DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaji (US-8190316-B2) in view of Inoue (US-20150166159-A1).
1. Kaji (US-8190316-B2) discloses A marine propulsion system [FIG.1-3] comprising:
first propulsion devices that are steerable and located at a stern of a hull [col.7 ln.59] Each of the outboard motors 4, 5 and 7 (here, the stem outboard motor 7 is representatively shown) includes an electromotive steering apparatus 17 which functions as a steering mechanism, and a propeller system 18.;
a second propulsion device that is steerable and located at a predetermined position in front of the stern of the hull [col.7 ln.59] Each of the outboard motors 4, 5 and 7 (here, the stem outboard motor 7 is representatively shown) includes an electromotive steering apparatus 17 which functions as a steering mechanism, and a propeller system 18 …; and
a controller [col.7 ln. 5] The marine vessel running controlling apparatus 15 preferably is an electric control unit (ECU) including a microcomputer, and functions as a control apparatus to control the outboard motors 4, 5 and 7 (marine vessel propulsion systems) and carries out control of the propulsive force and also carries out steering control… configured or programmed to:
obtain a target direction [col.12 ln.1] and a required propulsion force [col.11 ln.48] The target setting section 31 sets a target propulsive force F and a target moment Mz to be acting on the hull 2 in order to achieve a ship behavior desired by the operator… when an instruction of a parallel motion is obtained or when it is determined to execute the parallel motion [col.13 ln.23] By inclining the rod 29 of the joystick 13 in this state, lateral movement maneuver is possible, by which parallel movement is carried out without turning the hull 2.
****,
control the first propulsion devices to apply the resultant force corresponding to the required propulsion force in the target direction to the point of action [col.12 ln.22-67] The propulsive force distribution section 32 calculates target values of the propulsive force and steering angle to be distributed to the respective outboard motors 4, 5 and 7 …, and
control the second propulsion device to apply a propulsion force to the predetermined position[col.12 ln.22-67] The propulsive force distribution section 32 calculates target values of the propulsive force and steering angle to be distributed to the respective outboard motors 4, 5 and 7
****;
****; and
****. *Examiner’s Note: it should be noted that scheduling control adjusts propulsion forces in a forward and backward direction to maintain stability and achieve the required propulsion force of the vehicle operation [FIG.10-11; col.13-14].
Kaji lacks distinctly disclosing the following underlined limitations:
… determine a point of action of a resultant force of propulsion forces applied to the hull by the first propulsion devices during execution of the parallel motion based on the target direction and the required propulsion force
… to cancel a veering component and a component in a direction perpendicular to the target direction with respect to the hull due to the resultant force
… move a position of the point of action backward or increase the propulsion forces of the first propulsion devices as the required propulsion force increases during the execution of the parallel motion
… increase the propulsion force of at least one of the first propulsion devices applying the propulsion force including a component in a forward direction as the required propulsion force increases when the position of the point of action reaches a rear limit position and the propulsion force of at least one of the first propulsion devices applying the propulsion force including a component in a backward direction reaches an upper limit propulsion force generatable during the execution of the parallel motion
Regarding the limitation; “…determine a point of action of a resultant force of propulsion forces applied to the hull by the first propulsion devices during execution of the parallel motion based on the target direction and the required propulsion force”, Inoue (US-20150166159-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a point of action[0011] The operating point of a resultant force is a point of the hull on which the resultant force of the thrusts of the two propulsion devices is regarded as acting and further discloses[0009-12] when the operating device outputs a lateral movement command, …and so that an operating point of a resultant force of the thrusts of the two propulsion devices is positioned to deviate to the side in the commanded direction from the central line, and so that a direction of action of the resultant force matches the commanded direction… The thrusts and the steering angles of the two propulsion devices are controlled so that the direction of action of the resultant force matches the commanded direction. As a result, the hull makes a lateral movement in accordance with the command of the operator.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Kaji to include determining a point of action of a resultant force of propulsion forces applied to the hull by propulsion devices during execution of the parallel motion based on the target direction and the required propulsion force with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Inoue, for the benefit of [0012] a result, it is possible to provide a vessel propulsion system improved in lateral movability.
Regarding the limitation; “…to cancel a veering component and a component in a direction perpendicular to the target direction with respect to the hull due to the resultant force ”, Inoue (US-20150166159-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for hull maneuvers wherein a veering component is canceled by a component direction perpendicular[FIG.7A(53R) FIG.7B(53L) to a target direction due to force [FIG.7A-B].
Inoue; FIG.7
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Kaji to include cancelling a veering component and a component in a direction perpendicular to the target direction with respect to the hull due to the resultant force with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Inoue, for the benefit of [0012] a result, it is possible to provide a vessel propulsion system improved in lateral movability.
Regarding the limitation; “…move a position of the point of action backward or increase the propulsion forces of the first propulsion devices as the required propulsion force increases during the execution of the parallel motion”, Inoue (US-20150166159-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for moving a position of the point of action backward [FIG.7F, 7D] or increase the propulsion forces of the first propulsion devices as the required propulsion force increases [FIG.7E, 7C; 0092] FIG. 7E shows a state in which a forward thrust TR generated by the starboard outboard motor 3R is made greater than that of FIG. 7B during the execution of the parallel motion [FIG.7].
Inoue; FIG.7
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Kaji to include moving a position of the point of action backward or increase the propulsion forces of the first propulsion devices as the required propulsion force increases during the execution of the parallel motion with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Inoue, for the benefit of [0012] a result, it is possible to provide a vessel propulsion system improved in lateral movability.
Regarding the limitation; “…increase the propulsion force of at least one of the first propulsion devices applying the propulsion force including a component in a forward direction as the required propulsion force increases when the position of the point of action reaches a rear limit position and the propulsion force of at least one of the first propulsion devices applying the propulsion force including a component in a backward direction reaches an upper limit propulsion force generatable during the execution of the parallel motion”, Inoue (US-20150166159-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for increasing the propulsion force of at least one of the first propulsion devices applying the propulsion force including a component in a forward direction as the required propulsion force increases[FIG.7E, 7C; 0092] FIG. 7E shows a state in which a forward thrust TR generated by the starboard outboard motor 3R is made greater than that of FIG. 7B when the position of the point of action reaches a rear limit position[0009] and the propulsion force of at least one of the first propulsion devices applying the propulsion force including a component in a backward direction[FIG.7E(53L)] reaches an upper limit propulsion force generatable during the execution of the parallel motion[0009] Therefore, when the maximum backward thrust is generated from the propulsion device that is backwardly driven, the propulsion device that is forwardly driven …as to generate a forward thrust that is the same in magnitude as the maximum backward thrust. Therefore, the magnitude of a resultant force during a lateral movement is limited by the maximum backward thrust in spite of the fact that the forwardly driven propulsion device has a reserve force.
Inoue; FIG.7
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Kaji to include increasing the propulsion force of at least one of the first propulsion devices applying the propulsion force including a component in a forward direction as the required propulsion force increases when the position of the point of action reaches a rear limit position and the propulsion force of at least one of the first propulsion devices applying the propulsion force including a component in a backward direction reaches an upper limit propulsion force generatable during the execution of the parallel motion with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Inoue, for the benefit of [0012] a result, it is possible to provide a vessel propulsion system improved in lateral movability.
2. Kaji (US-8190316-B2) discloses The marine propulsion system according to claim 1, wherein the controller[col.9 l.55] controller is configured or programmed to move the position of the point of action ****.
*Examiner’s Note: it should be noted that scheduling control adjusts propulsion forces in a forward and backward direction to maintain stability and achieve the required propulsion force of the vehicle operation [FIG.10-11; col.13-14].
Kaji lacks distinctly disclosing the following underlined limitations:
… backward as the required propulsion force increases during the execution of the parallel motion and increases the propulsion forces of the first propulsion devices after the position of the point of action reaches the rear limit position
Regarding the limitation; “…backward as the required propulsion force increases during the execution of the parallel motion and increases the propulsion forces of the first propulsion devices after the position of the point of action reaches the rear limit position”, Inoue (US-20150166159-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for moving a position of the point of action backward during the execution of the parallel motion[FIG.7F, 7D] and increases the propulsion forces of the first propulsion devices[FIG.7E(53R)] after the position of the point of action reaches the rear limit position[0009] Therefore, when the maximum backward thrust is generated from the propulsion device that is backwardly driven, the propulsion device that is forwardly driven …as to generate a forward thrust that is the same in magnitude as the maximum backward thrust. Therefore, the magnitude of a resultant force during a lateral movement is limited by the maximum backward thrust in spite of the fact that the forwardly driven propulsion device has a reserve force.
Inoue; FIG.7
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Kaji to include moving a position of the point of action backward as the required propulsion force increases during the execution of the parallel motion and increases the propulsion forces of the first propulsion devices after the position of the point of action reaches the rear limit position with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Inoue, for the benefit of [0012] a result, it is possible to provide a vessel propulsion system improved in lateral movability.
3. Kaji (US-8190316-B2) discloses The marine propulsion system according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured or programmed to increase the propulsion forces ***.
*Examiner’s Note: it should be noted that scheduling control adjusts propulsion forces in a forward and backward direction to maintain stability and achieve the required propulsion force of the vehicle operation [FIG.10-11; col.13-14].
Kaji lacks distinctly disclosing the following underlined limitations:
… as the required propulsion force increases during the execution of the parallel motion, and then move the position of the point of action backward after the propulsion force of at least one of the first propulsion devices applying the propulsion force including the component in the backward direction reaches the upper limit propulsion force
Regarding the limitation; “…as the required propulsion force increases during the execution of the parallel motion, and then move the position of the point of action backward after the propulsion force of at least one of the first propulsion devices applying the propulsion force including the component in the backward direction reaches the upper limit propulsion force”, Inoue (US-20150166159-A1) discloses the first propulsion devices as the required propulsion force increases during the execution of the parallel motion[FIG.7E(53R)], and then move the position of the point of action backward after the propulsion force of at least one of the first propulsion devices applying the propulsion force including the component in the backward direction reaches the upper limit propulsion force[0009] Therefore, when the maximum backward thrust is generated from the propulsion device that is backwardly driven, the propulsion device that is forwardly driven …as to generate a forward thrust that is the same in magnitude as the maximum backward thrust. Therefore, the magnitude of a resultant force during a lateral movement is limited by the maximum backward thrust in spite of the fact that the forwardly driven propulsion device has a reserve force.
Inoue; FIG.7
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Kaji to include increasing the propulsion forces as the required propulsion force increases during the execution of the parallel motion, and then move the position of the point of action backward after the propulsion force of at least one of the first propulsion devices applying the propulsion force including the component in the backward direction reaches the upper limit propulsion force with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Inoue, for the benefit of [0012] a result, it is possible to provide a vessel propulsion system improved in lateral movability.
4. Kaji (US-8190316-B2) discloses The marine propulsion system according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured or programmed to move the position of the point of action ****.
*Examiner’s Note: it should be noted that scheduling control adjusts propulsion forces in a forward and backward direction to maintain stability and achieve the required propulsion force of the vehicle operation [FIG.10-11; col.13-14].
Kaji lacks distinctly disclosing the following underlined limitations:
… backward after a time period from a start of the parallel motion has elapsed
Regarding the limitation; “…backward after a time period from a start of the parallel motion has elapsed”, Inoue (US-20150166159-A1) discloses move the position of the point of action backward after a time period from a start of the parallel motion[0093]… In this case, following a leftward lateral movement command has elapsed[0093] the direction of the thrust TR of the starboard outboard motor 3R is pointed more backwardly as compared to FIG. 7B.
Inoue; FIG.7
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Kaji to include moving the position of the point of action backward after a time period from a start of the parallel motion has elapsed with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Inoue, for the benefit of [0012] a result, it is possible to provide a vessel propulsion system improved in lateral movability.
5. Kaji (US-8190316-B2) discloses The marine propulsion system according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured or programmed to control the first propulsion devices and the second propulsion device[col.6 ln.41] The port-side outboard motor 4, the starboard-side outboard motor 5 and the stem outboard motor 7 are respectively provided with electronic control units… ****.
*Examiner’s Note: it should be noted that scheduling control adjusts propulsion forces in a forward and backward direction to maintain stability and achieve the required propulsion force of the vehicle operation [FIG.10-11; col.13-14].
Kaji lacks distinctly disclosing the following underlined limitations:
… to add a veering component while maintaining the parallel motion in the target direction, when a veering instruction is obtained or when it is determined that the veering is performed during the execution of the parallel motion
Regarding the limitation; Inoue (US-20150166159-A1) discloses adding a veering component while maintaining the parallel motion in the target direction, when a veering instruction is obtained or when it is determined that the veering is performed during the execution of the parallel motion[0092-0093; FIG.7E,F,C,D].
Inoue; FIG.7
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Kaji to include , wherein the controller is configured or programmed to control the first propulsion devices and the second propulsion device to add a veering component while maintaining the parallel motion in the target direction, when a veering instruction is obtained or when it is determined that the veering is performed during the execution of the parallel motion with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Inoue, for the benefit of [0012] a result, it is possible to provide a vessel propulsion system improved in lateral movability.
6. Kaji (US-8190316-B2) discloses The marine propulsion system according to claim 5, wherein the controller is configured or programmed to control the second propulsion device[col.6 ln.41] The port-side outboard motor 4, the starboard-side outboard motor 5 and the stem outboard motor 7 are respectively provided with electronic control units… ****.
*Examiner’s Note: it should be noted that scheduling control adjusts propulsion forces in a forward and backward direction to maintain stability and achieve the required propulsion force of the vehicle operation [FIG.10-11; col.13-14].
Kaji lacks distinctly disclosing the following underlined limitations:
… to bring the point of action closer to a veering center of the hull and to add a turning component while maintaining the parallel motion in the target direction, when the target direction and the required propulsion force do not change and a veering direction corresponding to the veering instruction is coincident with the direction of the component of the target direction in a lateral direction
Regarding the limitation; Inoue (US-20150166159-A1) discloses wherein the controller is configured or programmed to control a propulsion device to bring the point of action closer to a veering center of the hull and to add a turning component while maintaining the parallel motion in the target direction, when the target direction and the required propulsion force do not change and a veering direction corresponding to the veering instruction is coincident with the direction of the component of the target direction in a lateral direction[0026] the operating device is configured to output a turning command… when the operating device outputs the turning command along with the lateral movement command, the controller is configured and programmed to change the steering angle of the propulsion device that generates the forward thrust, thus causing the hull to turn round.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Kaji to include , wherein the controller is configured or programmed to control a propulsion device to bring the point of action closer to a veering center of the hull and to add a turning component while maintaining the parallel motion in the target direction, when the target direction and the required propulsion force do not change and a veering direction corresponding to the veering instruction is coincident with the direction of the component of the target direction in a lateral direction with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Inoue, for the benefit of [0012] a result, it is possible to provide a vessel propulsion system improved in lateral movability.
7. Kaji (US-8190316-B2) lacks The marine propulsion system according to claim 5, wherein the controller is configured or programmed to control the second propulsion device[col.6 ln.41] The port-side outboard motor 4, the starboard-side outboard motor 5 and the stem outboard motor 7 are respectively provided with electronic control units… ****.
*Examiner’s Note: it should be noted that scheduling control adjusts propulsion forces in a forward and backward direction to maintain stability and achieve the required propulsion force of the vehicle operation [FIG.10-11; col.13-14].
Kaji lacks distinctly disclosing the following underlined limitations:
… to add a veering component while maintaining the resultant force with respect to the point of action and maintaining the parallel motion in the target direction, when the target direction and the required propulsion force do not change and a veering direction corresponding to the veering instruction is opposite to the direction of the component of the target direction in a lateral direction
Regarding the limitation; Inoue (US-20150166159-A1) discloses wherein the controller is configured or programmed to control a propulsion device to add a veering component while maintaining the resultant force with respect to the point of action and maintaining the parallel motion in the target direction[FIG.7F, D], when the target direction and the required propulsion force do not change and a veering direction corresponding to the veering instruction is opposite to the direction of the component of the target direction in a lateral direction[FIG.7F, D] action line 53R of FIG.7F and action line 53L of FIG.7D is pointed opposite the lateral direction indicated in FIG.7A/B respectively.
Inoue; FIG.7
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Kaji to include, wherein the controller is configured or programmed to control a propulsion device to add a veering component while maintaining the resultant force with respect to the point of action and maintaining the parallel motion in the target direction, when the target direction and the required propulsion force do not change and a veering direction corresponding to the veering instruction is opposite to the direction of the component of the target direction in a lateral direction with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Inoue, for the benefit of [0012] a result, it is possible to provide a vessel propulsion system improved in lateral movability.
8. Kaji (US-8190316-B2) discloses The marine propulsion system according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined position is located on a bow of a marine vessel[FIG.1] motors located at bow and stern of ship’s hull (7, 4-5).
Kaji; FIG.1
9. Kaji (US-8190316-B2) discloses The marine propulsion system according to claim 1, wherein the second propulsion device includes a trolling motor[col.1 ln.22] The electromotive outboard motor includes a propeller system having an electric motor and a propeller coupled with the drive shaft of the electric motor, wherein, by controlling the rotational speed of the electric motor, it is possible to control a propulsive force generated by the propeller system, and by controlling the direction (steering angle) of the propulsive force generated by the propeller system, it is possible to control the advancing direction of a marine vessel.
*Examiner’s Note: it should be noted that a ‘trolling motor” is defined in the present application as [0035] The trolling motor 5 is electrically driven. The trolling motor 5 includes an electric motor 50 and a propeller 51 that is rotationally driven by the electric motor 50 to generate a propulsion force
10. the limitation(s) is/are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim(s) 1 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see the rejection in re claim(s) 1.
11. the limitation(s) is/are similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim(s) 1 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see the rejection in re claim(s) 1.
Conclusion
It should be noted that there exists prior art which is pertinent to significant though unclaimed features of the defined invention or directed to the state of art. The following is a brief description of relevant prior art cited but not applied:
Kaji (US-20050092225-A1) discloses in a similar invention, a consideration for [0029] If the action point is located apart from the propulsion systems on a stem side, increased propulsive forces should be generated from the respective propulsion systems to laterally move the hull. However, each of the propulsion systems is limited in their capability to generate propulsive force. If it is difficult to generate the propulsive forces in desired directions even with the action point being located in a predetermined range on the center line, the generation of the desired propulsive forces is facilitated by locating the action point outside the center line by setting the steering angle correction value to a value other than zero.
See PTO-892: Notice of references cited.
Contact
/M.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663