CTNF 18/783,277 CTNF 94221 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The Information Disclosure Statements are being considered by the Examiner. Regarding the IDS filed 10/10/2024, Applicant cited seven Foreign Patent Documents, however, Applicant did not provide copies of any of the foreign patents. Section II. of MPEP 609.04(a) states that “…each information disclosure statement must also include a legible copy of: (A) Each foreign patent.” Please resubmit the IDS documents and relevant foreign patent copies for consideration. Examiner also notes that Smith (US 20200131134) was cited in the IDS filed 10/10/2024, however, the content of Smith is directed towards “Farnesoid X Receptor Agonists and Uses Thereof”; the relevancy of the cited document is unclear. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 3-6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 3, claim 3 recites “ an image” which is also recited in claim 1. It is unclear if the image recited in claim 3 is the same as or in addition to the image of claim 1. Regarding claim 6, claim 6 recites “ a plurality of images” and “ a second semiconductor wafer” . Firstly, it is unclear if the image recited in claim 1 is being further narrowed (i.e. minimum quantity of two images) or if the images of claim 3 are in addition to the image recited in claim 1 (i.e. minimum quantity of three images). Secondly, the second semiconductor wafer has previously established antecedent basis. Regarding claim 18, claim 18 recites “ a plurality of cameras” and “ an image” . Claim 12, from which claim 18 depends, recites “a camera ” and “ an image” . Firstly, it is unclear if the camera recited in claim 12 is being further narrowed (i.e. minimum quantity of two cameras) or if the cameras of claim 18 are in addition to the camera recited in claim 12 (i.e. minimum quantity of three cameras). Secondly, “ an image” has previously established antecedent basis in claim 12. Any claim listed as rejected above but not specifically addressed above has inherited the rejection of a claim specifically addressed above due to dependency therefrom. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Osterheld (US 2019/0283209) . Regarding claim 1, Osterheld discloses a system, comprising: one or more memories configured to store software instructions (see [0038] regarding software, hardware, computer programs, non-transitory machine readable storage medium) ; and one or more processors configured execute the software instructions to perform a process ([0027]: see controller 190 including a programmed computer including a microprocessor; see also [0038] disclosing one or more computers) , the process including: receiving a first semiconductor wafer with a chemical mechanical planarization head of a chemical mechanical planarization system (see at least the CMP system 100, substrate, and carrier head 104 disclosed in [0003-0004], [0013-0016]) ; performing a chemical mechanical planarization process on the first semiconductor wafer (see [0013-0016], [0019], as well as Figure 1) ; passing the first semiconductor wafer from the chemical mechanical planarization head to a wafer load and unload unit after the chemical mechanical planarization process (see load cup 110 and transfer mechanism 118, disclosed in [0013], [0020-0022]; see also the de-chucking process disclosed in [0026]) ; capturing an image of the chemical mechanical planarization head after passing the first wafer to the wafer load and unload unit (wherein [0030-0032] disclose the camera 200a/200b can capture images of the retaining ring 150 as the carrier head 104 moves from the polishing station to the load cup 100, or vice versa, i.e. before and after processing of the substrate; wherein [0034] discloses the field of view is sufficiently wide enough such that the entire underside of the consumable part, i.e. the retaining ring, is captured, and that multiple images can be taken to cover the entire field of view; see also [0034-0037]) ; analyzing the image with a control system (see at least [0034-0037]) ; and determining whether to provide a second semiconductor wafer to the chemical mechanical planarization head based on the image (wherein [0035-0037] disclose that the image processing algorithm is run by software in the controller to determine whether there is damage to the consumable item, and wherein a signal can be generated to an operator if replacement is needed, i.e. the second semiconductor wafer is not supplied and the part is replaced) . Regarding claim 2, Osterheld discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Osterheld further discloses wherein the process includes: generating a classification of the image with the control system, wherein the classification indicates whether or not the chemical mechanical planarization head is damaged ([0034-0038] wherein the image processing algorithm run by software in the controller is configured to determine if there is damage to the consumable part, i.e. wherein the classification includes damaged or undamaged) ; and determining whether to provide the second semiconductor wafer to the chemical mechanical planarization head based on the classification (wherein [0036] describes that a signal can be generated for signaling to an operator that replacement is required, i.e. instead of providing an additional substrate, the signal is emitted) . Regarding claim 3, Osterheld discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Osterheld further discloses wherein capturing an image of the chemical mechanical planarization head includes capturing an image of a retainer ring of the chemical mechanical planarization head (see [0031-0034]) . Regarding claim 4, Osterheld discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Osterheld further discloses wherein the classification indicates whether or not the retainer ring is damaged (see [0008-0009], [0011-0012], [0029], [0034-0038]) . Regarding claim 5, Osterheld discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Osterheld further discloses wherein the process includes generating the classification with a convolutional neural network of the control system ([0037]: convolutional neural network) . Regarding claim 6, Osterheld discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Osterheld further discloses wherein the process includes: capturing a plurality of images with a plurality of cameras (see at least camera 200a, 200b, as well as [0031-0033]) ; analyzing the plurality of images with the plurality of cameras (see [0031-0036], as well as [0009]) ; and determining whether or not to provide a second semiconductor wafer to the chemical mechanical planarization head based on the plurality of images (wherein [0035-0037] disclose that based on the images obtained from the cameras and analyzed by the controller, the operator is alerted to damage and replacement is necessary before the damaged elements can impact the polishing process, i.e. indicating a second wafer should not be provided) . Regarding claim 7, Osterheld discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Osterheld further discloses wherein analyzing the image includes comparing the image to one or more reference images (see [0037]) . Regarding claim 8, Osterheld discloses a chemical mechanical planarization system: a wafer load and unload unit configured to receive a semiconductor wafer (see load cup 110 and transfer mechanism 118, disclosed in [0013], [0020-0022]; see also the de-chucking process disclosed in [0026]) ; a chemical mechanical planarization platen (see platen 106, polishing pad 116; see also [0014]) ; a chemical mechanical planarization head configured to maneuver above the load and unload station and to receive the semiconductor wafer from the wafer load and unload unit and to return the semiconductor wafer to the load and unload unit (see carrier head 104, transfer mechanism 118, load cup 110, and [0013-0016]; see also [0003-004], [0020-0022], [0026]) ; a camera adjacent to the load and unload unit and configured to configured to capture an image of the chemical mechanical planarization head above the load and unload unit (see at least camera 200a, 200b, as well as [0031-0033]; wherein cameras 200a and 200b are adjacent unit 110, and wherein the images taken by each camera are of the carrier head 104, which is located above the load cup 110) . Regarding claim 9, Osterheld discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Osterheld further discloses comprising a control system configured to receive the image, to analyze the image with an image analysis process, to generate a classification of the image, and to control the chemical mechanical planarization head responsive to the classification (see controller 190, as well as [0027] and [0038]; see at least [0034-0037] regarding the analyzation, and [0034-0038] disclosing that the image processing algorithm run by software in the controller is configured to determine if there is damage to the consumable part, i.e. wherein the classification includes damaged or undamaged; wherein [0008-0009] describe that before damage to parts impact the polishing process, the damaged part is replaced; see also [0011-0012], [0029]) . Regarding claim 10, Osterheld discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Osterheld further discloses wherein the chemical mechanical planarization head includes a retainer ring (retaining ring 150) configured to laterally retain the semiconductor wafer when the chemical mechanical planarization head holds the semiconductor wafer (see [0023], as well as Figure 1, [0025], [0030]) . Regarding claim 11, Osterheld discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Osterheld further discloses wherein the classification indicates whether or not the retainer ring is damaged (see [0008-0009], [0011-0012], [0029], [0034-0038]) . Regarding claim 12, Osterheld discloses a chemical mechanical planarization system comprising: a chemical mechanical planarization station configured to perform a chemical mechanical planarization process (see Figure 1 and abstract; see at least the CMP system 100, substrate, and carrier head 104 disclosed in [0003-0004], [0013-0016]) ; a wafer load and unload unit configured to receive a semiconductor wafer (see load cup 110 and transfer mechanism 118, disclosed in [0013], [0020-0022]; see also the de-chucking process disclosed in [0026]); a chemical mechanical planarization head configured to receive the semiconductor wafer from the wafer load and unload unit (carrier head 104 disclosed in [0003-0004], [0013-0016]) , to carry the semiconductor wafer to the chemical mechanical planarization station for the chemical mechanical planarization process, and to return the semiconductor wafer to the wafer load and unload unit (see load cup 110 and transfer mechanism 118, disclosed in [0013], [0020-0022]; see also the de-chucking process disclosed in [0026]) ; a camera configured to capture an image of the chemical mechanical planarization head after the chemical mechanical planarization head has returned the semiconductor wafer to the wafer load and unload unit (see at least cameras 200a, 200b, as well as [0030-0031]) ; and a control system configured to receive the image (see control system 190) , to analyze the image with an image analysis process, to generate a classification of the image, and to control the chemical mechanical planarization head responsive to the classification (see at least [0030-0032], [0034-0037] disclosing that the image processing algorithm is run by software in the controller to determine whether there is damage to the consumable item, and wherein a signal can be generated to an operator if replacement is needed, i.e. the second semiconductor wafer is not supplied and the part is replaced) . Regarding claim 13, Osterheld discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Osterheld further discloses wherein the chemical mechanical planarization head includes a retainer ring configured to laterally retain the semiconductor wafer when the chemical mechanical planarization head holds the semiconductor wafer (see retaining ring 150, [0023], as well as Figure 1, [0025], [0030]) . Regarding claim 14, Osterheld discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Osterheld further discloses wherein the classification indicates whether or not the retainer ring is damaged (wherein [0035-0037] disclose that the image processing algorithm is run by software in the controller to determine whether there is damage to the consumable item, wherein [0009] discloses the retaining ring is a consumable item) . Regarding claim 15, Osterheld discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Osterheld further discloses wherein if the classification indicates that the retainer ring is damaged, the control system prevents the chemical mechanical planarization head from receiving a next semiconductor wafer (wherein [0008-0009] describe that before damage to parts impact the polishing process, the damaged part is replaced; see also [0011-0012], [0034-0036]) . Regarding claim 16, Osterheld discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Osterheld further discloses wherein if the classification indicates that the retainer ring is not damaged, the control system permits the chemical mechanical planarization head to receive the next semiconductor wafer (see [0008-0009], [0012], [0029], [0034-0036]; wherein the image processing algorithm includes determining the images are normal, see at least [0037], i.e. additional wafers may be processed; see [0035-0038]) . Regarding claim 17, Osterheld discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Osterheld further discloses wherein the camera is positioned adjacent to the wafer load and unload unit (see at least cameras 200a and 200b, which are adjacent to the load cup 110 relative to camera 200c) . Regarding claim 18, Osterheld discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Osterheld further discloses further comprising a plurality of cameras each configured to capture an image of the chemical mechanical planarization head after the chemical mechanical planarization head has returned the semiconductor wafer to the wafer load and unload unit (see at least cameras 200a, 200b, as well as [0030-0036] and [0009]) . Regarding claim 19, Osterheld discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Osterheld further discloses wherein the control system includes a machine learning based image analyzer configured to generate the classification (see [0037] disclosing a machine learning system, see also [0038]) . Regarding claim 20, Osterheld discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Osterheld further discloses wherein the image analyzer includes a convolutional neural network (see [0037] disclosing a convolutional neural network) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shinozaki (US 20170291274), see Abstract. Osterheld (US 20200298368), see Abstract. Torii (US 20070243796), see Figures 2 and 9. Kosuge (US 20150273649), see [0018], [0045]. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAKENA S MARKMAN whose telephone number is (469)295-9162. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 8:00 am-6:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, David Posigian can be reached at 313-446-6546. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/783,277 Page 2 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/783,277 Page 3 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/783,277 Page 4 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/783,277 Page 5 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/783,277 Page 6 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/783,277 Page 7 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/783,277 Page 8 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/783,277 Page 9 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/783,277 Page 10 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/783,277 Page 11 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/783,277 Page 12 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/783,277 Page 13 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/783,277 Page 14 Art Unit: 3723