DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites limitations “ … a pair of memory cells and coupled to opposite sides of the plate line” on lines 3-4. It is not clear to Examiner what it means. It does not appear the plate line has limited length between just two memory cells. Examiner suggests the following:
if the plate line has limited length between two memory cells: -- … a pair of memory cells and coupled to opposite ends of the plate line--.
if the place line does not have limited length between two memory cells: -- … a pair of memory cells and coupled to the plate line--
Claim 5 recites limitations “wherein the compensation phase is configured to cause the pair of inverters to amplify input values similarly during one or more amplification phases” on lines 1-3. It is not clear to Examiner what it means. For purpose of examination, Examiner interprets it as --wherein the compensation phase is configured to cause the pair of inverters to amplify input values similarly to each other--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1xxxxxxxx are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,978,127 to DeVilbiss (hereafter DeVilbiss) in view of US 10,950,279 to Jeong (hereafter Jeong).
Regarding independent claim 1, DeVilbiss teaches a memory device, comprising:
a plate line (FIG. 2: PL);
a pair of ferroelectric layers implementing a pair of memory cells and coupled to opposite sides of the plate line (FIG. 2: ferroelectric layers 94 and ‘94);
a pair of digit lines each coupled to a respective ferroelectric layer of the pair of ferroelectric layers (FIG. 2: bit lines BL and BLB coupled to ferroelectric layers 94 and ‘94 via transistors 96 and ‘96, respectively); and
a sense amplifier coupled to the pair of digit lines and configured to sense and amplify voltages received at the pair of digit lines from the respective memory cells (FIG. 2: SA), wherein the sense amplifier comprises:
DeVilbiss does not teaches the strikethrough limitations.
Jeong teaches a memory device comprising a sense amplifier coupled to a pair of digit lines (see FIG. 2A), wherein the sense amplifier comprises:
a pair of inverters configured to selectively couple to the pair of digit lines (FIG. 2A: inverters 220 and 210 coupled to BLT and BLB via isolation transistors 251 and 252, respectively); and
a pair of switches (FIG. 2A: transistors 241 and 242) each configured to cause a respective inverter of the pair of inverters to function as a unity gain amplifier during a compensation phase of the memory device (during offset cancelation operation 320 of FIG. 3, BLSA circuit 200 functions as unity gain amplifier as in FIG. 4).
Since DeVilbiss and Jeong are both from the same field of endeavor, the purpose disclosed by Jeong would have been recognized in the pertinent art of DeVilbiss.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to employ the BLSA of Jeong as the sense amplifier of DeVilbiss for more accurate amplification and sensing operation (see 2:4-28).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Jeong teaches wherein the pair of inverters comprises: a first complementary metal-oxide semiconductor inverter; and a second complementary metal-oxide semiconductor inverter (FIG. 2A: see inverters 220 and 210).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Jeong teaches wherein each of the pair of switches is configured to connect an input of a respective inverter of the pair of inverters to a corresponding output of the respective inverter of the pair of inverters as a feedback connection (see FIG. 4).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Jeong teaches wherein the memory device comprises a voltage source; and a voltage switch that is configured to couple source terminals of p-channel transistors of the pair of inverters to the voltage source (transistor 291 of FIG. 2C coupling VDD to node RTO of FIG. 2A, wherein transistor 291 in response to signal SAP1) during threshold compensation using the compensation phase (FIG. 3: signal SAP1 is active high during offset cancelation operation 320).
Jeong teaches a voltage source instead of a current source. However, it would have been obvious to replace current source with a voltage source because they are interchangeable with respect to supplying power to electronic parts.
Regarding dependent claim 5, Jeong teaches wherein the compensation phase is configured to cause the pair of inverters to amplify input values similarly to each other (FIG. 2C shows nodes RTO and SB being equalized to the same value for each of the inverter; FIG. 4 shows the pair of inverters have similar connection for unity gain amplifiers).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Jeong teaches wherein the compensation phase is configured to settle input and output voltages of the pair of inverters to enhance gains of the pair of inverters (see FIG. 4).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Jeong teaches wherein the gains are negative gains (FIG. 4: because the feedback from output to input of inverter has opposite value).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Jeong implicitly teaches wherein the gains of the pair of the inverters are optimized at respective locations on respective characteristic-dependent output response curves (FIG. 4: because unity gain amplifiers corresponding to each of the inverters are independent from each other and each unity amplifier responses to voltage on the corresponding bit line during compensation phase) corresponding to a greatest gain of the respective characteristic-dependent output response curves (FIG. 2C: the greatest gain due to voltages on both inverters have been equalized, in addition to charge compensating before sensing and amplifying the voltage difference between pair of bit lines).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Jeong teaches wherein the memory device comprises an isolation pair of switches to couple gut nodes of the sense amplifier to respective digit lines of the pair of digit lines during the compensation phase (FIG. 2A: transistors 251 and 252).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Jeong teaches wherein the compensation phase comprises charging respective digit lines of the pair of digit lines with values specific to characteristics of respective inverters of the pair of inverters (see FIG. 2A and precharge phase 310 of FIG. 3 with signals EQ and ISO active high).
Regarding independent claim 11, DeVilbiss teaches a memory device, comprising
a plurality of ferroelectric layer-based memory cells to store data (see FIG. 4);
a plurality of first digit lines each coupled to a respective ferroelectric layer-based memory cell of a first set of the plurality of ferroelectric layer-based memory cells (FIG. 4: e.g. bit lines BL<0> and BL<N-1>);
a plurality of second digit lines each coupled to a respective ferroelectric layer-based memory cell of a second set of the plurality of ferroelectric layer-based memory cells (FIG. 4: e.g. complementary bit lines BL<1> and BL<N>); and
a plurality of sense amplifiers (FIG. 4: sense amplifiers 412) each respectively coupled to a first digit line from the plurality of first digit lines and to a second digit line from the plurality of second digit lines,
DeVilbiss does not teaches the strikethrough limitations.
Jeong teaches a memory device comprising a sense amplifier coupled to a pair of digit lines (see FIG. 2A), wherein the sense amplifier comprises: a pair of inverters configured to selectively couple to the first and second digit lines (FIG. 2A: inverters 220 and 210 coupled to BLT and BLB via isolation transistors 251 and 252, respectively), and each inverter of the pair of inverters comprises a switch (FIG. 2A: transistors 241 and 242) configured to cause the respective inverter to function as a unity gain amplifier during a compensation phase of the memory device (during offset cancelation operation 320 of FIG. 3, BLSA circuit 200 functions as unity gain amplifier as in FIG. 4).
Since DeVilbiss and Jeong are both from the same field of endeavor, the purpose disclosed by Jeong would have been recognized in the pertinent art of DeVilbiss.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to employ the BLSA of Jeong as the sense amplifier of DeVilbiss for more accurate amplification and sensing operation (see 2:4-28).
Regarding dependent claim 12, DeVilbiss teaches wherein each of the sense amplifiers of the plurality of sense amplifiers is configured to sense and amplify a voltage difference between voltages on the respective first and second digit lines (FIG. 2: because sense amplifier SA is a differential amplifier).
Regarding dependent claim 13, DeVilbiss wherein each of the first set of the plurality of ferroelectric layer-based memory cells is configured to store data, and each of the second set of the plurality of ferroelectric layer-based memory cells is configured to store complementary data (FIG. 2: memory cells 90 and ’90 store complementary data).
Regarding dependent claim 14, DeVilbiss teaches wherein the first digit lines are configured to carry the data (FIG. 2: because bit line BL is true bit line for carrying true data).
Regarding dependent claim 15, DeVilbiss teaches wherein the second digit lines are configured to carry a complement of the data (FIG. 2: because bit line BLB is complementary bit line for carrying complement data).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Jeong teaches a voltage source that selectively supplies a voltage to the pair of inverters (transistor 291 of FIG. 2C coupling VDD to node RTO of FIG. 2A, wherein transistor 291 in response to signal SAP1).
Jeong teaches a voltage source instead of a current source. However, it would have been obvious to replace current source with a voltage source because they are interchangeable with respect to supplying power to electronic parts.
Regarding dependent claim 17, Jeong teaches wherein each of the switches is configured to couple together an input and an output of the respective inverter during the compensation phase before one or more amplification phases of the respective sense amplifier (during offset cancelation operation 320 of FIG. 3, signal OC turns on transistors 241 and 242 of FIG. 2A, and the input and output of respective inverter coupled together as in FIG. 4).
Regarding independent claim 18, DeVilbiss teaches a method, comprising:
toggling a first switch in a sense amplifier (FIG. 2A: turning on switch 241 with signal OC active high in FIG. 3) during a compensation phase (FIG. 3: during compensation phase 320) to couple a first input of a first inverter to a first output of the first inverter to cause the first inverter of the sense amplifier to be configured as a unity gain amplifier during the compensation phase of the sense amplifier (FIG. 4: see connection of inverter 210) to cause amplification in the first inverter to be enhanced in subsequent amplification phases of the sense amplifier by storing a first charge on a first digit line of the sense amplifier (FIG. 4: charge on BLT);
toggling a second switch in the sense amplifier (FIG. 2A: turning on switch 242 with signal OC active high in FIG. 3) during the compensation phase (FIG. 3: during compensation phase 320) to couple a second input of a second inverter to a second output of the second inverter (FIG. 4: see connection of inverter 220) to cause the second inverter of the sense amplifier to be configured as a unity gain amplifier during the compensation phase of the sense amplifier to cause amplification in the second inverter to be enhanced in the subsequent amplification phases of the sense amplifier by storing a second charge on a second digit line of the sense amplifier (FIG. 4: charge on BLB);
in an amplification phase (FIG. 3: during amplification operation 340), disconnecting the first input from the first output (FIG. 2A: turning off switch 241 with signal OC active low in FIG. 3);
in the amplification phase, disconnecting the second input from the second output (FIG. 2A: turning off switch 242 with signal OC active low in FIG. 3); and
amplifying a signal difference from memory cells corresponding to the sense amplifier by using the enhanced amplification in the first and second inverters (with voltages on both inverters have been equalized and charge compensating beforehand, the amplification on voltage difference between pair of bit lines is enhanced).
Regarding dependent claims 19-20, Jeong teaches applying a deflection voltage to reduce voltages in the first and second digit lines during a voltage level development between the compensation phase and the subsequent amplification phases via capacitors coupled to the first and second digit lines (FIG. 2A: via capacitors 231 and 232).
Conclusion
May 18, 2026
/VANTHU T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824