
With respect to claim 13, Bedell et al. teach the crystallization temperature of the second crystalline material is higher than a crystallization temperature of the first crystalline material and the crystallization temperature of the third crystalline material. See figs. 1A-1C and associated text.
Double Patenting
Claims, 1, 2, 5, 7, and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11532699. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the inventions of claims 1, 2, 5, 7, and 9 are taught by claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11532699.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Claims 3-4, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner’s Cited References
The cited references generally show the similar or related structure having a second crystalline material and a third crystalline material having different crystallization temperatures and the second or third material is substantially free of grain boundary as presently claimed by applicant.
Conclusion
LONG . PHAM
Examiner
Art Unit 2823
/LONG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897