DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 7/25/24, have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copy of form PTO/SB/08a).
Specification
3. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brants et al. (US 20250060069 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Brants et al. (figures 18-25) disclose a mounting bracket (421) for use within a fiber optic access pedestal comprising: a top flange (480, figure 24) a bottom flange (480, figure 24); and a pair of slide flanges (449, 451) configured to retain a looped cable (coiled cables) within the pedestal with a bend radius that is not detrimental to cable performance ([0083]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
10. Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Brants et al. (as cited above) in view of Fasnacht et al. (US 5535298-A).
With respect to claim 2, Brants et al. (figures 18-25) disclose the mounting bracket, further being configured to have an enclosure (420) mounted on the mounting bracket (421).
Brants et al. do not explicitly disclose a splice enclosure.
However, Fasnacht et al. (figures 2 and 4) teach an optical device having a splice enclosure (column 6, lines 54-56). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brants et al. to include the splice enclosure (accordance with the teaching of Fasnacht) for the purpose of providing pedestals, enclosures and cabinets for fiber optic interconnection for splicing of optical fibers of cables such as where such cables are blown through routing tubes that have been routed through premises and their concluding end portions routed into interconnection cabinet (column 1, lines 6-11).
With respect to claim 3, Brants et al. (figures 18-25) disclose the mounting bracket further comprising a top flange cutout (486, figure 20) and a threaded nut on the bottom flange (480) for mounting the splice enclosure (420) (the mounting flanges 480 define mounting openings 486 that extend through the mounting flanges 480 in the front-to-rear orientation for receiving fasteners (e.g., screws, bolts, nails, etc.) for securing the mounting bracket 421 to a pole (e.g., see FIG. 26 where a telecommunications enclosure 491 is secured to the mounting plate portion 422 with bolts. The bolts can be secured in the mounting openings 486 with the assistance of nuts threaded on the bolts, [0079]).
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Holmberg et al. (US-11036018-B2) disclose an enclosure. Geens et al. (US-10261281-B2) disclose a telecommunications distribution. Hill et al. (US-2024/0345353 A1) disclose an optical fiber cassette.
/JENNIFER DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874