DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mikami (CN 102451012 A, translation enclosed).
With respect to claim 1, Mikami discloses: an X-ray imaging system, comprising: an X-ray radiation source (11); an X-ray detector (12); a gantry structure configured to be mounted to a ceiling or a floor (mounted to floor as shown in Fig. 1-2), wherein the gantry structure comprises: a C-arm having the X-ray radiation source disposed on a first end and the X-ray detector disposed on a second end opposite the first end (illustrated as a U-shaped portion, but may be a C-arm, “the imaging unit 12 may be provided to one end of the C-arm and the X-ray source 11 is provided to the other end of the C-arm, such as using an X-ray diagnostic device so-called C-arm”, page 4); and a C-arm rotation device coupled to the C-arm and configured to rotate the C-arm in an orbital direction relative to the C-arm rotation device (implicitly disclosed in a C-arm arrangement); and a damping system coupled to the gantry structure and disposed between the gantry structure and the ceiling or the floor, wherein the damping system is configured to dampen vibrations caused by motion of the gantry structure for an entirety of the gantry structure (cushioning material, 77; page 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikami, in view of Barker (US 2021/0145383 A1).
With respect to claim 13, Mikami does not specify the use of a carbon fiber material for the C-arm. However, Barker, from the same field of endeavor, discloses a C-arm made from a carbon fiber material (par. [0025]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to employ a carbon fiber material for use in a C-arm device, due to advantages such as light weight and high strength of carbon fiber. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 are allowed.
Claims 2-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claims 2-10 and 14-19, the cited prior art does not appear to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed damping system which comprises a swivel bearing and a damping mechanism.
With respect to claims 11-12, the cited prior art does not appear to disclose or reasonably suggest a damping system which is configured to dampen the vibrations for the entirety of gantry structure along multiple directions.
With respect to claim 20, the cited prior art does not appear to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed gantry structure mounted to a ceiling, including a damping system coupled to the gantry structure and disposed between the gantry structure and the ceiling, wherein the damping system is configured to dampen vibrations caused by motion of the gantry structure for an entirety of the gantry structure along orthogonal directions, and wherein the orthogonal directions comprise a vertical direction extending between a floor and the ceiling and a horizontal direction that is both perpendicular to the vertical direction and parallel with the floor.
Conclusion
/MARK R GAWORECKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884 26 January 2026