DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Amendment filed on August 25, 2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-3, 7, 9-10, 14 and 16 are amended. Claims 1, 9 and 16 are independent.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With respect to independent claims 1, 9 and 16, each claim recites “performing a partial context restore of a first memory controller of the memory; and completing, using the partial context, a complete context restore of a second memory controller”. The specification does not provide adequate written description support for the claimed relationship between the partial context restore of the first memory controller and the complete context restore of the second memory controller. Although paragraph [0035] describes restoring a minimal portion of the total context to memory controller 330 and/or memory controller 334 and thereafter restoring remaining context from memory, it does not disclose using the partial context associated with one memory controller to complete a complete context restore of another memory controller. Similarly, although paragraph [0035] separately describes restoring context to memory controller 334, which in turn can restore the context of memory controller 330, the specification does not disclose that the partial context of the first memory controller itself is used to complete the complete context restore of the second memory controller. Accordingly, the disclosure does not reasonably convey possession of the claimed combination requiring “completing, using the partial context, a complete context restore of a second memory controller”. Therefore, claims 1, 9 and 16 lack adequate written description support. Claims 2-8, 10-15 and 17-20 depend on claims 1, 9 and 16, respectively; therefore, incorporate all of the limitations of claims 1, 9 and 16, including the limitation lacking adequate written description support. Thus, claims 2-8, 10-15 and 17-20 are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1, 9 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandl et al. (US 20210201986) in view of Ahmad et al. (US 20140032947).
Regarding independent claim 1, Brandl et al. disclose a device [Fig. 1: 100] comprising:
a control circuit [Fig. 8: 810] exit a low power state of a memory [see Fig. 11: step 1130 with respect to Fig. 10: step 1030, on system resume, the BIOS restores the DRAM controller and the DDR PHY settings from the non-volatile memory. For S3, the self-refresh state machine MOP array (small code for optimized state machine) is programmed to exit self-refresh and to update any DRAM device state for the target power management state (memory P-state) at step 1035, para. 76] by:
restoring the context of the memory controller [Fig.11: at step 1130, step 1030 from method 1000 is followed, including on system resume, the BIOS restores the DRAM controller and the DDR PHY settings from the non-volatile memory, para. 80].
However, Brandl et al. are silent with respect to performing a partial context restore of a first memory controller of the memory; and
completing, using the partial context, a complete context restore of a second memory controller.
Ahmad et al. teach in Figure 1 a system power management unit (SPMU) 102 having a micro-controller 104, a micro-coded engine 106, an on-die storage 108 (e.g., an on-die SRAM), and a context save/restore engine 110 [para. 22]. Ahmad et al. further teach when the memory controller 112 has been power-ungated (returning from a low-power state), the context save/restore engine 110 may restore the memory controller context (from the on-die storage 108) which was saved from a previous context prior to power gating, and restores the same clock frequency also [para. 24]. At least one context is stored in the on-die storage 108 and any remaining contexts are stored in the DRAM module 118 [para. 25]. Context data may be organized into common context (for all memory controllers) and individual (per memory controller) context. During a restore operation, the context save/restore engine 110 restores common context data by stream broadcasting the common context data to all memory controllers 112 and streaming individual context data to each individual memory controller 112 [para. 27]. Ahmad et al. also teach that to reduce memory controller save/restore latencies, a context may be grouped into three groups of context data: static context data that is pre-computed by training, pseudo-static context data that is configured at boot time, and dynamic context that is dynamically generated by the memory controller 112 [para. 26].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Ahmad et al. to the teachings of Brandl et al. such that modifying the restore process of Brandl et al. to first restore a partial context from one memory controller of the memory device as taught by Ahmad et al. and then use that partial context to restore the remaining context of another memory controller, thereby doing so would reduce exit latency and reduce time and data transfer required to restore the memory subsystem to full operation.
Regarding claim 2, Brandl et al. in combination with Ahmad et al. teach the limitations with respect to claim 1.
Furthermore, Brandl et al. disclose the control circuit is configured to preserve the context of the second memory controller by saving at least a portion of the context to a non-volatile memory device [see Fig. 11: at step 1110, prior to restore, the DRAM controller and the DDR PHY settings, are stored in a non-volatile memory location, para. 78].
Regarding claim 5, Brandl et al. in combination with Ahmad et al. teach the limitations with respect to claim 1.
Furthermore, Brandl et al. disclose the low power state corresponds to a self-refresh state of the memory [a “low power state” means a state that saves power compared to another state. For example, DDR4 SDRAM supports two low power states known as self-refresh and precharge power down, para. 71].
Regarding claim 6, Brandl et al. in combination with Ahmad et al. teach the limitations with respect to claim 1.
Furthermore, Brandl et al. disclose the control circuit is further configured to exit the low power state of the memory [see Fig. 11: step 1130 with respect to Fig. 10: step 1030, on system resume, the BIOS restores the DRAM controller and the DDR PHY settings from the non-volatile memory. For S3, the self-refresh state machine MOP array (small code for optimized state machine) is programmed to exit self-refresh and to update any DRAM device state for the target power management state (memory P-state) at step 1035, para. 76] by:
exit power gating a physical layer of the memory [DDR4 SDRAM supports two low power states known as self-refresh and precharge power down, so when exiting low power modes mean exiting power down the DRAM controller and DDR PHY].
Regarding claim 7, Brandl et al. in combination with Ahmad et al. teach the limitations with respect to claim 6.
Furthermore, Brandl et al. disclose the control circuit is configured to restore the context of the second memory controller by restoring the context from a non-volatile memory device [Fig.11: at step 1130, step 1030 from method 1000 is followed, including on system resume, the BIOS restores the DRAM controller and the DDR PHY settings from the non-volatile memory, para. 80].
Regarding independent claim 9, Brandl et al. disclose a system [Fig. 1: 100] comprising:
a memory [Fig. 5: 500] comprising a first memory controller [Fig. 6: 614], a second memory controller [Fig. 6: 624], and a physical layer [Fig. 5: 616/626] corresponding to a plurality of logic components [para. 47];
a non-volatile memory device [Fig. 1: 104, the memory 104 includes a volatile or non-volatile memory, for example, random access memory (RAM), dynamic RAM, or a cache, para. 19];
a processor [Fig. 1: 102, para. 19]; and
a control circuit [Fig. 8: 810] configured to:
enter a low power state of a memory [memory controller 810 places memory module 830 into a low power state, para. 61] by:
preserving a context of the first memory controller of the memory by saving at least a portion of the context to the non-volatile memory device [see Fig. 11: at step 1110, prior to restore, the DRAM controller and the DDR PHY settings, are stored in a non-volatile memory location, para. 78]; and
power gating a physical layer of the memory [see Fig. 11: step 1115-1120, at step 1115, in DDR4 mode, the DRAMs are then set into self-refresh mode by the DRAM controller. The DRAM controller and DDR PHY are then powered down to save total system power or the entire system may have power removed at step 1120, para. 79]; and
exit a low power state of a memory [see Fig. 11: step 1130 with respect to Fig. 10: step 1030, on system resume, the BIOS restores the DRAM controller and the DDR PHY settings from the non-volatile memory. For S3, the self-refresh state machine MOP array (small code for optimized state machine) is programmed to exit self-refresh and to update any DRAM device state for the target power management state (memory P-state) at step 1035, para. 76] by:
restoring the context of the memory controller [Fig.11: at step 1130, step 1030 from method 1000 is followed, including on system resume, the BIOS restores the DRAM controller and the DDR PHY settings from the non-volatile memory, para. 80].
However, Brandl et al. are silent with respect to performing a partial context restore of the first memory controller using the portion of the context; and
completing, using the partial context, a complete context restore of the second memory controller.
Ahmad et al. teach in Figure 1 a system power management unit (SPMU) 102 having a micro-controller 104, a micro-coded engine 106, an on-die storage 108 (e.g., an on-die SRAM), and a context save/restore engine 110 [para. 22]. Ahmad et al. further teach when the memory controller 112 has been power-ungated (returning from a low-power state), the context save/restore engine 110 may restore the memory controller context (from the on-die storage 108) which was saved from a previous context prior to power gating, and restores the same clock frequency also [para. 24]. At least one context is stored in the on-die storage 108 and any remaining contexts are stored in the DRAM module 118 [para. 25]. Context data may be organized into common context (for all memory controllers) and individual (per memory controller) context. During a restore operation, the context save/restore engine 110 restores common context data by stream broadcasting the common context data to all memory controllers 112 and streaming individual context data to each individual memory controller 112 [para. 27]. Ahmad et al. also teach that to reduce memory controller save/restore latencies, a context may be grouped into three groups of context data: static context data that is pre-computed by training, pseudo-static context data that is configured at boot time, and dynamic context that is dynamically generated by the memory controller 112 [para. 26].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Ahmad et al. to the teachings of Brandl et al. such that modifying the restore process of Brandl et al. to first restore a partial context from one memory controller of the memory device as taught by Ahmad et al. and then use that partial context to restore the remaining context of another memory controller, thereby doing so would reduce exit latency and reduce time and data transfer required to restore the memory subsystem to full operation.
Regarding claim 12, Brandl et al. in combination with Ahmad et al. teach the limitations with respect to claim 9.
Furthermore, Brandl et al. disclose the low power state corresponds to a self-refresh state of the memory [a “low power state” means a state that saves power compared to another state. For example, DDR4 SDRAM supports two low power states known as self-refresh and precharge power down, para. 71].
Regarding claim 13, Brandl et al. in combination with Ahmad et al. teach the limitations with respect to claim 9.
Furthermore, Brandl et al. disclose the control circuit is further configured to exit the low power state of the memory [see Fig. 11: step 1130 with respect to Fig. 10: step 1030, on system resume, the BIOS restores the DRAM controller and the DDR PHY settings from the non-volatile memory. For S3, the self-refresh state machine MOP array (small code for optimized state machine) is programmed to exit self-refresh and to update any DRAM device state for the target power management state (memory P-state) at step 1035, para. 76] by:
exit power gating the physical layer of the memory [DDR4 SDRAM supports two low power states known as self-refresh and precharge power down, so when exiting low power modes mean exiting power down the DRAM controller and DDR PHY].
Regarding claim 14, Brandl et al. in combination with Ahmad et al. teach the limitations with respect to claim 13.
Furthermore, Brandl et al. disclose the control circuit is configured to restore the context of the second memory controller by restoring the context from a non-volatile memory device [Fig.11: at step 1130, step 1030 from method 1000 is followed, including on system resume, the BIOS restores the DRAM controller and the DDR PHY settings from the non-volatile memory, para. 80].
Claims 3, 8, 10, 15-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandl et al. (US 20210201986) in view of Ahmad et al. (US 20140032947) as applied to claims 1, 6, 9 and 13 above and further in view of Biswas (US 20180061484).
Regarding claim 3, Brandl et al. in combination with Ahmad et al. teach the limitations with respect to claim 1.
However, Brandl et al. in combination with Ahmad et al. are silent with respect to the control circuit is configured to preserve the context of the second memory controller by supplying a retention supply voltage to one or more registers of the memory controller while power gating the physical layer.
Biswas teaches the control circuit is configured to supply a retention supply voltage to one or more registers of the memory controller while power gating the physical layer [in response to self refresh mode entry, the memory controller 14 may be configured to freeze the value of the refresh timer register 16. For example, if the memory controller 14 is to be powered down, the refresh timer register 16 may be placed on retention voltage to ensure the power is maintained, para. 23].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Biswas to the teachings of Brandl et al. in combination with Ahmad et al. such that incorporating Biswas’s retention voltage technique into the memory controller as taught by Brandl et al. in combination with Ahmad et al. while power gating the physical layer to ensure data integrity and avoid data loss [see Biswas’s para 3-4].
Regarding claim 8, Brandl et al. in combination with Ahmad et al. teach the limitations with respect to claim 6.
However, Brandl et al. in combination with Ahmad et al. are silent with respect to exiting the power gating further comprises deactivating a retention supply voltage to one or more registers of the memory controller.
Biswas to exiting the power gating further comprises deactivating a retention supply voltage to one or more registers of the memory controller [when self refresh mode is exited and the refresh timer updates restart, the correct amount of time during normal mode may pass prior to the next refresh even if the interval is interrupted by time in self refresh mode, para. 23. A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that once the normal operation is resumed, the retention condition is no longer needed and would be deactivated].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Biswas to the teachings of Brandl et al. in combination with Ahmad et al. such that incorporating Biswas’s retention voltage technique into the memory controller as taught by Brandl et al. in combination with Ahmad et al. while power gating the physical layer to ensure data integrity and avoid data loss [see Biswas’s para 3-4].
Regarding claim 10, Brandl et al. in combination with Ahmad et al. teach the limitations with respect to claim 9.
However, Brandl et al. in combination with Ahmad et al. are silent with respect to the control circuit is configured to preserve the context of the second memory controller by supplying a retention supply voltage to one or more registers of the memory controller while power gating the physical layer.
Biswas teaches the control circuit is configured to supply a retention supply voltage to one or more registers of the memory controller while power gating the physical layer [in response to self refresh mode entry, the memory controller 14 may be configured to freeze the value of the refresh timer register 16. For example, if the memory controller 14 is to be powered down, the refresh timer register 16 may be placed on retention voltage to ensure the power is maintained, para. 23].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Biswas to the teachings of Brandl et al. in combination with Ahmad et al. such that incorporating Biswas’s retention voltage technique into the memory controller as taught by Brandl et al. in combination with Ahmad et al. while power gating the physical layer to ensure data integrity and avoid data loss [see Biswas’s para 3-4].
Regarding claim 15, Brandl et al. in combination with Ahmad et al. teach the limitations with respect to claim 13.
However, Brandl et al. in combination with Ahmad et al. are silent with respect to exiting the power gating further comprises deactivating a retention supply voltage to one or more registers of the memory controller.
Biswas to exiting the power gating further comprises deactivating a retention supply voltage to one or more registers of the memory controller [when self refresh mode is exited and the refresh timer updates restart, the correct amount of time during normal mode may pass prior to the next refresh even if the interval is interrupted by time in self refresh mode, para. 23. A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that once the normal operation is resumed, the retention condition is no longer needed and would be deactivated].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Biswas to the teachings of Brandl et al. in combination with Ahmad et al. such that incorporating Biswas’s retention voltage technique into the memory controller as taught by Brandl et al. in combination with Ahmad et al. while power gating the physical layer to ensure data integrity and avoid data loss [see Biswas’s para 3-4].
Regarding independent claim 16, Brandl et al. disclose a method comprising:
initiating, in response to a low power entry condition, entry to a low power state of a memory [memory controller 810 places memory module 830 into a low power state, para. 61];
saving a context of a first memory controller [Fig. 6: 614] of the memory and a second memory controller [Fig. 6: 624] of the memory to a non-volatile memory device [see Fig. 11: at step 1110, prior to restore, the DRAM controller and the DDR PHY settings, are stored in a non-volatile memory location, para. 78];
power gating a plurality of logic components of the memory [see Fig. 11: step 1115-1120, at step 1115, in DDR4 mode, the DRAMs are then set into self-refresh mode by the DRAM controller. The DRAM controller and DDR PHY are then powered down to save total system power or the entire system may have power removed at step 1120, para. 79]
initiating, in response to a low power exit condition, exit of the low power state of the memory [see Fig. 11: step 1130 with respect to Fig. 10: step 1030, on system resume, the BIOS restores the DRAM controller and the DDR PHY settings from the non-volatile memory. For S3, the self-refresh state machine MOP array (small code for optimized state machine) is programmed to exit self-refresh and to update any DRAM device state for the target power management state (memory P-state) at step 1035, para. 76] by restoring the context of the memory controller [Fig.11: at step 1130, step 1030 from method 1000 is followed, including on system resume, the BIOS restores the DRAM controller and the DDR PHY settings from the non-volatile memory, para. 80].
However, Brandl et al. are silent with respect to retaining a retention supply voltage to power a register of the memory while power gating the plurality of logic components and exit of the low power state of the memory by performing a partial context restore of the first memory controller; and
completing, using the partial context, a complete context restore of the second memory controller.
Biswas teaches retaining a retention supply voltage to power a register of the memory while power gating the plurality of logic components [in response to self refresh mode entry, the memory controller 14 may be configured to freeze the value of the refresh timer register 16. For example, if the memory controller 14 is to be powered down, the refresh timer register 16 may be placed on retention voltage to ensure the power is maintained, para. 23].
Furthermore, Ahmad et al. teach in Figure 1 a system power management unit (SPMU) 102 having a micro-controller 104, a micro-coded engine 106, an on-die storage 108 (e.g., an on-die SRAM), and a context save/restore engine 110 [para. 22]. Ahmad et al. further teach when the memory controller 112 has been power-ungated (returning from a low-power state), the context save/restore engine 110 may restore the memory controller context (from the on-die storage 108) which was saved from a previous context prior to power gating, and restores the same clock frequency also [para. 24]. At least one context is stored in the on-die storage 108 and any remaining contexts are stored in the DRAM module 118 [para. 25]. Context data may be organized into common context (for all memory controllers) and individual (per memory controller) context. During a restore operation, the context save/restore engine 110 restores common context data by stream broadcasting the common context data to all memory controllers 112 and streaming individual context data to each individual memory controller 112 [para. 27]. Ahmad et al. also teach that to reduce memory controller save/restore latencies, a context may be grouped into three groups of context data: static context data that is pre-computed by training, pseudo-static context data that is configured at boot time, and dynamic context that is dynamically generated by the memory controller 112 [para. 26].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Biswas and Ahmad et al. to the teachings of Brandl et al. such that incorporating Biswas’s retention voltage technique into the memory controller as taught by Brandl et al. while power gating the physical layer to ensure data integrity and avoid data loss [see Biswas’s para 3-4] and modifying the restore process of Brandl et al. to first restore a partial context from one memory controller of the memory device as taught by Ahmad et al. and then use that partial context to restore the remaining context of another memory controller, thereby doing so would reduce exit latency and reduce time and data transfer required to restore the memory subsystem to full operation.
Regarding claim 18, Brandl et al. in combination with Biswas and Ahmad et al. teach the limitations with respect to claim 16.
Furthermore, Brandl et al. disclose the low power state corresponds to a self-refresh state of the memory [a “low power state” means a state that saves power compared to another state. For example, DDR4 SDRAM supports two low power states known as self-refresh and precharge power down, para. 71].
Regarding claim 19, Brandl et al. in combination with Biswas and Ahmad et al. teach the limitations with respect to claim 16.
Furthermore, Brandl et al. disclose further comprising exiting the low power state of the memory [see Fig. 11: step 1130 with respect to Fig. 10: step 1030, on system resume, the BIOS restores the DRAM controller and the DDR PHY settings from the non-volatile memory. For S3, the self-refresh state machine MOP array (small code for optimized state machine) is programmed to exit self-refresh and to update any DRAM device state for the target power management state (memory P-state) at step 1035, para. 76].
Regarding claim 20, Brandl et al. in combination with Biswas and Ahmad et al. teach the limitations with respect to claim 19.
Furthermore, Brandl et al. disclose further exiting the low power state further comprises:
exit power gating the plurality of logic components of the memory [DDR4 SDRAM supports two low power states known as self-refresh and precharge power down, so when exiting low power modes mean exiting power down the DRAM controller and DDR PHY]; and
restoring the context of the memory controller by restoring the context from the non-volatile memory device [Fig.11: at step 1130, step 1030 from method 1000 is followed, including on system resume, the BIOS restores the DRAM controller and the DDR PHY settings from the non-volatile memory, para. 80].
Moreover, Biswas teaches deactivating the retention supply voltage to the register [when self refresh mode is exited and the refresh timer updates restart, the correct amount of time during normal mode may pass prior to the next refresh even if the interval is interrupted by time in self refresh mode, para. 23. A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that once the normal operation is resumed, the retention condition is no longer needed and would be deactivated].
Claims 4, 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandl et al. (US 20210201986) in view of Biswas (US 20180061484) and Ahmad et al. (US 20140032947) as applied to claims 3, 10 and 16 above and further in view of Price et al. (US 20140139197).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Brandl et al. in combination with Biswas and Ahmad et al. teach the limitations with respect to claims 3 and 10.
However, Brandl et al. in combination with Biswas and Ahmad et al. are silent with respect to the control circuit is configured to supply the retention supply voltage by enabling a bypass mode of a voltage regulator.
Price et al. teach the control circuit is configured to supply the retention supply voltage by enabling a bypass mode of a voltage regulator [a bypass mode circuit may be configured to perform the ON override by shorting the pass gate control line, in response to receiving the bypass mode ON signal, to a power rail having the pass gate ON hard voltage, para. 5-7].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Price et al. to the teachings of Brandl et al. in combination with Biswas and Ahmad et al. such that incorporating Price et al.’s bypass mode voltage regulator feature into the power supply voltage of Brandl et al. in combination with Biswas and Ahmad et al. to provide the retention supply voltage as required by claim 4.
Regarding claim 17, Brandl et al. in combination with Biswas and Ahmad et al. teach the limitations with respect to claim 16.
However, Brandl et al. in combination with Biswas and Ahmad et al. are silent with respect to retaining the retention supply voltage further comprises enabling a bypass mode of a voltage regulator.
Price et al. teach retaining the retention supply voltage further comprises enabling a bypass mode of a voltage regulator [a bypass mode circuit may be configured to perform the ON override by shorting the pass gate control line, in response to receiving the bypass mode ON signal, to a power rail having the pass gate ON hard voltage, para. 5-7].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Price et al. to the teachings of Brandl et al. in combination with Biswas and Ahmad et al. such that incorporating Price et al.’s bypass mode voltage regulator feature into the power supply voltage of Brandl et al. in combination with Biswas and Ahmad et al. to provide the retention supply voltage as required by claim 4.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on August 25, 2026 with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to independent claim 1, Applicant asserted that Ahmad fails to teach or suggest “performing a partial context restore of a first memory controller of the memory; and completing, using the partial context, a complete context restore of a second memory controller”, as recited in claim 1, see Applicant’s Remarks pages 8-9. This particular remark has been considered but is not persuasive.
Ahmad discloses a system having a plurality of memory controllers 112 and a context save/restore engine 110 [see Fig. 1, para. 22]. Ahmad further discloses context data may be organized into common context (for all memory controllers) and individual (per memory controller) context. During a restore operation, the context save/restore engine 110 restores common context data by stream broadcasting the common context data to all memory controllers 112 and streaming individual context data to each individual memory controller 112 [para. 27]. Thus, Ahmad teaches that the context restored to an individual memory controller is not necessarily an indivisible unit, but instead includes at least a common portion and individual portion. Restoration of the common context portion to a first one of Ahmad’s memory controllers therefore reasonably corresponds to a partial context restore of that first memory controller because the common context portion represents less than all of the context applicable to the individual controller.
Applicant argued that Ahmad’s common context has no reliance between different memory controllers and the individual context has no reliance between different memory controllers. This argument is not commensurate with the scope of claim 1. Claim 1 does not require the partial context to be generated by the first memory controller, read from the first memory controller, transferred from the first memory controller to the second memory controller, or otherwise require that the first memory controller itself perform restoration of the second memory controller. Rather, claim 1 requires “completing, using the partial context, a complete context restore of a second memory controller”. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of this language, the recited “partial context” reasonably corresponds to a portion of context data used in the partial context restoration of the first memory controller and also used in completing restoration of the second memory controller. Ahmad’s common context satisfied this relationship. Specifically, the common context is used as a portion of the context restored to the first memory controller and the same common context is also broadcast to the second memory controller. Ahmad further supplies the individual context corresponding to the second memory controller. Thus, the common context used in the partial restoration of the first memory controller is also used together with the individual context associated with the second memory controller to restore the context applicable to the second memory controller.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to organize the controller setting restored in Brandl according to Ahmad’s common and individual context arrangement so that common context to multiple memory controllers can be restored as a partial portion while individual context is restored to the respective controller, thereby doing so would reduce exit latency and reduce time and data transfer required to restore the memory subsystem to full operation.
For the above reason, the previously applied rejection is considered proper and maintained. The independent claims 9 and 16 were argued for substantially the same reason, and the arguments are not persuasive for the same reason.
Conclusion
/DUY H LUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 2825
/ANTHAN TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825