CTNF 18/783,620 CTNF 75085 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 08-25 AIA Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on Apr. 16, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the entire application could be examined without serious burden . This is not found persuasive because as stated in the restriction requirement, Inventions I-III are independent or distinct and different search strategies and different search areas are required . The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. 08-05 AIA Claim s 18-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Inventions II and III , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on Apr. 16, 2026 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 11-13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Noda et al. (Noda) (2017/0243738) . Regarding claim 11, Noda discloses an exposure system (Fig. 1, para 0077) comprising: a measurement apparatus (U3, para 0140, 0161) which is able to acquire information on a shape of a wafer (W, para 0140, 0141); an exposure apparatus (3, para 0077) which exposes the wafer with an energy beam (para 0159); a transport apparatus (A8) which transports the wafer to the exposure apparatus (para 0092); and a control apparatus (10, para 0093), wherein the control apparatus controls the transporting of the wafer using the transport apparatus based on a measurement result of the measurement apparatus (S38, S39, Fig. 23, para 0169, 0170, “if the warp amount is too large to allow, the controller 10 makes the storage unit M2 store information that the wafer W is not subjected to the exposure process”). Regarding claim 12, Noda discloses wherein the control apparatus controls a speed or acceleration of transporting the wafer by the transport apparatus based on the measurement result (para 0169, 0170, since acceleration is a vector, and the wafer would no longer be directed towards the exposure apparatus depending on the warpage, acceleration would be changed or controlled, when the warpage is small, “the wafer is transported from inspection unit U3 to the exposure apparatus 3” which means the wafer is not transported to the exposure apparatus when the warpage is large). Regarding claim 13, Noda discloses wherein the control apparatus controls a transport path of transporting the wafer by the transport apparatus based on the measurement result (para 0169, 0170, the wafer would not be directed towards the exposure apparatus, when the warpage is small, “the wafer is transported from inspection unit U3 to the exposure apparatus 3” which means the wafer is not transported to the exposure apparatus when the warpage is large). Regarding claim 16, Noda discloses wherein the control apparatus controls the transport apparatus so that the wafer is not transported toward the exposure apparatus based on the measurement result (para 0169, 0170, when the warpage is small, “the wafer is transported from inspection unit U3 to the exposure apparatus 3” which means the wafer is not transported to the exposure apparatus when the warpage is large) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-3, 5-10, 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noda et al. (Noda) (2017/0243738) in view of Honbo (JP 2021136258 in IDS, para refers to the translation) . Regarding claim 1, Noda discloses an exposure system (Fig. 1, para 0077) capable of exposing a wafer (W, exposure apparatus 3, para 0077) transported from a coating apparatus (2, U1) capable of coating a photosensitive material onto the wafer (para 0077, 0078, 0088), comprising: a holding apparatus (201, Fig. 7, para 0104) which includes a first holding part (201) holding a first surface of the wafer (bottom surface of W in Fig. 7) transported (A2, A3, A5) from the coating apparatus (U1, Fig. 22, 23, para 0158, the same inspection process in S21 and S26, the inspection process at S26 takes place after coating in S22); a measurement apparatus (U3, para 0140, 0161) which includes a first measurement part (300, 400, para 0161, 0162) having at least a first measurement region (front surface, para 0161) and a second measurement part (500) having at least one second measurement region (rear surface, para 0162) different from the first measurement region; an exposure apparatus (3, para 0077) which exposes the wafer (W) with an energy beam (para 0159); a transport apparatus (A8) which transports the wafer from the measurement apparatus to the exposure apparatus (para 0092); and a control apparatus (10, para 0093), wherein the control apparatus determines whether or not the wafer is to be transported toward the exposure apparatus by the transport apparatus based on a measurement result of the first measurement part and a measurement result of the second measurement part (para 0141, “precise warp amount of the process wafer can be determined by comparing inspection data on a process wafer W (a wafer to be actually processed obtained) by using the inspection unit U3”, S38, S39, Fig. 23, para 0169, 0170). However, Noda does not disclose that the first measurement part is capable of measuring a position in a first direction of a second surface on the side opposite to the first surface of the wafer held by the first holding part and does not disclose that the second measurement part is capable of measuring a position in the first direction of the first surface or the second surface of the wafer. Honbo discloses a first measurement part (41a, Fig. 5) is capable of measuring a position in a first direction of a second surface on the side opposite to the first surface (top surface) of the wafer held by a first holding part (111) and a second measurement part (41b) capable of measuring a position in the first direction in the different region of the second surface of the wafer (Fig. 5, para 0032-0035, measuring thickness and degree of warpage). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to interchangeably provide the measuring unit of Noda or Honbo since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known device or configuration on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. Regarding claim 2, Noda discloses wherein the holding apparatus includes a moving part (201, Fig. 6, 7) which rotates the first holding part about a first axis intersecting the first surface of the wafer, and wherein the first holding part is rotated by the moving part to rotate the wafer about the first axis (in Fig. 6, 7, the axis perpendicular to the surface of the wafer W and at the center of W, para 0105, 0106). Regarding claim 3, although Noda does not disclose wherein the position in the first direction in a plurality of rotation positions of the wafer is measurable by rotating the wafer about the first axis using the moving part (201), Noda discloses imaging the front and the rear surface of the wafer while rotating (para 0162) and Noda also discloses that when the wafer is warped, “the height position of the periphery of the wafer W may vary during the rotation of the wafer W” (para 0155). Honbo discloses wherein the position in the first direction in a plurality of rotation positions of the wafer is measurable by rotating the wafer about the first axis (para 0035). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to detect the position in the plurality of rotation position by rotating the wafer as taught by Honbo for the reasons stated above. Regarding claim 5, Noda does not disclose wherein the first holding part (201) holds a center region (Fig. 6, 7) including a center of the first surface (Fig. 7), wherein the center region and the first measurement region are located on a first axis intersecting the first surface of the wafer (para 0108, 0109, as the wafer is moved along the guide rail, the center region moves directly below imaging subunit 300), and wherein the second measurement region is located on the first surface (rear surface with imaging subunit 500, Fig. 7, para 0120). Regarding claim 6, Noda discloses wherein the control apparatus measures a thickness of the wafer based on a measurement result obtained by the first measurement part for a reference wafer whose thickness and warpage amount are known in advance and a measurement result obtained by the first measurement part for the wafer and measures a warpage amount of the wafer based on a measurement result obtained by the first measurement part and the second measurement part for the reference wafer and a measurement result obtained by the first measurement part and the second measurement part for the wafer (para 0141, 0146, using reference wafer to obtain a reference value and the warpage amount is based on comparing the inspection data and the reference data). Regarding claim 7, Noda discloses wherein the first measurement part (300, 400, para 0161, 0162) for imaging in the first direction of the second surface in the first measurement region (front surface), and wherein a second measurement part (500, para 0162) for imaging in the first direction of the first surface in the second measurement region (rear surface). However, Noda does not disclose that the first measurement part is able of measuring a position in a first direction of a second surface and the second measurement part is able to measure a position in the first direction of the first surface. Honbo discloses that the first measurement part is able of measuring a position in a first direction of a second surface (Fig. 5, para 0032-0035, measuring thickness and degree of warpage). Although Honbo disclose the second measurement part able to measure a position in the first direction of the second surface and not the first surface, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the second measurement part of Honbo to measure a position in the first direction of the first surface since Noda disclose the measurement part which images the first surface by modifying the imaging units (300, 400) of Noda for the second surface with the measurement part of Honbo able to measure the position in the first direction of the second surface and the imaging unit (500) of Noda for the first surface with the measurement part of Honbo, but this time to measure the position in the first direction of the first surface since rearranging parts of an invention and measuring front and rear surfaces of an wafer to obtain warpage information is an obvious variation. Regarding claim 8, Noda discloses wherein the wafer exposed by the exposure apparatus is developed by a developing apparatus (DEV block, para 0089, 0159). Regarding claim 9, Noda discloses wherein the second surface of the wafer includes a surface of the photosensitive material or a surface of a film covering the photosensitive material, and wherein the second surface of the exposure apparatus is irradiated with an energy beam (para 0159). Regarding claim 10, Noda discloses wherein the holding apparatus (201) holds a first position (center) of the first surface (rear surface) of the wafer (Fig. 7), wherein the first direction is a thickness direction of the wafer at the first position (para 0141), wherein the first measurement part (400) images a position in the thickness direction at a second position (periphery) of the second surface of the wafer (para 0110), and wherein the second measurement part (500) images a position in the thickness direction at a third position different from the second position (Fig 7 shows measurement part 500 shifted left with respect to the measurement part 400) in the first surface (rear surface) or the second surface of the wafer. However, Noda does not disclose that the first measurement part measures a position in the thickness direction at a second position and does not disclose that the second measurement part measures a position in the thickness direction at a third position. Honbo discloses a first measurement part (41a, Fig. 5) is capable of measuring a second position (not the center) in a first direction of a second surface on the side opposite to the first surface (top surface) of the wafer held by a first holding part (111) and a second measurement part (41b) capable of measuring a third position (different from the second position and also not the center) in the first direction in the different region of the second surface of the wafer (Fig. 5, para 0032-0035, measuring thickness and degree of warpage). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to interchangeably provide the measuring unit of Noda or Honbo since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known device or configuration on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. Regarding claim 24, Noda discloses wherein the exposure system is managed by a host device, and wherein the control apparatus transmits information on the measurement result to the host device (para 0137, 0138, claim 15). Regarding claim 25, Noda disclose wherein the control apparatuses stores information on the measurement result (para 0134, 0135). Although Noda does not disclose the measurement result as log data, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to store the measurement result as a log data including time of measurement, the source of measurement part in order to organize the data for future application . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noda et al. (Noda) (2017/0243738) in view of Sho et al. (Sho) (JP 2008-177303 in IDS, para refers to the translation) . Regarding claim 15, Noda does not disclose wherein the transport apparatus includes a suction apparatus which sucks and holds the wafer, and wherein the control apparatus controls a suction force of the suction apparatus based on the measurement result. Sho discloses in Fig. 9, 10 and para 0045-0056, measuring warpage of wafer (W) with warp measurement device (72) and adjusting temperature and the amount of suction at different regions to compensate (heating plate 61 and amount of suction at gaps (80a, 80b, 80c). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control a suction force in order to control or compensate for warpage as taught by Sho to obtain uniform height. Regarding claim 17, Noda does not disclose a temperature control apparatus which controls a temperature of the wafer transported to the exposure apparatus. Sho discloses a temperature control apparatus (61, para 004-0056). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the temperature of the wafer in order to control or compensate for warpage as taught by Sho to obtain uniform height . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 4 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claim 4, Noda et al. discloses imaging the rear surface or the first surface with the measurement part (500) and Honbo discloses the second measurement part (41b). Neither reference disclose the second measurement part measuring a plurality of second measurement regions wherein the second measurement part is disposed so that an interval of the plurality of outer measurement regions becomes narrower than an interval of the plurality of inner measurement regions. Regarding claim 14, Sho et al. discloses controlling temperature and suction force, but does not disclose controlling a squeeze force applied to the wafer by the transport apparatus based on the measurement result. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nishimura (2016/0306284) discloses measuring the height of the substrate (para 0033, Fig. 4), but does not disclose the first and second measurement parts as claimed. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETER B KIM whose telephone number is (571)272-2120. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Toan Ton can be reached at (571) 272-2303. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PETER B KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 May 30, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/783,620 Page 2 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/783,620 Page 3 Art Unit: 2882