DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 1 (figs. 1-11) directed to claims 1-4, 12-16 and 19-20 in the reply filed on 6/3/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “it should be no burden on the Examiner to consider all claims in the single application on the ground that the subject matter of all species is sufficiently related such that a search from the subject matter of one species would encompass a search for the subject matter of the other species, and moreover, that prior art applicable to one group would likely be applicable to the other species”. This is not found persuasive because each Specie will have distinct features (as discussed in the restriction requirement) that will require different text and field searches.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 5-11 and 17-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 12-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US PG. Pub. 2025/0046694).
Regarding claim 1 – Chen teaches a substrate structure (fig. 5-6, 20/30), comprising: a substrate (SB [paragraph 0055] Chen states, “glass substrate SB”) having a first surface (SB1) and a second surface (SB2) opposite to each other; and a via (TV2 [paragraph 0057] Chen states, “through via TV2”) disposed in the substrate (SB) and penetrating the substrate (SB) along a first direction (vertical direction), wherein the via (TV2) comprises: a first conductive component (MS1) adjacent to the first surface (SB1) of the substrate (SB), wherein the first conductive component (MS1 [paragraph 0082] Chen states, “metal layer M1”) comprises a first seed layer (SEED1 [paragraph 0082] Chen states, “seed layer SEED1”) and a first conductive part (M1); and a second conductive component (MS2) adjacent to the second surface (SB2) of the substrate (SB) and electrically connected to the first conductive component (MS1), wherein the second conductive component (MS2) and the first seed layer (SEED1) form a first contact interface (IN [paragraph 0097] Chen states, “interface IN”), the first contact interface (IN) extends along a second direction (horizontal direction), and the second direction (horizontal direction) is different from the first direction (vertical direction).
Regarding claim 2 – Chen teaches the substrate structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first conductive component (fig. 6, MS1) has a first sidewall (see sidewall having SEED1 thereon), the second conductive component (MS2) has a second sidewall (see sidewall having SEED2 thereon), and the first sidewall and the second sidewall form a continuous sidewall (figure 6 shows the sidewalls extending in an uninterrupted extension in space [continuous definition, merriam-webster.com]).
Regarding claim 3 – Chen teaches the substrate structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the second conductive component (fig. 6, MS2) comprises a second seed layer (SEED2) and a second conductive part (M2 [paragraph 0090] Chen states, “metal layer M2”), and the second seed layer (SEED2) is in direct contact with the first seed layer (SEED1) to form the first contact interface (IN).
Regarding claim 4 – Chen teaches the substrate structure as claimed in claim 3, wherein the first conductive part (fig. 6, M1) and the second conductive part (M2) are separated from each other by the first seed layer (SEED1) and the second seed layer (SEED2).
Regarding claim 12 – Chen teaches the substrate structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein an angle between the first direction (fig. 6, vertical direction) and the second direction (horizontal direction) is greater than 0 degrees and less than 180 degrees (figure 6 shows a 90 degree angle between the via and the first contact interface).
Regarding claim 13 – Chen teaches the substrate structure as claimed in claim 12, wherein the first direction (fig. 6, vertical direction) and the second direction (horizontal direction) are perpendicular to each other (claimed structure shown in figure 6).
Regarding claim 14 – Chen teaches the substrate structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first conductive component (fig. 6, MS1) has a first height, the second conductive component (MS2) has a second height, and a ratio of the first height to the second height is between 1:2 and 2:1 (figure 6 shows the heights of each component being the same thereby being 1:1).
Regarding claim 15 – Chen teaches the substrate structure as claimed in claim 14, wherein the first height is the same as the second height (fig. 6, claimed structure shown in figure 6).
Regarding claim 16 – Chen teaches the substrate structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first conductive component (fig. 6, MS1) has a first width, the second conductive component (MS2) has a second width, and the first width is the same as the second width (figure 6 shows a mirror image between the first and second conductive components and therefore have the same widths as claimed).
Regarding claim 19 – Chen teaches the substrate structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the via (figs. 5-6, TV2) further comprises a first conductive protrusion (see top portion of M1 as shown in annotated figure 6 below) and a second conductive protrusion (see top portion of M2 as shown in annotated figure 6 below), wherein the first conductive protrusion is disposed on the first conductive component (MS1) and protrudes from the first surface (SB1) of the substrate (SB), and the second conductive protrusion is disposed on the second conductive component (MS2) and protrudes from the second surface (SB2) of the substrate (SB, claimed structure shown in figure 6).
Regarding claim 20 – Chen teaches the substrate structure as claimed in claim 19, wherein the first conductive component (fig. 6, MS1) has a first width, the second conductive component (MS2) has a second width, the first conductive protrusion (see top portion of M1 as shown in annotated figure 6 above) has a third width, and the second conductive protrusion (see top portion of M2 as shown in annotated figure 6 above) has a fourth width, wherein the third width is greater than the first width, and the fourth width is greater than the second width (claimed structure shown in annotated figure 6 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jeong et al. (US PG. Pub. 2025/0081343) discloses a printed circuit board.
Vandermeer et al. (US PG. Pub. 2016/0219704) discloses a hermetically sealed through vias.
/STEVEN T SAWYER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847