DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 and 18-27 were previously examined.
Claims 1, 18 and 21 have been amended on July 7, 2026.
Claims 1-10 and 18-27 are pending on this action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see under Rejection under 35 USC 101, for claims 18-20 filed on July 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments:
On page 1 of the remark, Applicant argued that these operations are not reasonably performed in the human mind. A human cannot, as a practical matter, receive a memory activate command, sense a page of data and stored parity from memory cells, or perform the claimed comparison through error detection circuitry in the context of an activated memory page. The claim therefore does not merely recite a human-performed comparison or an untethered mathematical calculation, but instead is directed to operation of memory-device circuitry in connection with an activate command and sensed page data and parity.
In Responses:
Examiner disagreed because the recited claim 18 does not recite such thing as “memory cells wherein the memory cells are located in a memory device” and “receiving an activate command” is from another “hardware device” such as a host device.
The error detection circuitry is a generic computer components and software module for performing a comparison between the first parity and the stored parity in a memory. A memory can be any type of memory such as human memory that is clearly capable of storing a data such as parity data.
The human can clearly sensing/reading/recalling a stored data and stored parity in his memory so that to perform a comparison the stored memory with his newly calculated parity to determine if a match or not a match.
The recited claim 18 simply recites “a method comprising: in response to receiving an activate command, sensing a first page of data and a parity stored in the first page; computing a first parity for the first page; and comparing, by error detection circuitry, the first parity to the stored parity.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., parity from memory cells, … through error detection circuitry in the context of an activated memory page. … memory-device circuitry in connection with an activate command and sensed page data and parity) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
As such, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant's arguments, see under Rejection under 35 USC 112, for claims 18-20 filed on July 7, 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments:
On pages 2-4, Applicant disagreed with rejection for "a first error," "a first portion," and "a first location" under 112.
In Responses:
Examiner disagreed because the previous limitation only recite “access portions of a memory; detect…whether an error exists in data stored in each accessed portion”.
It does not recite such as “access a first portion from a plurality portions of a memory” and “detect…whether an error exists in data in the a first portion” As such, it is unclear whether claim 1 is accessing the first portion from a plurality portions…at all. It appears that the recited claim only care about an error exists in a first portion and it does not care about any errors after the first portion such as 2nd portion and beyond.
Applicant’s arguments:
Applicant disagreed with the Office Action also asserts that the conditional phrase "in response to detecting a first error for a first portion" is indefinite because the claims do not state what occurs when that condition is not satisfied. Applicant respectfully disagrees. A claim may define an operation that occurs in response to a stated condition without also reciting a negative branch for the absence of that condition. Here, the claims affirmatively recite the operation performed when the detected-error condition occurs: the controller records the corresponding location. The absence of a separately recited step for a no-error condition does not render the claimed triggered operation indefinite.
In Responses:
As best as understood, the recited claim record a first location of the first portion when an error exists in a first portion only. Otherwise, no other steps are performed when no error exists in a first portion.
Examiner disagreed because the previous limitation does not “access a first portion from a plurality portions of a memory” to “detect…whether an error exists in data in the a first portion” . Therefore, it is not possible for it to detect an error in first portion. Thus, it cannot “in response to detecting an (a first) error for a first portion” so that I can record a first location at all. As such, Examiner is unclear whether any additional steps are performed when no error exists in a first portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In analyzing under step 1, is the claim to a process, machine manufacture or composition of matter? Yes.
In analyzing under step 2A Prong One, Does the claim recite an abstract idea law of nature or natural phenomenon? Yes.
The claim(s) 18-20 recite(s) the abstract limitations such as “in response to receiving an activate command, sensing a first page of data and a parity stored in the first page; computing a first parity for the first page; and comparing, by error detection circuitry, the first parity to the stored parity” is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation under mathematical/and or mental processes .
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation under mathematical or mental processes but for the recitation of generic computer components and software module, then it falls within the “Mathematical Processes” and/or “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas.
The generic processes or a mental process can respond to an active command then (1) read (or sensing) first data and parity from the first page of the memory, then (2) computing a first parity using first data (based on mathematical calculation) and comparing the computed first parity with the previous stored parity (based on mathematical calculation). The recited claim 18 does not improve the method at all.
Dependent claim 19 only add an address to a scrub queue but does not perform any scrubbing at all. As such it does not improve the method at all.
Dependent claim 20 recite a method of computing second parity (based on mathematical calculation) and writing the data and parity in some memory. As such it does not improve the method or system at all.
Accordingly, the claims 18-20 recite an abstract limitation.
In analyzing under step 2A Prong Two, Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? NO.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims recite a generic processor for calculating and comparing parity. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because a generic processor and software module which are high level of generality performing code generation. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
In analyzing under step 2B, does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? NO
Claims 18-20 do not recite any additional elements for calculating and comparing parity. Accordingly, the additional generic elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because a generic processor and software module which are high level of generality calculating parity and comparing parity
The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 18-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Any claim not specifically mentioned, is rejected due to its dependency on a rejected claim.
Claims 1 and 21 recite the limitation "comparing parities".
The recited limitation such as “"comparing parities renders this limitation indefinite because it is unclear what parities are required for performing comparison.
Claims 1 and 21 recite the limitation "a first error". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The previous limitation does not mention a first data. As such, it is unclear where the first error.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a first portion". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The previous limitation does not mention a first portion. As such, it is unclear where the first portion.
Claims 1 and 21 recite the limitation "a first location". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The previous limitation does not mention a first location. As such, it is unclear where the first location.
Claim 1 recites a limitation such as “in response to detecting a first error for a first portion, record a first location of the first portion”
The recited limitation such as “in response to detecting a first error for a first portion, record a first location of the first portion” renders this limitation indefinite because the previous limitation does not perform any detection on “a first error for a first portion” at all. As such, it is unclear how it can response when detecting a first error at all. When or where does it detect first error in a first portion?
The recited condition limitation such as “in response to detecting a first error for a first portion, record a first location of the first portion” renders this limitation indefinite because it is unclear what happens when it does not detecting a first error for a first portion. It is unclear whether any record is performed.
Claims 2 and 22 recite the limitation "the controller". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The previous claim 1 and 21 recite “at least one controller” and not “a controller”. As such, it is unclear which controller is referring to.
Claim 18 recites the limitation " in response to receiving an activate command".
The recited limitation such as “in response to receiving an activate command" renders this limitation indefinite because it is unclear what happens when NOT receiving an active command. It is unclear whether method of “sensing a first page …and a parity…” are performed when “NOT receiving an active command”. It is unclear whether any computing a first parity and comparing the first parity are even performed for a condition “Not receiving an active command”
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The previous limitation recites “sensing a parity stored”
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the stored parity". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The previous limitation recites “sensing a parity stored”. It does not recite “sensing a stored parity”
Claim 19 recite the limitation "a physical address of the first page". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The previous limitation does not recite any “a physical address of the first page”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, 18, 21-22, 24-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) unpatentable over O’Connell (US 2011/0,041,016), in view of Dent (US 2005/0,149,839)
As per claim 1: (Currently Amended)
O’Connell discloses:
An apparatus comprising:
(O’Connell, Fig. 1, System 100, ECC Engine 120-1-3, eDRAM 120-1-2, Failed Address Engineer 120-2-2)
error detection circuitry; and at least one controller configured to:
(O’Connell, Fig. 1, System 100, ECC Engine 120-1-3, eDRAM 120-1-2, Failed Address Engineer 120-2-2)
access portions of a memory array;
(O’Connell, Fig. 5, Access to eDRAM 120-1-1 (510), ECC error has been flagged? (520), Store the flagged address to the list of SER address (560))
detect,
(O’Connell, Fig. 5, Access to eDRAM 120-1-1 (510), ECC error has been flagged? (520), Store the flagged address to the list of SER address (560))
(O’Connell, Fig. 5, Access to eDRAM 120-1-1 (510), ECC error has been flagged? (520) == YES, Store the flagged address to the list of SER address (560))
(O’Connell, [0038] In block 520, failed address engine 120-2-2 determines if ECC engine 120-1-3 has flagged an error. If ECC engine 120-1-3 has not flagged an error, failed address engine 120-2-2 100 in block 530 functions as usual, and system 100 continues to operate normally)
whether an error exists in data stored in each accessed portion; and
(O’Connell, Fig. 5, Access to eDRAM 120-1-1 (510), ECC error has been flagged? (520) == YES, Store the flagged address to the list of SER address (560))
(O’Connell, [0038] In block 520, failed address engine 120-2-2 determines if ECC engine 120-1-3 has flagged an error. If ECC engine 120-1-3 has not flagged an error, failed address engine 120-2-2 100 in block 530 functions as usual, and system 100 continues to operate normally)
in response to detecting a first error for a first portion, record a first location of the first portion.
(O’Connell, Fig. 5, Access to eDRAM 120-1-1 (510), ECC error has been flagged? (520) == YES, Store the flagged address to the list of SER address (560))
(O’Connell, [0039] If, however, ECC engine 120-1-3 has flagged an error, and therefore captured the failed address of failed location 240-5, failed address engine 120-2-2 in block 540, receiving the failed address location 240-5 from ECC engine 120-1, compares the failed address location 240-5 to a list of previously failed addresses, which in effect, includes the list of soft error (e.g., SER) addresses)
(O’Connell, [0040] If there is not a match (e.g., the failed address location 240-5 is not in the stored list of SER addresses), failed address engine 120-2-2, recognizing this is a new failure location, considers the error as a soft error, and, in block 560, stores this failed address location 240-5 in the stored list of SER addresses)
O’Connell does not disclose
comparing parities for detecting errors.
Dent discloses:
comparing parities for detecting errors.
(Dent, Fig. 2 shows a method of calculating parity 203 and then store the calculated parity into memory 204)
(Dent, [0016]…process 300 recalled the addressed data and the corresponding parity (processing block 302). Process 300 calculates the parity of the just recalled data (processing block 303))
(Dent,[0017] Process 300 checks to determine if the recalled parity matches the newly calculated parity (decision block 304). If they match (Yes at decision block 304), the data is assumed to be correct. Process 300 continues at block 305. This would involve the use of the just recalled data by the data processor…[0019]…Process 300 next compares these newly generated parities against pre-calculated parties 145 (decision block 310). There are three types of comparison outcomes. It is possible that plural parity bits do not match (Plural Bits at decision block 310). This indicates that plural bits of the originally accessed data have changed. Process 300 judges this an uncorrectable error (processing block 307). This error cannot be corrected by this invention (processing block 307). Process 300 enters an error recovery routine (processing block 308) and continues at block 305 following error recovery…[0020] The second possible result of the parity comparison is one bit does not match (One Bit at decision block 310). This indicates an error in a single bit which can be corrected by this invention (processing block 311…[0021]… Thus the original data was correct but an error in the parity bit caused the parity mismatch (No at decision block 304). Process 300 corrects this at processing block 314. This correction could be recalculation of the parity of the horizontal memory line or simple inversion of the parity bit)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Dent’s well-known method of comparing the newly calculated parity and the stored parity into the system as one of the option for detecting errors in the memory.
(Dent, [0016]…process 300 recalled the addressed data and the corresponding parity (processing block 302). Process 300 calculates the parity of the just recalled data (processing block 303))
(Dent,[0017] Process 300 checks to determine if the recalled parity matches the newly calculated parity (decision block 304).
As per claim 2:
O’Connell-Dent further discloses:
further comprising error correction circuitry, wherein the controller is further configured to correct the detected first error using the error correction circuitry.
(O’Connell, Fig. 5, Correct SER failure (570))
(O’Connell, [0041] Failed address engine 120-2-2 in block 570 corrects the SER failure)
As per claim 3:
O’Connell-Dent further discloses:
wherein a number of bit errors that can be corrected by the error correction circuitry is greater than or equal to a number of bit errors that can be detected by the error detection circuitry.
(O’Connell, Fig. 5, Correct SER failure (570))
(O’Connell, [0041] Failed address engine 120-2-2 in block 570 corrects the SER failure)
(O’Connell, Fig. 5, Correct the redundant location (595))
(O’Connell [0045] … once the redundant row 210, the redundant word 210-1, or the redundant column 410, has been identified, the redundant location 210-5 does not necessarily include the correct data. Failed address engine 120-2-2 in block 595 corrects the data in redundant location 210-5. Depending on applications, redundancy engine 120-1-2 queues for an overwrite of the redundant location 210-5 or redundancy engine 120-1-2 overwrites the data in redundant location 210-5 as appropriate. In the case of column swapping in FIG. 400, redundancy engine 120-1-2 overwrites all cells in redundant column 410. Alternatively, redundancy engine 120-1-2 uses the corrected data and the address of failed location 240-5 provided by ECC engine 120-1-3 to flip the logic state of the data in redundant location 210-5.
(O’Connell [0046] Once redundant location 210-5 is written with the corrected data, i.e., the error has been completely repaired, failed address engine 120-2-2 in block 598 tags the failed location 240-5 as completely repaired)
As per claim 4:
O’Connell-Dent further discloses:
the controller is further configured to perform memory management for a memory device that includes the memory array; and the memory management includes correcting the first error using the error correction circuitry.
(O’Connell, Fig. 5, Correct SER failure (570))
(O’Connell, [0041] Failed address engine 120-2-2 in block 570 corrects the SER failure)
(O’Connell, Fig. 5, Correct the redundant location (595))
(O’Connell [0045] … once the redundant row 210, the redundant word 210-1, or the redundant column 410, has been identified, the redundant location 210-5 does not necessarily include the correct data. Failed address engine 120-2-2 in block 595 corrects the data in redundant location 210-5. Depending on applications, redundancy engine 120-1-2 queues for an overwrite of the redundant location 210-5 or redundancy engine 120-1-2 overwrites the data in redundant location 210-5 as appropriate. In the case of column swapping in FIG. 400, redundancy engine 120-1-2 overwrites all cells in redundant column 410. Alternatively, redundancy engine 120-1-2 uses the corrected data and the address of failed location 240-5 provided by ECC engine 120-1-3 to flip the logic state of the data in redundant location 210-5.
(O’Connell [0046] Once redundant location 210-5 is written with the corrected data, i.e., the error has been completely repaired, failed address engine 120-2-2 in block 598 tags the failed location 240-5 as completely repaired)
As per claim 6:
O’Connell-Dent further discloses:
wherein the error detection circuitry is configured to determine a parity for the data stored in each accessed portion.
(O’Connell, Abstract< Redundancy including extra rows and/or columns of memory cells is added to the memory, and ECC parity is used to detect errors. When an error occurs at a location the first time, it is assumed to be a soft error, the data is corrected in this location, and the address of the erroneous cell (e.g., the failed address) is stored in a list))
(O’Connell, [0020], Generally, when an error occurs in eDRAM 120-1-1, ECC engine 120-1-3, based on the data and associated parity bits, recognizes an error arises, identifies the address of the failed bit, and flags that error. In an embodiment, ECC engine 120-1-3 uses six parity bits to correct a single error in a data word of 32 bits and seven parity bits to correct a single error and detect a double error)
As per claim 7:
O’Connell-Dent further discloses:
wherein the first portion is a row of the memory array, the row stores a first parity of data written to the row, and the first parity is compared to a second parity determined by the error detection circuitry when data is read from the row.
(O’Connell, Abstract< Redundancy including extra rows and/or columns of memory cells is added to the memory, and ECC parity is used to detect errors. When an error occurs at a location the first time, it is assumed to be a soft error, the data is corrected in this location, and the address of the erroneous cell (e.g., the failed address) is stored in a list))
(O’Connell, [0020], Generally, when an error occurs in eDRAM 120-1-1, ECC engine 120-1-3, based on the data and associated parity bits, recognizes an error arises, identifies the address of the failed bit, and flags that error. In an embodiment, ECC engine 120-1-3 uses six parity bits to correct a single error in a data word of 32 bits and seven parity bits to correct a single error and detect a double error)
As per claim 9:
O’Connell-Dent further discloses:
wherein the accessed portions are pages storing code words, and each page stores a parity determined using the code words stored in the page.
(O’Connell, Abstract< Redundancy including extra rows and/or columns of memory cells is added to the memory, and ECC parity is used to detect errors. When an error occurs at a location the first time, it is assumed to be a soft error, the data is corrected in this location, and the address of the erroneous cell (e.g., the failed address) is stored in a list))
(O’Connell, [0020], Generally, when an error occurs in eDRAM 120-1-1, ECC engine 120-1-3, based on the data and associated parity bits, recognizes an error arises, identifies the address of the failed bit, and flags that error. In an embodiment, ECC engine 120-1-3 uses six parity bits to correct a single error in a data word of 32 bits and seven parity bits to correct a single error and detect a double error)
As per claim 10:
O’Connell-Dent further discloses:
wherein the first error is detected by comparing a parity stored with code words in a first page to a parity computed for the code words when the first page is activated.
(O’Connell, Abstract< Redundancy including extra rows and/or columns of memory cells is added to the memory, and ECC parity is used to detect errors. When an error occurs at a location the first time, it is assumed to be a soft error, the data is corrected in this location, and the address of the erroneous cell (e.g., the failed address) is stored in a list))
(O’Connell, [0020], Generally, when an error occurs in eDRAM 120-1-1, ECC engine 120-1-3, based on the data and associated parity bits, recognizes an error arises, identifies the address of the failed bit, and flags that error. In an embodiment, ECC engine 120-1-3 uses six parity bits to correct a single error in a data word of 32 bits and seven parity bits to correct a single error and detect a double error)
(O’Connell, [0034] FIG. 4 shows an eDRAM 400 as a third embodiment of eDRAM 120-1-1. eDRAM 400, as compared to eDRAM 200 or 300, includes a plurality of redundant cells and associated circuitry such as bit lines, sense amplifiers, etc., used to repair an error on a bit line and/or bit-line sense amplifier area)
As per claims 11-17: Cancelled)
As per claim 18: (Currently Amended)
O’Connell discloses:
A method comprising:
in response to receiving an activate command, sensing a first page of data and a parity stored in the first page;
(O’Connell, Abstract< Redundancy including extra rows and/or columns of memory cells is added to the memory, and ECC parity is used to detect errors. When an error occurs at a location the first time, it is assumed to be a soft error, the data is corrected in this location, and the address of the erroneous cell (e.g., the failed address) is stored in a list))
(O’Connell, [0020], Generally, when an error occurs in eDRAM 120-1-1, ECC engine 120-1-3, based on the data and associated parity bits, recognizes an error arises, identifies the address of the failed bit, and flags that error. In an embodiment, ECC engine 120-1-3 uses six parity bits to correct a single error in a data word of 32 bits and seven parity bits to correct a single error and detect a double error)
O’Connell does not disclose
Computing… a first parity … and comparing the first parity to the stored parity.
Dent discloses:
Computing… a first parity … and comparing the first parity to the stored parity.
(Dent, Fig. 2 shows a method of calculating parity 203 and then store the calculated parity into memory 204)
(Dent, [0016]…process 300 recalled the addressed data and the corresponding parity (processing block 302). Process 300 calculates the parity of the just recalled data (processing block 303))
(Dent,[0017] Process 300 checks to determine if the recalled parity matches the newly calculated parity (decision block 304). If they match (Yes at decision block 304), the data is assumed to be correct. Process 300 continues at block 305. This would involve the use of the just recalled data by the data processor…[0019]…Process 300 next compares these newly generated parities against pre-calculated parties 145 (decision block 310). There are three types of comparison outcomes. It is possible that plural parity bits do not match (Plural Bits at decision block 310). This indicates that plural bits of the originally accessed data have changed. Process 300 judges this an uncorrectable error (processing block 307). This error cannot be corrected by this invention (processing block 307). Process 300 enters an error recovery routine (processing block 308) and continues at block 305 following error recovery…[0020] The second possible result of the parity comparison is one bit does not match (One Bit at decision block 310). This indicates an error in a single bit which can be corrected by this invention (processing block 311…[0021]… Thus the original data was correct but an error in the parity bit caused the parity mismatch (No at decision block 304). Process 300 corrects this at processing block 314. This correction could be recalculation of the parity of the horizontal memory line or simple inversion of the parity bit)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Dent’s well-known method of comparing the newly calculated parity and the stored parity into the system as one of the option for detecting errors in the memory.
(Dent, [0016]…process 300 recalled the addressed data and the corresponding parity (processing block 302). Process 300 calculates the parity of the just recalled data (processing block 303))
(Dent,[0017] Process 300 checks to determine if the recalled parity matches the newly calculated parity (decision block 304).
As per claim 21: (Currently Amended)
O’Connell discloses:
An apparatus comprising: a memory array; and at least one controller configured to:
(O’Connell, Fig. 1, System 100, ECC Engine 120-1-3, eDRAM 120-1-2, Failed Address Engineer 120-2-2)
detect by
(O’Connell, Fig. 1, System 100, ECC Engine 120-1-3, eDRAM 120-1-2, Failed Address Engineer 120-2-2)
(O’Connell, Fig. 5, Access to eDRAM 120-1-1 (510), ECC error has been flagged? (520), Store the flagged address to the list of SER address (560))
(O’Connell, Fig. 5, Access to eDRAM 120-1-1 (510), ECC error has been flagged? (520) == YES, Store the flagged address to the list of SER address (560))
(O’Connell, [0038] In block 520, failed address engine 120-2-2 determines if ECC engine 120-1-3 has flagged an error. If ECC engine 120-1-3 has not flagged an error, failed address engine 120-2-2 100 in block 530 functions as usual, and system 100 continues to operate normally)
in response to detecting a first error, record a first location.
(O’Connell, Fig. 5, Access to eDRAM 120-1-1 (510), ECC error has been flagged? (520) == YES, Store the flagged address to the list of SER address (560))
(O’Connell, [0039] If, however, ECC engine 120-1-3 has flagged an error, and therefore captured the failed address of failed location 240-5, failed address engine 120-2-2 in block 540, receiving the failed address location 240-5 from ECC engine 120-1, compares the failed address location 240-5 to a list of previously failed addresses, which in effect, includes the list of soft error (e.g., SER) addresses)
(O’Connell, [0040] If there is not a match (e.g., the failed address location 240-5 is not in the stored list of SER addresses), failed address engine 120-2-2, recognizing this is a new failure location, considers the error as a soft error, and, in block 560, stores this failed address location 240-5 in the stored list of SER addresses)
O’Connell does not disclose
comparing parities for detecting errors.
Dent discloses:
comparing parities for detecting errors.
(Dent, Fig. 2 shows a method of calculating parity 203 and then store the calculated parity into memory 204)
(Dent, [0016]…process 300 recalled the addressed data and the corresponding parity (processing block 302). Process 300 calculates the parity of the just recalled data (processing block 303))
(Dent,[0017] Process 300 checks to determine if the recalled parity matches the newly calculated parity (decision block 304). If they match (Yes at decision block 304), the data is assumed to be correct. Process 300 continues at block 305. This would involve the use of the just recalled data by the data processor…[0019]…Process 300 next compares these newly generated parities against pre-calculated parties 145 (decision block 310). There are three types of comparison outcomes. It is possible that plural parity bits do not match (Plural Bits at decision block 310). This indicates that plural bits of the originally accessed data have changed. Process 300 judges this an uncorrectable error (processing block 307). This error cannot be corrected by this invention (processing block 307). Process 300 enters an error recovery routine (processing block 308) and continues at block 305 following error recovery…[0020] The second possible result of the parity comparison is one bit does not match (One Bit at decision block 310). This indicates an error in a single bit which can be corrected by this invention (processing block 311…[0021]… Thus the original data was correct but an error in the parity bit caused the parity mismatch (No at decision block 304). Process 300 corrects this at processing block 314. This correction could be recalculation of the parity of the horizontal memory line or simple inversion of the parity bit)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Dent’s well-known method of comparing the newly calculated parity and the stored parity into the system as one of the option for detecting errors in the memory.
(Dent, [0016]…process 300 recalled the addressed data and the corresponding parity (processing block 302). Process 300 calculates the parity of the just recalled data (processing block 303))
(Dent,[0017] Process 300 checks to determine if the recalled parity matches the newly calculated parity (decision block 304).
As per claim 22:
O’Connell-Dent further discloses:
wherein the controller is further configured to: perform memory management for a memory device that includes the memory array, wherein the memory management includes correcting the first error.
(O’Connell, Fig. 5, Correct SER failure (570))
(O’Connell, [0041] Failed address engine 120-2-2 in block 570 corrects the SER failure)
As per claim 24:
O’Connell-Dent further discloses:
wherein the controller is further configured to determine a parity for data stored in a portion of the memory array for which the first error is detected.
(O’Connell, Abstract< Redundancy including extra rows and/or columns of memory cells is added to the memory, and ECC parity is used to detect errors. When an error occurs at a location the first time, it is assumed to be a soft error, the data is corrected in this location, and the address of the erroneous cell (e.g., the failed address) is stored in a list))
(O’Connell, [0020], Generally, when an error occurs in eDRAM 120-1-1, ECC engine 120-1-3, based on the data and associated parity bits, recognizes an error arises, identifies the address of the failed bit, and flags that error. In an embodiment, ECC engine 120-1-3 uses six parity bits to correct a single error in a data word of 32 bits and seven parity bits to correct a single error and detect a double error)
As per claim 25:
O’Connell-Dent further discloses:
wherein the first error is detected by comparing a parity stored with code words in a first page to a parity computed for the code words when the first page is activated.
(O’Connell, Abstract< Redundancy including extra rows and/or columns of memory cells is added to the memory, and ECC parity is used to detect errors. When an error occurs at a location the first time, it is assumed to be a soft error, the data is corrected in this location, and the address of the erroneous cell (e.g., the failed address) is stored in a list))
(O’Connell, [0020], Generally, when an error occurs in eDRAM 120-1-1, ECC engine 120-1-3, based on the data and associated parity bits, recognizes an error arises, identifies the address of the failed bit, and flags that error. In an embodiment, ECC engine 120-1-3 uses six parity bits to correct a single error in a data word of 32 bits and seven parity bits to correct a single error and detect a double error)
As per claim 26:
O’Connell-Dent further discloses:
wherein the first error is for a row of the memory array, the row stores a first parity of data written to the row, and the first parity is compared to a second parity when data is read from the row.
(O’Connell, Abstract< Redundancy including extra rows and/or columns of memory cells is added to the memory, and ECC parity is used to detect errors. When an error occurs at a location the first time, it is assumed to be a soft error, the data is corrected in this location, and the address of the erroneous cell (e.g., the failed address) is stored in a list))
(O’Connell, [0020], Generally, when an error occurs in eDRAM 120-1-1, ECC engine 120-1-3, based on the data and associated parity bits, recognizes an error arises, identifies the address of the failed bit, and flags that error. In an embodiment, ECC engine 120-1-3 uses six parity bits to correct a single error in a data word of 32 bits and seven parity bits to correct a single error and detect a double error)
As per claim 27:
O’Connell-Dent further discloses:
wherein the first error is for a first portion, and the controller is further configured to access the first portion by activating a row of the memory array to read or write data stored on the activated row.
(O’Connell, Fig. 5, Access to eDRAM 120-1-1 (510), ECC error has been flagged? (520), Store the flagged address to the list of SER address (560))
Claim(s) 5, 19 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Connell (US 2011/0,041,016), in view of Dent (US 2005/0,149,839), and further in view of Park et al. (US 2024/0,202,069)
As per claim 5:
O’Connell further discloses:
further comprising a queue to store locations of the memory array for which errors in stored data are detected, wherein the queue includes the first location, and
(O’Connell, Fig. 5, Queue hard error (590))
wherein the controller is further configured to correct errors at the stored locations during a
(O’Connell, Fig. 5, Correct the redundant location (595))
(O’Connell [0045] … once the redundant row 210, the redundant word 210-1, or the redundant column 410, has been identified, the redundant location 210-5 does not necessarily include the correct data. Failed address engine 120-2-2 in block 595 corrects the data in redundant location 210-5. Depending on applications, redundancy engine 120-1-2 queues for an overwrite of the redundant location 210-5 or redundancy engine 120-1-2 overwrites the data in redundant location 210-5 as appropriate. In the case of column swapping in FIG. 400, redundancy engine 120-1-2 overwrites all cells in redundant column 410. Alternatively, redundancy engine 120-1-2 uses the corrected data and the address of failed location 240-5 provided by ECC engine 120-1-3 to flip the logic state of the data in redundant location 210-5)
(O’Connell [0046] Once redundant location 210-5 is written with the corrected data, i.e., the error has been completely repaired, failed address engine 120-2-2 in block 598 tags the failed location 240-5 as completely repaired)
O’Connell-Dent does not disclose:
Scrub operation.
Park discloses
Scrub operation.
(Park Fig. 4, Check Fail Information S20)
(Park Fig. 4, Set Scrubbing Cycle according to Fail Information S30)
(Park Fig. 4, Scrub Engine Start S40)
(Park [0063] The memory controller 10 checks fail information when the patrol scrubbing operation is activated (S20). In accordance with some example embodiments, the fail information includes error information monitored by the ECC engine 100. For example, the fail information may include an error count value, which is the number of times of an error that has been detected, and an address of the memory cell in which the error has been detected)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Park’s method of scrubbing according to stored fail information of O’Connell in order to prevent an unrecoverable error and to lower failure rate of the memory system.
(Park, [0069] Thus, the memory system may prevent an unrecoverable error from occurring in the scrubbing operation by maintaining or re-adjusting the scrubbing cycle in accordance with the fail information. Accordingly, performance drop and failure rate of the memory system may be lowered)
As per claim 19:
O’Connell-Dent further discloses:
further comprising in response to determining that the first
(O’Connell, Abstract< Redundancy including extra rows and/or columns of memory cells is added to the memory, and ECC parity is used to detect errors. When an error occurs at a location the first time, it is assumed to be a soft error, the data is corrected in this location, and the address of the erroneous cell (e.g., the failed address) is stored in a list))
(O’Connell, [0020], Generally, when an error occurs in eDRAM 120-1-1, ECC engine 120-1-3, based on the data and associated parity bits, recognizes an error arises, identifies the address of the failed bit, and flags that error. In an embodiment, ECC engine 120-1-3 uses six parity bits to correct a single error in a data word of 32 bits and seven parity bits to correct a single error and detect a double error)
adding a physical address of the first page to a
(O’Connell, Fig. 5, Correct SER failure (570))
(O’Connell, [0041] Failed address engine 120-2-2 in block 570 corrects the SER failure)
(O’Connell, Fig. 5, Correct the redundant location (595))
(O’Connell [0045] … once the redundant row 210, the redundant word 210-1, or the redundant column 410, has been identified, the redundant location 210-5 does not necessarily include the correct data. Failed address engine 120-2-2 in block 595 corrects the data in redundant location 210-5. Depending on applications, redundancy engine 120-1-2 queues for an overwrite of the redundant location 210-5 or redundancy engine 120-1-2 overwrites the data in redundant location 210-5 as appropriate. In the case of column swapping in FIG. 400, redundancy engine 120-1-2 overwrites all cells in redundant column 410. Alternatively, redundancy engine 120-1-2 uses the corrected data and the address of failed location 240-5 provided by ECC engine 120-1-3 to flip the logic state of the data in redundant location 210-5.
(O’Connell [0046] Once redundant location 210-5 is written with the corrected data, i.e., the error has been completely repaired, failed address engine 120-2-2 in block 598 tags the failed location 240-5 as completely repaired)
Dent further disclose:
determining that the first parity does not match the stored parity,
(Dent, Fig. 2 shows a method of calculating parity 203 and then store the calculated parity into memory 204)
(Dent, [0016]…process 300 recalled the addressed data and the corresponding parity (processing block 302). Process 300 calculates the parity of the just recalled data (processing block 303))
(Dent,[0017] Process 300 checks to determine if the recalled parity matches the newly calculated parity (decision block 304). If they match (Yes at decision block 304), the data is assumed to be correct. Process 300 continues at block 305. This would involve the use of the just recalled data by the data processor…[0019]…Process 300 next compares these newly generated parities against pre-calculated parties 145 (decision block 310). There are three types of comparison outcomes. It is possible that plural parity bits do not match (Plural Bits at decision block 310). This indicates that plural bits of the originally accessed data have changed. Process 300 judges this an uncorrectable error (processing block 307). This error cannot be corrected by this invention (processing block 307). Process 300 enters an error recovery routine (processing block 308) and continues at block 305 following error recovery…[0020] The second possible result of the parity comparison is one bit does not match (One Bit at decision block 310). This indicates an error in a single bit which can be corrected by this invention (processing block 311…[0021]… Thus the original data was correct but an error in the parity bit caused the parity mismatch (No at decision block 304). Process 300 corrects this at processing block 314. This correction could be recalculation of the parity of the horizontal memory line or simple inversion of the parity bit)
O’Connell-Dent does not disclose:
Scrub operation.
Park discloses
Scrub operation.
(Park Fig. 4, Check Fail Information S20)
(Park Fig. 4, Set Scrubbing Cycle according to Fail Information S30)
(Park Fig. 4, Scrub Engine Start S40)
(Park [0063] The memory controller 10 checks fail information when the patrol scrubbing operation is activated (S20). In accordance with some example embodiments, the fail information includes error information monitored by the ECC engine 100. For example, the fail information may include an error count value, which is the number of times of an error that has been detected, and an address of the memory cell in which the error has been detected)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Park’s method of scrubbing according to stored fail information of O’Connell in order to prevent an unrecoverable error and to lower failure rate of the memory system.
(Park, [0069] Thus, the memory system may prevent an unrecoverable error from occurring in the scrubbing operation by maintaining or re-adjusting the scrubbing cycle in accordance with the fail information. Accordingly, performance drop and failure rate of the memory system may be lowered)
As per claim 23:
O’Connell further discloses:
wherein the controller is further configured to: store locations of the memory array for which errors in stored data are detected, the stored locations including the first location; and correct errors at the stored locations during a
(O’Connell, Fig. 5, Access to eDRAM 120-1-1 (510), ECC error has been flagged? (520) == YES, Store the flagged address to the list of SER address (560))
(O’Connell, [0039] If, however, ECC engine 120-1-3 has flagged an error, and therefore captured the failed address of failed location 240-5, failed address engine 120-2-2 in block 540, receiving the failed address location 240-5 from ECC engine 120-1, compares the failed address location 240-5 to a list of previously failed addresses, which in effect, includes the list of soft error (e.g., SER) addresses)
O’Connell-Dent does not disclose:
Scrub operation.
Park discloses
Scrub operation.
(Park Fig. 4, Check Fail Information S20)
(Park Fig. 4, Set Scrubbing Cycle according to Fail Information S30)
(Park Fig. 4, Scrub Engine Start S40)
(Park [0063] The memory controller 10 checks fail information when the patrol scrubbing operation is activated (S20). In accordance with some example embodiments, the fail information includes error information monitored by the ECC engine 100. For example, the fail information may include an error count value, which is the number of times of an error that has been detected, and an address of the memory cell in which the error has been detected)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Park’s method of scrubbing according to stored fail information of O’Connell in order to prevent an unrecoverable error and to lower failure rate of the memory system.
(Park, [0069] Thus, the memory system may prevent an unrecoverable error from occurring in the scrubbing operation by maintaining or re-adjusting the scrubbing cycle in accordance with the fail information. Accordingly, performance drop and failure rate of the memory system may be lowered)
Claim(s) 8 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Connell (US 2011/0,041,016), in view of Dent (US 2005/0,149,839) ,and further in view of Rao (US 2009/0,103,386)
As per claim 8:
O’Connell further discloses:
wherein accessing portions of the memory array comprises activated row.
(O’Connell, Abstract< Redundancy including extra rows and/or columns of memory cells is added to the memory, and ECC parity is used to detect errors. When an error occurs at a location the first time, it is assumed to be a soft error, the data is corrected in this location, and the address of the erroneous cell (e.g., the failed address) is stored in a list))
(O’Connell, [0020], Generally, when an error occurs in eDRAM 120-1-1, ECC engine 120-1-3, based on the data and associated parity bits, recognizes an error arises, identifies the address of the failed bit, and flags that error. In an embodiment, ECC engine 120-1-3 uses six parity bits to correct a single error in a data word of 32 bits and seven parity bits to correct a single error and detect a double error)
O’Connell discloses a method for accessing address for writing and reading.
However, O’Connell-Dent does not disclose a method for accessing address for writing and reading by activating row.
Rao discloses:
a method for accessing address for writing and reading by activating row.
(Rao [0023] Sense amplifier and precharge circuit 112 may be configured to precharge a plurality of bit lines corresponding to the memory cells to be accessed. Row decoder 114 may activate row lines corresponding to the memory cells to be accessed and column decoder 110 in conjunction with precharge and sense amplifier circuit 112 may act to either read or write data to the memory cells corresponding to the memory cells to be accessed. In other embodiments where the access command is a precharge command, no read or write operation may be performed)
(Rao, Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a well-known method accessing address/row for writing and reading by activating row of Rao into the system in order to perform write and read access of O’Connell. This method is very well-known in the art.
(Rao [0023] Sense amplifier and precharge circuit 112 may be configured to precharge a plurality of bit lines corresponding to the memory cells to be accessed. Row decoder 114 may activate row lines corresponding to the memory cells to be accessed and column decoder 110 in conjunction with precharge and sense amplifier circuit 112 may act to either read or write data to the memory cells corresponding to the memory cells to be accessed. In other embodiments where the access command is a precharge command, no read or write operation may be performed)
(Rao, Fig. 4)
As per claim 20:
O’Connell-Dent further discloses:
in response to receiving a
computing a second parity for the first page of data; and writing the first page of data and the second parity.
(Dent, Fig. 2 shows a method of calculating parity 203 and then store the calculated parity into memory 204)
(Dent, [0016]…process 300 recalled the addressed data and the corresponding parity (processing block 302). Process 300 calculates the parity of the just recalled data (processing block 303))
(Dent,[0017] Process 300 checks to determine if the recalled parity matches the newly calculated parity (decision block 304). If they match (Yes at decision block 304), the data is assumed to be correct. Process 300 continues at block 305. This would involve the use of the just recalled data by the data processor…[0019]…Process 300 next compares these newly generated parities against pre-calculated parties 145 (decision block 310). There are three types of comparison outcomes. It is possible that plural parity bits do not match (Plural Bits at decision block 310). This indicates that plural bits of the originally accessed data have changed. Process 300 judges this an uncorrectable error (processing block 307). This error cannot be corrected by this invention (processing block 307). Process 300 enters an error recovery routine (processing block 308) and continues at block 305 following error recovery…[0020] The second possible result of the parity comparison is one bit does not match (One Bit at decision block 310). This indicates an error in a single bit which can be corrected by this invention (processing block 311…[0021]… Thus the original data was correct but an error in the parity bit caused the parity mismatch (No at decision block 304). Process 300 corrects this at processing block 314. This correction could be recalculation of the parity of the horizontal memory line or simple inversion of the parity bit)
However, O’Connell-Dent does not disclose a method for precharging.
Rao discloses:
a method for precharging.
(Rao [0023] Sense amplifier and precharge circuit 112 may be configured to precharge a plurality of bit lines corresponding to the memory cells to be accessed. Row decoder 114 may activate row lines corresponding to the memory cells to be accessed and column decoder 110 in conjunction with precharge and sense amplifier circuit 112 may act to either read or write data to the memory cells corresponding to the memory cells to be accessed. In other embodiments where the access command is a precharge command, no read or write operation may be performed)
(Rao, Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a well-known method accessing address/row for writing and reading by activating row of Rao into the system in order to perform write and read access of O’Connell. This method is very well-known in the art.
(Rao [0023] Sense amplifier and precharge circuit 112 may be configured to precharge a plurality of bit lines corresponding to the memory cells to be accessed. Row decoder 114 may activate row lines corresponding to the memory cells to be accessed and column decoder 110 in conjunction with precharge and sense amplifier circuit 112 may act to either read or write data to the memory cells corresponding to the memory cells to be accessed. In other embodiments where the access command is a precharge command, no read or write operation may be performed)
(Rao, Fig. 4)
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Connell (US 2011/0,041,016), in view of Berman et al. (US 2018/0,081,754)
As per claim 18: (Currently Amended)
O’Connell discloses:
A method comprising:
in response to receiving an activate command, sensing a first page of data and a parity stored in the first page;
(O’Connell, Abstract< Redundancy including extra rows and/or columns of memory cells is added to the memory, and ECC parity is used to detect errors. When an error occurs at a location the first time, it is assumed to be a soft error, the data is corrected in this location, and the address of the erroneous cell (e.g., the failed address) is stored in a list))
(O’Connell, [0020], Generally, when an error occurs in eDRAM 120-1-1, ECC engine 120-1-3, based on the data and associated parity bits, recognizes an error arises, identifies the address of the failed bit, and flags that error. In an embodiment, ECC engine 120-1-3 uses six parity bits to correct a single error in a data word of 32 bits and seven parity bits to correct a single error and detect a double error)
O’Connell does not disclose:
Computing, by error detection circuitry a first parity for the first page; and comparing the first parity to the stored parity.
Berman discloses:
computing by error detection circuitry a first parity for the first page; and comparing the first parity to the stored parity.
(Berman, [0034] Read flow is modified such that after internal array-to-page buffer sensing, and error checking and correction (ECC) encoder on the memory device (e.g., a NAND memory device) calculate the parity, compare it to the one that was read from the array, and transmits the differential … between the two parity blocks along with the data)
(Berman, [0038]… ECC encoder 201 applies the calculated parity as a first input to a subtractor 204. The page buffer 202 applies the parity portion as a second input to the subtractor 204. The subtractor 204 performs a subtraction operation on the first input (e.g., the calculated parity) and the second input (e.g., the parity portion) to generate a parity difference)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a well-known method of Berman’s of computing a parity and comparing the parity to the stored parity in order to determine the different between parities.
(Berman, [0034] Read flow is modified such that after internal array-to-page buffer sensing, and error checking and correction (ECC) encoder on the memory device (e.g., a NAND memory device) calculate the parity, compare it to the one that was read from the array, and transmits the differential … between the two parity blocks along with the data)
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Connell (US 2011/0,041,016), in view of Berman et al. (US 2018/0,081,754), and further in view of Park et al. (US 2024/0,202,069)
As per claim 19:
O’Connell-Berman further discloses:
further comprising in response to determining that the first
(O’Connell, Abstract< Redundancy including extra rows and/or columns of memory cells is added to the memory, and ECC parity is used to detect errors. When an error occurs at a location the first time, it is assumed to be a soft error, the data is corrected in this location, and the address of the erroneous cell (e.g., the failed address) is stored in a list))
(O’Connell, [0020], Generally, when an error occurs in eDRAM 120-1-1, ECC engine 120-1-3, based on the data and associated parity bits, recognizes an error arises, identifies the address of the failed bit, and flags that error. In an embodiment, ECC engine 120-1-3 uses six parity bits to correct a single error in a data word of 32 bits and seven parity bits to correct a single error and detect a double error)
adding a physical address of the first page to a
(O’Connell, Fig. 5, Correct SER failure (570))
(O’Connell, [0041] Failed address engine 120-2-2 in block 570 corrects the SER failure)
(O’Connell, Fig. 5, Correct the redundant location (595))
(O’Connell [0045] … once the redundant row 210, the redundant word 210-1, or the redundant column 410, has been identified, the redundant location 210-5 does not necessarily include the correct data. Failed address engine 120-2-2 in block 595 corrects the data in redundant location 210-5. Depending on applications, redundancy engine 120-1-2 queues for an overwrite of the redundant location 210-5 or redundancy engine 120-1-2 overwrites the data in redundant location 210-5 as appropriate. In the case of column swapping in FIG. 400, redundancy engine 120-1-2 overwrites all cells in redundant column 410. Alternatively, redundancy engine 120-1-2 uses the corrected data and the address of failed location 240-5 provided by ECC engine 120-1-3 to flip the logic state of the data in redundant location 210-5.
(O’Connell [0046] Once redundant location 210-5 is written with the corrected data, i.e., the error has been completely repaired, failed address engine 120-2-2 in block 598 tags the failed location 240-5 as completely repaired)
Berman further disclose:
determining that the first parity does not match the stored parity,
(Berman, [0034] Read flow is modified such that after internal array-to-page buffer sensing, and error checking and correction (ECC) encoder on the memory device (e.g., a NAND memory device) calculate the parity, compare it to the one that was read from the array, and transmits the differential … between the two parity blocks along with the data)
(Berman, [0038]… ECC encoder 201 applies the calculated parity as a first input to a subtractor 204. The page buffer 202 applies the parity portion as a second input to the subtractor 204. The subtractor 204 performs a subtraction operation on the first input (e.g., the calculated parity) and the second input (e.g., the parity portion) to generate a parity difference)
O’Connell-Berman does not disclose:
Scrub operation.
Park discloses
Scrub operation.
(Park Fig. 4, Check Fail Information S20)
(Park Fig. 4, Set Scrubbing Cycle according to Fail Information S30)
(Park Fig. 4, Scrub Engine Start S40)
(Park [0063] The memory controller 10 checks fail information when the patrol scrubbing operation is activated (S20). In accordance with some example embodiments, the fail information includes error information monitored by the ECC engine 100. For example, the fail information may include an error count value, which is the number of times of an error that has been detected, and an address of the memory cell in which the error has been detected)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Park’s method of scrubbing according to stored fail information of O’Connell in order to prevent an unrecoverable error and to lower failure rate of the memory system.
(Park, [0069] Thus, the memory system may prevent an unrecoverable error from occurring in the scrubbing operation by maintaining or re-adjusting the scrubbing cycle in accordance with the fail information. Accordingly, performance drop and failure rate of the memory system may be lowered)
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Connell (US 2011/0,041,016), in view of Berman et al. (US 2018/0,081,754), and further in view of Rao (US 2009/0,103,386)
As per claim 20:
O’Connell-Berman further discloses:
in response to receiving a
computing a second parity for the first page of data; and writing the first page of data and the second parity.
(Berman, [0034] Read flow is modified such that after internal array-to-page buffer sensing, and error checking and correction (ECC) encoder on the memory device (e.g., a NAND memory device) calculate the parity, compare it to the one that was read from the array, and transmits the differential … between the two parity blocks along with the data)
(Berman, [0038]… ECC encoder 201 applies the calculated parity as a first input to a subtractor 204. The page buffer 202 applies the parity portion as a second input to the subtractor 204. The subtractor 204 performs a subtraction operation on the first input (e.g., the calculated parity) and the second input (e.g., the parity portion) to generate a parity difference)
However, O’Connell-Berman does not disclose a method for precharging.
Rao discloses:
a method for precharging.
(Rao [0023] Sense amplifier and precharge circuit 112 may be configured to precharge a plurality of bit lines corresponding to the memory cells to be accessed. Row decoder 114 may activate row lines corresponding to the memory cells to be accessed and column decoder 110 in conjunction with precharge and sense amplifier circuit 112 may act to either read or write data to the memory cells corresponding to the memory cells to be accessed. In other embodiments where the access command is a precharge command, no read or write operation may be performed)
(Rao, Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a well-known method accessing address/row for writing and reading by activating row of Rao into the system in order to perform write and read access of O’Connell. This method is very well-known in the art.
(Rao [0023] Sense amplifier and precharge circuit 112 may be configured to precharge a plurality of bit lines corresponding to the memory cells to be accessed. Row decoder 114 may activate row lines corresponding to the memory cells to be accessed and column decoder 110 in conjunction with precharge and sense amplifier circuit 112 may act to either read or write data to the memory cells corresponding to the memory cells to be accessed. In other embodiments where the access command is a precharge command, no read or write operation may be performed)
(Rao, Fig. 4)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Berman et al. (US 2018/0,081,754) in [0034]-[0038] discloses a method of reading data, calculating the parity, comparing it to the one that was read from the array, and transmits the differential … between the two parity blocks along with the data)
Ruckerbauer (US2007/0,028,146) discloses a method of reading data, calculating the parity, comparing the calculated parity with the stored parity.
(Ruckerbaue [0059] During the reading out of the data bits, the corresponding parity bit is--anew--calculated and compared with the stored parity bit. If a difference results, an error has occurred)
Jamil et al. (US 2004/0,193,992) discloses a method of reading data, calculating the parity, comparing the calculated parity with the stored parity.
(Jamil [0020] When data is read from the TLB array, that data is typically used to generate a parity bit and the parity bit generated is compared to a previously computed and stored parity bit to detect an error)
Shellhamer (US 2009/0,259,882) in [0052] discloses a method of reading data, calculating the parity, comparing the calculated parity with the stored parity.
(Shellhamer [0052] …Verify utilities for parity-based arrays read data, calculate parity, and compare to stored parity. …. The scrub utilities perform the same comparison as verify utilities, plus they also may perform reading/comparing metadata in addition to the user data, reset SMART data (clears drive reports after processing any available data), and create a record of all data miscompares)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Thien Nguyen/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111